DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This communication is in response to the Amendment filed on 3/30/2026.
Objection of Claims
Upon the claim amendment, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Rejection of Claims under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s Arguments:
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach the newly amended limitations regarding a mapping between QoS and ARP, specifically "the 5G QoS data for the UE that includes at least one QoS parameter value of the ARP value determined based at least in part on a mapping between at least one of one or more 5G QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more ARP values” in claim 1 and similar limitations in other independent claims.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The prior art of record, Qiao (US 2020/0214054 A1) teaches the amended limitations, “wherein the 5G QoS data for the UE that includes at least one QoS parameter value of the ARP value is determined based at least in part on a mapping between at least one of one or more 5G QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more ARP values.” Specifically, Qiao teaches determining/updating QoS based on the mapping between QoS values/profiles and ARP values (¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS; ¶ [0347], based on … the Default 5QI and default ARP, the PCF may determine a QoS rule for an always-on PDU session, and the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP, and/or at least one bandwidth value which may be applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service, e.g. the PCF may determine a value of 80 for 5QI applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service. In an example, the PCF may determine a value of 1 for ARP applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service).
The claim amendments in claims 7 and 15 necessitate new 112b rejections (see details in the 112b rejections).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Independent claim 15 recites “wherein the one or more QoS parameter values for the UE and the QoS parameter value are determined based at least in part on a first mapping between at least one of one or more QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more UE identifiers of one or more UEs and a second mapping between one or more of at least one 5G QoS value or at least one 5G QoS Profile and at least one allocation and retention priority (ARP) value.”
“The QoS parameter value” is an ARP value determined based on a request (see claim 15 filed on 12/12/2025 and ¶ [0029] of the PG Pub. of the instant application). Based on the ARP value, “one or more QoS parameter values” are determined according to a second mapping between the ARP and “one or more QoS parameter values.” In other words, “the QoS parameter value” (ARP value) is previously determined based on request and is further used in the mapping to determine “one or more QoS parameter values.” Therefore, it is unclear how “the QoS parameter value” (ARP value) is determined based on the mapping.
Further, “one or more QoS parameter values” can be additionally determined using a first mapping between a UE identifier and “one or more QoS parameter values.” However, it is unclear how “the QoS parameter value” (ARP value) which is previously determined based on the request, to be further determined based on the second mapping (see ¶ [0059] of the PG Pub. of the instant application). In other words, ARP is only used/relevant to the second mapping, rather than the first mapping. It is unclear how the ARP value can be determined based on the first mapping between a UE identifier and “one or more QoS parameter values.”
For examining purposes, the limitation is interpreted to be “wherein the one or more QoS parameter values for the UE are determined based at least in part on a first mapping between at least one of one or more QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more UE identifiers of one or more UEs and a second mapping between one or more of at least one 5G QoS value or at least one 5G QoS Profile and at least one allocation and retention priority (ARP) value.”
Independent claim 7 recites “the one or more updated QoS parameter values for the UE and the QoS parameter value being determined based at least in part on a mapping between at least one of one or more QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and- one or more allocation and retention priority (ARP) values,” which has similar issues. For examining purposes, the limitation is interpreted to be “the one or more updated QoS parameter values for the UE being determined based at least in part on a mapping between at least one of one or more QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and- one or more allocation and retention priority (ARP) values.”
Dependent claims 8-14 and 16-20 fail to cure the deficiencies and thus are rejected for the same reason.
Applicant is recommended to remove “the QoS parameter value” in the limitations above regarding mapping(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 11, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2023/0065481 A1), in view of Qiao (US 2020/0214054 A1), hereinafter Xiong-Qiao.
Per claim 1, Xiong teaches “A method performed by a one or more computing devices configured in a wireless communications network, (Fig.1-2; ¶ [0006], A 5G (5th generation mobile networks or 5th generation wireless systems, 5th-Generation)) the method comprising: receiving, at a 5G session management function (SMF), (¶ [0034], An architecture of a 5G MBS is shown in FIG. 2 … a 5G radio access network … A session management function (SMF); ¶ [0036], The SMF and the UPF may participate in a process of a 5G MBS session, and a related description is made in the following embodiments; ¶ [0163], In 5G … the SMF maps each MBS QoS flow and parameters thereof corresponding to the MBS session to one QoS flow and parameters thereof corresponding to the PDU Session) a request to establish a 5G communications session for a user equipment (UB); (Figs. 5-6; ¶ [0098], In step 3 a in FIG. 5 , the AMF transmits Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message (that is, a protocol data unit session establishment session management context request message, which is referred to as a PDU session establishment session management context request message) to the selected SMF; ¶ [0146], Step 1 shown in FIG. 6 may be performed, that is, the MB-UDM transmits a notify message to the SMF to notify the SMF that the MBS session has been activated, and the MBS session context information has been updated, so that the SMF may trigger the PDU session modification procedure shown in FIG. 6; also see teachings in ¶¶ [0137-0138] and [0167-0168]) determining, at the 5G SMF based at least in part on the request, an allocation and retention priority (ARP) value associated with the UE; (¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected PCF; also see similar teachings in ¶ [0127]) determining, at the 5G SMF … to acquire 5G quality of service (QoS) data for the UE* …; querying, by the 5G SMF, a 5G unified data management (UDM) function for the 5G QoS data, … (Fig.5; Fig.6, step X.4.a., step X.4.d; ¶ [0148], In step X.4.a, the SMF transmits a Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet request message (a secondMBS session context get request message) to the MB-UDM; ¶ [0151], In step X.4.d … the MB-UDM returns Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message (that is, a second MBS session context get response message) to the SMF, the Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message carrying multi-cast broadcast service session context information (which is briefly referred to as MBS session context information), the MBS session context information including … all QoS flow information corresponding to the MBS session, there being one or more pieces of QoS flow information, for example, a QFI, a QoS profile, a QoS rule, a packet filter, and an N4 rule of all the QoS flow information listed in FIG. 6 according to the MBS session; ¶ [0127]/¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected UE-PCF) and transmitting, from the 5G SME to a 5G user plane function (UPF), an instruction comprising data representing the 5G QoS data and controlling the UPF to establish the 5G communications session based at least in part on the 5G QoS data” (Fig.5, steps 7a, 7b, 13a, 13b; Fig.6, steps 2a, 2b, 8a, 8b, 12a, 12b; ¶ [0156-0157]; In step 2 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session establishment/modification request to a UPF (I-UPFs). One or more N4 rules corresponding to each QoS flow are transmitted to the UPF. For each QoS Flow, there may be a plurality of corresponding N4 rules. In step 2 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF (I-UPFs) transmits an N4 session establishment/modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0169-0170], In step 8 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session modification request to the UPF. In step 8 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF transmits an N4 session modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0130-0131], In step 7 a in FIG. 5 , the SMF transmits N4 Session Establishment Request (N4 session establishment request) message to the selected UPF. In step 7 b in FIG. 5 , the UPF transmits N4 Session Establishment Response (N4 session establishment response) message to the SMF for confirmation).
Although Xiong teaches determining ARP value and determining to acquire 5G QoS data, however Xiong does not explicitly teach that determining to acquire 5G QoS data is “based at least in part on the ARP value.” Further, Xiong does not teach “wherein determining to acquire the 5G QoS data comprises determining that the ARP value is associated with an elevated priority service … wherein the 5G QoS data for the UE that includes at least one QoS parameter value of the ARP value is determined based at least in part on a mapping between at least one of one or more 5G QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more ARP values.”
