DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Witzel et al (20110263272).
Regarding claim 1, Witzel et al discloses, a mobility management apparatus that establishes a communication connection (MME/MSC, fig. 1-7, ¶ 0038), via a network connected on the basis of cooperation between communication providers in a roaming country and a home country which has a plurality of time zones, with a connection destination that is selected from a plurality of session management apparatuses in the home country (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, it is detected whether the geographical position is within a home country of a subscriber of said mobile user entity, wherein when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server),
the mobility management apparatus (MME/MSC, fig. 1-7, ¶ 0038) comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out a selection process for selecting the connection destination, on the basis of time zone information indicating a time zone to which each of the plurality of session management apparatuses belongs (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 15, Witzel et al discloses, wherein the at least one processor further carries out a communication process for receiving the time zone information from a network information management apparatus (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 16, Witzel et al discloses, wherein in the selection process, the at least one processor selects the connection destination, further on the basis of relation information indicating a relation between each of time periods of a day in the home country and a communication data amount of the plurality of session management apparatuses (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012-0013, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, determine the geographical position of the network control node is to determine the country in which the network control node is located. Information about the country by way of example a country code representing the country in which the network control node is located, can be transmitted to the presence server together with the time zone information. The presence server may publish the time zone and/or the country in which the mobile user entity and therefore the subscriber is located. When the country is provided together with the time zone information, furthermore the information can be published whether the day is a public local holiday in the respective country etc. In this embodiment the time zone may be identified based on the information in which country the mobile user entity is located).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 17, Witzel et al discloses, wherein the relation information indicates a relation between each of the time periods of a day in each of the plurality of time zones in the home country and the communication data amount of the plurality of session management apparatuses (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server).
Regarding claim 5, 18, Witzel et al discloses, wherein in a case where the mobility management apparatus cannot establish the communication connection with the connection destination, the at least one processor selects, in the selection process, another connection destination from among the session management apparatuses each belonging to a time zone different from a time zone to which the connection destination belongs (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server).
Regarding claim 8, Witzel et al discloses, a mobility management system comprising a mobility management apparatus, a network information management apparatus and a plurality of session management apparatuses, the mobility management apparatus being an apparatus that establishes a communication connection, via a network connected on the basis of cooperation between communication providers in a roaming country and a home country which has a plurality of time zones, with a connection destination that is selected from the plurality of session management apparatuses in the home country (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server),
the mobility management apparatus including at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out: a communication process for receiving, from the network information management apparatus, time zone information indicating a time zone to which each of the plurality of session management apparatuses belongs, and establishing a communication connection with the connection destination (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server); and
a selection process for selecting the connection destination, on the basis of the time zone information, the network information management apparatus carrying out a communication process for sending the time zone information to the mobility management apparatus, the session management apparatus carrying out a communication process for establishing the communication connection with the mobility management apparatus (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server).
Regarding claim 14, Witzel et al discloses, a mobility management method for establishing a communication connection, via a network connected on the basis of cooperation between communication providers in a roaming country and a home country which has a plurality of time zones, with a connection destination that is selected from a plurality of session management apparatuses in the home country, the method comprising selecting, by at least one processor, the connection destination, on the basis of time zone information indicating a time zone to which each of the plurality of session management apparatuses belongs (fig. 1-7, ¶ 0012, 0031, 0034, 0037-0038, when it is detected that the mobile user entity is not located in the time zone of the home country said time zone information is transmitted to the presence server. In this embodiment the time zone information is only provided to the presence server when the user of the mobile user entity is not in the time zone of the home network. This can help to alert a watcher to contact the subscriber of the mobile user entity at times that are also convenient to the user of the roaming mobile entity. However, it should be understood that it is also possible to always transmit the time zone information to the presence server independent on the fact whether the subscriber is within the home network or not. In this embodiment the time zone information may always be provided and available to watchers in the presence server. Furthermore, many other possibilities exist to determine the time zone information and to transmit it to the presence server. The time zone information may be provided to the presence server).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 12-13, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witzel et al (20110263272) in view of Garcia (20230146343).
Regarding claims 6-7, 12-13, 19-20, Witzel et al discloses, the invention is not limited to CS access only. In case of a Packed Switched (PS) access a Serving GPRS Support Node SGSN (GPRS, EDGE, WCDMA) may be used to perform the related mobility management. In Long Time Evolution LTE (E-UTRAN) access this function may be defined to be in the MME. In generic terms, the logical function of reporting a current location to the central data base can be used. Furthermore, the HLR as a database should only be seen as an example for a database holding the current geographical position. In an IMS environment an equivalent database could be the HSS (Home Subscriber Server) or in the IETF SIP environment, a SIP (Session Initiation Protocol) Registrar or a Location Server could serve as the respective database. In generic terms, any database offering a look-up where to a call needs to be routed may be appropriate to serve the above purpose (¶ 0038).
Witzel et al does not specifically disclose mobility management function (AMF) apparatus; the network information management apparatus is a network repository function (NRF) apparatus; and the session management apparatus is a session management function (SMF) apparatus.
In the same field of endeavor, Garcia discloses, mobility management function (AMF) apparatus; the network information management apparatus is a network repository function (NRF) apparatus; and the session management apparatus is a session management function (SMF) apparatus and PGW (¶ 0068, 0075, 0103). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Witzel et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to effectively provides the access network information to the requester in the network in a simple and effective manner as taught by Garcia.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643