DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on 6/25/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fernandez-Mattos et al. (US Patent 10277049) in view of Nania et al. (US Patent 9148063). Regarding claims 1 and 10, Fernandez-Mattos et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) a power converter system comprising: a first transformer winding (primary winding); a second transformer winding (secondary winding) operatively connected to be powered by the first transformer winding (operation of primary and secondary windings); a switch (M1) operatively connected between the first transformer winding and ground for controlling the first transformer winding (operation and connection of M1 to primary winding); and a holdup charging circuit (32/28/24/34) including: a clamp circuit connected between a first node on a first side of the first transformer winding and a second node on a second side of the first transformer winding (connection of 32/28 to first side and second sides of primary winding), wherein the clamp circuit includes a clamp diode (32) oriented to let current flow through the clamp circuit in a direction from the first node to the second node (see orientation of diode 34), wherein the clamp circuit includes a clamp capacitor (28) in series between the clamp diode and the second node (series connection of 28 between 34 and a second side of the primary winding); and a holdup circuit (34/24) connected to a third node in the clamp circuit between the clamp diode and the clamp capacitor (connection of 34/24 between 32/28), wherein the holdup circuit includes a holdup diode (34) connected in series between the third node and a holdup capacitor (series connection between node between 32/28 and 24), and wherein the holdup circuit includes the holdup capacitor (24) connected in series between the holdup diode and ground (series connection of 24). Fernandez-Mattos et al. does not disclose that the system is configured, after a startup period, to repeatedly cycle between ON and OFF periods to power a regulator circuit through the second transformer winding with current from a voltage source connected between ground and the first node. Nania et al. discloses (see fig. 2 and 4-5) that a system is configured, after a startup period (after reset), to repeatedly cycle between ON and OFF periods to power a regulator circuit through a second transformer winding with current from a voltage source connected between ground and the first node (operation 204 controlling the operation of S1 and S2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Fernandez-Mattos et al. to include the features of Nania et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claims 2 and 14, Fernandez-Mattos et al. does not disclose that the second transformer winding is included in the regulator circuit, the regulator circuit configured to output regulated power using power input to the first transformer winding. Nania et al. discloses (see fig. 2 and 4-5) that a second transformer winding (212) is included in the regulator circuit (212/D5/D6/L2/C1), the regulator circuit configured to output regulated power using power input to the first transformer winding (operation of regulator circuit output Vo based on primary winding input). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Fernandez-Mattos et al. to include the features of Nania et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 4, Fernandez-Mattos et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) a voltage source (26) connected between ground and the first node (see connection of 26). Regarding claims 6 and 16, Fernandez-Mattos et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) a control power system (48) selectively connecting power to the switch to control the first transformer winding (operation of 48 controlling the operation of M1). Regarding claims 7-8 and 17, Fernandez-Mattos et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the clamp diode being a PN diode or a Schottky diode. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the clamp diode be a PN diode or a Schottky diode, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Fernandez-Mattos et al. to include the features of having the clamp diode be a PN diode or a Schottky diode because it allows for a specific design choice, which can provide a reduction in component variance, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 9, Fernandez-Mattos et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) that the holdup diode (34) is oriented to allow current flow therethrough in a direction from the third node to ground (see orientation of 34).
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez-Mattos et al. (US Patent 10277049) in view of Nania et al. (US Patent 9148063) and Pan et al. (US Patent 9887629). Regarding claims 3 and 15, Fernandez-Mattos et al. does not disclose that the regulator secondary side circuit includes: the second transformer winding connecting between ground and a first regulator diode, an inductor connected in series between the first regulator diode and a resistor, wherein the resistor is connected to ground, and wherein the second inductor is connected to a ground node; a second regulator diode connecting a node between the first regulator diode and the inductor to the ground node; and a capacitor connecting a node between the inductor and the resistor to the ground node. Pan et al. discloses (see fig. 4) a regulator secondary side circuit including: a second transformer winding (secondary winding of Tf) connecting between ground and a first regulator diode (see connection to D1), an inductor (L) connected in series between the first regulator diode and a resistor (see connection of L), wherein the resistor is connected to ground (see connection of R), and wherein the second inductor is connected to a ground node; a second regulator diode (D2) connecting a node between the first regulator diode and the inductor to the ground node (see connection of D2); and a capacitor (C) connecting a node between the inductor and the resistor to the ground node (see connection of C).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez-Mattos et al. (US Patent 10277049) in view of Nania et al. (US Patent 9148063) and Xie et al. (US Patent 6377477). Regarding claim 5, Fernandez-Mattos et al. does not disclose a reset transformer winding connecting between the first node and ground, and a reset diode connected in series between the reset transformer winding and ground. Xie et al. discloses (see fig. 5A) a reset transformer winding (winding in series wit D2) connecting between the first node and ground (see connection of winding), and a reset diode (D2) connected in series between the reset transformer winding and ground (see connection of D2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Fernandez-Mattos et al. to include the features of Xie et al. because it allows for a specific design choice which can provide a reduction in component variance, thus allowing for favorable integration of function, a reduction of cost, and an increase in operational efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838