DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US 2022/0159741) in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2021/0281520) and Vasavada et al. (US 2015/0270890), and further in view of Ratasuk et al. (US 2020/0107283).
Regarding claim 1 and 18, Hoang discloses a method of wireless communication, a wireless device configured to communicate with a network device using preconfigured transmission resources, comprising: determining, by a wireless device configured to communicate with a network device using preconfigured transmission resources, a timing adjustment value for communication with the network device using a mode in which the timing adjustment value is determined at least partly based on autonomous estimation by the wireless device (paragraph 103, lines 1-3: “methods for, and/or for use in connection with, performing network access to and/or other procedures in the NTN may be implemented in a WTRU and may include autonomously adjusting a TA at a WTRU based on any of ephemeris of a satellite, timing of control and data sent from a network, and GNSS information....”; Paragraph 106, lines 1-3: “the TAC mode may be an autonomous mode or a non-autonomous mode. In various embodiments, in the autonomous TAC mode the methods may include the WTRU adjusting the TA based on reference timing from any of a previous UL transmission and a previous successful transmission and a previous successful transmission....”; Paragraph 224, lines 1-3: “the WTRU may adjust its TA autonomously, The WTRU, for example, may determine (e.g., estimate) its TA autonomously based on any of liming of control and/or data sent from the network, ephemeris of a satellite and GNSS information....”; Paragraph 225, lines 1-7: “a WTRU may determine a TAC mode to use based on information from the network (e.g., information provided by a gNB). In an embodiment, a gNB and/or the network may support one or more TAC modes for the WTRU. Each (or any) of the TAC modes may indicate reference timing for the TAC. The TAC modes may include an autonomous mode and non-autonomous mode. In the autonomous mode, the WTRU may be able to measure the TA and in the non-autonomous mode, the WTRU may not be able to measure the TA by itself. In the autonomous mode, the WTRU may change the TA, for example, based on the reference timing from its previous UL transmission, a previous successful transmission and the like.....”).
Hoang fails to disclose the autonomous estimation being based on a transmission delay between the wireless device and the satellite.
However, in an analogous art, Shrestha discloses a timing adjustment value that is determined at least partly based on an autonomous estimation by a wireless device, the autonomous estimation being based on a transmission delay between the wireless device and the satellite (FIG. 14 and paragraph 164, lines 1-4: “At 1410, the UE may determine, based on the propagation delay and a propagation delay variation, an uplink timing for initiating an uplink communication to the base station via the satellite, where the uplink timing is determined relative to a satellite timing reference or a base station timing reference, and where the propagation delay variation is based on movement of the satellite relative to the UE or movement of the satellite relative to both the UE and the base station.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device in Hoang by incorporating this feature taught in Shrestha for the purpose of enabling reliable synchronization and efficient communication without relying solely on network-provided timing information.
The combination of Hoang and Shrestha fails to disclose that a wireless device determines a transmission delay according to position information and mobility information of a satellite.
However, in an analogous art, Vasavada discloses that a wireless device determines the transmission delay according to position information and mobility information of the satellite (claim 1, lines 4-6: “determining a timing delay factor … for each of the satellite(s) to which the transmissions occur based on respective satellite ephemeris data reflecting velocity and direction vector motion of the satellite”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device in Hoang and Shrestha by incorporating this feature taught in Vasavada for the purpose of preventing timing drift and maintaining synchronization in the satellite link.
The combination of Hoang, Shrestha and Vasavada fails to disclose causing the wireless device to perform a transmission with the network device using the timing adjustment value and the preconfigured transmission resources.
However, in an analogous art, Ratasuk et al. discloses causing a wireless device to perform a transmission with a network device using a timing adjustment value and preconfigured transmission resources (paragraph 28, lines 2-4: “at least one RRC message may include at least one TA-validation-required parameter, which may be a binary indication and/or may indicate whether to require UE 130 to validate its TA prior to a next uplink transmission over preconfigured resources.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device in Hoang, Shrestha and Vasavada by incorporating this feature taught in Ratasuk for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead and enabling efficient and synchronized uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 2, Hoang discloses that the autonomous estimation of the timing adjustment value is based on a position information or a mobility information of the network device (paragraph 91, lines 1-7: “the methods may include estimating a pathloss (PL) at time, t1, based on a satellite transmit power and a receive power based on a reference signal. In various embodiments, the methods may include predicting a PL at time, t2, based on any of a calculated distance to a concerned satellite at time, t1, the estimated PL at time, t1, and a predicted distance to the satellite at time. t2. In various embodiments, the methods may include calculating the distance from the satellite at time, t1, based on satellite information. In various embodiments, the satellite information may include satellite altitude and ephemeris data. In various embodiments, the methods may include predicting the distance from the satellite at time, t2, based on information, including a of the WTRU, a satellite altitude, a speed and ephemeris data”).
