DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
2. Each of claims 1, 3 and 5, recites “A reagent set for treating a contaminated material to reduce contaminant leachability, comprising a mixture of: an acid selected from….; and an oxidant selected from…”. When interpreting in view of specification ([0041]), which discloses “Nitric acid is especially preferred because of the acidity it provides to the treatment process reactions as well as its ability to act as the oxidant in the reagent set.”, the examiner interprets that the acid and the oxidant can be one material that could meet both limitation, such as nitric acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soane et al. (US 20140014586) (Soane).
6. Regarding claims 1-2, Soane teaches a system for removing an oxidizable target contaminant from a fluid (i.e. contaminated material) with reagents that include an oxidizing agent to oxidize the contaminant as an insoluble precipitate in the fluid with a substrate (Soane, Abstract)
wherein the substrate that can comprise of anchor particles (Soane, [0013]) forming a removable complex (Soane, Abstract) with contaminating metals (Soane, [0048]).
Soane further teaches the contaminating metals may be complexed, immobilized, precipitated, or otherwise removed from the fluid stream (Soane, [0048])., thereby reducing contaminant mobility (i.e. claimed contaminant leaching).
wherein the system suitably comprises nitric acid (i.e., an acid; an oxidant) (Soane, [0064]).
Given that Soane discloses the system that overlaps the presently claimed reagent set, including nitric acid, it therefore would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the system, which is both disclosed by Soane and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Soane further teaches other common oxidants include ozone, oxygen, chlorine, chlorite, hypochlorite, permanganate, hydrogen peroxide, organic peroxides, persulfate, perborate, N-halogenated hydantoin, nitrate salts, and sodium percarbonate (Soane, [0064]).
wherein the inorganic substrates are useful as anchor particles (i.e. adsorbents) such as activated carbon (Soane, [0042])
wherein the substrate can be prepared as a solid form, such as granular, powdered, fibrous, membrane, microparticle, or coating (Soane, [0069]).
7. Regarding claims 3-4, Soane teaches a system for removing an oxidizable target contaminant from a fluid (i.e. contaminated material) with reagents that include an oxidizing agent to oxidize the contaminant as an insoluble precipitate in the fluid with a substrate (Soane, Abstract)
wherein the substrate that can comprise of anchor particles (Soane, [0013]) forming a removable complex (Soane, Abstract) with contaminating metals (Soane, [0048]).
Soane further teaches the contaminating metals may be complexed, immobilized, precipitated, or otherwise removed from the fluid stream (Soane, [0048])., thereby reducing contaminant mobility (i.e. claimed contaminant leaching).
wherein the system suitably comprises nitric acid (i.e., an acid; an oxidant) (Soane, [0064]).
Given that Soane discloses the system that overlaps the presently claimed reagent set, including nitric acid, it therefore would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the system, which is both disclosed by Soane and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Soane further teaches that inorganic substrates are useful as anchor particles (i.e. adsorbents) such as activated carbon (Soane, [0042])
wherein the substrate can be prepared as a solid form, such as granular, powdered, fibrous, membrane, microparticle, or coating (Soane, [0069]).
9. Regarding claim 5, Soane teaches a system for removing an oxidizable target contaminant from a fluid (i.e. contaminated material) with reagents that include an oxidizing agent to oxidize the contaminant as an insoluble precipitate in the fluid with a substrate (Soane, Abstract)
wherein the substrate that can comprise of anchor particles (Soane, [0013]) forming a removable complex (Soane, Abstract) with contaminating metals (Soane, [0048]).
Soane further teaches the contaminating metals may be complexed, immobilized, precipitated, or otherwise removed from the fluid stream (Soane, [0048])., thereby reducing contaminant mobility (i.e. claimed contaminant leaching).
wherein the system suitably comprises nitric acid (i.e., an acid; an oxidant) (Soane, [0064]).
Given that Soane discloses the system that overlaps the presently claimed reagent set, including nitric acid, it therefore would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the system, which is both disclosed by Soane and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Soane further teaches that inorganic substrates are useful as anchor particles (i.e. adsorbents) such as activated carbon (Soane, [0042])
wherein the substrate can be prepared as a solid form, such as granular, powdered, fibrous, membrane, microparticle, or coating (Soane, [0069]).
Conclusion
/R.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1732
/CORIS FUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732