DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 5, 10 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 6, 9, 11-13 are amended.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application filed in EP 22184206.5 on 07/11/2022 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 1, 9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite determining “state information based on GNSS measurements”.
The limitations of “calculating state information based on those GNSS measurements that it was determined should be included” and “estimating the one or more residual error models based on the first samples (samples of a plurality of GNSS measurements)” as drafted, is an abstract idea grouping that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is a mathematical concept defined by mathematical equations. That is, a claim that recites a mathematical calculation, when the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, will be considered as falling within the “mathematical concepts” grouping. A mathematical calculation is a mathematical operation (such as multiplication) or an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable or number, e.g., performing an arithmetic operation such as exponentiation. There is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation. That is, a claim does not have to recite the word "calculating" in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of "determining" a variable or number using mathematical methods or "performing" a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite calculations and variables to arrive at a mathematical concept – using GNSS measurements. The use of GNSS measurements is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic apparatus for performing the calculations) such that it amounts no more than mere calculations to apply the exception using a GNSS processor. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using GNSS measurements to perform the mathematical calculations amounts to no more than mere equations without direct application to apply the exception using a processor. Mere equations without direct application to apply an exception using a generic processor cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2-4, 6-8 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not remedy the deficiencies noted in claims 1, 9, 11-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Turunen (US 20190339396).
Regarding Claim 1, 12-13, Turunen discloses the following limitations:
(Claim 1) A method of processing a plurality of GNSS measurements to infer state information, the method comprising: (Turunen - [0018] According to a first aspect of the present invention there is provided a method of determining a posterior error probability distribution for a parameter measured by a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver.)
(Claim 12) One or more tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: (Turunen - [Claim 41] A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors of an apparatus to perform a method of obtaining a multivariate probability distribution model,)
(Claim 13) A GNSS receiver comprising: a signal processing unit, configured to produce a plurality of GNSS measurements; and at least one processor, configured to: (Turunen - [0001] The present invention relates to a method for obtaining the posterior error probability distribution for a measurement made by a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver and a method for obtaining a multivariate probability distribution model mapping measurement error of a GNSS receiver to one or more indicators of GNSS measurement quality.)
obtaining the plurality of GNSS measurements, for each GNSS measurement: obtaining a plurality of quality indicators associated with that GNSS measurement; (Turunen - [0032] a module for a navigation system comprising an interface sub-module for receiving a value for each of one or more measurement quality indicators associated with a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurement of a parameter)
dividing a space of joint values of the plurality of quality indicators into at least a first region and a second region, (Turunen - [0016] modelling the error distribution for position measurements using a stationary Gaussian distribution, or the types of processes discussed above. However, as these approaches are typically concerned with addressing errors associated with the GNSS satellites, they may fail to adequately account for the effects of signal distortion or errors associated with the GNSS receiver. In particular, by assuming that only a single satellite is producing an erroneous measurement at a given time, many known approaches are ill-suited to situations in which signal distortion causes errors in multiple satellite signals simultaneously. As a consequence of these kinds of problems, the known approaches for calculating integrity risk may be less reliable when used for road vehicles. One approach for calculating integrity risk, which has been proposed for use with road vehicles, uses a Least Squares (LS) algorithm to estimate a position based on several position measurements and calculates a protection level using the LS residuals.)
wherein neither the first region nor the second region is box-shaped; (Turunen - [0016])
wherein the first region is a portion of the space of joint values where a probability density function exceeds a predefined threshold and the second region is a remainder of the space of joint values; (Turunen - [0016])
determining whether the plurality of quality indicators fall within the first region or the second region; and (Turunen – [0016], [0032])
responsive to the plurality of quality indicators falling within the first region, determining that the GNSS measurement should be included in the processing to infer the state information, and (Turunen – [0016], [0032])
calculating the state information based on those GNSS measurements that it was determined should be included. (Turunen - [0016])
In the alternative, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from Turunen that a first and second region can be achieved by a “Least Squares (LS) algorithm to estimate a position based on several position measurements and calculates a protection level using the LS residuals” and it would be obvious to show the data displayed in a manner that shows a distinction between data in and outside of residuals.
