DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 18, 2026 has been accepted and entered.
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of independent Claims 1 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the reliance on the combination of Li and TS24.501 is legally and technically flawed” (Response filed March 18, 2026, Page 6). Regarding TS24.501, Applicant argues that “The Office Action's proposed combination-requesting an MBS join during an Establishment procedure for an Existing PDU session-is a hybrid signaling flow that is not only untaught by the reference but is functionally prohibited by the exhaustive "shall transport" requirements as presented in § 6.4.1.3” (“’shall transport’ requirements” are in § 6.4.1.2) (Response filed March 18, 2026, Pages 9-10) and “Specifically, reassigning join/leave signaling for an already-associated PDU session from the modification procedure to the claimed existing/MA establishment branch departs from the standard's specific route, rather than following it” (Response filed March 18, 2026, Pages 10-11). Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
In section 8.3.1 PDU session establishment, TS24.501 lists ” Requested MBS container” in “Table 8.3.1.1.1: PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message content” (TS24.501, Page 658), and in the same section, 8.3.1 PDU session establishment, TS24.501 includes clause “8.3.1.17 Requested MBS container This IE is included in the message when the UE requests to join one or more MBS sessions that are associated with the PDU session” (TS24.501, Page 660). Therefore, “Requested MBS container” is not limited in the session modification procedure, it is an element used in session establishment procedure.
There is no evidence in TS24.501 that Requested MBS container IE is restricted to be only in session establishment procedure for new session, rather than existing session. The list under “UE shall transport” (TS24.501, Page 537-538) is not exhaustive to functionally prohibit any element not stated in the list being in session establishment procedure. “shall” signifies necessary elements but not sufficient elements. Requested MBS container IE is not stated in any case throughout the list. However, that Requested MBS container IE is not stated in any case in the list does not exclude the element from being in session establishment procedure in that case. Such exclusion contradicts at least section 8.3.1 of TS24.501, for Requested MBS container IE is not stated in any case in the list. Additionally, as Applicant acknowledges, Requested MBS container IE is included in session establishment procedure for a new session. The element is not stated in the list in the case for new session establishment either. Therefore, there is no evidence in TS24.501 that restricts Requested MBS container IE to be in session establishment procedure only for new session, the element applies to both the cases of new session and existing session in session establishment procedure for MBS join (as evident in last paragraph of page 532), and it is consistent with TS24.501 to combine TS24.501 with Li in teaching MBS join in session establishment procedure for existing session.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that “i) Li fails to teach ‘a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST carrying a Requested MBS container IE for joining an MBS session, AND, at the same time, a non-new request type indicating an existing PDU session or an MA PDU session for that establishment procedure’” (Response filed March 18, 2026, Page 8) and “ii) The rejection's reliance on TS 24.501 is contrary to TS 24.501's specific procedural allocation of the Requested MBS container IE. The combination of reference fails to teach the element” (Response filed March 18, 2026, Page 9), Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Li teaches “UE 201 … determines to switch the data transfer to multicast from unicast” (Li [Para. 0141]) and “UE 201 sends a NAS message (PDU session establishment request) to AMF 203, which may include an indication of a delivery mode switch request. The message may include: multicast session ID” (Li [Para. 0142 and 0148]), indicating that the PDU session establishment request is based on the existing PDU session to join multicast session and includes multicast session ID in the request. As TS24.501 teaches in Section 9.11.4.30 Requested MBS container that “The purpose of the Requested MBS container information element is for UE to request to join or leave one or more MBS sessions” and Requested MBS container IE includes MBS session ID (TS24.501, [Page 849-850]), and as it is consistent with TS24.501 to combine TS24.501 with Li in teaching MBS join in session establishment procedure for existing session, it is obvious to the person skilled in the art to include Requested MBS container IE for the MBS session ID in session establishment procedure for existing session based on the combined teaching of Li and TS24.501.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20230345310A1, hereinafter Li) in view of 3GPP TS24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 17.7.1 Release 17, hereinafter TS24.501).
