DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0083631, filed on 07/07/2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 7-11 and 14-15 in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the pressure deformation portion and temperature deformation portion have similar features and can be searched without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because while Species A and Species B share some common features, Species B includes distinct structural limitations (i.e., a temperature deformation portion versus a pressure deformation portion) that require a different search strategy, distinct prior art combinations (e.g., thermal-mechanical bimetals versus pressure deformation/rupture elements/membranes), and different classification areas than Species A. Therefore, a serious burden exists, and the restriction is maintained.
Claims 1-6 and 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/29/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su-Yeon (KR20040099525A – refer to IDS field 6/4/2026; machine translation attached) in view of Epstein (US4035552).
Regarding Claim 7, Su-Yeon discloses a cap plate 200/210 hermetically coupled to an open side of a prismatic case 200 and provided with an electrode terminal 230/240 [pars. 0050-53; Fig. 2]. Su-Yeon fails to disclose, the cap plate further comprises: a first part coupled and electrically connected to the electrode terminal, the first part comprising a temperature deformation portion configured to deform toward the electrode terminal based on an increase in temperature; and a second part comprising a first portion coupled to the temperature deformation portion of the first part, and comprising a second portion coupled to an electrode lead of an electrode assembly.
Epstein, from the same field of endeavor, teaches an electrochemical cell safety mechanism comprising a temperature deformation portion (bimetallic strip 30) as a first part coupled and electrically connected to an electrode terminal (rivet 26) configured to deform toward the electrode terminal in response to an increase in temperature, and a second part (pin 32) comprising a first portion coupled to the temperature deformation portion of the first part, and comprising a second portion coupled to an electrode lead of an electrode assembly [Epstein – C3:L30-68,C4:L1-15; FIGURE]. Epstein teaches that the temperature deformation portion bends towards the upper electrode terminal, and in doing so, physically separates from a second part that is connected to the electrode 20 in order to break the electrical connection [Epstein – C4:L1-15; FIGURE]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have modified the cap plate of Su-Yeon to have included the temperature-activated bimetallic mechanism of Epstein to include a first part coupled and electrically connected to the electrode terminal, the first part comprising a temperature deformation portion configured to deform toward the electrode terminal based on an increase in temperature; and a second part comprising a first portion coupled to the temperature deformation portion of the first part, and comprising a second portion coupled to an electrode lead of an electrode assembly as a well-known proactive thermal runaway protection mechanism ensuring the circuit is interrupted when cell temperatures rise to excessive levels before the internal pressure reaches the point of cell rupture [Epstein – C2:L45-56].
Regarding Claims 8-9, modified Su-Yeon discloses the cap plate wherein the second part is configured to separate from the first part when the temperature deformation portion of the first part is deformed toward the electrode terminal by the increase in temperature, and wherein the first part deforms when the temperature deformation portion bends toward the electrode terminal based on the increase in temperature [Epstein – C4:L1-15].
Regarding Claims 14-15, Su-Yeon discloses a prismatic secondary battery comprising a case 200 comprising an open side, an electrode assembly received within the case through the open side, and a cap plate according to claim 7, wherein the cap plate is coupled to the case to seal the open side [Su-Yeon – Figs. 2,4]. Modified Su-Yeon discloses the battery wherein the temperature deformation portion of the first part deforms by bending toward the electrode terminal in response to a temperature increase corresponding to an amount of current flowing in the electrode terminal [Epstein – C4:L1-15; FIGRE].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 10 is allowable over the prior art of record because the cited references, either individually or in combination, fail to teach or render obvious the specific structural geometry and operation mechanics of the claimed cap assembly. Specifically, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the first portion of the second part comprises a junction coupled to the temperature deformation portion of the first part, and wherein the first portion comprises a plurality of legs connecting the junction with the second portion of the second part, and wherein the second portion comprises a main body of the second part. The instant specification teaches that, upon deformation of the temperature deformation portion, the junction of the second part joined to the temperature deformation portion moves toward the electrode terminal causing the junction to rupture and be separated from the second part. There is no motivation in the art for an ordinary skilled artisan to further modify the second portion of the second part of modified Su-Yeon to particularly include a plurality of legs connecting the junction with the second portion or a main body of the second portion without requiring impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751