DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 06/13/2025.
Claims 1-6, 9-16 and 19-24 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-12, 14-16 and 19-20 are amended, claims 7-8 and 17-18 are cancelled, and 21-24 are new. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 06/13/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection has been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (“Lim”, US 2022/0075506) in view of Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2014/0096083) in view of Shuttleworth et al. (“Shuttleworth”, US 2014/0189608) and further in view of Razallian et al. (“Razallian”, US 2019/0317941).
As per claim 1, Lim teaches an application management method, comprising:
acquiring a folder comprising a plurality of applications (Lim, para.23, 25, 36, 58, 68, 79, plurality of apps displayed in a folder);
in response to determining that the plurality of applications in the folder are of a same type, aggregating the plurality of applications of the same type (Lim, para.25, 36, 42, 51, 66-67, 69, 80, application of icons contained in folder of same category) and converting the folder into an image (Lim, para.24, 26, 37, 52, 67, 71, 81, image of folder for each category displayed); and
presenting the image (Lim, para.24, 26, 37, 52, 67, 71, 81, image of folder for each category displayed).
However, Lim does not explicitly teach converting the folder into an aggregation icon and presenting the aggregation icon. Kim teaches a method of displaying a plurality of applications in a folder that is converted into an aggregation icon and presented on the display (Kim, para.65, Fig.4, icon 405). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Kim’s teaching with Lim’s method in order to display a representative icon and quickly open apps within a folder.
Furthermore, the method of Lim and Kim teaches wherein the plurality of applications include a current application that is running (Kim, para.67-68, Fig.5, running app 505; Fig.6, running app 603). However, the method of Lim and Kim does not teach a display interface of the current application is configured to display an application bar comprising a handle, the application management method further comprises: in response to the handle being dragged in a first direction, generating a first operation signal; in response to receiving the first operation signal, displaying a search interface, wherein the search interface is configured to search each of the plurality of applications of the same type and icons of the plurality of applications of the same type are displayed in the search interface. Shuttleworth teaches a method of displaying an application stack comprising a handle, the application management method further comprises: in response to the handle being dragged in a first direction (Shuttleworth, para.119, 309, 315, 454-457, swipe from bottom edge reveals HUD interface to search the app stack), generating a first operation signal; in response to receiving the first operation signal, displaying a search interface, wherein the search interface is configured to search each of the plurality of applications of the same type (Shuttleworth, Fig.8, para.119, 309, 315, 454-457, swipe signal displays search interface with app bar to search applications) and icons of the plurality of applications of the same type are displayed in the search interface (Shuttleworth, Fig.8, app stack). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Shuttleworth’s teaching with the method of Lim and Kim in order to search within related apps.
Additionally, the method of Lim, Kim and Shuttleworth does not teach displaying, in the search interface, a first search result of each of the plurality of applications of the same type; and in response to receiving a trigger signal for the icon of an application of the plurality of applications of the same type in the search interface, opening the application whose icon receives the trigger signal and displaying a second search result of the opened application. Razallian teaches a method of displaying and searching within app icons that includes displaying, in the search interface, a first search result of each of the plurality of applications of the same type (Razallian, Fig.3A-C, para.39-43, searching within apps 302 and displaying results in 3B); and in response to receiving a trigger signal for the icon of an application of the plurality of applications of the same type in the search interface, opening the application whose icon receives the trigger signal and displaying a second search result of the opened application (Razallian, Fig.3C, para.43, Restaurant Review app opened with result). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Razallian’s teaching with the method of Lim, Kim and Shuttleworth in order to select an app from search results.
As per claim 3, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian teaches the application management method according to claim 1, wherein the application management method further comprises: opening one of the applications in response to receiving a first trigger signal of the aggregation icon (Kim, Fig.3, step 305, Fig.6, para.61, 68, double tap gesture on folder icon runs app displayed).
As per claim 4, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian teaches the application management method according to claim 1, wherein the application management method further comprises: displaying the icons of the plurality of applications of the same type in response to receiving a second trigger signal of the aggregation icon (Kim, Fig.3, step 307, Fig.5; para.64-67, tap gesture on folder icon 501 displays app icons in folder).
As per claim 5, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian teaches the application management method according to claim 4, wherein the application management method further comprises: in response to receiving a further trigger signal for the icon of an application of the plurality of applications of the same type, opening the application whose icon receives the further trigger signal (Kim, Fig.3, step 311, Fig.5; para.64-67, touch gesture on folder icon 503 runs app displayed).
Claims 11 and 13-15 are similar in scope to claims 1 and 3-5 respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (“Lim”, US 2022/0075506), Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2014/0096083), Shuttleworth et al. (“Shuttleworth”, US 2014/0189608) and Razallian et al. (“Razallian”, US 2019/0317941) in view of WON et al. (“WON”, US 2014/0181751).