For claim 1, Li teaches a method ([Para. 0121], methods and systems to switch the delivery mode from unicast to multicast), comprising: transmitting a PDU session establishment request message and initiating a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G network ([Para. 0141], UE 201 … determines to switch the data transfer to multicast from unicast. [Para. 0142…0177] and [FIG. 7A and 7B], Step 222: UE 201 sends a NAS message (a PDU session establishment request) to AMF 203, which may include an indication of a delivery mode switch request…Step 238: After UE 201 starts receiving data through multicast session…. [Para. 0116], disclosed herein is subject matter that address following issues related to service delivery mode switching between multicast and unicast in 5G network [Examiner’s Note: FIG. 7A and 7B show functionalities such as AMF and SMF of 5GC]); requesting to join a multicast broadcast services (MBS) session by using the PDU session establishment request message that carries a Requested MBS container IE and a specific request type ([Para. 0142] and [FIG. 7A], Step 222: UE 201 sends a NAS message (a PDU session establishment request) to AMF 203, which may include an indication of a delivery mode switch request. The message may include: [Para. 0148], multicast session ID. If UE 201 wants to join an existing multicast session, UE 201 provides this information).
Although teaching transmitting PDU session establishment request to join a multicast group from an existing PDU session, Li does not explicitly disclose requesting to join a multicast broadcast services (MBS) session by using the PDU session establishment request message that carries a Requested MBS container IE and a specific request type, wherein the PDU session establishment request message indicates an existing PDU session or a multi-access (MA) PDU session for the PDU session establishment procedure, wherein the specific request type is a non new PDU session request including at least an existing PDU session or an MA PDU session; and receiving a Received MBS container IE from the network, wherein the received MBS container IE is carried by a PDU session establishment accept message.
TS24.501 teaches requesting to join a multicast broadcast services (MBS) session by using the PDU session establishment request message that carries a Requested MBS container IE and a specific request type ([Page 657], 8.3.1 PDU session establishment request, 8.3.1.1 Message definition : The PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message is sent by the UE to the SMF to initiate establishment of a PDU session. See table 8.3.1.1.1. [Page 658], Table 8.3.1.1.1: PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message content”. The table includes Requested MBS container in the message. [Page 660], 8.3.1.17 Requested MBS container, This IE is included in the message when the UE requests to join one or more MBS sessions that are associated with the PDU session. [Pages 849-850], 9.11.4.30 Requested MBS container, The purpose of the Requested MBS container information element is for UE to request to join or leave one or more MBS sessions. The Requested MBS container information element is coded in Figure 9.11.4.30.1 and Figure 9.11.4.30.2. The tables in the figures specify that Requested MBS container contains MBS session IDs. [Page 537. Middle of the page], The UE shall transport: [Page 538. Middle of the page], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: …[Page 539. Top of the page], using the NAS transport procedure as specified in subclause 5.4.5. [Page 546. Third last paragraph], (subclause 5.4.5.2) The request type is not provided along 5GSM messages other than the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message [Examiner’s Note: 5GSM messages include PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message (page 657)]), wherein the PDU session establishment request message indicates an existing PDU session or a multi-access (MA) PDU session for the PDU session establishment procedure ([Pages 537-538], The UE shall transport: a) the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message; e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE requests handover or transfer existing PDU session; or 5) ‘MA PDU request’, if the UE requests resources for established MA PDU session. [Page 544, last para.], If the request type is "existing PDU session", the SMF shall not perform network slice admission control for the PDU session), wherein the specific request type is a non new PDU session request including at least an existing PDU session or an MA PDU session ([Pages 537-538], The UE shall transport: a) the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message; e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE requests handover or transfer existing PDU session; or 5) ‘MA PDU request’, if the UE requests resources for established MA PDU session. [Page 544, last para.], If the request type is "existing PDU session", the SMF shall not perform network slice admission control for the PDU session), and receiving a Received MBS container IE from the network ([Page 541], 6.4.1.3 UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure accepted by the network. [Page 544], If the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST included the Requested MBS container IE with the MBS operation set to "Join MBS session", the SMF: a) shall include the TMGI for the MBS session IDs that the UE is allowed to join, if any, in the Received MBS container IE...in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message. [Page 545. Top of the page], The SMF shall send the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message. Upon receipt of a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message...the UE shall consider that the PDU session was established), wherein the received MBS container IE is carried by a PDU session establishment accept message ([Page 541], 6.4.1.3 UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure accepted by the network. [Page 544], If the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST included the Requested MBS container IE with the MBS operation set to "Join MBS session", the SMF: a) shall include the TMGI for the MBS session IDs that the UE is allowed to join, if any, in the Received MBS container IE, shall set the MBS decision to "MBS join is accepted" for each of those Received MBS information,...in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message. [Page 545. Top of the page], The SMF shall send the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message. Upon receipt of a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message...the UE shall consider that the PDU session was established).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the PDU session establishment request includes requested MBS container IE and specific request type, and PDU session accept includes received MBS container IE, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
For claim 8, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the UE joins the MBS session that is associated with the existing PDU session or associated with the MA PDU session (Li [Para. 0140] and [FIG. 7A], Step 220: as a pre-requisite step, a unicast session is established, and data is transferred over the unicast session between UE 201 and AF 210 through the network. The data is sent from the UPF 205 to the UE 201 via a PDU Session. Li [Para. 0141], UE 201 … determines to switch the data transfer to multicast from unicast. Li [Para. 0142], Step 222: UE 201 sends a NAS message (e.g., a PDU session establishment/modification or service request) to AMF 203, which may include an indication of a delivery mode switch request).
