DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Claims 1-9, 11-17, and 19-24 are pending in this application and examined herein.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments dated 12/26/25 are persuasive in view of the amended claim language.
3. However, the amendments have introduced new issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Further, a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made for claim 23 as amended and new claim 24.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the amendments fails to adhere to the grammatical structure set forth in the claim, includes extraneous and redundant phrases (“the plant further comprising”) and the claim is missing words such as wherein in multiple places.
5. Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble introduces a single fuel assembly and the claim refers to multiple fuel assemblies.
6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
13. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “station configured for…” and “area configured for…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
17. Claims 1-9, 11-17, and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
18. Regarding claim 1 and 23, there is no antecedent basis for the recitation “the a least one fuel rod inspection station(s).” Further there is no antecedent basis for the recitation “the last inspection station.”
19. Regarding claim 7, the recitation “at least one fuel rod inspection station configured for inspection of the fuel rod” is unclear. Is this the same “the at least one fuel rod inspection station(s) not properly introduced in claim 1?
20. Claims 2-6, 8-9, 11-17, and 19-22 are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
21. Regarding claim 23, there is no antecedent basis for the recitation “the nuclear fuel assembly manufacturing plant” and it is unclear whether the subsequently recited “fuel assembly manufacturing unit” is referring to the same element.
22. Regarding claim 24, the phrase “said further fuel rods being inserted with the fuel rods into the skeleton” does not clearly indicate what structure is required of the claimed plant. This phrase merely recites an intended use of the further fuel rods r a step of operating the claimed plant. There is inadequate delineation of structure of any of the plant’s components associated with this phrase. Moreover, it is unclear what effect the phrase “received from the separated nuclear fuel assembly manufacturing plant being used during the insertion step together with the fuel rods manufactured in the fuel rod manufacturing unit,” which appears after a first period in the claim. This phrase is not clearly linked to any structure previously recited, seems redundant, and again is directed to a step of operating the plant rather than structure of the plant itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
24. For applicant's benefit, the portions of the reference(s) relied upon in the below rejections have been cited to aid in the review of the rejections. While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
26. Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USNRC “Fuel Fabrication” (A18 cited on IDS dated 07/19/23) in view of Kushner “Nuclear fuel fabrication for commercial electric power generation” (A21 cited on IDS dated 07/19/23), in further view of DE-19960080-A1, referred to here as “Siemens.”
27. Regarding claim 23, USNRC discloses a plant configured for manufacturing a nuclear fuel assembly comprising nuclear fuel rods arranged in a bundle and a skeleton supporting the fuel rods, the plant comprising: a logistic area configured for shipping the fuel assemblies manufactured in the plant and for receiving fuel rods; a fuel rod manufacturing unit configured for manufacturing fuel rods using pellets (building unit labeled “Fuel Rod/Bundle Assembly/Quality Check).
USNRC is silent as to the structure within the Fuel Rod/Bundle Assembly/Quality check building unit. Kushner teaches that such a facility comprises a pellet receiving area configured for receiving nuclear fuel pellets (“Pellet Machining”); a fuel assembly manufacturing unit comprising an inserting station configured for insertion of the fuel rods into a skeleton to obtain the fuel assembly (“Final Assembly”); and a packaging station configured for packaging the fuel assembly into a fuel assembly container in view of transportation (“Package and Ship”).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing would have recognized that Kushner illustrates the internal structure of USNRC’s Fuel Rod/Bundle Assembly/Quality check building unit because Kushner states that it is “a walking tour through a typical nuclear fuel fabrication plant” (Abstract) and describes a “sound, integrated manufacturing process” (Conclusion). That is, a skilled artisan would understand that Kushner and USNRC are describing the same facility, with USNRC depicting a higher-level overview of such a facility and Kushner detailing the facility’s internal structure.
Kushner does not explicitly disclose that its pellet receiving area is “configured for receiving nuclear fuel pellets from a nuclear pellet manufacturing plant separated by a non-confined area from the nuclear fuel assembly manufacturing plant. The examiner believes that any “pellet receiving area” would be configured to receive nuclear fuel pellets from any source because there is no special structure required to achieve such a limitation. Nonetheless, Siemens (Fig. 1 and 2) teaches a fuel rod manufacturing unit comprising a pellet receiving area configured for receiving nuclear fuel pellets from a nuclear fuel manufacturing plant separated by a non-confined area from the nuclear fuel assembly manufacturing plant (Figs. 1 and 2) shows separate building for fuel pellet production, fuel rod fabrication, and fuel assembly manufacture. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing would have found it obvious to apply such an arrangement to achieve “flexible design of fuel assemblies” (see EPO translation at line 282), by using different types of fuel pellets produced by different facilities in a single fuel rod. Additionally, such an arrangement would predictably reduce the inventory of fuel pellets stored at the fuel rod fabrication unit.
Please also refer to Bailey cited on the attached PTO-892 at [0003-0007], indicating that pellet shipping from a pellet manufacturing facility to a fuel rod manufacturing facility is standard in the art.
28. Regarding claim 24, as best understood, Siemens teaches a fuel assembly manufacturing facility comprising a logistic area configured for receiving fuel rods from a variety of fuel rod manufacturing plants separated from the fuel assembly manufacturing unit by a non-confined area, all of the fuel rods from the various sources being inserted into the fuel assembly (see Figs. 1 and 2). Again, such a modification of Kushner would predictably result in “flexible design of fuel assemblies” as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARON M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646