DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant added claims 17-20. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 02/23/26, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4 and 6-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson in view of Jardret, and of claim 5 in further view of Collinson, have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that while Jardret teaches a system for providing secondary pressure from a pump unit, Jardret also teaches that secondary pressure from any secondary pressure source may be used to facilitate flow of exudate from the wound site, and therefore the advantage taught by Jardret is not limited to the source of secondary pressure being the same pump unit as the reduced pressure source. However, Jardret teaches a configuration in which the lumens (Fig. 1, feats. 12a-b) of both fluid flow paths (Fig. 1, feats. 14 and 16) are connected to the same unit (20) to reduce the overall footprint of the system (¶0050). Therefore, even if Jardret teaches that any secondary pressure source may be used to supply the secondary pressure to facilitate flow from the wound site, Jardret also teaches that the same pump unit may be used to provide both the primary reduced pressure and the secondary pressure.
Applicant further argues that the device of Nilsson already facilitates exudate flow from the wound site, and that there would be no reason to modify the device of Nilsson using the teachings of Jardret. Applicant further argues that even if one were to modify Nilsson using the teachings of Jardret, there is nothing in the cited references to suggest that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not fluidly connect the secondary pressure lumen in the second section to the secondary pressure lumen in the first section for using the pump unit to supply secondary pressure from the same pump unit to both the first and second wound sites. However, in the device of Nilsson, the vent is open to the atmosphere (Nilsson: ¶0075-0076), and therefore the secondary pressure is atmospheric pressure, while in the device, while in the device of Jardret, the secondary pressure lumen is connected to the pump unit, and the secondary pressure is still subatmospheric pressure, though to a lesser extent than the primary pressure (Jardret: ¶0049). Jardret teaches that this facilitates fluid flow from the wound site by providing a greater pressure than the primary pressure alone (Jardret: ¶0049). Because the configuration of Jardret supplies secondary pressure at a subatmospheric pressure from the pump unit, it requires the pump unit to be active to provide both the primary subatmospheric pressure and the secondary subatmospheric pressure. On the other hand, Nilsson teaches that the atmospheric pressure provided by the vent open to the atmosphere is enough to ensure that exudate transport takes place without requiring additional work from the negative pressure source, which is critical when treating more than one wound with the same negative pressure source (Nilsson: ¶0071, 0076, and 0079). Therefore, by modifying the device of Nilsson in view of the teachings of Jardret, exudate flow can be facilitated from one wound site, while still ensuring that exudate flow can occur from additional wound sites without requiring extra work from the negative pressure source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2020/0054804 A1) in view of Jardret et al. (US 2020/0086017 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nilsson discloses a connector (Fig. 3, feat. 100; ¶0074-0083) for a negative pressure wound therapy system (¶0008-0010), the connector comprising: a first section (Fig. 3, feat. 2’; ¶0081-0082) having a first reduced pressure lumen (12; ¶0081) and a secondary pressure lumen (8; ¶0081), the connector configured to be fluidly connected to tubing for delivering reduced pressure from a pump unit to a primary wound site through the reduced pressure lumen (Fig. 3, feats. 12, 21’, and 26; ¶0082-0083) and secondary pressure to the primary wound site through the secondary pressure lumen (Fig. 3, feats. 8, 22’, and 26; ¶0082-0083); and a second section (Fig. 3, feat. 2; ¶0074-0075) having a second reduced pressure lumen (11; ¶0074-0075) and a vent lumen (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 4; ¶0072-0078), the second reduced pressure lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 11) being in fluid communication with the first reduced pressure lumen of the first section (Fig. 3, feat. 12) for delivering reduced pressure from the pump unit to a secondary wound site through the second reduced pressure lumen (¶0083) and the vent lumen being in fluid communication with an atmosphere surrounding the connector for delivering secondary pressure from the atmosphere to the secondary wound site through the vent lumen (¶0075-0076).
Nilsson does not disclose that the connector is configured to deliver secondary pressure from the pump unit to the primary wound site through the secondary pressure lumen.