For claim 9, Li teaches a User Equipment (UE) ([FIG. 1B] and [Para. 0044], WTRU 102), comprising: a transmitter ([FIG. 1B], transmit/receive element 122) that transmits a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message to initiate a PDU session establishment procedure in 5GS ([Para. 0141], UE 201 … determines to switch the data transfer to multicast from unicast. [Para. 0142…0177] and [FIG. 7A and 7B], Step 222: UE 201 sends a NAS message (a PDU session establishment request) to AMF 203, which may include an indication of a delivery mode switch request…Step 238: After UE 201 starts receiving data through multicast session …. [Para. 0116], disclosed herein is subject matter that address following issues related to service delivery mode switching between multicast and unicast in 5G network [Examiner’s Note: FIG. 7A and 7B show functionalities such as AMF and SMF of 5GC]); a multicast broadcast services (MBS) handling circuit ([FIG. 1B] and [Para. 0045], The processor 118 may perform ... any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment. [Para. 0043], the WTRUs may include devices of delivery mode switch for multicast and broadcast) that requests to join an MBS session by using the PDU session establishment request message that carries a Requested MBS container IE and a specific request type ([Para. 0142] and [FIG. 7A], Step 222: UE 201 sends a NAS message (a PDU session establishment request) to AMF 203, which may include an indication of a delivery mode switch request. The message may include: [Para. 0148], multicast session ID. If UE 201 wants to join an existing multicast session, UE 201 provides this information).
Although teaching transmitting PDU session establishment request to join a multicast group from an existing PDU session, Li does not explicitly disclose a multicast broadcast services (MBS) handling circuit that requests to join an MBS session by using the PDU session establishment request message that carries a Requested MBS container IE and a specific request type, wherein the PDU session establishment request message indicates an existing PDU session or a multi-access (MA) PDU session for the PDU session establishment procedure, wherein the specific request type is a non new PDU session request including at least an existing PDU session or an MA PDU session; and a receiver that receives a Received MBS container IE from the network, wherein the received MBS container IE is carried by a PDU session establishment accept message.
TS24.501 teaches a multicast broadcast services (MBS) handling circuit that requests to join an MBS session by using the PDU session establishment request message that carries a Requested MBS container IE and a specific request type ([Page 657], 8.3.1 PDU session establishment request, 8.3.1.1 Message definition : The PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message is sent by the UE to the SMF to initiate establishment of a PDU session. See table 8.3.1.1.1. [Page 658], Table 8.3.1.1.1: PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message content”. The table includes Requested MBS container in the message. [Page 660], 8.3.1.17 Requested MBS container, This IE is included in the message when the UE requests to join one or more MBS sessions that are associated with the PDU session. [Pages 849-850], 9.11.4.30 Requested MBS container, The purpose of the Requested MBS container information element is for UE to request to join or leave one or more MBS sessions. The Requested MBS container information element is coded in Figure 9.11.4.30.1 and Figure 9.11.4.30.2. The tables in the figures specify that Requested MBS container contains MBS session IDs. [Page 537. Middle of the page], The UE shall transport: [Page 538. Middle of the page], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: …[Page 539. Top of the page], using the NAS transport procedure as specified in subclause 5.4.5. [Page 546. Third last paragraph], (subclause 5.4.5.2) The request type is not provided along 5GSM messages other than the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message [Examiner’s Note: 5GSM messages include PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message (page 657)]), wherein the PDU session establishment request message indicates an existing PDU session or a multi-access (MA) PDU session for the PDU session establishment procedure ([Pages 537-538], The UE shall transport: a) the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message; e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session" , if the UE requests handover or transfer existing PDU session; or 5) ‘MA PDU request’, if the UE requests resources for established MA PDU session. [Page 544, last para.], If the request type is "existing PDU session", the SMF shall not perform network slice admission control for the PDU session), wherein the specific request type is a non new PDU session request including at least an existing PDU session or an MA PDU session ([Pages 537-538], The UE shall transport: a) the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message; e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session" , if the UE requests handover or transfer existing PDU session; or 5) ‘MA PDU request’, if the UE requests resources for established MA PDU session. [Page 544, last para.], If the request type is "existing PDU session", the SMF shall not perform network slice admission control for the PDU session); and a receiver that receives a Received MBS container IE from the network ([Page 541], 6.4.1.3 UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure accepted by the network. [Page 544], If the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST included the Requested MBS container IE with the MBS operation set to "Join MBS session", the SMF: a) shall include the TMGI for the MBS