DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 that “i) Ali explicitly contradicts the claimed limitation that the base configuration (relied upon as teaching the common configuration) is ‘maintained separately from a current RRC configuration of the serving cell’” (Response filed February 5, 2026, page 7) and “Therefore, functionally and structurally, Ali's base configuration is an integral part of the "current RRC configuration" of the serving cell. One cannot maintain a configuration” (Response filed February 5, 2026, page 7), Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Ali teaches “the base configuration is prepared by determining the delta between the full configuration for a cell and the cell-specific configuration for the cell. At the UE, the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration is applied, thereby applying a full RRC message for the cell” (Ali [Para. 0122]), “The UE applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell upon execution of the mobility procedure to connect the UE to the target cell” (Ali [Para. 0128]) and “the UE uses a set of parameters according to the cell-specific configuration and applies the set of parameters to the base configuration used by the UE to form a full configuration required to connect to the target cell (i.e., the UE applies the delta configuration according to the cell-specific configuration to the base configuration). The UE replaces at least part of the cell-specific configuration used to connect to the serving cell by the cell-specific configuration for the target cell, while maintaining the base configuration used by the UE” (Ali [Para. 0129]). According to Ali, upon mobility from the serving cell to the target cell, base configuration is maintained for the target cell while the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell is replaced with the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Since the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell and base configuration constitute the current RRC configuration for the serving cell, maintaining base configuration in the target cell indicates that the base configuration is separately maintained from the current RRC configuration.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 that “ii) All expressly contemplates that the base configuration applied for the serving cell may differ from the base configuration received for the target cell” (Response filed February 5, 2026, page 8) and “the common base configuration recited in claim 1, is completely missing from the teaching of Ali, and missing from the combination of the references. In the broadest reasonable reading, the common base configuration is NOT the base configuration in Ali” (Response filed February 5, 2026, page 9), Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
The citation by Applicant from Ali that the UE determines base configuration does not contradict that the base configuration is common to the all candidate cells for the serving cell. Ali teaches that “the UE sends a measurement report to the first network node at block 1010. The cells … in the measurement report may include the serving cell and one or more neighboring cells such as cells of the plurality of first cells served by the first network node. The neighboring cells represent candidate target cells. Based on the cell quality measurements of the measurement report, the first network node can identify a potential set of candidate target cells and prepare the reconfiguration message. In response to sending the measurement report, the UE may receive the reconfiguration message from the first network node” (Ali [Para. 0131] and [FIG. 10]), “at block 1030, the UE may store the base configuration and the plurality of cell-specific configurations received from the first network node at block 1020” (Ali [Para. 0132] and [FIG. 10]), “At block 1070, the UE applies a cell-specific configuration for a target cell, from among the plurality of cell-specific configurations. The target cell is a cell among the plurality of first cells served by the first network node. The UE applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell upon execution of the mobility procedure to connect the UE to the target cell” (Ali [Para. 0128] and [FIG. 10]) and “The UE replaces at least part of the cell-specific configuration used to connect to the serving cell by the cell-specific configuration for the target cell, while maintaining the base configuration used by the UE” (Ali [Para. 0129]). According to Ali, the candidate cells are the cells that the firs network node serves and determines to be candidate cells. The base configuration used by the UE in the case described in FIG. 10 and paragraphs cited above is common to all candidate cells, which are served and determined by the first network node.
Ali also teaches “at block 1030, the UE may store the base configuration and the plurality of cell-specific configurations received from the first network node at block 1020. In some examples, before storing the configurations, the UE may determine based on a comparison as described above whether previous configuration(s) correspond to the respective configuration received from the first network node at block 1020. If the configuration(s) received at block 1020 correspond to the previous configuration(s), the UE does not need to store and thereby replace at least part of the previous configuration(s)” (Ali [Para. 0132]), “However, contrary to the method 1000 of FIG. 10, the UE may not only change from the serving cell to the target cell both served by the first network node but may also be handed over to another network node (referred to as second network node) and connect to a target cell served by the second network node” (Ali [0135] and [FIG. 11]) and “the UE may determine that the base configuration used by the UE for the first network node corresponds to the base configuration received at block 1120” (Ali [Para. 0139]). Based on Ali, the UE determines and changes base configuration is for another case as described in FIG. 11 when there is another network node that has configured the UE previously before the first network node. After the first network node becomes the serving network node, determines candidate cells and transmits the base and cell-specific configurations to the UE, the base configuration in the UE is common to all candidate cells, as Ali teaches that “The cells … contained in the measurement report may include the serving cell and one or more neighboring cells such as cells of the plurality of first cells served by the first network node. Based on the cell quality measurements of the measurement report, the first network node can identify a potential set of candidate target cells and prepare the reconfiguration message” (Ali [Para. 0131]) and “The base configuration comprises a configuration common to the plurality of first cells served by the first network node (Ali [Para. 0126]). Therefore, Ali teaches base configuration common to all candidate cells.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6 and 16 that “’SSB measurement timing’ does not teach ‘SSB configuration of a corresponding candidate cell’” (Response, filed on February 5, 2026, page 11), “there is no single ‘replaceable configuration’ in the art includes both PCI and a candidate-cell SSB configuration” (Response, filed on February 5, 2026, page 11) and “there is no reason to combine Da Silva with Zhou” (Response, filed on February 5, 2026, page 11), Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Zhou teaches “the delta configuration 1706 may include a set of parameters such as a cell index, an SSB measurement timing” (Zhou [Para. 0107]). SSB measurement timing defines the timing of SSB measurement. It is a SSB configuration as the claims do not specifically define the SSB configuration to be SSB index/offset/periodicity/beam parameters broadcast by the cell.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., SSB index/offset/periodicity/beam parameters broadcast by the cell) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the replaceable configuration in Zhou includes SSB configuration. Additionally, the replaceable configuration in Zhou also includes cell index.