Jardret teaches a negative pressure wound therapy tubing connection system (Fig. 1, feat. 10; ¶0046) comprising connectors (Figs. 1, 4-5, and 9-10A, feats. 30 and 60; ¶0052-0055) and tubing (Figs. 1 and 6-9, feats. 12a-b and 80; ¶0049-0053 and 0058-0063) which provide a first (Figs. 1 and 10A, feat. 14) and second (Figs. 1 and 10A, feat. 16) fluid flow paths for providing fluid communication between a pressure source and the wound site (¶0047-0049). The first fluid flow path communicates negative pressure from the pressure source to the wound site (14; ¶0047 and 0049), while the second fluid flow path allows for pressure measurement of the wound site (¶0048) or for a secondary pressure to be provided to the wound site from the pressure source (¶0049). Jardret teaches that providing a secondary pressure to the wound site from the pressure source advantageously facilitates the flow of exudate from the wound site (¶0049). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Nilsson so that it is configured to deliver secondary pressure from the pump unit to the primary wound site through the secondary pressure lumen in order to facilitate the flow of exudate from the wound site as taught by Jardret.
Regarding claim 2, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the connector of claim 1. Jardret further teaches dual lumen tubing (Figs. 1 and 6-9, feat. 80; ¶0058-0063) for putting the connector and wound sites in fluid communication with the pressure source, and further teaches a connector base portion connected to the dual lumen tubing (Figs. 1 and 9-10A, feat. 60; ¶0054-0055). Therefore, Nilsson in view of Jardret further suggests that the tubing is dual lumen tubing having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end for fluidly connecting the dual lumen tubing to the pump unit, and the connector including a base portion configured to be fluidly connected to the distal end of the distal end of the dual lumen tubing.
Regarding claim 3, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the connector of claim 1. Nilsson further discloses that the connector includes a base portion (Fig. 3, feat. 26), the first section of the connector is a first wing portion extending from the base portion in a first direction (Fig. 3, feat. 2’), and the second section of the connector is a second wing portion extending from the base portion in a second direction different from the first direction (Fig. 3, feat. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the connector of claim 3. Nilsson further discloses that the vent lumen (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 4; ¶0072-0078) has a proximal end disposed along a length of the second wing portion (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 5: filter 5 is at one end of the second section 2) and a distal end disposed at a distal end of the second wing portion (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 4: vent lumen 4 extends through the second section 2 from the proximal filter side 5 to the opposite distal side).
Regarding claim 6, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the connector of claim 1. Nilsson further discloses that the vent lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 4; ¶0075-0076) is a filtered vent lumen (5) which may provide an atmospheric air flow between 15 ml/min to 25 ml/min (¶0075). This lies within the claimed range, and therefore, Nilsson in view of Jardret further discloses that the vent lumen is a filtered vent lumen configured to provide the secondary pressure from the atmosphere at a flow rate of about 5 mL/min to about 100 mL/min. Please see MPEP §2131.03(I).
Regarding claim 7, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the connector of claim 1. Nilsson further discloses that the vent lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 4; ¶0075-0076) is a filtered vent lumen (5) which may provide an atmospheric air flow between 15 ml/min to 25 ml/min (¶0075). This lies within the claimed range, and therefore, Nilsson in view of Jardret further discloses that the vent lumen is a filtered vent lumen configured to provide the secondary pressure from the atmosphere at a flow rate of about 5 mL/min to about 50 mL/min. Please see MPEP §2131.03(I).
Regarding claim 8, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the connector of claim 1. Nilsson further discloses that the vent lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 4; ¶0075-0076) is a filtered vent lumen (5) which may provide an atmospheric air flow between 15 ml/min to 25 ml/min in order to provide a continuous flow of air while reducing unnecessary work load of the reduced pressure source (¶0075-0076). This overlaps the claimed range of about 10 mL/min to about 20 mL/min, and therefore a prima facie case exists for the claimed range. Please see MPEP §2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to modify the connector suggested by Nilsson in view of Jardret so that the vent lumen is a filtered vent lumen configured to provide the secondary pressure from the atmosphere at a flow rate of about 10 mL/min to about 20 mL/min.