Regarding claim 3, Hoang discloses that the timing adjustment value is further determined using a transmission received from the network device (paragraph 225, lines 5-6: “In the autonomous mode, the WTRU may change the TA, for example, based on the reference timing from its previous UL transmission”).
Regarding claim 4, Hoang discloses that the transmission received from the network device includes a timing adjustment command (paragraph 222, lines 1-2: “a WTRU may monitor a group common PDCCH (GC-PDCCH) and may receive an indication of a timing advance (TA) command (TAC) for itself and/or for a group of WTRUs (“group TAC”)”).
Regarding claim 5, Hoang discloses that the timing adjustment value is determined in response to receiving an indication from the network device that the mode has been activated for use (paragraph 47, lines 2-3: “he MME 162 may be responsible for authenticating users of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, bearer activation/deactivation”).
Regarding claim 6, Hoang discloses that the indication is received in a radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraph 106, line 7: “the WTRU may receive the TAC mode via any of a MAC CE and an RRC message.”).
Regarding claim 7, Hoang discloses that the indication uses a dedicated field in the RRC message (paragraph 110, lines 1-3: “The WTRU 102 may receive Msg2 (205) from the gNB; using the RA-RNTI to descramble the message. Msg2 may include any of a timing advance (TA), a power adjustment/correction, a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI), and a resource (grant) for the WTRU 102 to use for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection request (“Msg3”)”).
Regarding claim 8, Hoang discloses that the indication re-uses an existing field in the RRC message (paragraph 110, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, Hoang discloses that the existing field comprises a status field of an information element (IE) (paragraph 204, lines 1-5: “a WTRU may initiate initial access procedure by sending Msg1 (e.g., a RACH preamble) to the network. In an embodiment, a WTRU may determine a transmit power, TxP, for Msg1, for example, based (at least in part) on various satellite information received from the network. The satellite information may include any of a preamble received target power information element (IE); a power ramping step IE; a satellite transmit power (“Sat Tx Power”) IE; a satellite type IE; an altitude IE; a speed IE and ephemeris data IE.”).
Regarding claim 10. The method of claim 9, wherein the IE includes at least one of: a RSRP-Change Threshold IE or a timer (paragraph 213, lines 1-6: “The estimated PL may be valid at a time, t1, corresponding to when synchronization signal is measured in connection with determining the SS-RSRP. However, due to mobility, satellite speed (especially for LEO satellites and the like) and other factors, the estimated PL might not reflect (e.g., accurately reflect) the PL between the WTRU and the satellite at a time, t2, when Msg1 is intended to and/or expected to arrive at the satellite. Using a PL that reflects the PL between the WTRU and the satellite at a time, t2, may result in the transmit power, TxP, for Msg1 being set appropriately and may avoid unnecessary retransmission of Msg1 and/or other WTRU's transmission (e.g., due to the transmit power, TxP, for Msg1 causing interference).”).
Regarding claim 11, Hoang discloses that the wireless device determines that the mode has been activated responsive to a configuration pattern of validity parameters (paragraph 213, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, Hoang discloses that the indication is received in a broadcast message from the network device (paragraph 19, lines 2-5: “The communications system 100 may be a multiple access system that provides content, such as voice, data, video, messaging, broadcast, etc., to multiple wireless users. The communications system 100 may enable multiple wireless users to access such content through the sharing of system resources, including wireless bandwidth”).
Regarding claim 13, Hoang discloses that the indication signals that the network device is a non-terrestrial network device or a high mobility device (paragraph 40, lines 1-3: “The processor 118 may also be coupled to the GPS chipset 136, which may be configured to provide location information (e.g., longitude and latitude) regarding the current location of the WTRU 102. In addition to, or in lieu of, the information from the GPS chipset 136”).
Regarding claim 14, Hoang discloses that the indication uses a new field in a system information block of the broadcast message (paragraph 108, lines 2-5: “According to the 4-step initial access procedure 200, a WTRU 102 may receive, and may read, a master information block (MIB) (not shown) and/or a system information block-1 (SIB1) (201). The WTRU 102 may perform a DL synchronization using information obtained from and/or indicated by the MIB and/or SIB1 (“M/SIB information”).).
