CTNF 18/220,378 CTNF 101759 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I , claims 1-6 , drawn to a composite particle, a positive electrode, and an all-solid-state battery , in the reply filed on 04/21/2026 is acknowledged. 08-06 AIA Claim s 7-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/21/2026 . Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/11/2023 and 08/20/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LV et al. (US 20220336796 A1) . Regarding claim 1, LV teaches a composite particle comprising ([0006], composite cathode active material): a positive electrode active material particle ([0006]: cathode active material); and a coating film ([0006], a hydrogen fluoride barrier layer coating the core layer), wherein the coating film covers at least part of a surface of the positive electrode active material particle ([0006]: a core layer comprising a cathode active material; and a hydrogen fluoride barrier layer coating the core layer), and the coating film includes fluorine ([0006]: the hydrogen fluoride barrier layer comprises any one of O, F, B and P or any combination thereof) and at least one selected from the group consisting of phosphorus and a glass network forming element ([0006]: the hydrogen fluoride barrier layer comprises any one of O, F, B and P or any combination thereof, wherein boron (B) corresponds to the claimed glass network-forming element and phosphorus (P) corresponds to the claimed phosphorus.) In light of the specification, a “glass network-forming element” refers to an element capable of forming glass. The specification further explains that capable of forming glass means that the element is capable of binding with oxygen (O) to form an oxide glass having a network structure (see instant specification, page 5, lines 19-21). Therefore, boron (B) disclosed by LV is reasonably considered a glass network-forming element because boron is capable of forming an oxide glass network structure through bonding with oxygen, as evidenced by the borate compound Zr(BO 3 ) 4 disclosed in LV ([0031]). Regarding claim 2, LV teaches all limitations of claim 1, as stated above. LV further teaches a limitation wherein the glass network forming element is at least one selected from the group consisting of boron, silicon, nitrogen, sulfur, germanium, and hydrogen ([0006, 0031]). Specifically, LV teaches boron-containing coating compositions through disclosure of B in the hydrogen fluoride barrier layer composition ([0006, 0031]). Regarding claim 4, LV teaches all limitations of claim 1, as stated above. LV further teaches a limitation wherein the coating film further includes a metallic element, and the metallic element is at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum, titanium, and zirconium ([0006]). Specifically, LV teaches Al and Zr as components of the hydrogen fluoride barrier layer composition ([0006]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised solid of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV et al. (US 20220336796 A1) . Regarding claim 3 , LV teaches all limitations of claim 1, as stated above. LV does not explicitly teaches a limitation wherein a relationship of the following expression (1) is satisfied: C F /(C P +C Z )≤ 0.2 (1) where each of C F , C P , and C z represents an element concentration measured by X-ray photoelectron spectrometry, C F represents an element concentration of fluorine, C p represents an element concentration of phosphorus, and C z represents an element concentration of the glass network forming element. However, LV implicitly teaches this limitation. Specifically, LV teaches coating layer compositions containing fluorine (F), phosphorus (P), and glass network-forming element boron (B) within the same coating composition ([0006, 0031]). Specifically, LV teaches compositions including Mn 2 PO 4 F and Zr(BO 3 ) 4 ([0031]), thereby teaching the claimed elemental constituents F, P, and B. The disclosed compositions indicate that the amount of fluorine relative to the combined amount of phosphorus and boron is comparatively low. Although LV does not expressly disclose the claimed concentration ratio using XPS, because the coating layer of LV contains the same elemental constituents recited in the claimed relationship, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the elemental concentrations C F , C P , and Cz to inherently satisfy the claimed relationship, particularly where the claimed invention and the reference disclose substantially similar coating layer compositions and structures. See MPEP 2112(V); MPEP 2112.01(I) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yui et al.(US 20190181432 A1) . Regarding claim 5, LV teaches all limitations of claim 1, as stated above. LV further teaches a positive electrode comprising: the composite particle according to claim 1 ([0086]); and an electrolyte ([0085, 0086]). Specifically, LV teaches a positive electrode including coated positive electrode active material particles and an electrolyte ([0085, 0086]). LV does not disclose that the electrolyte is a sulfide-based solid electrolyte. However, Yui teaches this limitation. Specifically, Yui teaches an all solid state battery including a sulfide solid electrolyte ([0034]). Yui further teaches that the sulfide solid electrolyte is used in a cathode mixture and contacts cathode active materials to provide lithium-ion conduction paths in the battery ([0037]). Further, LV, and Yui are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of active material composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the known sulfide solid electrolyte taught by Yui for the electrolyte taught by LV because both references are directed to positive electrode compositions employing an electrolytes for ion conduction. The substituted component (the sulfide solid electrolyte) and its function were known in the art, and the substitution would have yielded predictable results, namely providing ionic conduction within the positive electrode of an all-solid-state battery. Therefore, claim 5 is unpatentable over LV in view of Yui as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP §2143 (B). Regarding claim 6, LV, as modified by Yui teaches all limitations of claim 5, as stated above. Modified LV further teaches an all-solid-state battery comprising the positive electrode according to claim 5. Specifically, LV teaches a lithium-ion battery including a positive electrode having coated positive electrode active material particles and an electrolyte ([0001, 0085, 0086]). However, LV does not disclose that the lithium-ion battery is an all-solid-state battery. However, Yui teaches this limitation. Specifically, Yui teaches an all-solid-state battery including a cathode mixture and a battery structure for use in an all-solid-state battery ( [0028]-[0034]; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the lithium-ion battery of LV to employ the all-solid-state battery configuration taught by Yui because both references are directed to lithium-ion battery technology and positive electrode active material compositions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known all-solid-state battery configuration of Yui to the lithium-ion battery system of LV would have yielded predictable results. See MPEP §2143 (B). Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Isomura et al. (US 20230033163 A1): Isomura discloses coated positive electrode active material particles 10 including positive electrode active material particles 11 and coating layer 12, where the coating layer partially covers the surface of the particles and provides a list of materials for the coating. Isomura discloses that the coating layer contains a polymer compound and expressly identifies a fluor resin as an example of the polymer compound. A fluor resin is a fluoropolymer resin that contains fluorine atoms in its molecular structure. Isomura further teaches a phosphate compound containing P and optional fluorine substitution in the coating. Further, Isomura discloses lithium-containing phosphate glass ceramic particles having a composition represented by LixM''₂P₃O₁₂ , as a phosphorus-containing material, wherein M'' may include Ge (germanium). Germanium is also a recognized glass network forming element. Additionally, Isomura expressly teaches that some phosphorus (P) in the glass ceramic composition may be replaced by silicon (Si) or boron (B), thereby directly teaching silicon and boron within the disclosed glass ceramic structure. Isomura also discloses M'' could be one or more elements selected from the group consisting of Al, Ti, and Zr. Accordingly, Isomura teaches coating film compositions including metallic elements selected from aluminum, titanium, and zirconium. Further, Isomura expressly discloses metal oxide particles including aluminum oxide (Al₂O₃), titania (TiO₂), and zirconia (ZrO₂), thereby teaching aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), and zirconium (Zr) metallic elements in the coating layer. Further, Isomura expressly teaches measuring coating characteristics using X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Lili Rassouli whose telephone number is (571)272-9760. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8:00 AM-4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew T Martin can be reached at (571) 270-7871. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LILI RASSOULI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/220,378 Page 2 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/220,378 Page 3 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/220,378 Page 4 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/220,378 Page 5 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/220,378 Page 6 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/220,378 Page 7 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/220,378 Page 8 Art Unit: 1728