In analogous teaching of QoS, Qiao teaches in 5G network (¶ [0042], Example embodiments of the present invention enable implementation of enhanced features and functionalities in 5G systems… (e.g. for 5G or future communication system) for always-on PDU session), sending a request comprising QoS/ARP value(s), and determining allocation/update of 5G QoS/ARP data based on the request, and namely determining to acquire 5G QoS data “based at least in part on the ARP value.” Moreover, Qiao teaches “wherein determining to acquire the 5G QoS data comprises determining that the ARP value is associated with an elevated priority service … wherein the 5G QoS data for the UE that includes at least one QoS parameter value of the ARP value is determined based at least in part on a mapping between at least one of one or more 5G QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more ARP values” (¶ [0403-0404], An application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF … The application/service information may comprise one or more of: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service, an application identifier, a media/application/service type, and requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) … the PCF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; ¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS; ¶ [0347], based on … the Default 5QI and default ARP, the PCF may determine a QoS rule for an always-on PDU session, and the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP, and/or at least one bandwidth value which may be applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service, e.g. the PCF may determine a value of 80 for 5QI applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service. In an example, the PCF may determine a value of 1 for ARP applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service; ¶ [0415], an always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service which requires short delay (e.g. an emergency service, or a low latency service), an application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … The always-on PDU session requested indication may be used by the AF to indicate a request for an always-on PDU session for the application service for the wireless device. The application/service information may comprise one or more of the following information elements: … requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth). In an example, the AF may send the message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to the UDM; ¶ [0417], the UDM may send to the selected SMF a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … in response to the application/service information provisional message received from the UDM, the SMF may take one or more actions … the SMF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; See similar teachings in ¶ [0428], ¶ [0430], ¶ [0433]; ¶ [0216], the emergency service support indicator may inform the UE 100 that emergency services are supported, e.g., the UE 100 may request PDU session for emergency services; ¶ [0400]; An always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service with a short delay (e.g. an emergency service, a low latency service) … These enhanced mechanisms may support an application service on an always-on PDU session and may improve the network signaling and the user experience). [Comment: low-latency/delay or emergency service is “an elevated priority service”.]
Thus, given the teaching of Qiao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of determining 5G QoS/ARP based on requested elevated-priority QoS/ARP of Qiao into SMF querying UDM to determine 5G QoS/ARP of Xiong, such that SMF would query UDM to determine 5G QoS/ARP data based on received elevated-priority QoS/ARP values in a request. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Qiao recognizes that such mechanisms would enhance elevated-priority service (always-on PDU sessions such as emergency services and low latency services) and improve user experience (¶ [0400]; An always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service with a short delay (e.g. an emergency service, a low latency service) … These enhanced mechanisms may support an application service on an always-on PDU session and may improve the network signaling and the user experience). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating a known method of determining QoS as taught by Qiao (determining 5G QoS based on requested elevated-priority ARP/QoS) into another known method of determining QoS as taught by Xiong (SMP querying UDM to determine 5G QoS) to yield predictable results of SMP querying UDM to determine 5G QoS based on requested elevated-priority ARP/QoS, especially given that Xiong and Qiao are in the same field of endeavor of managing 5G QoS (KSR MPEP 2143).
Per claim 7, Xiong teaches “A network computing device configured at a wireless communications network, (Fig.1-2; ¶ [0006], A 5G (5th generation mobile networks or 5th generation wireless systems, 5th-Generation)) the network computing device comprising: one or more processors; one or more transceivers; and non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute a session management function to perform operations comprising: (Abstract, session management function (SMF); ¶ [0268], the SMF 1200 provided in this embodiment of the present disclosure may include: one or more processors 1201; and a storage apparatus 1203, configured to store one or more programs, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors 1201, causing the one or more processors 1201 to implement the method according to any one of the embodiments) (¶ [0034], An architecture of a 5G MBS is shown in FIG. 2 … a 5G radio access network … A session management function (SMF); ¶ [0036], The SMF and the UPF may participate in a process of a 5G MBS session, and a related description is made in the following embodiments; ¶ [0163], In 5G … the SMF maps each MBS QoS flow and parameters thereof corresponding to the MBS session to one QoS flow and parameters thereof corresponding to the PDU Session) receiving a request to establish a 5G communications session for a user equipment (UE); (Figs. 5-6; ¶ [0098], In step 3 a in FIG. 5 , the AMF transmits Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message (that is, a protocol data unit session establishment session management context request message, which is referred to as a PDU session establishment session management context request message) to the selected SMF; ¶ [0146], Step 1 shown in FIG. 6 may be performed, that is, the MB-UDM transmits a notify message to the SMF to notify the SMF that the MBS session has been activated, and the MBS session context information has been updated, so that the SMF may trigger the PDU session modification procedure shown in FIG. 6; also see teachings in ¶¶ [0137-0138] and [0167-0168]) determining, based at least in part on the request, a quality of service (QoS) parameter value associated with the UE; (¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected PCF; also see similar teachings in ¶ [0127]) determining … to acquire one or more updated QoS parameter values for the UE, wherein: … a 5G unified data management (UDM) function is queried for the one or more updated QoS parameter values, … (Fig.5; Fig.6, step X.4.a., step X.4.d; Figs. 6, 8-10 for “updated QoS”; ¶ [0148], In step X.4.a, the SMF transmits a Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet request message (a secondMBS session context get request message) to the MB-UDM; ¶ [0151], In step X.4.d … the MB-UDM returns Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message (that is, a second MBS session context get response message) to the SMF, the Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message carrying multi-cast broadcast service session context information (which is briefly referred to as MBS session context information), the MBS session context information including … all QoS flow information corresponding to the MBS session, there being one or more pieces of QoS flow information, for example, a QFI, a QoS profile, a QoS rule, a packet filter, and an N4 rule of all the QoS flow information listed in FIG. 6 according to the MBS session; ¶ [0127]/¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected UE-PCF; ¶ [0146], step 1 shown in FIG. 6 may be performed, that is, the MB-UDM transmits a notify message to the SMF to notify the SMF that the MBS session has been activated, and the MBS session context information has been updated, so that the SMF may trigger the PDU session modification procedure shown in FIG. 6) and transmitting, to a 5G user plane function (UPF), an instruction comprising data representing the one or more updated QoS parameter values and controlling the UPF to establish the 5G communications session based at least in part on the one or more updated QoS parameter values” (Fig.5, steps 7a, 7b, 13a, 13b; Fig.6, steps 2a, 2b, 8a, 8b, 12a, 12b; ¶ [0156-0157]; In step 2 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session establishment/modification request to a UPF (I-UPFs). One or more N4 rules corresponding to each QoS flow are transmitted to the UPF. For each QoS Flow, there may be a plurality of corresponding N4 rules. In step 2 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF (I-UPFs) transmits an N4 session establishment/modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0169-0170], In step 8 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session modification request to the UPF. In step 8 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF transmits an N4 session modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0130-0131], In step 7 a in FIG. 5 , the SMF transmits N4 Session Establishment Request (N4 session establishment request) message to the selected UPF. In step 7 b in FIG. 5 , the UPF transmits N4 Session Establishment Response (N4 session establishment response) message to the SMF for confirmation).
