DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 7/28/2026, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 10-12, 18 and 19 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 11 and 19 being independent. Claims 1, 11 and 19 have been amended. No claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the arguments, the applicant argues that Lagrange does not teach “wherein 0100 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates BH RLF detection indication, the BH RLF detection indication denotes the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB and a parent node”.
The reasons by the applicant for making this argument are that Lagrange does not disclose that another value from the same range needs to be used indicate BH RLF detection. Similar arguments are stated for independent claims 11 and 19 on pgs. 9 and 10.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated in the cited [0209], field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure), where a value taken from the reserved values 0100-1111 may be used to signal a radio link recovery, with 0100 specifically being the first value in the range, and, as indicated in [0178], IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF and thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 (here below “BH RLF indication”) to its child IAB-nodes. Additionally, as indicated in the cited [0210], the example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB. Consequently, 0100 in the field 602 indicates the IAB node 402 detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB and a parent node.
Therefore, Lagrange teaches the argued limitation.
On page 8 of the arguments, the applicant argues that Lagrange does not teach “0101 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates BH RLF recovery indication, the BH RLF recovery indication denotes the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, and a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful”.
The reasons by the applicant for making this argument are that based on [0175], [0178] and [0209] of Lagrange, the solution mentioned in Lagrange appears to use "0011" to indicate BH RLF, and appears to suggest that a value taken from the reserved fields 0100-1111 can be used to indicate radio link recovery, thereby distinguishing between radio link failure and radio link recovery. Lagrange appears to merely mention that 0011 can be used to indicate BH RLF and proposes that a value from 0100-1111 needs to be used to indicate radio link recovery. However, Lagrange appears to merely propose selecting a value from the range 0100-1111 to indicate radio link recovery, but does not specify the specific value.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated in the cited [0209], field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure), where a value taken from the reserved values 0100-1111 may be used to signal a radio link recovery. 0101 is included in the range between 0100 and 1111, and, as indicated in [0178], IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF and thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 (here below “BH RLF indication”) to its child IAB-nodes. Additionally, as indicated in the cited [0210], the example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB. Consequently, 0101 in the field 602 indicates the IAB node 402 detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB and a parent node, as well as a radio link failure (RLF) recovery being successful, as required by the claim.
Therefore, Lagrange teaches this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10-12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Lagrange, et al (US PG Publication 2024/0056940), hereafter Lagrange.
Regarding claim 1, Lagrange teaches
an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) communication method, comprising:
detecting, by an IAB node, that on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, a radio link failure (RLF) occurs or a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful, or a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is failure
([0149] Note that for BH RLC channels in downstream direction (parent to child direction, e.g. IAB-node 402 towards IAB-node 403 in FIG. 4), in upstream direction (child to parent direction, e.g. IAB-node 402 towards IAB-node 401)
[0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF
(As explained in [0149], in the downlink direction, the parent node is IAB-node 401, and subsequently the IAB-node 403 becomes the child node of IAB-node 402. Therefore, the IAB-node 402 detects RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF)); and
transmitting, by the IAB node, RLF indication information to an IAB child node or a terminal equipment by using a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) control Protocol Data Unit (PDU), the RLF indication information being used for indicating one of three backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) types
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] The corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600
[0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 to its child IAB-nodes 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600
(BAP control PDU message 600 is sent from IAB-node 402 to child IAB-node 403 and includes the RLF indication that indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF));
wherein the BAP control PDU is constructed to transmit the RLF indication information, wherein a field indicates a type of control information included in the BAP control PDU
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] It is made of a one-byte header 60 comprising fields 601 to 605. Field 601, indicating whether the corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600);
wherein a plurality of bits in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates one of the three backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) types
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] It is made of a one-byte header 60 comprising fields 601 to 605. Field 601, indicating whether the corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600
[0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
(The message 600 includes one-byte (1 byte = 8 bits) header in the fields, is a BAP control PDU and indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF));
wherein 0100 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates BH RLF detection indication, the BH RLF detection indication denotes the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB and a parent node
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 (here below “BH RLF indication”) to its child IAB-nodes. Child IAB-node 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600 infers IAB-node 402 is no longer reliable and then establishes another connection to a different parent IAB-node (not shown)
[0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). A value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
[0210] The example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB
(IAB-node 402 sends Control PDU to indicate the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401 using Control PDU 600 that includes field 602 for BH RLF Indication, the BH RLF indication including a value taken from the reserved values 0100-1111 used to signal a radio link recovery, meaning the field may include the value 0100, which is included within the reserved values 0100-1111, indicates the RLF failure was detected between IAB-node 402 and the parent IAB-node 401))), and
0101 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates BH RLF recovery indication, the BH RLF recovery indication denotes the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, and a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 (here below “BH RLF indication”) to its child IAB-nodes. Child IAB-node 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600 infers IAB-node 402 is no longer reliable and then establishes another connection to a different parent IAB-node (not shown)
[0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). A value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
[0210] The example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB
(IAB-node 402 sends Control PDU to indicate the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401 using Control PDU 600 that includes field 602 for BH RLF Indication, the BH RLF indication including a value taken from the reserved values 0100-1111 used to signal a radio link recovery, meaning the field may include the value 0101, which is included within the reserved values 0100-1111, indicates the RLF failure was detected between IAB-node 402 and the parent IAB-node 401, along with a RLF recovery)).