Regarding claim 9, Nilsson discloses a negative pressure wound therapy system (Fig. 1, feat. 18; ¶0063-0064) for delivering a source of reduced pressure from a pump unit (23; ¶0064) to a plurality of wound sites including at least a primary wound site, a first secondary wound site, and a second secondary wound site (Figs. 3-4; ¶0041 and 0048-0054: the system may include branched connectors that support a plurality wound sites, including three wound sites), the system comprising: a first connector (Fig. 3, feat. 100; ¶0074-0083) including: a first section (Fig. 3, feat. 2’; ¶0081-0082) having a first reduced pressure lumen for maintaining a flow of reduced pressure from the pump unit along a first flow path (12; ¶0081) and a secondary pressure lumen for maintaining a flow of secondary pressure along a second flow path (4’, 8; ¶0081), and a second section (Fig. 3, feat. 2; ¶0074-0075) having a second reduced pressure lumen (11; ¶0074-0075) and a vent lumen (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 4; ¶0072-0078), the second reduced pressure lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 11) being in fluid communication with the first reduced pressure lumen of the first section for delivering reduced pressure from the pump unit to the second secondary wound site (Fig. 3, feat. 12), and the vent lumen being in fluid communication with an atmosphere surrounding the connector for delivering secondary pressure from the atmosphere to the second secondary wound site (¶0075-0076); and a second connector fluidly connected to the first second of the first connector (¶0082: first section 2’ may be attached to an additional Y connector device 100, which has the same structure as the first connector device 100) including: a first section (Fig. 3, feat. 2’; ¶0081-0082) having a first reduced pressure lumen in fluid communication with the first reduced pressure lumen of the first connector (¶0082: if an additional Y connector device 100 is connected to the first section 2’ of the first connector device 100, then lumens 11 and 12 of the additional device will be in fluid communication with lumen 12 of the first device) for maintaining a flow of reduced pressure from the pump unit along a first flow path to the primary wound site (12; ¶0081) and a secondary pressure lumen for maintaining a flow of secondary pressure along a second flow path to the primary wound site (4’, 8; ¶0081), and a second section (Fig. 3, feat. 2; ¶0074-0075) having a second reduced pressure lumen (11; ¶0074-0075) and a vent lumen (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 4; ¶0072-0078), the second reduced pressure lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 11) being in fluid communication with the first reduced pressure lumen of the first section for delivering reduced pressure from the pump unit to the first secondary wound site (Fig. 3, feat. 12), and the vent lumen being in fluid communication with an atmosphere surrounding the connector for delivering secondary pressure from the atmosphere to the first secondary wound site (¶0075-0076).
Nilsson does not disclose that the connector is configured to deliver secondary pressure from the pump unit to the primary wound site through the secondary pressure lumens of the first connector or second connector.
As discussed above, Jardret teaches a negative pressure wound therapy tubing connection system (Fig. 1, feat. 10; ¶0046) comprising connectors (Figs. 1, 4-5, and 9-10A, feats. 30 and 60; ¶0052-0055) and tubing (Figs. 1 and 6-9, feats. 12a-b and 80; ¶0049-0053 and 0058-0063) which provide a first (Figs. 1 and 10A, feat. 14) and second (Figs. 1 and 10A, feat. 16) fluid flow paths for providing fluid communication between a pressure source and the wound site (¶0047-0049). The first fluid flow path communicates negative pressure from the pressure source to the wound site (14; ¶0047 and 0049), while the second fluid flow path allows for pressure measurement of the wound site (¶0048) or for a secondary pressure to be provided to the wound site from the pressure source (¶0049). Jardret teaches that providing a secondary pressure to the wound site from the pressure source advantageously facilitates the flow of exudate from the wound site (¶0049). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Nilsson so that it is configured to deliver secondary pressure from the pump unit to the primary wound site through the secondary pressure lumen of the first connector and the second connector in order to facilitate the flow of exudate from the wound site as taught by Jardret.
Regarding claim 10, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the system of claim 9. Nilsson further discloses that the first connector (Fig. 3, feat. 100; ¶0083) includes a base portion for fluidly connecting the first connector to a distal end of a first section of dual lumen tubing (Fig. 3, feat. 26; ¶0083: coupling 26 provides fluid connections for the branched conduit 14 for delivering reduced pressure through branches 11, 12 and for the pressure conduit 8, and therefore has two lumens for connection to a dual lumen tubing).