Regarding claim 15, Hoang discloses that the indication re-uses an existing field in a system information block of the broadcast message (paragraph 108, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 16, Hoang discloses that the indication is based on information indicative of a type of the network device (paragraph 20, lines 4-5: “Each of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d may be any type of device configured to operate and/or communicate in a wireless environment.”).
Regarding claim 17, Hoang discloses that the information includes a cell identifier or an arrangement of a public land mobile network, or a frequency band of operation or a type of system information block transmitted by the network device (paragraph 20, lines 1-4: “the communications system 100 may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d, a RAN 104/113, a CN 106/115, a public switched telephone network (PSTN) 108, the Internet 110, and other networks 112, though it will be appreciated that the disclosed embodiments contemplate any number of WTRUs, base stations, networks, and/or network elements.”).
Regarding claim 19, Hoang discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising: transmitting, by a network device to a wireless device configured to communicate with the network device using preconfigured transmission resources, a timing adjustment information using which the wireless device determines a timing adjustment value based on autonomous estimation by the wireless device (paragraph 103, lines 1-3: “methods for, and/or for use in connection with, performing network access to and/or other procedures in the NTN may be implemented in a WTRU and may include autonomously adjusting a TA at a WTRU based on any of ephemeris of a satellite, timing of control and data sent from a network, and GNSS information....”; Paragraph 106, lines 1-3: “the TAC mode may be an autonomous mode or a non-autonomous mode. In various embodiments, in the autonomous TAC mode the methods may include the WTRU adjusting the TA based on reference timing from any of a previous UL transmission and a previous successful transmission and a previous successful transmission....”; Paragraph 224, lines 1-3: “the WTRU may adjust its TA autonomously, The WTRU, for example, may determine (e.g., estimate) its TA autonomously based on any of liming of control and/or data sent from the network, ephemeris of a satellite and GNSS information....”; Paragraph 225, lines 1-7: “a WTRU may determine a TAC mode to use based on information from the network (e.g., information provided by a gNB). In an embodiment, a gNB and/or the network may support one or more TAC modes for the WTRU. Each (or any) of the TAC modes may indicate reference timing for the TAC. The TAC modes may include an autonomous mode and non-autonomous mode. In the autonomous mode, the WTRU may be able to measure the TA and in the non-autonomous mode, the WTRU may not be able to measure the TA by itself. In the autonomous mode, the WTRU may change the TA, for example, based on the reference timing from its previous UL transmission, a previous successful transmission and the like.....”).
Hoang fails to disclose the autonomous estimation being based on a transmission delay between the wireless device and the satellite.
However, Shrestha discloses a timing adjustment value that is determined at least partly based on an autonomous estimation by a wireless device, the autonomous estimation being based on a transmission delay between the wireless device and the satellite (FIG. 14 and paragraph 164, lines 1-4: “At 1410, the UE may determine, based on the propagation delay and a propagation delay variation, an uplink timing for initiating an uplink communication to the base station via the satellite, where the uplink timing is determined relative to a satellite timing reference or a base station timing reference, and where the propagation delay variation is based on movement of the satellite relative to the UE or movement of the satellite relative to both the UE and the base station.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Hoang by incorporating this feature taught in Shrestha for the purpose of enabling reliable synchronization and efficient communication without relying solely on network-provided timing information.
The combination of Hoang and Shrestha fails to disclose that a wireless device determines a transmission delay according to position information and mobility information of a satellite.
However, Vasavada discloses that a wireless device determines the transmission delay according to position information and mobility information of the satellite (claim 1, lines 4-6: “determining a timing delay factor … for each of the satellite(s) to which the transmissions occur based on respective satellite ephemeris data reflecting velocity and direction vector motion of the satellite”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device in Hoang and Shrestha by incorporating this feature taught in Vasavada for the purpose of preventing timing drift and maintaining synchronization in the satellite link.
The combination of Hoang, Shrestha and Vasavada fails to disclose receiving, from the wireless device, a transmission with the network device that uses the timing adjustment value and the preconfigured transmission resources.