Although Xiong teaches determining QoS/ARP parameter value and determining to acquire one or more updated QoS parameter values, however Xiong does not explicitly teach that determining to acquire 5G one or more updated QoS parameter values is “based at least in part on the QoS parameter value.” Further, Xiong does not teach “wherein the QoS parameter value is associated with an elevated priority service … the one or more updated QoS parameter values for the UE and the QoS parameter value being determined based at least in part on a mapping between at least one of one or more QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more allocation and retention priority (ARP) values”
In analogous teaching of QoS, Qiao teaches in 5G network (¶ [0042], Example embodiments of the present invention enable implementation of enhanced features and functionalities in 5G systems… (e.g. for 5G or future communication system) for always-on PDU session), sending a request comprising QoS/ARP value(s), and determining allocation/update of 5G QoS/ARP data based on the request, and namely determining to acquire 5G QoS data “based at least in part on the ARP value.” Moreover, Qiao teaches “wherein the QoS parameter value is associated with an elevated priority service … the one or more updated QoS parameter values for the UE and the QoS parameter value being determined based at least in part on a mapping between at least one of one or more QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more allocation and retention priority (ARP) values” (¶ [0403-0404], An application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF … The application/service information may comprise one or more of: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service, an application identifier, a media/application/service type, and requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) … the PCF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; ¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS; ¶ [0347], based on … the Default 5QI and default ARP, the PCF may determine a QoS rule for an always-on PDU session, and the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP, and/or at least one bandwidth value which may be applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service, e.g. the PCF may determine a value of 80 for 5QI applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service. In an example, the PCF may determine a value of 1 for ARP applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service; ¶ [0415], an always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service which requires short delay (e.g. an emergency service, or a low latency service), an application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … The always-on PDU session requested indication may be used by the AF to indicate a request for an always-on PDU session for the application service for the wireless device. The application/service information may comprise one or more of the following information elements: … requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth). In an example, the AF may send the message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to the UDM; ¶ [0417], the UDM may send to the selected SMF a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … in response to the application/service information provisional message received from the UDM, the SMF may take one or more actions … the SMF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; See similar teachings in ¶ [0428], ¶ [0430], ¶ [0433]; ¶ [0216], the emergency service support indicator may inform the UE 100 that emergency services are supported, e.g., the UE 100 may request PDU session for emergency services; ¶ [0400]; An always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service with a short delay (e.g. an emergency service, a low latency service) … These enhanced mechanisms may support an application service on an always-on PDU session and may improve the network signaling and the user experience). [Comment: low-latency/delay or emergency service is “an elevated priority service”.] Further, Qiao teaches determining 5G QoS based on a mapping between 5G QoS value(s)/profile(s) and a UE identifier (¶ [0344-0348], the PCF may make a policy decision … may determine/generate/create/derive one or more PCC rules … the one or more PCC rules and/or the one or more charging control rules may be applied to a wireless device identified by a UE identity … The PCC rules determined by the PCF may comprise at least one of: …at least one QoS control rule … the PCF may determine/generate/create/derive the one or more PCC rules applied to an always-on PDU session based on one or more the following: … the at least one UE identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI) … the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP; See similar/additional teachings in ¶ [0375-0380]; ¶ [0115], SUPI Subscriber Permanent Identifier; ¶ [0098], PEI Permanent Equipment Identifier; ¶ [0068], GPSI Generic Public Subscription Identifier). [Comment: 5G QoS in PCC rule is determined based on a mapping between the 5Q QoS (e.g., QCI, 5QI) and a UE identifier (e.g., SUPI Subscriber Permanent Identifier, PEI Permanent Equipment Identifier, GPSI Generic Public Subscription Identifier).]
Thus, given the teaching of Qiao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of determining 5G QoS/ARP based on requested elevated-priority QoS/ARP of Qiao into SMF querying UDM to determine 5G QoS/ARP of Xiong, such that SMF would query UDM to determine 5G QoS/ARP data based on received elevated-priority QoS/ARP values in a request. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Qiao recognizes that such mechanisms would enhance elevated-priority service (always-on PDU sessions such as emergency services and low latency services) and improve user experience (¶ [0400]; An always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service with a short delay (e.g. an emergency service, a low latency service) … These enhanced mechanisms may support an application service on an always-on PDU session and may improve the network signaling and the user experience). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating a known method of determining QoS as taught by Qiao (determining 5G QoS based on requested elevated-priority ARP/QoS) into another known method of determining QoS as taught by Xiong (SMP querying UDM to determine 5G QoS) to yield predictable results of SMP querying UDM to determine 5G QoS based on requested elevated-priority ARP/QoS, especially given that Xiong and Qiao are in the same field of endeavor of managing 5G QoS (KSR MPEP 2143).
Per claim 15, Xiong teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: (¶ [0268], the SMF 1200 provided in this embodiment of the present disclosure may include: one or more processors 1201; and a storage apparatus 1203, configured to store one or more programs, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors 1201, causing the one or more processors 1201 to implement the method according to any one of the embodiments) receiving, at a session management function, a request to establish a communications session for a user equipment (UE); (Figs. 5-6; ¶ [0098], In step 3 a in FIG. 5 , the AMF transmits Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message (that is, a protocol data unit session establishment session management context request message, which is referred to as a PDU session establishment session management context request message) to the selected SMF; ¶ [0146], Step 1 shown in FIG. 6 may be performed, that is, the MB-UDM transmits a notify message to the SMF to notify the SMF that the MBS session has been activated, and the MBS session context information has been updated, so that the SMF may trigger the PDU session modification procedure shown in FIG. 6; also see teachings in ¶¶ [0137-0138] and [0167-0168]) determining, at the session management function and based at least in part on the request, a quality of service (QoS) parameter value associated with the UE; (¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected PCF; also see similar teachings in ¶ [0127]) determining, at the session management function … , to acquire one or more QoS parameter values for the UE,…; querying, by the session management function, a unified data management (UDM) function for the one or more QoS parameter values, … (Fig.5; Fig.6, step X.4.a., step X.4.d; ¶ [0148], In step X.4.a, the SMF transmits a Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet request message (a secondMBS session context get request message) to the MB-UDM; ¶ [0151], In step X.4.d … the MB-UDM returns Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message (that is, a second MBS session context get response message) to the SMF, the Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message carrying multi-cast broadcast service session context information (which is briefly referred to as MBS session context information), the MBS session context information including … all QoS flow information corresponding to the MBS session, there being one or more pieces of QoS flow information, for example, a QFI, a QoS profile, a QoS rule, a packet filter, and an N4 rule of all the QoS flow information listed in FIG. 6 according to the MBS session; ¶ [0127]/¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected UE-PCF) and transmitting, from the session management function to a user plane function, an instruction comprising data representing the one or more QoS parameter values and controlling the user plane function to establish the communications session based at least in part on the one or more QoS parameter values” (Fig.5, steps 7a, 7b, 13a, 13b; Fig.6, steps 2a, 2b, 8a, 8b, 12a, 12b; ¶ [0156-0157]; In step 2 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session establishment/modification request to a UPF (I-UPFs). One or more N4 rules corresponding to each QoS flow are transmitted to the UPF. For each QoS Flow, there may be a plurality of corresponding N4 rules. In step 2 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF (I-UPFs) transmits an N4 session establishment/modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0169-0170], In step 8 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session modification request to the UPF. In step 8 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF transmits an N4 session modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0130-0131], In step 7 a in FIG. 5 , the SMF transmits N4 Session Establishment Request (N4 session establishment request) message to the selected UPF. In step 7 b in FIG. 5 , the UPF transmits N4 Session Establishment Response (N4 session establishment response) message to the SMF for confirmation).