Regarding claim 11, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the system of claim 10. Nilsson further discloses that a distal end of the first section of the first connector (Fig. 3, feat. 2’) is configured to be fluidly connected to a proximal end of a second section of dual lumen tubing (Fig. 3, feat. 19’; ¶0082), and the second connector includes a base portion for fluidly connecting the second connector to a distal end of the second section of dual lumen tubing (¶0082: as discussed above, the additional Y connector device 100 which may be in fluid communication with the first section 2’ has the same structure as the first connector device 100, and therefore also has a base portion 26 configured to be connected to dual lumen tubing as discussed with respect to claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the system of claim 9. Nilsson further discloses that the first section of the first and second connector (¶0082) is a first wing portion extending from the base portion in a first direction (Fig. 3, feat. 2’), and the second section of the first and second connector (¶0082) is a second wing portion extending from the base portion in a second direction different from the corresponding first direction (Fig. 3, feat. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the system of claim 12. Nilsson further discloses that the vent lumen (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 4; ¶0072-0078) of the first and second connector (¶0082) has a proximal end disposed along a length of the second wing portion of the corresponding first and second connector (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 5: filter 5 is at one end of the second section 2) and a distal end disposed at a distal end of the second wing portion of the corresponding first and second connector (Figs. 2a-3, feat. 4: vent lumen 4 extends through the second section 2 from the proximal filter side 5 to the opposite distal side).
Regarding claim 14, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the system of claim 9. Nilsson further discloses that the vent lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 4; ¶0075-0076) is a filtered vent lumen (5) which may provide an atmospheric air flow between 15 ml/min to 25 ml/min (¶0075). This lies within the claimed range, and therefore, Nilsson in view of Jardret further discloses that the vent lumen of the first and second connector is a filtered vent lumen configured to provide the secondary pressure from the atmosphere at a flow rate of about 5 mL/min to about 100 mL/min. Please see MPEP §2131.03(I).
Regarding claim 15, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the system of claim 9. Nilsson further discloses that the vent lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 4; ¶0075-0076) is a filtered vent lumen (5) which may provide an atmospheric air flow between 15 ml/min to 25 ml/min (¶0075). This lies within the claimed range, and therefore, Nilsson in view of Jardret further discloses that the vent lumen of the first and second connector is a filtered vent lumen configured to provide the secondary pressure from the atmosphere at a flow rate of about 5 mL/min to about 50 mL/min. Please see MPEP §2131.03(I).
Regarding claim 16, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the system of claim 9. Nilsson further discloses that the vent lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 4; ¶0075-0076) is a filtered vent lumen (5) which may provide an atmospheric air flow between 15 ml/min to 25 ml/min in order to provide a continuous flow of air while reducing unnecessary work load of the reduced pressure source (¶0075-0076). This overlaps the claimed range of about 10 mL/min to about 20 mL/min, and therefore a prima facie case exists for the claimed range. Please see MPEP §2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to modify the connector suggested by Nilsson in view of Jardret so that the vent lumen of the first and second connector is a filtered vent lumen configured to provide the secondary pressure from the atmosphere at a flow rate of about 10 mL/min to about 20 mL/min.
Regarding claim 19, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggest the connector of claim 1. As discussed above, Nilsson further discloses the tubing for delivering reduced pressure and secondary pressure to the primary wound site comprising a reduced pressure tubing lumen (Nilsson: Fig. 3, feat. 21’) fluidly connected to the first reduced pressure lumen of the first section (Nilsson: Fig. 3, feat. 12) and a secondary pressure lumen (Nilsson: Fig. 3, feat. 22’) fluidly connected to the secondary pressure lumen of the first section (Nilsson: Fig. 3, feat. 8). As discussed above, Jardret teaches the delivery of secondary pressure from the pump unit to a wound site (Jardret: Fig. 1, feats. 12a-b and 80; ¶0049-0053). Therefore, Nilsson in view of Jardret further suggests that the connector further comprises the tubing for delivering the reduced pressure and the secondary pressure from the pump unit to the primary wound site, the tubing including a reduced pressure tubing lumen fluidly connected to the first reduced pressure lumen of the first section and a secondary pressure tubing lumen fluidly connected to the secondary pressure lumen of the first section.