Da Silva provides “The method comprises another variant where the UE only receives a list of SpCellConfig(s) and the first element in the list is the configuration of the SpCell the UE is resuming or setting up the connection. In that case one may say that the additional SpCell(s) as the remaining elements, except the first one” (Da Silva [Para. 0239]), and “The method may comprise the configuration of SpCell-specific parameters for each additional SpCell, such as at least the following: Cell-specific configuration, such as a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI)” (Da Silva [Para. 0240]). Based on Da Silva, the SpCellConfig is the replaceable configuration that includes PCI. Da Silva also teaches SpCellConfig includes TCI-States configuration and TCI-States configuration in turn includes SSB index, which is also SSB configuration (Da Silva [Para. 0145 and 0291]). Therefore, replaceable configuration in Da Silva includes both PCI and candidate cell SSB.
Da Silva and Zhou are in the same or similar field of endeavor. They both teach replaceable configuration. Therefore, it is obvious to combine Da Silva with Zhou.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US20240373304A1, hereinafter Zhang) in view of Zhou et al (US20240007914A1, hereinafter Zhou) and Ali et al (WO2023151888A1, hereinafter Ali).
For claim 1, Zhang teaches a method, comprising: maintaining a configuration by a User Equipment (UE) in a serving cell of a mobile communication network ([Fig. 7], 702 and 704. [Para. 0069], In block 702, the network pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling (e.g. a RRCReconfiguration message). The candidate cell configuration may include a plurality of candidates to act as the target cell. 704, the UE responds to the RRC message with a confirmation/complete message to the network at the source cell. The message may be a RRCReconfigurationComplete. [Examiner’s Note: UE is preconfigured with the candidate cell configurations contained in RRCReconfiguration and RRCReconfigurationComplete indicates completion of pre-configurations]. [Para. 0006], The method further includes: activating a stored cell configuration of the identified candidate cell; applying a stored cell configuration of the identified candidate cell. [Examiner’s Note: Candidate cell configurations are stored in UE]. [Para. 0074], the candidate cells may include configurations that are transmitted. [Para. 0076], the cell ID information used for the configuration and maintenance of candidate cells may include … a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state ID related to the candidate cell. The TCI state may be linked with the candidate cell and has been configured as part of the current serving cell configuration [Examiner’s Note: candidate cell configuration may be maintained by cell ID]); receiving a cell-switching command from the network to handover from the serving cell to a first target cell belonging to the candidate cells ([Para. 0070], the source cell sends a trigger command to the UE in block 710, including the identification information of the at least one target cell. The trigger command is an L1/L2 command. Based on receiving the L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. [Para. 0069], The candidate cell configuration may include a plurality of candidates to act as the target cell).
Zhang, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration comprises a base configuration and one or more replaceable configurations for corresponding candidate cells, and applying a first replaceable configuration of the first target cell on top of the base configuration upon receiving the cell switching command, wherein the first replaceable configuration and the base configuration form a complete configuration for the first target cell.
Zhou is directed to providing delta signaling of cell configuration for inter-cell mobility. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein the configuration comprises a base configuration and one or more replaceable configurations for corresponding candidate cells ([Fig. 4] and [Para. 0081], the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a set of cells (e.g., cells 1 to 7) via RRC configuration, configured cell set. The configured cell set may further include activated cell set and deactivated cell set. Cells in both the activated cell set and the deactivated cell set may be considered as serving cells under the L1/L2 mobility. [Para. 0084], The UE 402 may be provided with a subset of deactivated cells (which may be referred to as a candidate cell set) in which the UE 402 may autonomously choose to add to the activated cell set. [Fig. 7] and [Para. 0090], when configuring cells for L1/L2 mobility, a base station 704 may provide a configuration for a cell or for a group of cells to a UE 702 as a delta configuration with respect to a reference cell configuration. [Para. 0091], a delta configuration for L1/L2 mobility configuration may designate one cell (e.g., cell 1) as a reference cell. For other cells that are not the reference cell, their configuration parameters may be provided as delta configuration parameters, where just configuration parameters that are different from the reference cell are included in the delta configuration. For example, as shown at 708, a non-reference cell 2 may have a similar cell configuration as the reference cell 1 except for the configuration parameters 1, 2, and 7. As such, delta configuration for cell 2 may include just configuration parameters 1, 2, and 7, and other configuration parameters may be excluded from the delta configuration to reduce signaling overhead. Then, for configuration parameters that are not included in the delta configuration, such as configuration parameters 3 to 6 and 8 to N for cell 2, the UE 702 may apply the corresponding configuration parameters based on the reference cell (e.g., apply configuration parameters 3 to 6 and 8 to N of cell 1 to cell 2)), and applying a first replaceable configuration of the first target cell on top of the base configuration upon receiving the cell switching command ([Para. 0091], Then, for configuration parameters that are not included in the delta configuration, the UE 702 may apply the corresponding configuration parameters based on the reference cell (e.g., apply configuration parameters 3 to 6 and 8 to N of cell 1 to cell 2). [Fig. 17] and [Para. 0106], there may be at least one reference cell in the set of cells 1708, where the delta configuration 1706 may include a full configuration for the reference cell and partial configuration/delta configuration parameters for the non-reference cells with respect to the reference cell. The base station 1704 may transmit the delta configuration 1706 to the UE 1702 via RRC signaling. [Para. 0113], At 1728, the base station 1704 may transmit an L1/L2 signaling to the UE 1702 to update at least one activated cell in the set of cells 1708 to a SpCell or a SCell. In response, at 1730, the UE 1702 may apply the delta configuration 1706 for that at least one activated cell [Examiner’s Note: A SpCell or SCell is a target cell]), wherein the first replaceable configuration and the base configuration form a complete configuration for the first target cell ([Para. 0092], a full configuration for a cell or a set of cells may refer to a configuration that includes all configuration parameters. [Para. 0091], for configuration parameters that are not included in the delta configuration, the UE 702 may apply the corresponding configuration parameters based on the reference cell. For other cells that are not the reference cell, their configuration parameters may be provided as delta configuration parameters, where just configuration parameters that are different from the reference cell are included in the delta configuration. [Para. 0113], At 1728, the base station 1704 may transmit an L1/L2 signaling to the UE 1702 to update at least one activated cell in the set of cells 1708 to an SpCell or an SCell. In response, at 1730, the UE 1702 may apply the delta configuration 1706 for that at least one activated cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, so that only delta configuration parameters are transmitted by the network, as taught by Zhou. The implementation would have allowed the system to exclude the reference configuration parameters that are already in the cell to be activated from delta configuration and thus reduce signaling overhead (Zhou, [Para. 0091]).
