Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mishima (4,209,929).
RE claims 1 and 2, Mishima (4,209,929) discloses a fishing spear device (see Figs. 1-6), comprising: a fishing spear body (12); and a centerline internal reinforcement assembly (32, 34) of Fig. 4), at least a portion of the centerline internal reinforcement assembly being within the fishing spear body wherein the fishing spear body includes at least one body tube (12).
Claims 1-5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lowe (6,678,989).
RE claims 1 and 2, Lowe (6,678,989) discloses a fishing pole spear device (see Figs. 1-7), comprising: a fishing spear body (see Fig. 1); and a centerline internal reinforcement assembly (see Figs. 1 and 5), at least a portion of the centerline internal reinforcement assembly being within the fishing spear body wherein the fishing spear body includes at least one body tube (one of 12, 14, 16, 16, 18, and 20).
RE claims 3 and 4, Lowe’s spear device (6,678,989) shows the centerline internal reinforcement assembly includes a high-strength line (36) within the fishing spear body and extending between a forward end of the fishing spear device and an aft end (26 of Fig. 4) of the fishing spear device capable of being tensioned a shown in Fig. 1.
RE claim 5, Lowe’s spear device (6,678,989) also teaches the centerline internal reinforcement assembly includes: a nose cone (48, or 57 of Fig. 2); a rear fitting (26); and a rotatable nut (28) (See Fig. 4) that is rotatable within the rear fitting.
RE claims 7 and 8, Lowe’s spear device (6,678,989) discloses the centerline internal reinforcement assembly includes: a cord (36), which is a high-strength line; and at least one connection element (one of connecting tubes 12, 14, 16, 16, 18, and 20), wherein the high-strength line (36) passes through each of the at least one connection element (26 of Fig. 4; or one of connecting members to tubes 12, 14, 16, 16, 18, and 20) and through the at least one body tube (one of connecting tubes 12, 14, 16, 16, 18, and 20).
Claims 1-5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crabtree (4,052,808).
RE claims 1 and 2, Crabtree (4,052,808) discloses a fishing pole spear device (see Figs. 1-4), comprising: a fishing spear body (see Fig. 1); and a centerline internal reinforcement assembly (see Figs. 1 and 2), at least a portion of the centerline internal reinforcement assembly being within the fishing spear body wherein the fishing spear body includes at least one body tube (one of 10, 12, 14, and 16).
RE claims 3 and 4, Fig. 1 of Crabtree (4,052,808) shows the centerline internal reinforcement assembly includes a high-strength line (26, 28) within the fishing spear body and extending between a forward end of the fishing spear device and an aft end (see Fig. 1) of the fishing spear device capable of being tensioned a shown in Fig. 1. It is also pointed out that a high-strength line (one of 26 and 28) within one of the fishing spear bodies, i.e., a tube (10, 12, 14, and 16) wherein extending between a forward end of the fishing spear device and an aft end of a tube (any one of 10, 12, 14, and 16).
RE claim 5, Crabtree (4,052,808) also teaches the centerline internal reinforcement assembly includes: a nose cone (a tip of a spear (See Fig. 1), a rear fitting (16); and a rear end plug, which could be considered as a rotatable nut, that is rotatable within the rear fitting (16).
RE claims 7 and 8, Crabtree (4,052,808) discloses the centerline internal reinforcement assembly includes: a cord (26, 28), which is a high-strength line; and at least one connection element (one of connecting tubes 10, 12, 14, and 16), wherein the high-strength line (26, 28) passes through each of the at least one connection element (one of connecting members to tubes 10, 12, 14, and 16) and through the at least one body tube (one of connecting tubes 10, 12, 14, and 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crabtree (4,052,808) in view of Noye (310,958).
If Crabtree (4,052,808), as presented above, does not specifically show a rear fitting with a rotatable nut, Fig. 4 of Noyes (310,958) teaches a tube (A) or shaft, a cone (G) having an inner thread and a rotatable nut (F). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a nut or an end enclosure as an alternative embodiment, on the rear fitting (16) of Crabtree (4,052,808) Lowe’s spear device (6,678,989) as taught by Noye (310,958) to provide as a means to attach to cable or other storage needs to a user.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lowe’s spear device (6,678,989) in view of Groschup (1,914,500).
If Lowe’s spear device (6,678,989), as presented above, shows rear fitting (66) and a rea plug (64), but does not specifically show a rotatable nut. However, Fig. 2 of Groschup (1,914,500) teaches a tube (5) or a rear fitting and a rotatable nut (6, 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a nut or an end enclosure as an alternative embodiment, on the rear fitting (66) of Lowe’s spear device (6,678,989) as taught by Groschup (1,914,500) to provide as a means to firmly attach to a cable or other storage needs to a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-19 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654