DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A copy of Korean Application KR10-2022-0084850 has been filed with priority date of 11 July 2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a temperature expressing member for expressing the internal temperature of the PCR chamber …” in claim 6. For the purposes of examination the temperature expressing member will be interpreted as micro-encapsulated temperature sensitive materials and an infrared plate (see [0026] of specification and claim 8). Therefore, the disclose provides sufficient structure for performing the function of expressing an internal temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the laser heating device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 11 depends from claim 1 and a laser heating device was not introduced in the claims until claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Publication KR1020190074733A to Yoo et al. (herein Yoo) as cited on the 12 July 2023 IDS (see machine translation provided) in view of “Non-contact Temperature Control System Applicable to Polymerase Chain Reaction on a Lab-on-a-Disc” to Ko et al. (herein Ko).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoo discloses a lab-on-a-disk device (i.e., PCR disc apparatus) comprising a lab-on-a-disk 100 for performing polymerase chain reaction DNA amplification (i.e., PCR disc) (see [0113]; [0172-0174]; Figs. 1-4 & 11) comprising: a cell destruction chamber 29a (i.e., sample chamber) ([0174]; Figs. 1-4); a DNA amplification chamber 29b (i.e., PCR chamber) (see [0174]; Figs. 1-4); and a valve 14 comprising a tunneling channel connecting the sample chamber 29a to the PCR chamber 29b ([0049]; [0208]; Figs. 1-3), wherein the tunneling channel is formed by perforated thermoplastic resin (see [0049]; [0211]) disposed on an inlet channel of the PCR chamber 29b in such a way as for the perforation to pass through the thermoplastic resin (see Figs. 1-3).
Yoo fails to disclose a tunneling channel “formed by a micro-needle built in a thermoplastic resin” as recited in the instant claims.
Note that the claim is directed toward a PCR disc apparatus itself and not the method of making said PCR disc apparatus. Therefore, forming the tunneling channel by using a micro-needle built into the thermoplastic resin is not limiting as the end result would be the same product. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (see MPEP 2113 Product-by- Process). Furthermore, “Non-Contact Temperature Control System Applicable to Polymerase Chain Reaction on a Lab-on-a-Disc” to Ko discloses using a microneedle to create a tunneling channel in thermoplastic resin (see 3.1. Sealing of Reagents).
Yoo and Koo are analogous in the field of PCR amplification devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the tunneling channel of Yoo to be a micro-needle tunneling channel formed by a micro-needle built in a thermoplastic resin as recited in the instant claims for the benefit of creating a tunnel that reliably and tightly seals a chamber when melted (see 3.1. Sealing of Reagents).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1 and for the micro-needle to create the perforation (i.e., tunnel) of the thermoplastic resin, there must be an outlet through which the micro-needle is removed. Yoo discloses the PCR disc 100 is subjected to centrifugal force to control movement within the PCR disc 100 (see [0245]; [0284]). As Yoo in view of Ko renders obvious all the structural limitations of claim 2, the invention of claim 2 is therefore obvious. How the micro-needle is removed to form the PCR disc is not limiting when it comes the PCR disc apparatus itself (see MPEP 2113 Product-by- Process).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1. Yoo fails to disclose all the limitations as recited, however, the instant invention is directed toward a PCR disc apparatus and not the method by which it was manufactured. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (see MPEP 2113 Product-by- Process). Therefore, Yoo meets the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1 and Yoo discloses the thermoplastic resin is melted using laser heating to allow the tunneling channel to be melted so the inlet channel of the PCR chamber is closed (see [0049];[0211]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1 and Yoo discloses a driving control unit having a disk rotation motor 102 adapted to rotate the PCR disc 100 or stop the PCR disc 100 (see [0304-0313]; Fig. 11); a laser heating device 44 for heating the PCR chamber (see [0307]; Fig. 11); and a non-contact temperature sensor 46b for measuring an internal temperature of the PCR chamber (see [0237]; Fig. 3b).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 5 and Yoo discloses a heating film 30b that is stored inside the PCR chamber 29b to absorb heat generated from the laser heating device 44 or transfer the absorbed heat (see [0179]; Figs. 103); and a temperature display means (i.e., temperature expressing member) 24b/25b for expressing the internal temperature of the PCR chamber 29b through change in color or infrared light (see [0179]; Figs. 1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 6 and Yoo discloses the heating film is a black film, a Vanta black sheet, or metal plate with a black coated surface (see [0096]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 6 and Yoo discloses wherein the temperature expressing member is a combination of a micro-encapsulated temperature sensitive material 24b and an infrared radiator 25b comprising a metal plate (see [0065]; [0203-0207]; Figs. 1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 8 and Yoo discloses wherein the non-contact temperature sensor is an image sensor for reading a change in color or transparency of the micro encapsulated temperature sensitive material or an infrared sensor for measuring the amount of infrared emitted from the infrared radiator ([0054]; [0065]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1 and Yoo discloses a sample inlet 28a for injecting a sample into the sample chamber 29a to temporarily store the sample (see [0026]; [0284]; Figs. 1-4 & 9); and an excess chamber 15 for storing excess of the sample exceeding the capacity (i.e., fixed amount) of the PCR chamber (see [0048]; [0208]; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1 and Yoo discloses the thermoplastic resin is melted using a laser heating device 44 to allow the tunneling channel to be melted so the inlet channel of the PCR chamber is closed (see [0049]; [0211]), wherein the laser heating device 44 is for heating the PCR chamber (see [0307]; Fig. 11) and a slider 211 movable in a radial direction of the PCR disc 100 (see [0290]; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1 and Yoo discloses peptide nucleic acid (PNA) probes disposed in the PCR chamber to bind PNA to DNA through hybridization, wherein PNA binds to normal DNA having a normal target sequence and does not bind to mutated target DNA and the normal DNA bound to the PNA is not amplified and the mutated DNA not bound to the PNA is amplified so the presence or absence of a disease or mutation is easily determined (see [0031-0032]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of references above render obvious the invention of claim 1 and Yoo discloses wherein the Thermoplastic resin is black thermoplastic resin (see [0001]).
Conclusion
/KATHRYN ELIZABETH LIMBAUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797