Regarding claim 2, Lagrange teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the three backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) type comprises:
a first type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) denoting the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401
(Indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401));
a second type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) denoting the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, and a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful
([0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link recovery); or
a third type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) denoting the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, and a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is failure
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF
(Indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF)).
Regarding claim 10, Lagrange teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein 0011 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates a third type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF)
([0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 is set to “0011”. Field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). Value “0011” may be kept to signal a radio link deficiency),
0100 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates a first type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF)
([0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). A value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
[0210] The example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB
(BH RLF Indication 600a with field 602 is used to distinctly signal the BH RLF indication that includes a value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111), the BH RLF indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB, meaning the value taken from the reserved value in 0100-1111, which includes 0100, is used by the BH RLF indication to indicate a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB. The field 0100 then can be used to indicate the BH RLF is detected)),
0101 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates a second type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF)
([0209] while a new value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
(0101 is located within the reserved values 0100-1111)).
Regarding claim 11, Lagrange teaches
an apparatus, applicable to an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) communication device, the apparatus comprising
(Fig. 4 IAB-node 402
[0023] A detecting IAB-node having Backhaul, BH, radio links established with other IAB-node
[0393] FIG. 11 shows a schematic representation a communication device, in accordance with one or more example embodiments of the present disclosure
[0394] The communication device 1100 comprises a communication bus 1113 to which there are preferably connected: [0395] a central processing unit 1111, such as a microprocessor, denoted CPU);
processor circuitry configured to detect that on a backhaul link between a IAB node and a parent node, a radio link failure (RLF) occurs or a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful, or a radio link recovery (RLF) recovery is failure
([0149] Note that for BH RLC channels in downstream direction (parent to child direction, e.g. IAB-node 402 towards IAB-node 403 in FIG. 4), in upstream direction (child to parent direction, e.g. IAB-node 402 towards IAB-node 401)
[0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF
(As explained in [0149], in the downlink direction, the parent node is IAB-node 401, and subsequently the IAB-node 403 becomes the child node of IAB-node 402. Therefore, the IAB-node 402 detects RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF)), and
a transmitter configured to transmit RLF indication information to an IAB child node or a terminal equipment by using a BAP control PDU; the RLF indication information being used for indicating one of three backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) type
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] The corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600
[0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 to its child IAB-nodes 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600
(BAP control PDU message 600 is sent from IAB-node 402 to child IAB-node 403 and includes the RLF indication that indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF));
wherein the BAP control PDU is constructed to transmit the RLF indication information, wherein a field indicates a type of control information included in the BAP control PDU
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] It is made of a one-byte header 60 comprising fields 601 to 605. Field 601, indicating whether the corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600);
wherein a plurality of bits in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates one of the three backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) types
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] It is made of a one-byte header 60 comprising fields 601 to 605. Field 601, indicating whether the corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600
[0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
(The message 600 includes one-byte (1 byte = 8 bits) header in the fields, is a BAP control PDU and indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF));
wherein 0100 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates BH RLF detection indication, the BH RLF detection indication denotes the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB and a parent node
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 (here below “BH RLF indication”) to its child IAB-nodes. Child IAB-node 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600 infers IAB-node 402 is no longer reliable and then establishes another connection to a different parent IAB-node (not shown)
[0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). A value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
[0210] The example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB
(IAB-node 402 sends Control PDU to indicate the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401 using Control PDU 600 that includes field 602 for BH RLF Indication, the BH RLF indication including a value taken from the reserved values 0100-1111 used to signal a radio link recovery, meaning the field may include the value 0100, which is included within the reserved values 0100-1111, indicates the RLF failure was detected between IAB-node 402 and the parent IAB-node 401)), and
0101 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates BH RLF recovery indication, the BH RLF recovery indication denotes the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, and a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 (here below “BH RLF indication”) to its child IAB-nodes. Child IAB-node 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600 infers IAB-node 402 is no longer reliable and then establishes another connection to a different parent IAB-node (not shown)
[0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). A value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
[0210] The example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB
(IAB-node 402 sends Control PDU to indicate the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401 using Control PDU 600 that includes field 602 for BH RLF Indication, the BH RLF indication including a value taken from the reserved values 0100-1111 used to signal a radio link recovery, meaning the field may include the value 0101, which is included within the reserved values 0100-1111, indicates the RLF failure was detected between IAB-node 402 and the parent IAB-node 401, along with a RLF recovery)).
Regarding claim 12, Lagrange teaches the apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein the three backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) type comprises:
a first type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) denoting the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401
(Indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401));
a second type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) denoting the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, and a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful
([0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link recovery); or
a third type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) denoting the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, and a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is failure
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF
(Indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF)).