Although Xiong teaches determining QoS/ARP parameter value and determining to acquire one or more QoS parameter values, however Xiong does not explicitly teach that determining to acquire 5G one or more updated QoS parameter values is “based at least in part on the QoS parameter value.” Further, Xiong does not teach “wherein determining to acquire the 5G QoS data comprises determining that the QoS parameter value is associated with an elevated priority service … wherein the one or more QoS parameter values for the UE and the QoS parameter value are determined based at least in part on a first mapping between at least one of one or more QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more UE identifiers of one or more UEs and a second mapping between one or more of at least one 5G QoS profile and at least one allocation and retention priority (ARP) value”
In analogous teaching of QoS, Qiao teaches in 5G network (¶ [0042], Example embodiments of the present invention enable implementation of enhanced features and functionalities in 5G systems… (e.g. for 5G or future communication system) for always-on PDU session), sending a request comprising QoS/ARP value(s), and determining allocation/update of 5G QoS/ARP data based on the request, and namely determining … to acquire 5G QoS data “based at least in part on the ARP value.” Moreover, Qiao teaches “wherein determining to acquire the 5G QoS data comprises determining that the QoS parameter value is associated with an elevated priority service (¶ [0403-0404], An application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF … The application/service information may comprise one or more of: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service, an application identifier, a media/application/service type, and requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) … the PCF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; ¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS; ¶ [0347], based on … the Default 5QI and default ARP, the PCF may determine a QoS rule for an always-on PDU session, and the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP, and/or at least one bandwidth value which may be applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service, e.g. the PCF may determine a value of 80 for 5QI applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service. In an example, the PCF may determine a value of 1 for ARP applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service; ¶ [0415], an always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service which requires short delay (e.g. an emergency service, or a low latency service), an application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … The always-on PDU session requested indication may be used by the AF to indicate a request for an always-on PDU session for the application service for the wireless device. The application/service information may comprise one or more of the following information elements: … requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth). In an example, the AF may send the message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to the UDM; ¶ [0417], the UDM may send to the selected SMF a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … in response to the application/service information provisional message received from the UDM, the SMF may take one or more actions … the SMF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; See similar teachings in ¶ [0428], ¶ [0430], ¶ [0433]; ¶ [0216], the emergency service support indicator may inform the UE 100 that emergency services are supported, e.g., the UE 100 may request PDU session for emergency services; ¶ [0400]; An always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service with a short delay (e.g. an emergency service, a low latency service) … These enhanced mechanisms may support an application service on an always-on PDU session and may improve the network signaling and the user experience). [Comment: low-latency/delay or emergency service is “an elevated priority service”.] … wherein the one or more QoS parameter values for the UE and the QoS parameter value are determined based at least in part on a first mapping between at least one of one or more QoS values or one or more 5G QoS profiles and one or more UE identifiers of one or more UEs (¶ [0344-0348], the PCF may make a policy decision … may determine/generate/create/derive one or more PCC rules … the one or more PCC rules and/or the one or more charging control rules may be applied to a wireless device identified by a UE identity … The PCC rules determined by the PCF may comprise at least one of: …at least one QoS control rule … the PCF may determine/generate/create/derive the one or more PCC rules applied to an always-on PDU session based on one or more the following: … the at least one UE identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI) … the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP; See similar/additional teachings in ¶ [0375-0380]; ¶ [0115], SUPI Subscriber Permanent Identifier; ¶ [0098], PEI Permanent Equipment Identifier; ¶ [0068], GPSI Generic Public Subscription Identifier). [Comment: 5G QoS in PCC rule is determined based on a mapping between the 5Q QoS (e.g., QCI, 5QI) and a UE identifier (e.g., SUPI Subscriber Permanent Identifier, PEI Permanent Equipment Identifier, GPSI Generic Public Subscription Identifier).] and a second mapping between one or more of at least one 5G QoS profile and at least one allocation and retention priority (ARP) value” ¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS; ¶ [0347], based on … the Default 5QI and default ARP, the PCF may determine a QoS rule for an always-on PDU session, and the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP, and/or at least one bandwidth value which may be applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service, e.g. the PCF may determine a value of 80 for 5QI applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service. In an example, the PCF may determine a value of 1 for ARP applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service).
Thus, given the teaching of Qiao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of determining 5G QoS/ARP based on requested elevated-priority QoS/ARP and a UE identifier of Qiao into SMF querying UDM to determine 5G QoS/ARP of Xiong, such that SMF would query UDM to determine 5G QoS/ARP data based on received elevated-priority QoS/ARP values in a request and a UE identifier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Qiao recognizes that such mechanisms would enhance elevated-priority service (always-on PDU sessions such as emergency services and low latency services) and improve user experience (¶ [0400]; An always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service with a short delay (e.g. an emergency service, a low latency service) … These enhanced mechanisms may support an application service on an always-on PDU session and may improve the network signaling and the user experience). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating a known method of determining QoS as taught by Qiao (determining 5G QoS based on requested elevated-priority ARP/QoS and a UE identifier) into another known method of determining QoS as taught by Xiong (SMP querying UDM to determine 5G QoS) to yield predictable results of SMP querying UDM to determine 5G QoS based on requested elevated-priority ARP/QoS and a UE identifier, especially given that Xiong and Qiao are in the same field of endeavor of managing 5G QoS (KSR MPEP 2143).
Per claim 8, Xiong further teaches “wherein the one or more updated QoS parameter values comprise a QoS class identifier (QCI)” (¶ [0127], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM … the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI; see similar teaching sin ¶ [0154]; ¶ [0146], step 1 shown in FIG. 6 may be performed, that is, the MB-UDM transmits a notify message to the SMF to notify the SMF that the MBS session has been activated, and the MBS session context information has been updated, so that the SMF may trigger the PDU session modification procedure shown in FIG. 6)) [Comment: 5QI is QoS class identifier.]
Qiao further teaches “wherein the one or more updated QoS parameter values comprise a QoS class identifier (QCI)” (¶ [0378-0379], the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP … determine a QoS rule for an always-on PDU session, and the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP; ¶ [0408], The SM policy association modification message may comprise the determined/updated one or more PCC rules applied to the always-on PDU session … The SMF may determine/update at least one of the following user plane rules … at least one QoS enforcement rule.) [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of independent claims.]
Per claim 9, Xiong further teaches “wherein the request to establish the 5G communications session was received from a 5G access and mobility management function (AMF)”(Fig.5, ¶ [0098], the AMF transmits Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message (that is, a protocol data unit session establishment session management context request message, which is referred to as a PDU session establishment session management context request message) to the selected SMF).
Per claim 11, Xiong further teaches “the one or more updated QoS parameter values comprise the ARP value” (¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected PCF; also see similar teachings in ¶ [0127])
Qiao further teaches “wherein: the QoS parameter value associated with the UE comprises an allocation and retention priority (ARP) value; and the one or more updated QoS parameter values comprise the ARP value” (¶ [0403-0404], An application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF … The application/service information may comprise one or more of: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service, an application identifier, a media/application/service type, and requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) … the PCF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; ¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS; ¶ [0415], an always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service which requires short delay (e.g. an emergency service, or a low latency service), an application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … The always-on PDU session requested indication may be used by the AF to indicate a request for an always-on PDU session for the application service for the wireless device. The application/service information may comprise … requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth). In an example, the AF may send the message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to the UDM). [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of independent claims.]
Per claim 16, Qiao further teaches “wherein the request comprises the QoS parameter value associated with the UE” (¶ [0403-0404], An application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF … The application/service information may comprise one or more of: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service, an application identifier, a media/application/service type, and requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) … the PCF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; ¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS; ¶ [0415], an always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service which requires short delay (e.g. an emergency service, or a low latency service), an application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … The always-on PDU session requested indication may be used by the AF to indicate a request for an always-on PDU session for the application service for the wireless device. The application/service information may comprise … requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth). In an example, the AF may send the message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to the UDM; ¶ [0417], the UDM may send to the selected SMF a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … in response to the application/service information provisional message received from the UDM, the SMF may take one or more actions … the SMF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; See similar teachings in ¶ [0428], ¶ [0430], ¶ [0433]). [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of independent claims.]
Per claim 17, Xiong further teaches “wherein: the request comprises a UE identifier; (¶ [0098], the AMF transmits Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message (that is, a protocol data unit session establishment session management context request message, which is referred to as a PDU session establishment session management context request message) to the selected SMF … Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request (… UE requested DNN, … user location information … UE presence in LADN service area;¶ [0146], step 1 shown in FIG. 6 may be performed, that is, the MB-UDM transmits a notify message to the SMF to notify the SMF that the MBS session has been activated, and the MBS session context information has been updated, so that the SMF may trigger the PDU session modification procedure shown in FIG. 6; ¶ [0015], a determination that a UE is handed over … a PDU session is triggered to be established on a target base station side … a quality of service flow (QoS flow, which may be all QoS flows corresponding to the activated MBS session, and there may be one or more QoS flows) corresponding to the activated MBS session is established on the PDU session in a modification procedure of the PDU session) and determining the QoS parameter value associated with the UE comprises determining the QoS parameter value associated with the UE based at least in part on the UE identifier” (Fig.5; Fig.6, ¶ [0151], In step X.4.d … the MB-UDM returns Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message (that is, a second MBS session context get response message) to the SMF, the Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message carrying multi-cast broadcast service session context information (which is briefly referred to as MBS session context information), the MBS session context information including … all QoS flow information corresponding to the MBS session, there being one or more pieces of QoS flow information, for example, a QFI, a QoS profile, a QoS rule, a packet filter, and an N4 rule of all the QoS flow information listed in FIG. 6 according to the MBS session; ¶ [0127]/¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected UE-PCF).