Although teaching reference and delta configurations, and applying the reference and delta configurations in cell switching, Zhang and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein the common base configuration is maintained separately from a current RRC configuration of the serving cell and common to all candidate cells.
Ali is directed to providing configuration enhancements for l1/l2 mobility. More specifically, Ali teaches wherein the common base configuration is maintained separately from a current RRC configuration of the serving cell and common to all candidate cells ([Para. 0122] and [FIG. 9], the base configuration is prepared by determining the delta between the full configuration for a cell and the cell-specific configuration for the cell. At the UE, the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration is applied, thereby applying a full RRC message for the cell. [Para. 0131] and [FIG. 10], the UE sends a measurement report to the first network node at block 1010. The cells in the measurement report may include the serving cell and neighboring cells served by the first network node. The neighboring cells represent candidate target cells. Based on the measurement report, the first network node can identify a potential set of candidate target cells and prepare the reconfiguration message. The UE may receive the reconfiguration message from the first network node. [Para. 0132], at block 1030, the UE may store the base configuration and the plurality of cell-specific configurations received from the first network node at block 1020. [Para. 0128], At block 1070, the UE applies a cell-specific configuration for a target cell. The target cell is a cell among the plurality of first cells served by the first network node. The UE applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell upon execution of the mobility procedure to connect the UE to the target cell. [Para. 0129], the UE uses a set of parameters according to the cell-specific configuration and applies the set of parameters to the base configuration used by the UE to form a full configuration required to connect to the target cell (i.e., the UE applies the delta configuration according to the cell-specific configuration to the base configuration). The UE replaces the cell-specific configuration used to connect to the serving cell by the cell-specific configuration for the target cell, while maintaining the base configuration used by the UE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zhang and Zhou, so that the base configuration is common to all candidate cells and maintained separately from the current RRC configuration, as taught by Ali. The modification would have provided efficient configuration of L1/L2 mobility (Ali [Para. 0093]).
For claim 2, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the configuration is contained in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message sent from the network.
Zhang teaches wherein the configuration is contained in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message sent from the network ([Para. 0075], The candidate cell configuration may be provided via different options. In one embodiment, each candidate cell configuration can be included in one RRC container. [Fig. 7] and [Para. 0069], In block 702, the network (“NW”) pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling (e.g. a RRCReconfiguration message)).
For claim 3, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the method of claim 2. The references further teach wherein the base configuration is modified by another RRC reconfiguration message (Ali [Para. 0126], the UE receives a reconfiguration message from the first network node. An example of the reconfiguration message comprises a RRC Reconfiguration message. The reconfiguration message comprises a base configuration and a plurality of cell-specific configurations. In combination, the base configuration and the cell specific configuration for a cell represent a configuration required by the UE to connect to the cell. Ali [Fig. 15] and [Para. 0177], At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message). The reconfiguration message includes a base configuration and a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Ali [Fig. 15] and [0178] At step 3, the UE may store the base configuration. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the first base station gNB-1, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang and Zhou, so that the base configuration can be modified by another RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Ali. The implementation would have provided efficient configuration of L1/L2 mobility (Ali, [Para. 0093]).
For claim 4, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the replaceable configuration is modified by another RRC reconfiguration message (Zhou, [Para. 0092], a delta configuration may include at least one reference cell with all configuration parameters (e.g., cell 1 with configuration parameters 1 to N). The reference cell(s) may be designated in a previous configuration of a cell set. For example, a previous configuration of a configured cell set for a UE may include cells 1 to 7 with cell 1 designated as the reference cell. After the UE moves, the base station may update the configured cell set to include cells 1 to 3 and 8 to 10 (e.g., by removing cells 4 to 7 and adding cells 8 to 10). In this example, the delta configuration may include delta configuration parameters for cells 8 to 10 without including the full configuration for cell 1. [Para. 0106], The base station 1704 may transmit the delta configuration 1706 to the UE 1702 via RRC signaling; Zhang, [Para. 0069], The communication shows how the UE can move from the source cell to the target cell and the L1/L2 signaling that is used as part of the transition. In block 702, the network (“NW”) pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling (e.g. a RRCReconfiguration message). [Para. 0075], The candidate cell configuration may be provided via different options. In one embodiment, each candidate cell configuration can be included in one RRC container).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang and Ali, so that a delta configuration can be modified when the UE moves, as taught by Zhou. The implementation allows the system to exclude the reference configuration parameters that are already in the cell to be activated from delta configuration and thus reduce signaling overhead (Zhou, [Para. 0091]).
For claim 5, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the base configuration comprises configuration information for each serving cell or for each cell group.