session IDs that the UE is allowed to join, if any, in the Received MBS container IE...in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message. [Page 545. Top of the page], The SMF shall send the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message. Upon receipt of a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message...the UE shall consider that the PDU session was established), wherein the received MBS container IE is carried by a PDU session establishment accept message (([Page 541], 6.4.1.3 UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure accepted by the network. [Page 544], If the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST included the Requested MBS container IE with the MBS operation set to "Join MBS session", the SMF: a) shall include the TMGI for the MBS session IDs that the UE is allowed to join, if any, in the Received MBS container IE, shall set the MBS decision to "MBS join is accepted" for each of those Received MBS information,...in the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message. [Page 545. Top of the page], The SMF shall send the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message. Upon receipt of a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message...the UE shall consider that the PDU session was established).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the PDU session establishment request includes requested MBS container IE and specific request type, and PDU session accept includes received MBS container IE, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
For claim 16, Li and TS24.501 teach the system of claim 9. The references further teach wherein the UE joins the MBS session that is associated with the existing PDU session or associated with the MA PDU session (Li [Para. 0140] and [FIG. 7A], Step 220: as a pre-requisite step, a unicast session is established, and data is transferred over the unicast session between UE 201 and AF 210 through the network. The data is sent from the UPF 205 to the UE 201 via a PDU Session. Li [Para. 0141], UE 201 … determines to switch the data transfer to multicast from unicast. Li [Para. 0142], Step 222: UE 201 sends a NAS message (e.g., a PDU session establishment/modification or service request) to AMF 203, which may include an indication of a delivery mode switch request).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20230345310A1, hereinafter Li) in view of 3GPP TS24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 17.7.1 Release 17, hereinafter TS24.501), and further in view of Lee et al. (US20190059067A1, hereinafter Lee).
For claim 2, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the specific request type indicates transferring the PDU session from non-3GPP access to 3GPP access (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: i) handover of an existing non-emergency PDU session between 3GPP access and non-3GPP access).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: establishing a PDU session over non-3GPP access in 5G system (5GS).
Lee is directed to providing service request method for 5G local service. More specifically, Lee teaches further comprising: establishing a PDU session over non-3GPP access in 5G system (5GS) ([Para. 0138], When the UE registers with the network over the non-3GPP access, ... [Para. 0259], In a PDU session establishment request sent to the network, the UE may provide ...[Para. 0260], The UE may establish a plurality of PDU sessions in the same data network or different data networks, through 3GPP and non-3GPP access networks at the same time. [Para. 0097], an architecture of the 5G system is described).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes a PDU session over non-3gpp access, as taught by Lee. The modification would have allowed the system to provide the services that support edge computing with further enhanced quality of service (Lee [Para. 0004]).
For claim 10, Li and TS24.501 teach the system of claim 9. The references further teach further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit (Li [FIG. 1B] and [Para. 0045], The processor 118 may perform ... any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment) that establishes a PDU session over non-3GPP access in 5G system (5GS), wherein the specific request type indicates transferring the PDU session from non-3GPP access to 3GPP access (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: i) handover of an existing non-emergency PDU session between 3GPP access and non-3GPP access).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes a PDU session over non-3GPP access in 5G system (5GS).
Lee is directed to providing service request method for 5G local service. More specifically, Lee teaches further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes a PDU session over non-3GPP access in 5G system (5GS) ([Para. 0138], When the UE registers with the network over the non-3GPP access, ... [Para. 0259], In a PDU session establishment request sent to the network, the UE may provide ...[Para. 0260], The UE may establish a plurality of PDU sessions in the same data network or different data networks, through 3GPP and non-3GPP access networks at the same time. [Para. 0097], an architecture of the 5G system is described).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes a PDU session over non-3gpp access, as taught by Lee. The modification would have allowed the system to provide the services that support edge computing with further enhanced quality of service (Lee [Para. 0004]).
Claims 3-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20230345310A1, hereinafter Li) in view of 3GPP TS24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 17.7.1 Release 17, hereinafter TS24.501), and further in view of Kawasaki et al. (US20180302935A1, hereinafter Kawasaki).