Regarding Claim 2, Turunen further discloses:
wherein, for at least one of the GNSS measurements, the space consists of the first region and the second region. (Turunen - [0016])
Regarding Claim 3, Turunen further discloses:
wherein, for at least one of the GNSS measurements, the first region comprises a central region of the space of joint values, and/or the second region comprises a peripheral region of the space. (Turunen - [0016])
Regarding Claim 4, Turunen further discloses:
wherein, for at least one of the GNSS measurements, the second region surrounds the first region in the space of joint values. (Turunen - [0016])
Regarding Claim 6, Turunen further discloses:
wherein the probability density function is represented by one of: (Turunen - [0016])
a non-parametric function; or (Turunen - [0016])
a parametric function, the parametric function optionally comprising at least one of: (Turunen - [0050] Estimation of the distribution may be done parametrically, by fitting a standard distribution to the measured data)
a Gaussian function; or a sum of Gaussian functions. (Turunen - [0016])
Regarding Claim 7, Turunen further discloses:
further comprising obtaining, for the plurality of GNSS measurements, one or more residual error models, describing a probability distribution of errors in the GNSS measurements, (Turunen - [0016])
wherein the probability distribution depends on the plurality of quality indicators, and (Turunen - [0016])
wherein the calculation of the state information is based on the one or more residual error models. (Turunen - [0016])
Regarding Claim 8, Turunen further discloses:
wherein the plurality of quality indicators comprises one or both of: (Turunen - [0032])
a carrier-to-noise density ratio of a GNSS signal on which the respective GNSS measurement was made; and (Turunen - [0020] the GNSS measurement quality indicator(s) may comprise one or more of: carrier-to-noise density, carrier-to-noise density variability, carrier phase variance, multipath deviation, loss-of-lock detection, code lock time and phase lock time, satellite elevation, and satellite azimuth. One or more of the measurement quality indicator(s) are determined from measurements made by one or more sensors.)
a window-based quality indicator, based on gathering similar GNSS measurements in a time window containing or near to an epoch of interest. (Turunen - [0020])
Regarding Claim 9, Turunen discloses the following limitations:
A method of estimating one or more residual error models describing a probability distribution of errors in a plurality of GNSS measurements, (Turunen - [0016], [0018])
wherein the probability distribution depends on a plurality of quality indicators, and (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
wherein the one or more residual error models are to be used for inferring state information based on GNSS measurements, the method comprising: (Turunen - [0016])
obtaining training data comprising a plurality of samples of the plurality of GNSS measurements, quality indicators associated with the samples, and residual errors associated with the plurality of samples; (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
estimating a local density of the training data over a space of joint values of the plurality of quality indicators, to produce a probability density function; (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
dividing the space of joint values of the plurality of quality indicators into at least a first region and a second region, wherein the first region is a region where the training data is relatively dense and the second region is a region where the training data is relatively sparse; identifying first samples that fall within the first region; identifying second samples that fall within the second region; (Turunen - [0016])
estimating the one or more residual error models based on the first samples. (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
In the alternative, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from Turunen that a first and second region can be achieved by a “Least Squares (LS) algorithm to estimate a position based on several position measurements and calculates a protection level using the LS residuals” and it would be obvious to show the data displayed in a manner that shows a distinction between data in and outside of residuals.
16])
Regarding Claim 11, Turunen discloses the following limitations:
A method comprising: estimating a residual error model; and subsequently processing a plurality of GNSS measurements, (Turunen - [0016], [0018])
wherein estimating the residual error model includes: obtaining training data comprising a plurality of samples of a plurality of GNSS measurements, quality indicators associated with the samples, and residual errors associated with the samples; (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
estimating a local density of the training data over a space of joint values of the quality indicators to produce a probability density function; and (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
estimating one or more residual error models based on the training data, (Turunen - [0016])
wherein processing the plurality of GNSS measurements includes: for each GNSS measurement: dividing a space of joint values of the quality indicators into at least a first region and a second region, (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
wherein neither the first region nor the second region is box- shaped; (Turunen - [0016])
wherein the first region is a portion of the space of joint values where a probability density function exceeds a predefined threshold and the second region is a remainder of the space of joint values; (Turunen - [0016])
determining whether the quality indicators fall within the first region or the second region; and (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
responsive to the quality indicators falling within the first region, determining that the GNSS measurement should be included in the processing to infer the state information, and (Turunen - [0016], [0032])
calculating state information based on those GNSS measurements that it was determined should be included. (Turunen - [0016])
In the alternative, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from Turunen that a first and second region can be achieved by a “Least Squares (LS) algorithm to estimate a position based on several position measurements and calculates a protection level using the LS residuals” and it would be obvious to show the data displayed in a manner that shows a distinction between data in and outside of residuals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9, filed 04/23/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claims are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 and 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103. Applicant’s arguments and amendments show that the claims are directed towards a mathematical concept based on a probability density function. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to separate a Gaussian distribution into two regions as explained and cited in the office action. Applicant argues that “Turunen does not disclose or suggest that the Gaussian distribution is used for the probability distribution function, or that any determination is made as to whether quality indicators fall within a first region or second region of such a Gaussian distribution”. The examiner disagrees, a Gaussian distribution is a type of probability distribution function and Turunen uses a least squares algorithm to calculate the distribution. The least squares residuals are a threshold that can be presented as a region within the residuals and a region outside the residuals.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 04/23/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Turunen discloses or teaches the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648