Zhou, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the base configuration comprises configuration information for each serving cell or for each cell group ([Fig. 4] and [Para. 0081], the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a set of cells (e.g., cells 1 to 7) via RRC configuration, which may be referred to as the L1/L2 mobility configured cell set (or simply configured cell set). The L1/L2 mobility configured cell set may further include activated cell set and deactivated cell set. Cells in both the activated cell set and the deactivated cell set may be considered as serving cells under the L1/L2 mobility. [Fig. 7] and [0092], a full configuration for a cell or a set of cells may refer to a configuration that includes all configuration parameters for configuring the cell or the set of cells. the delta configuration may include delta configuration parameters for cells 8 to 10 without including the full configuration for cell 1 [Examiner's Note: reference cell refers to reference configuration. Reference configuration in Fig. 7 has full configuration parameters for the set of cells]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang and Ali, so that a reference configuration comprises all configuration parameters for each serving cell, as taught by Zhou. The implementation allows the system to exclude the reference configuration parameters that are already in the cell to be activated from delta configuration and thus reduce signaling overhead (Zhou, [Para. 0091]).
For claim 7, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the method of claim 5. The references further teach wherein the replaceable configuration is for a cell group, and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises configuration of a SpCell and one or more SCells of a corresponding candidate cell.
Zhou, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the replaceable configuration is for a cell group ([Fig. 7], [Fig. 11] and [Para. 0098], As shown at 1102, cell group 1 may include cells 1, 2, and 3, where cell 1 is designated as the reference cell and cells 2 and 3 are non-reference cells. The delta configuration may include a full configuration for cell 1, and cells 2 and 3 may be configured with partial configuration/delta configuration parameters with respect to cell 1, such as described in connection with FIG. 7), and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises configuration of a SpCell and one or more SCells of a corresponding candidate cell ([Fig. 7] and [Para. 0090], a base station 704 may provide a configuration for a cell or for a group of cells to a UE 702 as a delta configuration with respect to a reference cell configuration or a cell group configuration. The reference cell may be an SpCell or an SCell. [Para. 0092], In addition, for purposes of the present disclosure, the delta configuration may include L1/L2 mobility specific configuration, such as SpCell configuration, PCell configuration, SCell configuration, L1 measurements and/or reporting configuration for deactivated cells, or a combination thereof. [Para. 0084], The UE 402 may be provided with a subset of deactivated cells (which may be referred to as a candidate cell set)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang and Ali, so that the e configuration is for a cell group and includes configuration of a SpCell and SCell for the candidate cell, as taught by Zhou. The implementation allows the system to exclude the reference configuration parameters that are already in the cell to be activated from delta configuration and thus reduce signaling overhead (Zhou, [Para. 0091]).
For claim 11, Zhang teaches A User Equipment (UE) ([Abstract], a user equipment (UE) moving between cells in a network), comprising: a control circuit that maintains a configuration by a User Equipment (UE) in a serving cell of a mobile communication network ([Para. 0207], The system and process described above may be programmed within a device such as one or more integrated circuits, one or more processors or processed by a controller. [Fig. 7], 702 and 704. [Para. 0069], In block 702, the network pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling (e.g. a RRCReconfiguration message). The candidate cell configuration may include a plurality of candidates to act as the target cell. 704, the UE responds to the RRC message with a confirmation/complete message to the network at the source cell. The message may be a RRCReconfigurationComplete. [Examiner’s Note: UE is preconfigured with the candidate cell configurations contained in RRCReconfiguration and RRCReconfigurationComplete indicates completion of pre-configurations]. [Para. 0006], The method further includes: activating a stored cell configuration of the identified candidate cell; applying a stored cell configuration of the identified candidate cell. [Examiner’s Note: Candidate cell configurations are stored in UE]. [Para. 0074], the candidate cells may include configurations that are transmitted. [Para. 0076], the cell ID information used for the configuration and maintenance of candidate cells may include … a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state ID related to the candidate cell. The TCI state may be linked with the candidate cell and has been configured as part of the current serving cell configuration [Examiner’s Note: candidate cell configuration may be maintained by cell ID]); a receiver that receives a cell-switching command from the network to handover from the serving cell to a first target cell belonging to the candidate cells ([Fig. 2] and [Para. 0059], the communication interfaces 212 may include transceivers that support transmission and reception. [Para. 0070], the source cell sends a trigger command to the UE in block 710, including the identification information of the at least one target cell. The trigger command is an L1/L2 command. Based on receiving the L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. [Para. 0069], The candidate cell configuration may include a plurality of candidates to act as the target cell).
Zhang, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration comprises a base configuration and one or more replaceable configurations for corresponding candidate cells, and a handover handling circuit that applies a first replaceable configuration of the first target cell on top of the base configuration upon receiving the cell switching command, wherein the first replaceable configuration and the base configuration form a complete configuration for the first target cell.