For claim 3, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the specific request type indicates transferring the PDN connection to 5GS (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: ii) transfer of an existing PDN connection for non-emergency bearer services in the EPS to the 5GS).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose comprising: establishing a Packet Data Network (PDN) connection over 3GPP access in EPS.
Kawasaki is directed to providing terminal device and pcrf. More specifically, Kawasaki teaches comprising: establishing a Packet Data Network (PDN) connection over 3GPP access in EPS ([Para. 0401] and [FIG. 16], The UE 10 first transmits a PDN connectivity request to the MME 40 via the eNB 45 (S2102). The UE 10 may transmit the PDN connectivity request including at least the PDN connectivity request message identity … [Para. 0501], the UE 10 transmits an Activate default EPS bearer context accept to the MME 40 (S2122) (S2124). [Para. 0041] and [FIG1], an LTE base station eNB 45 included in an access network A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes a PDN session over 3gpp access, as taught by Kawasaki. The modification would have allowed the system to transmitting and/or receiving data on a communication path through an appropriate access network for every application by using the Network-based IP flow Mobility function (Kawasaki [Para. 0007]).
For claim 4, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the specific request type indicates transferring the PDN connection to 5GS (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: ii) transfer of an existing PDN connection for non-emergency bearer services in the EPS to the 5GS. iii) transfer of an existing PDN connection for non-emergency bearer services in an untrusted non-3GPP access connected to the EPC to the 5GS).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: establishing a PDN connection over non-3GPP access connected to Evolved Packet Core (EPC).
Kawasaki is directed to providing terminal device and pcrf. More specifically, Kawasaki teaches further comprising: establishing a PDN connection over non-3GPP access connected to Evolved Packet Core (EPC) ([Para. 1252] and [FIG. 18], The UE 10 first transmits a PDN connectivity request to the TWAG 74 (S2402). The UE 10 may transmit the PDN connectivity request including at least the PDN connectivity request message identity (PDN connectivity request message ID) … [Para. 1333], the UE 10 transmits a PDN connectivity complete to the TWAG 74 (S2410). [Para. 0044] and [FIG. 1], the access network B may be a Wireless LAN (WLAN)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes a PDN session over 3gpp access, as taught by Kawasaki. The modification would have allowed the system to transmitting and/or receiving data on a communication path through an appropriate access network for every application by using the Network-based IP flow Mobility function (Kawasaki [Para. 0007]).
For claim 11, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 9. The references further teach further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit (Li [FIG. 1B] and [Para. 0045], The processor 118 may perform ... any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment) that establishes a Packet Data Network (PDN) connection over 3GPP access in EPS, wherein the specific request type indicates transferring the PDN connection to 5GS (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: ii) transfer of an existing PDN connection for non-emergency bearer services in the EPS to the 5GS).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes a Packet Data Network (PDN) connection over 3GPP access in EPS.
Kawasaki is directed to providing terminal device and pcrf. More specifically, Kawasaki teaches further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes a Packet Data Network (PDN) connection over 3GPP access in EPS ([Para. 0401] and [FIG. 16], The UE 10 first transmits a PDN connectivity request to the MME 40 via the eNB 45 (S2102). The UE 10 may transmit the PDN connectivity request including at least the PDN connectivity request message identity … [Para. 0501], the UE 10 transmits an Activate default EPS bearer context accept to the MME 40 (S2122) (S2124). [Para. 0041] and [FIG1], an LTE base station eNB 45 included in an access network A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes a PDN session over 3gpp access, as taught by Kawasaki. The modification would have allowed the system to transmitting and/or receiving data on a communication path through an appropriate access network for every application by using the Network-based IP flow Mobility function (Kawasaki [Para. 0007]).
For claim 12, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 9. The references further teach further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit (Li [FIG. 1B] and [Para. 0045], The processor 118 may perform ... any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment) that establishes a PDN connection over non-3GPP access connected to Evolved Packet Core (EPC), wherein the specific request type indicates transferring the PDN connection to 5GS (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: ii) transfer of an existing PDN connection for non-emergency bearer services in the EPS to the 5GS. iii) transfer of an existing PDN connection for non-emergency bearer services in an untrusted non-3GPP access connected to the EPC to the 5GS).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes a PDN connection over non-3GPP access connected to Evolved Packet Core (EPC).