Regarding claim 20, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the system of claim 9. Nilsson further discloses dual lumen tubing including a reduced pressure tubing lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 21’) fluidly connected to the first reduced pressure lumen of the first connector (Fig. 3, feat. 12) and a secondary pressure tubing lumen (Fig. 3, feat. 22’) fluidly connected to the secondary pressure lumen of the first connector for delivering secondary pressure to the secondary pressure lumen of the first connector (Fig. 3, feat. 8). As discussed above, Jardret teaches the delivery of secondary pressure from the pump unit to a wound site using dual lumen tubing (Jardret: Fig. 1, feats. 12a-b and 80; ¶0049-0053). Therefore, Nilsson in view of Jardret further suggests that the system further comprises dual lumen tubing for fluidly connecting the first connector to the pump unit, the dual lumen tubing including a reduced pressure tubing lumen fluidly connected to the first reduced pressure lumen of the first connector for delivering reduced pressure from the pump unit to the first reduced pressure lumen of the first connector and a secondary pressure tubing lumen fluidly connected to the secondary pressure lumen of the first connector for delivering secondary pressure from the pump unit to the secondary pressure lumen to the first connector.
Claims 5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2020/0054804 A1) in view of Jardret et al. (US 2020/0086017 A1) and in further view of Collinson et al. (US 2021/0187171 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the connector of claim 3, but does not disclose that the vent lumen has a proximal end disposed adjacent the base portion and a distal end disposed at a distal end of the second wing portion.
Collinson teaches a multiple wound negative pressure wound therapy system (Figs. 4A-B, feat. 400; ¶0064) comprising bridge portions (402a-b; ¶0064-0065) for fluidly communicating negative pressure and vented air to the wounds via distinct upper and lower channels (¶0066). The bridge portions each comprise a distal end (405a-b) positioned near the wound sites (430a-b) and a proximal end (403a-b) positioned away from the wound sites (¶0066). The bride portions have controlled air leaks or vents (424a-b; ¶0076) at their proximal ends (403a-b) in order to keep them away from the wounds and minimize the likelihood of wound exudate coming into contact and interfering with the controlled air leaks or vents (¶0077). By modifying the connector disclosed by Nilsson in view of Jardret so that the vents have a proximal end at the base portion and a distal end at the distal end of the second wing portion, the vents will be positioned further away from the wounds and minimize the likelihood of wound exudate coming into contact and interfering with the vents as taught by Collinson. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector suggested by Nilsson in view of Jardret so that the vent lumen has a proximal end disposed adjacent the base portion and a distal end disposed at a distal end of the second wing portion so that the vent is positioned away from the wound and the likelihood of wound exudate coming into contact and interfering with the vent will be minimized as taught by Collinson.
Regarding claims 17-18, Nilsson in view of Jardret suggests the connector of claim 1 and the system of claim 9, but are silent with respect to the vent lumen includes a valve such that the secondary pressure from the atmosphere is able to be delivered selectively to the secondary wound site through the vent lumen, with respect to claim 17, and with respect to the vent lumen of at least one of the first and second connector includes a valve such that the secondary pressure from the atmosphere is able to be delivered selectively through the vent lumen, with respect to claim 18.
As discussed above, Collinson teaches a multiple wound negative pressure wound therapy system (Figs. 4A-B, feat. 400; ¶0064; Figs. 5A-B, feats. 500a-b; ¶0086-0089) comprising bridge portions (402a-b; ¶0064-0065) for fluidly communicating negative pressure and vented air to the wounds via distinct upper and lower channels (¶0066). The bridge portions each comprise a distal end (405a-b) positioned near the wound sites (430a-b) and a proximal end (403a-b) positioned away from the wound sites (¶0066). The bride portions have controlled air leaks or vents (424a-b; ¶0076; 512, 514; ¶0087) at their proximal ends (403a-b) in order to keep them away from the wounds and minimize the likelihood of wound exudate coming into contact and interfering with the controlled air leaks or vents (¶0077). Collinson further teaches that the air leaks may have valves, such as solenoid valves, which advantageously enables a controller to control the leak rate through the valve to optimize the amount of work the negative pressure source needs to do to maintain a suitable flow rate while avoiding too much power draw (¶0082 and 0087-0089). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device or system suggested by Nilsson in view of Jardret so that the vent lumen includes a valve such that the secondary pressure from the atmosphere is able to be delivered selectively to the secondary wound site through the vent lumen, with respect to claim 17, or so that the vent lumen of at least one of the first and second connector includes a valve such that the secondary pressure from the atmosphere is able to be delivered selectively through the vent lumen, with respect to claim 18, in order to optimize the amount of work the negative pressure source needs to do to maintain a suitable flow rate while avoiding too much power draw as taught by Collinson.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARJUNA P CHATRATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ANDREW J MENSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781