Also, Qiao further teaches “wherein: the request comprises a UE identifier; (¶ [0252-0253], The UE may initiate a UE requested PDU session establishment procedure by transmitting a PDU session establishment request message … The RAN node may transmit, to the AMF, a N2 message (e.g. NG message, initial UE message … In response to the NAS message received from the UE, the AMF may select an SMF and send to the selected SMF a message (e.g. PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request) comprising … User location information; ¶ [0414], A UE may have established one or more PDU sessions between the UE and a data network (DN). During the PDU session establishment(s), the UE may request a SMF to establish at least one always-on PDU session for the one or more PDU sessions by comprising a first always-on PDU session indication (e.g. always-on PDU session requested indication) in the PDU session establishment request message (s), the SMF may determine/grant at least one always-on PDU session for the one or more PDU sessions … The always-on PDU session information may comprise … at least one UE IP address (e.g. UE IPv4 address and/or UE IPv6 network prefix); see additional teachings in ¶ [0255-0256]) and determining the QoS parameter value comprises determining the QoS parameter value based at least in part on the UE identifier” (¶ [0289-0290], The one or more PCC rules and/or the one or more charging control rules may apply to a wireless device identified by a UE identity … The one or more PCC rules determined by the PCF may comprise at least one of: … at least one QoS control rule; ¶ [0347], determine/generate/create/derive the one or more PCC rules applied to an always-on PDU session based on one or more the following … UE identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI), the at least one UE IP address (e.g. UE IPv4 address and/or UE IPv6 network prefix)). [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of independent claims.]
Per claim 19, Xiong further teaches “wherein the one or more QoS parameter values comprise a 5G QoS identifier (5QI)” (¶ [0127]/ ¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as … 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM).
Also, Qiao further teaches “wherein the one or more QoS parameter values comprise a 5G QoS identifier (5QI)” (¶ [0267], the SMF may determine a QoS enforcement rule based on the second list of restricted services for the always-on PDU session, e.g. the QoS enforcement rule may comprise a specific 5QI…; ¶ [0347], the QoS rule may comprise a QoS class identifier (e.g. QCI, 5QI) and/or a ARP … determine a value of 80 for 5QI applied to an always-on PDU session with low latency service). [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of independent claims.]
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong-Qiao, in view of Chiang (US 2021/0021979 A1).
Per claim 3, although Qiao teaches 5G QoS ARP being associated with an emergency service, Xiong-Qiao does not teach “wherein determining to acquire the 5G QoS data further comprises determining that the ARP value associated with the UE is associated with a wireless priority service (WPS)”.
Chiang teaches “wherein determining to acquire the 5G QoS data comprises determining that the ARP value associated with the UE is associated with a wireless priority service (WPS)” (¶ [0105], the UE 102 may send an attachment request to a base station of an access network 602 to set up a dedicated connection 618 that has a higher priority than other types of connections, such as an E-PDN session, E-PDU session, WPS session. In examples, the attachment request or other data from the UE 102 can indicate a high-priority ARP value or other high priority indicator to signal that the UE 102 is requesting a dedicated connection 618; ¶ [0048], have dedicated resources for emergency or high priority calls … a dedicated connection 618 can be established over a dedicated emergency bearer, a dedicated emergency packet data network (E-PDN) session in LTE networks, and/or a dedicated emergency protocol data unit (E-PDU) session in 5G networks … a dedicated connection 618 can be set up using data including an Allocation and Retention Priority (ARP) value that indicates a high priority of an emergency bearer to be created for a session … a dedicated connection 618 can be set up as a Wireless Priority Service (WPS) connection, or other type of high-priority connection).
Thus, given the teaching of Chiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of ARP being associated with WPS emergency service of Chiang into 5G QoS ARP for emergency service of Xiong-Qiao, such that 5G QoS ARP for emergency services would be associated with WPS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Chiang recognizes that it would have been advantageous to use high ARP value to indicate dedicated connection for high-priority WPS session )” (¶ [0105], the UE 102 may send an attachment request to a base station of an access network 602 to set up a dedicated connection 618 that has a higher priority than other types of connections, such as an E-PDN session, E-PDU session, WPS session. In examples, the attachment request or other data from the UE 102 can indicate a high-priority ARP value or other high priority indicator to signal that the UE 102 is requesting a dedicated connection 618). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating known methods of ARP and emergency services to yield predictable results (KSR MPEP 2143).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong-Qiao, in view of Dao (US 2019/0261260 A1).
Per claim 4, Xiong further teaches “further comprising: receiving, at the 5G SMF, (¶ [0034], An architecture of a 5G MBS is shown in FIG. 2 … a 5G radio access network … A session management function (SMF); ¶ [0036], The SMF and the UPF may participate in a process of a 5G MBS session, and a related description is made in the following embodiments; ¶ [0163], In 5G … the SMF maps each MBS QoS flow and parameters thereof corresponding to the MBS session to one QoS flow and parameters thereof corresponding to the PDU Session) a second request to establish a second 5G communications session for a second UE; (Figs. 5-6; ¶ [0098], In step 3 a in FIG. 5 , the AMF transmits Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message (that is, a protocol data unit session establishment session management context request message, which is referred to as a PDU session establishment session management context request message) to the selected SMF; ¶ [0146], Step 1 shown in FIG. 6 may be performed, that is, the MB-UDM transmits a notify message to the SMF to notify the SMF that the MBS session has been activated, and the MBS session context information has been updated, so that the SMF may trigger the PDU session modification procedure shown in FIG. 6; also see teachings in ¶¶ [0137-0138] and [0167-0168]) determining, at the 5G SMF based at least in part on the second request, a second ARP value associated with the second UE; (¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected PCF; also see similar teachings in ¶ [0127]) determining, at the 5G SMF based at least in part on the second ARP value, to establish the second 5G communications session …; (Fig.5; Fig.6, step X.4.a., step X.4.d; ¶ [0148], In step X.4.a, the SMF transmits a Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet request message (a secondMBS session context get request message) to the MB-UDM; ¶ [0151], In step X.4.d … the MB-UDM returns Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message (that is, a second MBS session context get response message) to the SMF, the Nudm_MBSSessionContextGet response message carrying multi-cast broadcast service session context information (which is briefly referred to as MBS session context information), the MBS session context information including … all QoS flow information corresponding to the MBS session, there being one or more pieces of QoS flow information, for example, a QFI, a QoS profile, a QoS rule, a packet filter, and an N4 rule of all the QoS flow information listed in FIG. 6 according to the MBS session; ¶ [0127]/¶ [0154], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM to the selected UE-PCF) and transmitting, from the 5G SMF to a second 5G UPF, a second instruction controlling the second UPF to establish the second 5G communications session” (Fig.5, steps 7a, 7b, 13a, 13b; Fig.6, steps 2a, 2b, 8a, 8b, 12a, 12b; ¶ [0156-0157]; In step 2 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session establishment/modification request to a UPF (I-UPFs). One or more N4 rules corresponding to each QoS flow are transmitted to the UPF. For each QoS Flow, there may be a plurality of corresponding N4 rules. In step 2 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF (I-UPFs) transmits an N4 session establishment/modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0169-0170], In step 8 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session modification request to the UPF. In step 8 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF transmits an N4 session modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0130-0131], In step 7 a in FIG. 5 , the SMF transmits N4 Session Establishment Request (N4 session establishment request) message to the selected UPF. In step 7 b in FIG. 5 , the UPF transmits N4 Session Establishment Response (N4 session establishment response) message to the SMF for confirmation).