Kawasaki is directed to providing terminal device and pcrf. More specifically, Kawasaki teaches further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes a PDN connection over non-3GPP access connected to Evolved Packet Core (EPC) ([Para. 1252] and [FIG. 18], The UE 10 first transmits a PDN connectivity request to the TWAG 74 (S2402). The UE 10 may transmit the PDN connectivity request including at least the PDN connectivity request message identity (PDN connectivity request message ID) … [Para. 1333], the UE 10 transmits a PDN connectivity complete to the TWAG 74 (S2410). [Para. 0044] and [FIG. 1], the access network B may be a Wireless LAN (WLAN)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes a PDN session over 3gpp access, as taught by Kawasaki. The modification would have allowed the system to transmitting and/or receiving data on a communication path through an appropriate access network for every application by using the Network-based IP flow Mobility function (Kawasaki [Para. 0007]).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20230345310A1, hereinafter Li) in view of 3GPP TS24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 17.7.1 Release 17, hereinafter TS24.501), and further in view of Huang-Fu et al. (US20200404552A1, hereinafter Huang-Fu).
For claim 5, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the specific request type indicates establishing user-plane resource over 3GPP access for the MA PDU session (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 5) "MA PDU request", if: ii) the UE requests to establish user plane resources over other access of an MA PDU session established over one access only).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session in 5GS over non-3GPP access.
Huang-Fu is directed to providing enhancement for Multi-Access PDU Session. More specifically, Huang-Fu teaches further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session in 5GS over non-3GPP access ([0037] and [FIG. 4], UE 401 is registered over 3GPP access type to a first PLMN1 through a 3GPP base station gNB 402. UE 401 is also registered over non-3GPP access type to a second PLMN2 through a non-3GPP access point AP 403. UE 401 sends another PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message to AP 403, with a request type IE set to “MA PDU request” and with the same PSI=1. The user plane resource on non-3GPP access is then established).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session over non-3gpp access, as taught by Huang-Fu. The modification would have allowed the system to handle the MA PDU session when inter-system changes from 5GS to EPS (Huang-Fu [Para. 0006]).
For claim 13, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 9. The references further teach further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit (Li [FIG. 1B] and [Para. 0045], The processor 118 may perform ... any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment) that establishes an MA PDU session in 5GS over non-3GPP access, wherein the specific request type indicates establishing user-plane resource over 3GPP access for the MA PDU session (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 5) "MA PDU request", if: ii) the UE requests to establish user plane resources over other access of an MA PDU session established over one access only).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session in 5GS over non-3GPP access.
Huang-Fu is directed to providing enhancement for Multi-Access PDU Session. More specifically, Huang-Fu teaches further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session in 5GS over non-3GPP access ([0037] and [FIG. 4], UE 401 is registered over 3GPP access type to a first PLMN1 through a 3GPP base station gNB 402. UE 401 is also registered over non-3GPP access type to a second PLMN2 through a non-3GPP access point AP 403. UE 401 sends another PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message to AP 403, with a request type IE set to “MA PDU request” and with the same PSI=1. The user plane resource on non-3GPP access is then established).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session over non-3gpp access, as taught by Huang-Fu. The modification would have allowed the system to handle the MA PDU session when inter-system changes from 5GS to EPS (Huang-Fu [Para. 0006]).
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20230345310A1, hereinafter Li) in view of 3GPP TS24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 17.7.1 Release 17, hereinafter TS24.501), and further in view of Li et al. (US20210007157A1, hereinafter Li157) and Yi et al. (US20230078760A1, herein after Yi).
For claim 6, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource (TS24.501 [Page 531], 6.4.1.2 UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure initiation. In order to initiate the UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure, the UE shall create a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message. TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 5) "MA PDU request", if: iii) the UE performs inter-system change from S1 mode to N1 mode according to subclause 4.8.2.3.1 and requests transfer of a PDN connection which is a user plane resource of an MA PDU session), wherein the specific request type indicates establishing user-plane resource over 3GPP access for the MA PDU session (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 5) "MA PDU request", if: ii) the UE requests to establish user plane resources over other access of an MA PDU session established over one access only).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource.
Li157 is directed to providing PDU session establishment method and apparatus. More specifically, Li157 teaches further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource ([Para. 0049] and [FIG. 2], s201 Before the terminal device is switched from the EPS to the 5GS, the terminal device may attach to a core network of the EPS via non-3GPP access. The core network of the EPS may also be referred to as an EPC (evolved packet core). The terminal device establishes one or more PDN connections in the EPC, and the one or more PDN connections may correspond to one or more EPS bearers. [Para. 0075], S212: The AMF sends a PDU session establishment response to the terminal device. [Para. 0076], The PDU session establishment response is used to notify that the PDU session is successfully established in the 5GC).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes PDN connection over non-3gpp access before establishing PDU session, as taught by Li157. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce an access failure probability when a PDN connection established in an EPS is switched to a PDU session in a 5GS (Li157 [Para. 0005]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li, TS24.501 and Li157 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource.