Zhou is directed to providing delta signaling of cell configuration for inter-cell mobility. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein the configuration comprises a base configuration and one or more replaceable configurations for corresponding candidate cells (Zhou, [Fig. 4] and [Para. 0081], the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a set of cells (e.g., cells 1 to 7) via RRC configuration, configured cell set. The configured cell set may further include activated cell set and deactivated cell set. Cells in both the activated cell set and the deactivated cell set may be considered as serving cells under the L1/L2 mobility. Zhou, [Para. 0084], The UE 402 may be provided with a subset of deactivated cells (which may be referred to as a candidate cell set) in which the UE 402 may autonomously choose to add to the activated cell set. Zhou, [Fig. 7] and [Para. 0090], when configuring cells for L1/L2 mobility, a base station 704 may provide a configuration for a cell or for a group of cells to a UE 702 as a delta configuration with respect to a reference cell configuration. Zhou, [Para. 0091], a delta configuration for L1/L2 mobility configuration may designate one cell (e.g., cell 1) as a reference cell. For other cells that are not the reference cell, their configuration parameters may be provided as delta configuration parameters, where just configuration parameters that are different from the reference cell are included in the delta configuration. For example, as shown at 708, a non-reference cell 2 may have a similar cell configuration as the reference cell 1 except for the configuration parameters 1, 2, and 7. As such, delta configuration for cell 2 may include just configuration parameters 1, 2, and 7, and other configuration parameters may be excluded from the delta configuration to reduce signaling overhead. Then, for configuration parameters that are not included in the delta configuration, such as configuration parameters 3 to 6 and 8 to N for cell 2, the UE 702 may apply the corresponding configuration parameters based on the reference cell (e.g., apply configuration parameters 3 to 6 and 8 to N of cell 1 to cell 2)), and a handover handling circuit that applies a first replaceable configuration of the first target cell on top of the base configuration upon receiving the cell switching command (Zhang, [Para. 0207], The system and process described above may be programmed within a device such as one or more integrated circuits, one or more processors or processed by a controller or a computer. Zhou, [Para. 0091], Then, for configuration parameters that are not included in the delta configuration, the UE 702 may apply the corresponding configuration parameters based on the reference cell (e.g., apply configuration parameters 3 to 6 and 8 to N of cell 1 to cell 2). Zhou, [Fig. 17] and [Para. 0106], there may be at least one reference cell in the set of cells 1708, where the delta configuration 1706 may include a full configuration for the reference cell and partial configuration/delta configuration parameters for the non-reference cells with respect to the reference cell. The base station 1704 may transmit the delta configuration 1706 to the UE 1702 via RRC signaling. Zhou, [Para. 0113], At 1728, the base station 1704 may transmit an L1/L2 signaling to the UE 1702 to update at least one activated cell in the set of cells 1708 to a SpCell or a SCell. In response, at 1730, the UE 1702 may apply the delta configuration 1706 for that at least one activated cell [Examiner’s Note: A SpCell or SCell is a target cell]), wherein the first replaceable configuration and the base configuration form a complete configuration for the first target cell (Zhou, [Para. 0092], a full configuration for a cell or a set of cells may refer to a configuration that includes all configuration parameters. Zhou, [Para. 0091], for configuration parameters that are not included in the delta configuration, the UE 702 may apply the corresponding configuration parameters based on the reference cell. For other cells that are not the reference cell, their configuration parameters may be provided as delta configuration parameters, where just configuration parameters that are different from the reference cell are included in the delta configuration. Zhou, [Para. 0113], At 1728, the base station 1704 may transmit an L1/L2 signaling to the UE 1702 to update at least one activated cell in the set of cells 1708 to an SpCell or an SCell. In response, at 1730, the UE 1702 may apply the delta configuration 1706 for that at least one activated cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, so that only delta configuration parameters are transmitted by the network, as taught by Zhou. The implementation would have allowed the system to exclude the reference configuration parameters that are already in the cell to be activated from delta configuration and thus reduce signaling overhead (Zhou, [Para. 0091]).
Although teaching reference and delta configurations, and applying the reference and delta configurations in cell switching, Zhang and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein the common base configuration is maintained separately from a current RRC configuration of the serving cell and common to all candidate cells.
Ali is directed to providing configuration enhancements for l1/l2 mobility. More specifically, Ali teaches wherein the common base configuration is maintained separately from a current RRC configuration of the serving cell and common to all candidate cells ([Para. 0122] and [FIG. 9], the base configuration is prepared by determining the delta between the full configuration for a cell and the cell-specific configuration for the cell. At the UE, the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration is applied, thereby applying a full RRC message for the cell. [Para. 0131] and [FIG. 10], the UE sends a measurement report to the first network node at block 1010. The cells in the measurement report may include the serving cell and neighboring cells served by the first network node. The neighboring cells represent candidate target cells. Based on the measurement report, the first network node can identify a potential set of candidate target cells and prepare the reconfiguration message. The UE may receive the reconfiguration message from the first network node. [Para. 0132], at block 1030, the UE may store the base configuration and the plurality of cell-specific configurations received from the first network node at block 1020. [Para. 0128], At block 1070, the UE applies a cell-specific configuration for a target cell. The target cell is a cell among the plurality of first cells served by the first network node. The UE applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell upon execution of the mobility procedure to connect the UE to the target cell. [Para. 0129], the UE uses a set of parameters according to the cell-specific configuration and applies the set of parameters to the base configuration used by the UE to form a full configuration required to connect to the target cell (i.e., the UE applies the delta configuration according to the cell-specific configuration to the base configuration). The UE replaces the cell-specific configuration used to connect to the serving cell by the cell-specific configuration for the target cell, while maintaining the base configuration used by the UE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zhang and Zhou, so that the base configuration is common to all candidate cells and maintained separately from the current RRC configuration, as taught by Ali. The modification would have provided efficient configuration of L1/L2 mobility (Ali [Para. 0093]).
For claim 12, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the UE of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the configuration is contained in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message sent from the network.
Zhang teaches wherein the configuration is contained in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message sent from the network ([Para. 0075], The candidate cell configuration may be provided via different options. In one embodiment, each candidate cell configuration can be included in one RRC container. [Fig. 7] and [Para. 0069], In block 702, the network (“NW”) pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling (e.g. a RRCReconfiguration message)).
For claim 13, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the UE of claim 12. The references further teach wherein the base configuration is modified by another RRC reconfiguration message (Ali [Para. 0126], the UE receives a reconfiguration message from the first network node. An example of the reconfiguration message comprises a RRC Reconfiguration message. The reconfiguration message comprises a base configuration and a plurality of cell-specific configurations. In combination, the base configuration and the cell specific configuration for a cell represent a configuration required by the UE to connect to the cell. Ali [Fig. 15] and [Para. 0177], At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message). The reconfiguration message includes a base configuration and a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Ali [Fig. 15] and [0178] At step 3, the UE may store the base configuration. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the first base station gNB-1, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang and Zhou, so that the base configuration can be modified by another RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Ali. The implementation would have provided efficient configuration of L1/L2 mobility (Ali, [Para. 0093]).