Moreover, Qiao also teaches “determining, at the 5G SMF based at least in part on the second request, a second ARP value associated with the second UE; determining, at the 5G SMF based at least in part on the second ARP value, to establish the second 5G communications session …” (¶ [0403-0404], An application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF … The application/service information may comprise one or more of: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service, an application identifier, a media/application/service type, and requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) … the PCF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; ¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS; ¶ [0415], an always-on PDU session may be needed to support an application service which requires short delay (e.g. an emergency service, or a low latency service), an application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … The always-on PDU session requested indication may be used by the AF to indicate a request for an always-on PDU session for the application service for the wireless device. The application/service information may comprise … requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth). In an example, the AF may send the message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to the UDM; ¶ [0417], the UDM may send to the selected SMF a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) … in response to the application/service information provisional message received from the UDM, the SMF may take one or more actions … the SMF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; See similar teachings in ¶ [0428], ¶ [0430], ¶ [0433]). [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of independent claim 1.]
However. Xiong-Qiao does not teach “independent of querying the 5G UDM”.
In analogous teaching of QoS, Dao teaches 5G SMF determining ARP/QoS to establish 5G communications sessions independent of querying 5G UDM (¶ [0106-0107], the AMF 706 sends 723 a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMRequest … If the SMF already obtained UE subscription data, session management, QoS, and charging policies for the UE group ID, the SMF may not need to access the either the UDM or PCF to get the UE information to the SMF 710 … subscription data includes … default 5QI/ARP … If the UE belongs to a UE group and the SMF already has subscription data for the UE group ID, the SMF does not need to perform this registration with the UDM; ¶ [0095]; For the other UEs of the UE Group, the AMF does not need to obtain the UE Context information if there are no changes to the UE group subscription; ¶ [0002], The local storage of subscription data in the MME allows faster execution of procedures such as bearer establishment since it removes the need to consult the HSS every time; ¶ [0055], the UE group context can include data indicative of quality of service (QoS) or charging policies or both to be applied for PDU sessions; ¶ [0126], the 5G core; ¶ [0089], 5G-RAN). [Comment: Default 5QI/ARP cited above in ¶ [0106-0107] are default 5G QoS. Dao teaches determining original/default QoS/ARP without interacting with UDM. The original/default QoS/ARP are not emergency/elevated-priority service QoS/ARP, because emergency/elevated-priority service QoS/ARP needs to be indicated to be treated differently with prioritization. In other words, Dao teaches determining original/default QoS/ARP without interacting with UDM in response to default/standard service which is not elevated-priority service.]
Thus, given the teaching of Dao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SMF determining ARP/QoS independent of querying 5G UDM of Dao into SMF determining ARP/QoS of Xiong-Qiao, such that SMF would determine ARP/QoS to establish 5G communications sessions independent of querying 5G UDM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dao recognizes that it would have been advantageous to avoid querying for stored/obtained or unchanged information for faster execution (¶ [0106-0107], the AMF 706 sends 723 a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMRequest … If the SMF already obtained UE subscription data, session management, QoS, and charging policies for the UE group ID, the SMF may not need to access the either the UDM or PCF to get the UE information to the SMF 710 … subscription data includes … default 5QI/ARP … If the UE belongs to a UE group and the SMF already has subscription data for the UE group ID, the SMF does not need to perform this registration with the UDM; ¶ [0095]; For the other UEs of the UE Group, the AMF does not need to obtain the UE Context information if there are no changes to the UE group subscription; ¶ [0002], The local storage of subscription data in the MME allows faster execution of procedures such as bearer establishment since it removes the need to consult the HSS every time). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating a known method of SMF determining ARP/QoS without querying UDM as taught by Dao into another known method of SMF determining ARP/QoS as taught by Xiong-Qiao to yield predictable results, especially given that Dao, Xiong, and Qiao are in the same field of endeavor of managing 5G QoS (KSR MPEP 2143).
Per claim 5, Qiao further teaches “wherein the second instruction controls the second UPF to establish the second 5G communications session using default QoS data” (¶ [0269-0270], In response to receiving the message from the SMF, the UPF may install the user plane rules received from the SMF, send to the SMF a response message (e.g. N4 session establishment/modification response), and enforce the user plane rules for the always-on PDU session … the UPF may enforce the at least one QoS enforcement rule by applying session AMBR and default 5QI/ARP combination for the always-on PDU session … the UPF may enforce the at least one QoS enforcement rule by applying at least one of QoS parameters: Session AMBR and default 5QI/ARP combination to a PDU session).
Also, Dao further teaches “wherein the second instruction controls the second UPF to establish the second 5G communications session using default QoS data” (¶ [0106-0107], the AMF 706 sends 723 a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMRequest … If the SMF already obtained UE subscription data, session management, QoS, and charging policies for the UE group ID, the SMF may not need to access the either the UDM or PCF to get the UE information to the SMF 710 … subscription data includes … default 5QI/ARP … If the UE belongs to a UE group and the SMF already has subscription data for the UE group ID, the SMF does not need to perform this registration with the UDM; ¶ [0110], the default PCC rules for the PDU session). [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of claim 4.]
Per claim 6, Xiong further teaches “wherein the second instruction controls the second UPF to establish the second 5G communications session using QoS data determined based at least in part on the second request” (Fig.5, steps 7a, 7b, 13a, 13b; Fig.6, steps 2a, 2b, 8a, 8b, 12a, 12b; ¶ [0156-0157]; In step 2 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session establishment/modification request to a UPF (I-UPFs). One or more N4 rules corresponding to each QoS flow are transmitted to the UPF. For each QoS Flow, there may be a plurality of corresponding N4 rules. In step 2 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF (I-UPFs) transmits an N4 session establishment/modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0169-0170], In step 8 a in FIG. 6 , the SMF transmits an N4 session modification request to the UPF. In step 8 b in FIG. 6 , the UPF transmits an N4 session modification response to the SMF; ¶ [0130-0131], In step 7 a in FIG. 5 , the SMF transmits N4 Session Establishment Request (N4 session establishment request) message to the selected UPF. In step 7 b in FIG. 5 , the UPF transmits N4 Session Establishment Response (N4 session establishment response) message to the SMF for confirmation).
Qiao also further teaches “wherein the second instruction controls the second UPF to establish the second 5G communications session using QoS data determined based at least in part on the second request” (¶ [0409-0410], the SMF may send to the UPF a message (e.g. N4 session establishment/modification request) comprising the at least one of the following user plane rules for the always-on PDU session … the at least one QoS enforcement rule … in response to the N4 session establishment/modification request message received from the SMF, the UPF may install the user plane rules received from the SMF, send to the SMF a response message (e.g. N4 session establishment/modification response), and enforce the user plane rules for the always-on PDU session). [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of independent claim 1.]
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong-Qiao, in view of Duan (US 2019/0261233 A1).
Per claim 10, Xiong further teaches “wherein the request to establish the 5G communications session was generated by the 5G AMF( Figs.5-6, ¶ [0098], the AMF transmits Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message (that is, a protocol data unit session establishment session management context request message, which is referred to as a PDU session establishment session management context request message) to the selected SMF; ¶ [0034], An architecture of a 5G MBS is shown in FIG. 2 … a 5G radio access network) in response to a handover request associated with the UE …” (¶ [0010-0012], the present disclosure provides a method for implementing multi-cast broadcast service handover, applied to a user equipment … implementing multi-cast broadcast service handover, applied to a session management function (SMF) corresponding to a user equipment, the user equipment having been handed over from a source base station to a target base station … implementing multi-cast broadcast service handover, applied to a multicast broadcast-unified data manager (MB-UDM) corresponding to a user equipment, the user equipment having been handed over from a source base station to a target base station).
Xiong-Qiao does not teach the request “received from a 4G mobility management entity (MME).”