Yi is directed to providing enhanced multi-access protocol data unit (pdu) session. More specifically, Yi teaches further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource ([Para. 0075], an enhanced Multi-Access PDU Session may, for the 3GPP access, use user-plane resources of an associated PDN Connection on 3GPP access in EPC (e.g., 4G network, LTE network, LTE core network) instead of the 3GPP access to 5GC. This can provide a scenario where an eMA PDU Session can simultaneously be associated with user-plane resources on 3GPP access network connected to EPC and 3GPP access connected to 5GC (e.g., and non-3GPP access connected to 5GC))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, TS24.501 and Li157, so that the user-plane resource of an associated PDN connection is used for an MA PDU session, as taught by Yi. The modification would have allowed the system to provide solution to the latency and service interruption during the re-establishment procedure (Yi [Para. 0002]).
For claim 7, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource (TS24.501 [Page 531], 6.4.1.2 UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure initiation. In order to initiate the UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure, the UE shall create a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message. TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: (ii) transfer of an existing PDN connection for non-emergency bearer services in the EPS to the 5GS), wherein the specific request type indicates transferring the MA PDU session with the PDN connection to an MA PDU session in 5GS (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: : 5) "MA PDU request", if: iii) the UE performs inter-system change from S1 mode to N1 mode according to subclause 4.8.2.3.1 and requests transfer of a PDN connection which is a user plane resource of an MA PDU session).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li, TS24.501 and Li157 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource.
Li157 is directed to providing PDU session establishment method and apparatus. More specifically, Li157 teaches further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource ([Para. 0049] and [FIG. 2], s201 Before the terminal device is switched from the EPS to the 5GS, the terminal device may attach to a core network of the EPS via 3GPP access. The core network of the EPS may also be referred to as an EPC (evolved packet core). The terminal device establishes one or more PDN connections in the EPC, and the one or more PDN connections may correspond to one or more EPS bearers. [Para. 0075], S212: The AMF sends a PDU session establishment response to the terminal device. [Para. 0076], The PDU session establishment response is used to notify that the PDU session is successfully established in the 5GC).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes PDN connection over 3gpp access before establishing PDU session, as taught by Li157. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce an access failure probability when a PDN connection established in an EPS is switched to a PDU session in a 5GS (Li157 [Para. 0005]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li, TS24.501 and Li157 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource.
Yi is directed to providing enhanced multi-access protocol data unit (pdu) session. More specifically, Yi teaches further comprising: establishing an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource ([Para. 0075], an enhanced Multi-Access PDU Session may, for the 3GPP access, use user-plane resources of an associated PDN Connection on 3GPP access in EPC (e.g., 4G network, LTE network, LTE core network) instead of the 3GPP access to 5GC. This can provide a scenario where an eMA PDU Session can simultaneously be associated with user-plane resources on 3GPP access network connected to EPC and 3GPP access connected to 5GC (e.g., and non-3GPP access connected to 5GC))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, TS24.501 and Li157, so that the user-plane resource of an associated PDN connection is used for an MA PDU session, as taught by Yi. The modification would have allowed the system to provide solution to the latency and service interruption during the re-establishment procedure (Yi [Para. 0002]).
For claim 14, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 9. The references further teach further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit (Li [FIG. 1B] and [Para. 0045], The processor 118 may perform ... any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment) that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource (TS24.501 [Page 531], 6.4.1.2 UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure initiation. In order to initiate the UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure, the UE shall create a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message. TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 5) "MA PDU request", if: iii) the UE performs inter-system change from S1 mode to N1 mode according to subclause 4.8.2.3.1 and requests transfer of a PDN connection which is a user plane resource of an MA PDU session), wherein the specific request type indicates establishing user-plane resource over 3GPP access for the MA PDU session (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 5) "MA PDU request", if: ii) the UE requests to establish user plane resources over other access of an MA PDU session established over one access only).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource.