For claim 14, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the UE of claim 12. The references further teach wherein the replaceable configuration is modified by another RRC reconfiguration message (Zhou, [Para. 0092], a delta configuration may include at least one reference cell with all configuration parameters (e.g., cell 1 with configuration parameters 1 to N). The reference cell(s) may be designated in a previous configuration of a cell set. For example, a previous configuration of a configured cell set for a UE may include cells 1 to 7 with cell 1 designated as the reference cell. After the UE moves, the base station may update the configured cell set to include cells 1 to 3 and 8 to 10 (e.g., by removing cells 4 to 7 and adding cells 8 to 10). In this example, the delta configuration may include delta configuration parameters for cells 8 to 10 without including the full configuration for cell 1. [Para. 0106], The base station 1704 may transmit the delta configuration 1706 to the UE 1702 via RRC signaling; Zhang, [Para. 0069], The communication shows how the UE can move from the source cell to the target cell and the L1/L2 signaling that is used as part of the transition. In block 702, the network (“NW”) pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling (e.g. a RRCReconfiguration message). [Para. 0075], The candidate cell configuration may be provided via different options. In one embodiment, each candidate cell configuration can be included in one RRC container).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, and Ali so that a delta configuration can be modified when the UE moves, as taught by Zhou. The implementation allows the system to exclude the reference configuration parameters that are already in the cell to be activated from delta configuration and thus reduce signaling overhead (Zhou, [Para. 0091]).
For claim 15, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the UE of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the base configuration comprises configuration information for each serving cell or for each cell group.
Zhou, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the base configuration comprises configuration information for each serving cell or for each cell group ([Fig. 4] and [Para. 0081], the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a set of cells (e.g., cells 1 to 7) via RRC configuration, which may be referred to as the L1/L2 mobility configured cell set (or simply configured cell set). The L1/L2 mobility configured cell set may further include activated cell set and deactivated cell set. Cells in both the activated cell set and the deactivated cell set may be considered as serving cells under the L1/L2 mobility. [Fig. 7] and [0092], a full configuration for a cell or a set of cells may refer to a configuration that includes all configuration parameters for configuring the cell or the set of cells. the delta configuration may include delta configuration parameters for cells 8 to 10 without including the full configuration for cell 1 [Examiner's Note: reference cell refers to reference configuration. Reference configuration in Fig. 7 has full configuration parameters for the set of cells]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang and Ali, so that a reference configuration comprises all configuration parameters for each serving cell, as taught by Zhou. The implementation allows the system to exclude the reference configuration parameters that are already in the cell to be activated from delta configuration and thus reduce signaling overhead (Zhou, [Para. 0091]).
For claim 17, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the UE of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the replaceable configuration is for a cell group, and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises configuration of a SpCell and one or more SCells of a corresponding candidate cell.
Zhou, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the replaceable configuration is for a cell group ([Fig. 7], [Fig. 11] and [Para. 0098], As shown at 1102, cell group 1 may include cells 1, 2, and 3, where cell 1 is designated as the reference cell and cells 2 and 3 are non-reference cells. The delta configuration may include a full configuration for cell 1, and cells 2 and 3 may be configured with partial configuration/delta configuration parameters with respect to cell 1, such as described in connection with FIG. 7), and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises configuration of a SpCell and one or more SCells of a corresponding candidate cell ([Fig. 7] and [Para. 0090], a base station 704 may provide a configuration for a cell or for a group of cells to a UE 702 as a delta configuration with respect to a reference cell configuration or a cell group configuration. The reference cell may be an SpCell or an SCell. [Para. 0092], In addition, for purposes of the present disclosure, the delta configuration may include L1/L2 mobility specific configuration, such as SpCell configuration, PCell configuration, SCell configuration, L1 measurements and/or reporting configuration for deactivated cells, or a combination thereof. [Para. 0084], The UE 402 may be provided with a subset of deactivated cells (which may be referred to as a candidate cell set)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang and Ali, so that the configuration is for a cell group and includes configuration of a SpCell and SCell for the candidate cell, as taught by Zhou. The implementation allows the system to exclude the reference configuration parameters that are already in the cell to be activated from delta configuration and thus reduce signaling overhead (Zhou, [Para. 0091]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20240373304A1, hereinafter Zhang) in view of Zhou et al (US20240007914A1, hereinafter Zhou) and Ali et al (WO2023151888A1, hereinafter Ali), and further in view of Da Silva et al. (US20230007499A1, hereinafter Da Silva).
For claim 6, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the method of claim 5, Zhou further teaches wherein the replaceable configuration is for the serving cell (Zhou [Fig. 17] and [Para. 0106], At 1720, a base station 1704 may transmit a delta configuration 1706 to a UE 1702 for a set of cells 1708. As shown at 1722, each cell in the set of cells 1708 may include both SpCell and SCell capabilities/configurations, and the set of cells 1708 may include a set of activated cells and a set of deactivated cells. Zhou [Para. 0081], Cells in both the activated cell set and the deactivated cell set may be considered as serving cells under the L1/L2 mobility), and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises a physical cell ID and SSB configuration of a corresponding candidate cell ([Para. 0107], the delta configuration 1706 may include a set of parameters such as a cell index, an SSB measurement timing, a cell group ID, or a combination thereof. [Para. 0084], the UE 402 may be provided with a subset of deactivated cells (which may be referred to as a candidate cell set). [Para. 0067] UE determines a physical cell identifier).
Although teaching that the delta configuration includes a cell index and a cell group ID, where cell index can be PCI, as noted above, Zhang, Zhou and Ali, however, do not explicitly disclose and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises a physical cell ID and SSB configuration of a corresponding candidate cell.