Duan teaches “wherein the request to establish the 5G communications session was generated by the 5G AMF in response to a handover request associated with the UE and received from a 4G mobility management entity (MME)” (¶ [0157], The first request message is used for the terminal to request to register with or be handed over to the second network; ¶ [0163-0164], the first request message may further carry a handover indication … when the first network is a 4G network, the second network is a 5G network, and a mobility management entity MME in the 4G network receives a handover request sent by an access network AN in the 4G network, the MME sends a request message to a default core network service entity Default CCNF (or an NSSF entity or an AMF entity in a Default CCNF entity, and the NSSF entity or the AMF entity are also used hereinafter) in the 5G network …selects a core network service S-CCNF entity (or an AMF entity in an S-CCNF entity, and the AMF entity is also used hereinafter) that supports a network slice identified by the network slice information of the 5G network … The response message carries parameters, such as a session list of the established packet data sessions and a transparent container that is sent by a target access network node to a source access network node. Then, the terminal performs a handover operation to access the 5G network).
Also, per claim 9 (claim 10 dependent from claim 9), Duan also teaches “wherein the request to establish the 5G communications session was received from a 5G access and mobility management function (AMF)” (¶ [0163-0164], ¶ [0163-0164], the first request message may further carry a handover indication … when the first network is a 4G network, the second network is a 5G network, and a mobility management entity MME in the 4G network receives a handover request sent by an access network AN in the 4G network, the MME sends a request message to a default core network service entity Default CCNF (or an NSSF entity or an AMF entity in a Default CCNF entity, and the NSSF entity or the AMF entity are also used hereinafter) in the 5G network …selects a core network service S-CCNF entity (or an AMF entity in an S-CCNF entity, and the AMF entity is also used hereinafter) that supports a network slice identified by the network slice information of the 5G network; ¶ [0188-0189], when the second core network device is an S-CCNF (or AMF) entity, the S-CCNF (or AMF) entity selects a specific 5G network slice instance NSI and selects an SMF entity in the NSI. In addition, the S-CCNF (or AMF) entity maps information related to UE mobility management (Mobility Management, MM) in the 4G UE context to the 5G terminal mobility management context (UE MM context) and maps an authentication/security parameter in the 4G UE context to a 5G UE authentication/security parameter for storing. S611: The second core network device sends a session establishment request message to the selected second session management device; ¶ [0355-0366], FIG. 12A and FIG. 12B are a schematic flowchart of a handover execution (Handover execution) phase for handing over UE from a 4G network to a 5G network …The 5G AN sends a handover notification message Handover Notify to an S-CCNF entity (or an AMF entity, and the AMF entity is also used hereinafter) … The S-CCNF entity sends a modify bearer request message Modify PDU Session Request to an SMF entity … The SMF entity returns a modify bearer response message Modify Bearer Response to the S-CCNF entity).
Thus, given the teaching of Duan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of 5G AMF receiving handover request from 4G MME of Duan into 5G AMF requesting to establish 5G communication session of Xiong-Qiao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating a known method of handover request from 4G MME as taught by Duan into another known method of establish 5G session in response to handover request as taught by Xiong-Qiao to yield predictable results, especially given that Duan and Xiong are in the same field of endeavor of managing 5G communication sessions for UE handover (KSR MPEP 2143).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong-Qiao, in view of Chiang (US 2021/0021979 A1).
Per claim 12, although Qiao teaches 5G QoS ARP being associated with an emergency service see rejection for claim 7), Xiong-Qiao does not teach “wherein the QoS parameter value associated with the UE is associated with a wireless priority service (WPS)”.
Chiang teaches “wherein determining to acquire the 5G QoS data comprises determining that the ARP value is associated with a wireless priority service (WPS)” and “wherein the QoS parameter value is associated with a wireless priority service (WPS)” (¶ [0105], the UE 102 may send an attachment request to a base station of an access network 602 to set up a dedicated connection 618 that has a higher priority than other types of connections, such as an E-PDN session, E-PDU session, WPS session. In examples, the attachment request or other data from the UE 102 can indicate a high-priority ARP value or other high priority indicator to signal that the UE 102 is requesting a dedicated connection 618; ¶ [0048], have dedicated resources for emergency or high priority calls … a dedicated connection 618 can be established over a dedicated emergency bearer, a dedicated emergency packet data network (E-PDN) session in LTE networks, and/or a dedicated emergency protocol data unit (E-PDU) session in 5G networks … a dedicated connection 618 can be set up using data including an Allocation and Retention Priority (ARP) value that indicates a high priority of an emergency bearer to be created for a session … a dedicated connection 618 can be set up as a Wireless Priority Service (WPS) connection, or other type of high-priority connection).
Thus, given the teaching of Chiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of ARP being associated with WPS emergency service of Chiang into 5G QoS ARP for emergency service of Xiong-Qiao, such that 5G QoS ARP for emergency services would be associated with WPS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Chiang recognizes that it would have been advantageous to use high ARP value to indicate dedicated connection for high-priority WPS session )” (¶ [0105], the UE 102 may send an attachment request to a base station of an access network 602 to set up a dedicated connection 618 that has a higher priority than other types of connections, such as an E-PDN session, E-PDU session, WPS session. In examples, the attachment request or other data from the UE 102 can indicate a high-priority ARP value or other high priority indicator to signal that the UE 102 is requesting a dedicated connection 618). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating known methods of ARP and emergency services to yield predictable results (KSR MPEP 2143).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong-Qiao, in view of Mantha (US 2023/0065081 A1).
Per claim 13, Xiong and Qiao both teach “controlling the UPF to establish the 5G communications session comprises controlling the UPF to establish a 5G flow between the UPF … using one or more of the one or more updated QoS parameter values” (See rejections for independent claims and claim 6). Xiong further teaches 5G gNodeB (¶ [0071], A 5G radio access network includes two nodes: gNB …) and Qiao further teaches 5G gNodeB (¶ [0042]. New radio Node B (gNB); ¶ [0252], the UE may transmit the NAS message via a RAN node (e.g. gNB, eNB, base station). Therefore, Xiong-Qiao implies teachings of claim 13, although does not explicitly disclose claim 13.
Mantha explicitly teaches “wherein controlling the UPF to establish the 5G communications session comprises controlling the UPF to establish a 5G flow between the UPF and a 5G gNodeB using one or more of the one or more updated QoS parameter values” (Fig.1; ¶ [0019-0023], FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a system 100 in which techniques that provide QoS enforcement … a User Plane Function (UPF) 126 … UE 102 may establish a Packet Data Network (PDN) connection, also referred to as a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session, in the SNPN domain 120. For example, UE 102 may establish a connection with a data network (not shown) via 3GPP access 125, AMF 128, and SMF 124 to access the data network via UPF 126 in the SNPN domain 120 … 3GPP access may be implemented as a gNodeB … a UPF, such as UPF 126 or UPF 136, supports features and capabilities to facilitate user plane operation … for 5G network connectivity. PF 126 may interface with 3GPP access 125 … As shown in FIG. 1 , UE 102 may establish a PDU session with the PLMN domain 130 via 3GPP access 125 and UPF 126 … the 5G core network … Once the PDN connection is established, UE 102 may access IMS 135 (or another application in the PLMN domain 130) via UPF 126, N3IWF 137, and UPF 136 … control QoS levels of PLMN flows in the SNPN domain 120 … maintain a 5G QoS Identifier (5QI)/QoS Class Identifier (QCI) to Differentiated Services Code Point (DSCP) mapping DB 152 that maps QCI values (for 4G flows) or 5QI values (for 5G flows) to DSCP values for each flow).
Thus, given the teaching of Mantha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of managing QoS for communication between UPF and 5G gNodeB of Mantha into managing QoS for UPF of Xiong-Qiao, such that UPF would establish a 5G flow with a 5G gNodeB using QoS value(s). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating a known method of UPF QoS to gNode B as taught by Mantha into another known method of UPF QoS as taught by Xiong-Qiao to yield predictable results (KSR MPEP 2143).
Per claim 14, Xiong-Qiao does not teach “wherein controlling the UPF to establish the 5G communications session comprises configuring the UPF to facilitate an exchange of user data associated with the UE between the UE and an IP multimedia system (IMS).”