Regarding claim 18, Lagrange teaches the apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein 0011 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates a third type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF)
([0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 is set to “0011”. Field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). Value “0011” may be kept to signal a radio link deficiency),
0100 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates a first type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF)
([0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). A value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
[0210] The example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB
(BH RLF Indication 600a with field 602 is used to distinctly signal the BH RLF indication that includes a value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111), the BH RLF indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB, meaning the value taken from the reserved value in 0100-1111, which includes 0100, is used by the BH RLF indication to indicate a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB. The field 0100 then can be used to indicate the BH RLF is detected)),
0101 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates a second type of backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF)
([0209] while a new value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
(0101 is located within the reserved values 0100-1111)).
Regarding claim 19, Lagrange teaches
a communication system, comprising:
an IAB node configured to
(Fig. 4 IAB-node 402
[0023] A detecting IAB-node having Backhaul, BH, radio links established with other IAB-node:
detect that on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, a radio link failure (RLF) occurs or a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful, or a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is failure
([0149] Note that for BH RLC channels in downstream direction (parent to child direction, e.g. IAB-node 402 towards IAB-node 403 in FIG. 4), in upstream direction (child to parent direction, e.g. IAB-node 402 towards IAB-node 401)
[0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF
(As explained in [0149], in the downlink direction, the parent node is IAB-node 401, and subsequently the IAB-node 403 becomes the child node of IAB-node 402. Therefore, the IAB-node 402 detects RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF)), and
transmit RLF indication information to an IAB child node or a terminal equipment by using a BAP control PDU
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] The corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600
[0178] IAB-node 402 sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 to its child IAB-nodes 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600
(BAP control PDU message 600 is sent from IAB-node 402 to child IAB-node 403 and includes the RLF indication));
the RLF indication information being used for indicating one of three backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) type
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 to its child IAB-nodes 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600
(The BAP control PDU message 600 sent from IAB-node 402 to child IAB-node 403 that includes the RLF indication indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF));
wherein the BAP control PDU is constructed to transmit the RLF indication information, wherein a field indicates a type of control information included in the BAP control PDU
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] It is made of a one-byte header 60 comprising fields 601 to 605. Field 601, indicating whether the corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600);
wherein a plurality of bits in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates one of the three backhaul radio link failure (BH RLF) types
([0173] FIG. 6 illustrates the format of a BH RLF indication. It is a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
[0174] It is made of a one-byte header 60 comprising fields 601 to 605. Field 601, indicating whether the corresponding BAP packet is a BAP Control packet. This bit is set to ‘0’ for BH RLF indication Control PDU 600
[0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600
(The message 600 includes one-byte (1 byte = 8 bits) header in the fields, is a BAP control PDU and indicates the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401, along with that it fails to recover from RLF));
wherein 0100 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates BH RLF detection indication, the BH RLF detection indication denotes the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB and a parent node
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 (here below “BH RLF indication”) to its child IAB-nodes. Child IAB-node 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600 infers IAB-node 402 is no longer reliable and then establishes another connection to a different parent IAB-node (not shown)
[0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). A value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
[0210] The example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB
(IAB-node 402 sends Control PDU to indicate the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401 using Control PDU 600 that includes field 602 for BH RLF Indication, the BH RLF indication including a value taken from the reserved values 0100-1111 used to signal a radio link recovery, meaning the field may include the value 0100, which is included within the reserved values 0100-1111, indicates the RLF failure was detected between IAB-node 402 and the parent IAB-node 401))), and
0101 in the field of the BAP control PDU indicates BH RLF recovery indication, the BH RLF recovery indication denotes the IAB node detected that a radio link failure (RLF) occurs on a backhaul link between the IAB node and a parent node, and a radio link failure (RLF) recovery is successful
([0178] IAB-node 402 detects a radio link failure for link 410 with IAB-node 401 and fails to recover it from RLF. It thus sends a Control PDU for BH RLF indication 600 (here below “BH RLF indication”) to its child IAB-nodes. Child IAB-node 403 receiving the BH RLF indication 600 infers IAB-node 402 is no longer reliable and then establishes another connection to a different parent IAB-node (not shown)
[0209] In these various embodiments of Control PDU for BH RLF Indication 600a, field 602 may be used to distinctly signal whether the BH RLF Indication 600a signals a radio link deficiency (including failure). A value (taken from the reserved values 0100-1111) may be used to signal a radio link recovery
[0210] The example of FIG. 6a thus discloses a Control protocol data unit, PDU, for backhaul, BH, radio link failure, RLF, indication including a field of which taking a value indicating a detected link condition change in an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB
(IAB-node 402 sends Control PDU to indicate the RLF failure between IAB-node 402 and parent IAB-node 401 using Control PDU 600 that includes field 602 for BH RLF Indication, the BH RLF indication including a value taken from the reserved values 0100-1111 used to signal a radio link recovery, meaning the field may include the value 0101, which is included within the reserved values 0100-1111, indicates the RLF failure was detected between IAB-node 402 and the parent IAB-node 401, along with a RLF recovery)).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhuo, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0044810), hereafter Zhuo, teaches receiving, by a first IAB node, a RLF notification from a second IAB node, where the first IAB node is a child node of the second IAB node and the second IAB node is a parent node of the first IAB node, and rerouting, by the first IAB node, based on the RLF notification, uplink data that corresponds to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641