Da Silva, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises a physical cell ID ([Para. 0237], The method comprises the UE receiving a higher layer configuration with a set of SpCell configurations. The UE receives an MCG configuration, possibly in an RRCReconfiguration message during an IDLE to CONNECTED transition, and, in addition to the existing MCG SpCell configuration (currently conveyed in spCellConfig of IE SpCellConfig), the UE receives a list of additional SpCell configurations. [Para. 0239], The method comprises another variant where the UE only receives a list of SpCellConfig(s) and the first element in the list is the configuration of the SpCell the UE is resuming or setting up the connection. In that case one may say that the additional SpCell(s) as the remaining elements, except the first one [Examiner’s Note: the first one is the reference cell]. [Para. 0240], The method may comprise the configuration of SpCell-specific parameters for each additional SpCell, such as at least the following: Cell-specific configuration, such as a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, Zhou and Ali, so that a physical cell identity is used for each candidate cell, as taught by reference configuration comprises all configuration parameters for each serving cell, as taught by Da Silva. The implementation allows the UE to be able to start receiving data on the physical layer in the target cell with the QCL source is updated (Da Silva, [Para. 0083 and 0087]).
For claim 16, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the UE of claim 15, Zhou further teaches wherein the replaceable configuration is for the serving cell ([Fig. 17] and [Para. 0106], At 1720, a base station 1704 may transmit a delta configuration 1706 to a UE 1702 for a set of cells 1708. As shown at 1722, each cell in the set of cells 1708 may include both SpCell and SCell capabilities/configurations, and the set of cells 1708 may include a set of activated cells and a set of deactivated cells. [Para. 0081], Cells in both the activated cell set and the deactivated cell set may be considered as serving cells under the L1/L2 mobility), and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises a physical cell ID and SSB configuration of a corresponding candidate cell ([Para. 0107], the delta configuration 1706 may include a set of parameters such as a cell index, an SSB measurement timing, a cell group ID, or a combination thereof. [Para. 0084], the UE 402 may be provided with a subset of deactivated cells (which may be referred to as a candidate cell set). [Para. 0067] UE determines a physical cell identifier).
Although teaching that the delta configuration includes a cell index and a cell group ID, where cell index can be PCI, as noted above, Zhang, Zhou and Ali, however, do not explicitly disclose and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises a physical cell ID and SSB configuration of a corresponding candidate cell.
Da Silva, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches and wherein the replaceable configuration comprises a physical cell ID ([Para. 0237], The method comprises the UE receiving a higher layer configuration with a set of SpCell configurations. The UE receives an MCG configuration, possibly in an RRCReconfiguration message during an IDLE to CONNECTED transition, and, in addition to the existing MCG SpCell configuration (currently conveyed in spCellConfig of IE SpCellConfig), the UE receives a list of additional SpCell configurations. [Para. 0239], The method comprises another variant where the UE only receives a list of SpCellConfig(s) and the first element in the list is the configuration of the SpCell the UE is resuming or setting up the connection. In that case one may say that the additional SpCell(s) as the remaining elements, except the first one [Examiner’s Note: the first one is the reference cell]. [Para. 0240], The method may comprise the configuration of SpCell-specific parameters for each additional SpCell, such as at least the following: Cell-specific configuration, such as a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, Zhou and Ali, so that a physical cell identity is used for each candidate cell, as taught by reference configuration comprises all configuration parameters for each serving cell, as taught by Da Silva. The implementation allows the UE to be able to start receiving data on the physical layer in the target cell with the QCL source is updated (Da Silva, [Para. 0083 and 0087]).
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20240373304A1, hereinafter Zhang) in view of Zhou et al (US20240007914A1, hereinafter Zhou) and Ali et al (WO2023151888A1, hereinafter Ali), and further in view of Wang et al (WO2023141837A1, hereinafter Wang).
For claim 8, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the method of claim 1. However, Zhang, Zhou and Ali do not teach wherein the UE switches from the first target cell to a second target cell by applying a second replaceable configuration of the second target cell on top of the base configuration.
Wang, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the UE switches from the first target cell to a second target cell by applying a second replaceable configuration of the second target cell on top of the base configuration ([Para. 0069, 0070], as the terminal device 120 further moves, when a condition for still another candidate cell (for example, the cell 152) is fulfilled, a SN serving the terminal device 120 may be changed from the network device 140 to the network device 150 (also referred to as a target SN 150). This process of SN change may be called as a subsequent CPC. [Para. 0076, FIG. 2], the network device 110 transmits 210, to the terminal device 120, a set of configurations for a set of candidate cells. Configurations in the set of configurations are delta configurations. [Para. 0085], the terminal device 120 may generate a set of configurations (for convenience, also referred to as a set of second configurations) for the set of candidate cells based on the reference configuration and the set of configurations for the set of candidate cells, and store the set of second configurations. and the configurations of the candidate cells are delta configurations, the terminal device 120 may use or combine the reference RRC configuration and configuration corresponding to each candidate cell to generate a new or actual RRC configuration (i.e., the second configuration) corresponding to the candidate cell the terminal device 120 may replace or update the stored second RRC configurations with the newly generated second RRC configuration of the candidate cells. The terminal device 120 may directly apply the currently stored second RRC configuration for the candidate cell upon an execution condition is fulfilled or a lower signaling is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, Zhou and Ali, so that the UE moves from the first target cell to a second target cell by applying a second delta configuration of the second target cell on top of the reference configuration, as taught by Wang. The implementation allows the system to apply delta configuration as the UE moves from one target cell to another target cell (Wang, [Para. 0047 and 0048]).