Mantha teaches “wherein controlling the UPF to establish the 5G communications session comprises configuring the UPF to facilitate an exchange of user data associated with the UE between the UE and an IP multimedia system (IMS)” (Fig.1; ¶ [0021-0023], a UPF, such as UPF 126 or UPF 136, supports features and capabilities to facilitate user plane operation, such as packet routing and forwarding, interconnection to a data network, policy enforcement, and data buffering for 5G network connectivity … After UE 102 has established the PDU session … to utilize services provided in the PLMN domain 130, such as services provided by IMS 135. Typically, an IMS, such as IMS 135, provides IP multimedia services to a UE, such as UE 102. The IMS 135 may interface with PCF 132 and UPF 136 of the PLMN domain 130 … As shown in FIG. 1 , UE 102 may establish a PDU session with the PLMN domain 130 via 3GPP access 125 and UPF 126 in the SNPN domain 120 … Once the PDN connection is established, UE 102 may access IMS 135 (or another application in the PLMN domain 130) via UPF 126 … the 5G core network … 5G QoS Identifier (5QI)/QoS Class Identifier (QCI)).
Thus, given the teaching of Mantha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of UPF facilitating 5G communication between UE and IMS of Mantha into 5G communication of UE/UPF of Xiong-Qiao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating a known method of UE accessing IMS service via 5G UPF as taught by Mantha into another known method of UE services via 5G UPF as taught by Xiong-Qiao to yield predictable results (KSR MPEP 2143).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong-Qiao, in view of Xin (US 2022/0295355 A1).
Per claim 18, Xiong further teaches “wherein the QoS parameter value associated with the UE comprises a … ARP value” (¶ [0154]/¶ [0127], The SMF provides the QoS information such as packet filter, 5QI, and ARP of each QoS flow corresponding to the MBS session service flow obtained from the MB-UDM).
Also, Qiao further teaches “wherein the QoS parameter value comprises a … allocation and retention priority (ARP) value” (¶ [0403-0404], An application function (AF) may request an always-on PDU session for the application service for a wireless device by sending a message (e.g. always-on PDU session request, or application/service information provisional) to a PCF … The application/service information may comprise one or more of: IP filter information to identify a service data flow of the application service, an application identifier, a media/application/service type, and requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) … the PCF may determine/map the application/service information to an always-on PDU session based on the requested media/application/service QoS and/or the QoS supported by an always-on PDU session; ¶ [0407]; based on the requested media/application/service QoS (e.g. 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth) received from the AF, the PCF may determine/update the QoS control rule applied to the always-on PDU session, e.g. the determined/updated QoS control rule may comprise 5QI, ARP, and/or bandwidth parameters which may support the requested media/application/service QoS). [Comment: the combination/motivation is the same as that of independent claims.]
However, Xiong-Qiao does not teach that ARP is 4G.
Xin teaches that, a request for UE handover from 4G to 5G, (¶ [0006], Embodiments of this application provide an inter-network interworking method, an apparatus, and a system, to ensure that a service is not interrupted when a terminal successfully moves from a second network to a third network; ¶ [0008], the second network can prepare the session context of the terminal in the third network, to ensure the terminal to move from the second network to the third network in the future; ¶ 0019], the second network is a 4G network, and the third network is a 5G network) includes 4G QoS/ARP for mapping 4G QoS/ARP to 5G QoS/ARP (¶ [0216], the session management request may further carry an identifier (for example, an IMSI) of the terminal … an EPS bearer context (an EPS bearer ID and a 4G QoS parameter)) of the terminal in the second network; ¶ [0221], The QoS parameter of the third network in the first session context may be mapped by using a QoS parameter of the second network, or may be obtained through querying by the first session management network element from the PCF network element based on the identifier of the terminal; ¶ [0131], A packet data network (packet data network, PDN) connection (connection or connectivity) is a group of evolved packet system (evolved packet system, EPS) bearers established on a terminal in a second network (for example, a 4G network); ¶ [0172], There is mapping between an EPS QoS parameter (parameters) and a 5GS (5G system, 5G system) QoS parameter. EPS QoS parameters include … an allocation and retention priority (allocation and retention priority, ARP) … 5GS QoS parameters include an ARP …There is mapping between a GBR dedicated EPS bearer (GBR dedicated EPS Bearer) in the 4G network and a GBR QoS flow (flow) in the 5G network; ¶ [0385], The 5G QoS parameter in the PDU session context may be obtained through mapping by using the 4G QoS parameter, or may be obtained by the SMF+PGW-C+GGSN-C through query from a PCF network element based on the IMSI).
Thus, given the teaching of Xin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of including 4G QoS ARP in a request of Xin into QoS ARP of Xiong-Qiao, such that 4G QoS ARP would be included in a handover request. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Xin recognizes that it would have been advantageous to include a 4G QoS ARP in a handover request to determine a 5G QoS ARP (¶ [0221], The QoS parameter of the third network in the first session context may be mapped by using a QoS parameter of the second network, or may be obtained through querying by the first session management network element from the PCF network element based on the identifier of the terminal; ¶ [0131], A packet data network (packet data network, PDN) connection (connection or connectivity) is a group of evolved packet system (evolved packet system, EPS) bearers established on a terminal in a second network (for example, a 4G network); ¶ [0172], There is mapping between an EPS QoS parameter (parameters) and a 5GS (5G system, 5G system) QoS parameter. EPS QoS parameters include … an allocation and retention priority (allocation and retention priority, ARP) … 5GS QoS parameters include an ARP …There is mapping between a GBR dedicated EPS bearer (GBR dedicated EPS Bearer) in the 4G network and a GBR QoS flow (flow) in the 5G network; ¶ [0385], The 5G QoS parameter in the PDU session context may be obtained through mapping by using the 4G QoS parameter, or may be obtained by the SMF+PGW-C+GGSN-C through query from a PCF network element based on the IMSI). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating a known type of ARP (4G APR) in a request as taught by Xin into another known method of ARP in a request as taught by Xiong-Qiao to yield predictable and reasonably successful results (KSR MPEP 2143).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong-Qiao, in view of YOUN (US 2022/0345949 A1).
Per claim 20, Xiong further teaches “wherein the request is associated with a handover request …” (¶ [0010-0012], the present disclosure provides a method for implementing multi-cast broadcast service handover, applied to a user equipment … implementing multi-cast broadcast service handover, applied to a session management function (SMF) corresponding to a user equipment … implementing multi-cast broadcast service handover, applied to a multicast broadcast-unified data manager (MB-UDM) corresponding to a user equipment).
However, Xiong-QIAO does not explicitly teach that the handover request is “generated by the UE”.
Youn teaches establishing/modifying QoS of a PDU session associated with a handover request generated by a UE (¶ [0371], When the UE requested to handover IMS voice session from non-3GPP access to 3GPP access, the SMF need to establish at least two QoS flows, one for IMS signaling (e.g., 5 QI=5 QoS flow) and the other one for IMS voice (e.g., 5 QI=1 QoS flow). The SMF may trigger Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer and include PDU session establishment accept message and N2 SM information to setup IMS signaling and IMS voice QoS flows; ¶ [0342], when the UE requests a handover for a PDU session … the UE should perform a PDU session handover; ¶ [0083], The method may include receiving a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message including Quality of Service (QoS) flow setup for an IMS voice session from a Session Management Function (SMF); ¶ [0435], A message for network initiated PDU session modification procedure to setup QoS flow for voice reaches the NG-RAN (i.e., gNB or base station). Or, a message for UE requested PDU session establishment procedure to handover IMS voice session (i.e., IMS PDU session including QoS flow for IMS signaling and QoS flow for voice or IMS PDN connection including bearer for IMS signaling and bearer for voice) reaches the NG-RAN (i.e., gNB or base station)).
Thus, given the teaching of Youn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of handover request generated by UE of Youn into handover request of Xiong-Qiao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, specifically, incorporating known methods of handover requests to yield predictable results, especially Youn, Xiong, and Qiao are in the same field of endeavor of establishing/modifying QoS of PDU sessions (KSR MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANNAH S WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2631