However, Ratasuk et al. discloses receiving, from a wireless device, a transmission with a network device that uses a timing adjustment value and preconfigured transmission resources (paragraph 28, lines 2-4: “at least one RRC message may include at least one TA-validation-required parameter, which may be a binary indication and/or may indicate whether to require UE 130 to validate its TA prior to a next uplink transmission over preconfigured resources.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device in Hoang, Shrestha and Vasavada by incorporating this feature taught in Ratasuk for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead and enabling efficient and synchronized uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 20, Hoang discloses at least one processor configured to: transmit, via a transceiver to a wireless device configured to communicate with the network device using preconfigured transmission resources, a timing adjustment information using which the wireless device determines a timing adjustment value based on autonomous estimation by the wireless device (paragraph 103, lines 1-3: “methods for, and/or for use in connection with, performing network access to and/or other procedures in the NTN may be implemented in a WTRU and may include autonomously adjusting a TA at a WTRU based on any of ephemeris of a satellite, timing of control and data sent from a network, and GNSS information....”; Paragraph 106, lines 1-3: “the TAC mode may be an autonomous mode or a non-autonomous mode. In various embodiments, in the autonomous TAC mode the methods may include the WTRU adjusting the TA based on reference timing from any of a previous UL transmission and a previous successful transmission and a previous successful transmission....”; Paragraph 224, lines 1-3: “the WTRU may adjust its TA autonomously, The WTRU, for example, may determine (e.g., estimate) its TA autonomously based on any of liming of control and/or data sent from the network, ephemeris of a satellite and GNSS information....”; Paragraph 225, lines 1-7: “a WTRU may determine a TAC mode to use based on information from the network (e.g., information provided by a gNB). In an embodiment, a gNB and/or the network may support one or more TAC modes for the WTRU. Each (or any) of the TAC modes may indicate reference timing for the TAC. The TAC modes may include an autonomous mode and non-autonomous mode. In the autonomous mode, the WTRU may be able to measure the TA and in the non-autonomous mode, the WTRU may not be able to measure the TA by itself. In the autonomous mode, the WTRU may change the TA, for example, based on the reference timing from its previous UL transmission, a previous successful transmission and the like.....”).
Hoang fails to disclose the autonomous estimation being based on a transmission delay between the wireless device and the satellite.
However, Shrestha discloses a timing adjustment value that is determined at least partly based on an autonomous estimation by a wireless device, the autonomous estimation being based on a transmission delay between the wireless device and the satellite (FIG. 14 and paragraph 164, lines 1-4: “At 1410, the UE may determine, based on the propagation delay and a propagation delay variation, an uplink timing for initiating an uplink communication to the base station via the satellite, where the uplink timing is determined relative to a satellite timing reference or a base station timing reference, and where the propagation delay variation is based on movement of the satellite relative to the UE or movement of the satellite relative to both the UE and the base station.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in Hoang by incorporating this feature taught in Shrestha for the purpose of enabling reliable synchronization and efficient communication without relying solely on network-provided timing information.
The combination of Hoang and Shrestha fails to disclose that a wireless device determines a transmission delay according to position information and mobility information of a satellite.
However, Vasavada discloses that a wireless device determines the transmission delay according to position information and mobility information of the satellite (claim 1, lines 4-6: “determining a timing delay factor … for each of the satellite(s) to which the transmissions occur based on respective satellite ephemeris data reflecting velocity and direction vector motion of the satellite”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device in Hoang and Shrestha by incorporating this feature taught in Vasavada for the purpose of preventing timing drift and maintaining synchronization in the satellite link.
The combination of Hoang, Shrestha and Vasavada fails to disclose receiving, via the transceiver from the wireless device, a transmission with the network device that uses the timing adjustment value and the preconfigured transmission resources.
However, Ratasuk discloses receiving, via a transceiver from a wireless device, a transmission with a network device that uses a timing adjustment value and preconfigured transmission resources (paragraph 28, lines 2-4: “at least one RRC message may include at least one TA-validation-required parameter, which may be a binary indication and/or may indicate whether to require UE 130 to validate its TA prior to a next uplink transmission over preconfigured resources.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device in Hoang, Shrestha and Vasavada by incorporating this feature taught in Ratasuk for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead and enabling efficient and synchronized uplink transmissions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection is applied to the claims.
Applicant states that Shrestha fails to disclose that the wireless device determines the transmission delay according to position information and mobility information of the satellite. However, Vasavada and Ratasuk are introduced as new grounds of rejection of the claims. Examiner relies on the combination of Hoang, Shrestha, Vasavada and Ratasuk to teach the limitations of independent claims 1 and 18-20, as amended, for the reasons discussed in the rejection above. Dependent claims 2-17 are also rejected for the reasons discussed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/SAM BHATTACHARYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646