For claim 9, Zhang, Zhou, Ali and Wang teach the method of claim 8, Wang further teaches wherein the second replaceable configuration and the base configuration form a complete configuration for the second target cell ([Para. 0085], the terminal device 120 may generate a set of configurations (for convenience, also referred to as a set of second configurations) for the set of candidate cells based on the reference configuration and the set of configurations for the set of candidate cells, and store the set of second configurations. and the configurations of the candidate cells are delta configurations, the terminal device 120 may use or combine the reference RRC configuration and configuration corresponding to each candidate cell to generate a new or actual RRC configuration (i.e., the second configuration) corresponding to the candidate cell the terminal device 120 may replace or update the stored second RRC configurations with the newly generated second RRC configuration of the candidate cells. The terminal device 120 may directly apply the currently stored second RRC configuration for the candidate cell upon an execution condition is fulfilled or a lower signaling is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, Zhou and Ali, so that the second delta configuration and the reference configuration form a complete configuration for the second target cell, as taught by Wang. The implementation allows the system to apply delta configuration as the UE moves from one target cell to another target cell (Wang, [Para. 0047 and 0048]).
For claim 18, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the UE of claim 11. However, Zhang, Zhou and Ali do not teach wherein the UE switches from the first target cell to a second target cell by applying a second replaceable configuration of the second target cell on top of the base configuration.
Wang, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the UE switches from the first target cell to a second target cell by applying a second replaceable configuration of the second target cell on top of the base configuration ([Para. 0069, 0070], as the terminal device 120 further moves, when a condition for still another candidate cell (for example, the cell 152) is fulfilled, a SN serving the terminal device 120 may be changed from the network device 140 to the network device 150 (also referred to as a target SN 150). This process of SN change may be called as a subsequent CPC. [Para. 0076, FIG. 2], the network device 110 transmits 210, to the terminal device 120, a set of configurations for a set of candidate cells. Configurations in the set of configurations are delta configurations. [Para. 0085], the terminal device 120 may generate a set of configurations (for convenience, also referred to as a set of second configurations) for the set of candidate cells based on the reference configuration and the set of configurations for the set of candidate cells, and store the set of second configurations. and the configurations of the candidate cells are delta configurations, the terminal device 120 may use or combine the reference RRC configuration and configuration corresponding to each candidate cell to generate a new or actual RRC configuration (i.e., the second configuration) corresponding to the candidate cell the terminal device 120 may replace or update the stored second RRC configurations with the newly generated second RRC configuration of the candidate cells. The terminal device 120 may directly apply the currently stored second RRC configuration for the candidate cell upon an execution condition is fulfilled or a lower signaling is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, Zhou and Ali, so that the UE moves from the first target cell to a second target cell by applying a second delta configuration of the second target cell on top of the reference configuration, as taught by Wang. The implementation allows the system to apply delta configuration as the UE moves from one target cell to another target cell (Wang, [Para. 0047 and 0048]).
For claim 19, Zhang, Zhou, Ali and Wang teach the UE of claim 18, Wang further teaches wherein the second replaceable configuration and the base configuration form a complete configuration for the second target cell ([Para. 0085], the terminal device 120 may generate a set of configurations (for convenience, also referred to as a set of second configurations) for the set of candidate cells based on the reference configuration and the set of configurations for the set of candidate cells, and store the set of second configurations. and the configurations of the candidate cells are delta configurations, the terminal device 120 may use or combine the reference RRC configuration and configuration corresponding to each candidate cell to generate a new or actual RRC configuration (i.e., the second configuration) corresponding to the candidate cell the terminal device 120 may replace or update the stored second RRC configurations with the newly generated second RRC configuration of the candidate cells. The terminal device 120 may directly apply the currently stored second RRC configuration for the candidate cell upon an execution condition is fulfilled or a lower signaling is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, Zhou and Ali, so that the second delta configuration and the reference configuration form a complete configuration for the second target cell, as taught by Wang. The implementation allows the system to apply delta configuration as the UE moves from one target cell to another target cell (Wang, [Para. 0047 and 0048]).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20240373304A1, hereinafter Zhang) in view of Zhou et al (US20240007914A1, hereinafter Zhou) and Ali et al (WO2023151888A1, hereinafter Ali), and further in view of Paladugu et al (US20190253945A1, hereinafter Paladugu).
For claim 10, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the method of claim 1. However, Zhang, Zhou and Ali do not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is equipped with more than one radio link control or media access control (RLC/MAC) protocol stacks and more than one physical layer hardware modules.
Paladugu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the UE is equipped with more than one radio link control or media access control (RLC/MAC) protocol stacks and more than one physical layer hardware modules ([Para. 0098], In some aspects, UE 120 may use a dual protocol stack, which includes a source protocol stack for communicating with source BS 110-1 and a target protocol stack for communicating with target BS 110-2. Each of these protocol stacks may include a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a medium access control (MAC) layer, and/or a physical (PHY) layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, Zhou and Ali, so that the UE is equipped with more than one radio link control or media access control (RLC/MAC) protocol stacks and more than one physical layer hardware modules, as taught by Paladugu. The implementation allows the system to concurrently communicates with a source base station (BS) and a target BS on a connection with the source BS and a connection with the target BS in a handover procedure (Paladugu, [Abstract]).
For claim 20, Zhang, Zhou and Ali teach the UE of claim 11. However, Zhang, Zhou and Ali do not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is equipped with more than one radio link control or media access control (RLC/MAC) protocol stacks and more than one physical layer hardware modules.
Paladugu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the UE is equipped with more than one radio link control or media access control (RLC/MAC) protocol stacks and more than one physical layer hardware modules ([Para. 0098], In some aspects, UE 120 may use a dual protocol stack, which includes a source protocol stack for communicating with source BS 110-1 and a target protocol stack for communicating with target BS 110-2. Each of these protocol stacks may include a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a medium access control (MAC) layer, and/or a physical (PHY) layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Zhang, Zhou and Ali, so that the UE is equipped with more than one radio link control or media access control (RLC/MAC) protocol stacks and more than one physical layer hardware modules, as taught by Paladugu. The implementation allows the system to concurrently communicates with a source base station (BS) and a target BS on a connection with the source BS and a connection with the target BS in a handover procedure (Paladugu, [Abstract]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417