Li157 is directed to providing PDU session establishment method and apparatus. More specifically, Li157 teaches further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource ([Para. 0049] and [FIG. 2], s201 Before the terminal device is switched from the EPS to the 5GS, the terminal device may attach to a core network of the EPS via non-3GPP access. The core network of the EPS may also be referred to as an EPC (evolved packet core). The terminal device establishes one or more PDN connections in the EPC, and the one or more PDN connections may correspond to one or more EPS bearers. [Para. 0075], S212: The AMF sends a PDU session establishment response to the terminal device. [Para. 0076], The PDU session establishment response is used to notify that the PDU session is successfully established in the 5GC).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes PDN connection over non-3gpp access before establishing PDU session, as taught by Li157. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce an access failure probability when a PDN connection established in an EPS is switched to a PDU session in a 5GS (Li157 [Para. 0005]).
Yi is directed to providing enhanced multi-access protocol data unit (pdu) session. More specifically, Yi teaches further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection over non-3GPP access as user-plane resource ([Para. 0075], an enhanced Multi-Access PDU Session may, for the 3GPP access, use user-plane resources of an associated PDN Connection on 3GPP access in EPC (e.g., 4G network, LTE network, LTE core network) instead of the 3GPP access to 5GC. This can provide a scenario where an eMA PDU Session can simultaneously be associated with user-plane resources on 3GPP access network connected to EPC and 3GPP access connected to 5GC (e.g., and non-3GPP access connected to 5GC)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, TS24.501 and Li157, so that the user-plane resource of an associated PDN connection is used for an MA PDU session, as taught by Yi. The modification would have allowed the system to provide solution to the latency and service interruption during the re-establishment procedure (Yi [Para. 0002]).
For claim 15, Li and TS24.501 teach the method of claim 9. The references further teach further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit (Li [FIG. 1B] and [Para. 0045], The processor 118 may perform ... any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment) that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource (TS24.501 [Page 531], 6.4.1.2 UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure initiation. In order to initiate the UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure, the UE shall create a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message. TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: 2) "existing PDU session", if the UE is not registered for emergency services and the UE requests: (ii) transfer of an existing PDN connection for non-emergency bearer services in the EPS to the 5GS), wherein the specific request type indicates transferring the MA PDU session with the PDN connection to an MA PDU session in 5GS (TS24.501 [Page 537], The UE shall transport:… TS24.501 [Page 538], e) the request type which is set to: : 5) "MA PDU request", if: iii) the UE performs inter-system change from S1 mode to N1 mode according to subclause 4.8.2.3.1 and requests transfer of a PDN connection which is a user plane resource of an MA PDU session).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, so that the UE establishes an MA PDU session with specific request type, as taught by TS24.501. The modification would have allowed the system implement the non-access stratum (NAS) procedures in the 5G system as specified by 3GPP (TS24.501 [Page 25 Scope]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li and TS24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource.
Li157 is directed to providing PDU session establishment method and apparatus. More specifically, Li157 teaches further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource ([Para. 0049] and [FIG. 2], s201 Before the terminal device is switched from the EPS to the 5GS, the terminal device may attach to a core network of the EPS via 3GPP access. The core network of the EPS may also be referred to as an EPC (evolved packet core). The terminal device establishes one or more PDN connections in the EPC, and the one or more PDN connections may correspond to one or more EPS bearers. [Para. 0075], S212: The AMF sends a PDU session establishment response to the terminal device. [Para. 0076], The PDU session establishment response is used to notify that the PDU session is successfully established in the 5GC).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and TS24.501, so that the UE establishes PDN connection over 3gpp access before establishing PDU session, as taught by Li157. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce an access failure probability when a PDN connection established in an EPS is switched to a PDU session in a 5GS (Li157 [Para. 0005]).
Although teaching transmitting a PDU session establishment request to join a multicast session from an existing session with specific request type, Li, TS24.501 and Li157 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource.
Yi is directed to providing enhanced multi-access protocol data unit (pdu) session. More specifically, Yi teaches further comprising: a PDU session handling circuit that establishes an MA PDU session with a PDN connection in EPS as user-plane resource ([Para. 0075], an enhanced Multi-Access PDU Session may, for the 3GPP access, use user-plane resources of an associated PDN Connection on 3GPP access in EPC (e.g., 4G network, LTE network, LTE core network) instead of the 3GPP access to 5GC. This can provide a scenario where an eMA PDU Session can simultaneously be associated with user-plane resources on 3GPP access network connected to EPC and 3GPP access connected to 5GC (e.g., and non-3GPP access connected to 5GC)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li, TS24.501 and Li157, so that the user-plane resource of an associated PDN connection is used for an MA PDU session, as taught by Yi. The modification would have allowed the system to provide solution to the latency and service interruption during the re-establishment procedure (Yi [Para. 0002]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417