As per claim 2, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian teaches the application management method according to claim 1, wherein aggregating the plurality of applications and converting the folder into an aggregation icon in response to determining that the plurality of applications in the folder are of a same type (Kim, para.65, Fig.4, icon 405), however does not teach displaying an aggregation button in response to determining that the plurality of the applications in the folder are of the same type; and aggregating the plurality of applications and converting the folder into an aggregation icon in response to receiving a further trigger signal of the aggregation button. WON teaches a method of aggregating applications based on category that includes displaying an aggregation button (WON, para.58, Fig.4A, icon 421 aggregates apps) and aggregating the plurality of applications and converting the folder into an aggregation icon in response to receiving a further trigger signal of the aggregation button (WON, para.58, Fig.4A, icon 421 aggregates apps). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include WON’s teaching with the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian in order to manually aggregate applications.
Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (“Lim”, US 2022/0075506), Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2014/0096083), Shuttleworth et al. (“Shuttleworth”, US 2014/0189608) and Razallian et al. (“Razallian”, US 2019/0317941) in view of KIM (“KIM2”, US 2010/0138763).
As per claim 6, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian teaches the application management method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the application management method further comprises: displaying a dissolve button in response to receiving a third trigger signal of the aggregation icon; dissolving the plurality of the applications aggregated and converting the aggregation icon into the folder in response to receiving a further trigger signal of the dissolve button. KIM2 teaches a method of aggregating icons that includes displaying a dissolve button in response to receiving a signal of the aggregation icon (KIM2, Fig.8B, para.175-176, GROUP RELEASE button); dissolving the plurality of the applications aggregated and converting the aggregation icon in response to receiving a further trigger signal of the dissolve button (KIM2, Fig.8C-8D, para.176-178, merged icon M2 is demerged into W1 and W2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include KIM2’s teaching with the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian in order to undo the aggregation.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (“Lim”, US 2022/0075506), Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2014/0096083), Shuttleworth et al. (“Shuttleworth”, US 2014/0189608) and Razallian et al. (“Razallian”, US 2019/0317941) in view of Boule et al. (“Boule”, US 2017/0357433).
As per claim 9, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian teaches the application management method according to claim 1, however does not teach the application management method comprising: displaying the icons of the plurality of applications in the display interface of the current application; and in response to receiving a further trigger signal for the icon of an application of the plurality of applications, switching the application whose icon receives the further trigger signal to being a currently running application. Boule teaches a method of displaying application icons wherein displaying the icons of the applications in the display interface of the current application (Boule, para.203; Fig.6A, app menu 606 includes app 608, 612, 616; Fig.6C-6D, para.207-209); and switching the triggered application to the current application in response to receiving a trigger signal of the icon of the application (Boule, Fig.6C-6D, para.207-209, switch from music to map app). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Boule’s teaching with the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian in order to swiftly display applications.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 9, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (“Lim”, US 2022/0075506), Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2014/0096083), Shuttleworth et al. (“Shuttleworth”, US 2014/0189608), Razallian et al. (“Razallian”, US 2019/0317941) and Boule et al. (“Boule”, US 2017/0357433) in view of Jung et al. (“Jung”, US 2014/0325435).
As per claim 10, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth, Razallian and Boule teaches the application management method according to claim 9, wherein the application bar is configured to display the icons of the plurality of applications (Boule, para.203; Fig.6A, app menu 606 includes app 608, 612, 616; Fig.6C-6D, para.207-209), however does not teach the application management method further comprises: reducing the application bar by a preset multiple in response to receiving a second operation signal on the application bar; and enlarging the application bar to a preset state in response to receiving a third operation signal on the application bar. Jung teaches a method of displaying icons wherein reducing the application bar by a preset multiple in response to receiving an operation signal on the application bar (Jung, Fig.33, para.252, zoom-out operation reduces icons) and enlarging the application bar to a preset state in response to receiving another operation signal on the application bar (Jung, Fig.33, para.252, zoom-in operation enlarges icons). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Jung’s teaching with the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth, Razallian and Boule in order to include many objects within a screen (Jung, para.254).
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (“Lim”, US 2022/0075506), Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2014/0096083), Shuttleworth et al. (“Shuttleworth”, US 2014/0189608) and Razallian et al. (“Razallian”, US 2019/0317941) in view of Hart et al. (“Hart”, US 10,331,311).
As per claim 21, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian teaches the application management method according to claim 4, however does not teach in response to receiving the second trigger signal of the aggregation icon, displaying a detail-button; and in response to the detail-button being triggered, displaying detailed information of the plurality of applications of the same type. Hart teaches a method of displaying applications wherein in response to selection of a detail-button, displaying detailed information of the plurality of applications (Hart, Fig.2, selector 106; col.7, lines 17-32, list view displays detailed info). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Hart’s teaching with the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian in order to display further application information.
Claim 23 is similar in scope to claim 21, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (“Lim”, US 2022/0075506), Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2014/0096083), Shuttleworth et al. (“Shuttleworth”, US 2014/0189608) and Razallian et al. (“Razallian”, US 2019/0317941) in view of Gabbai et al. (“Gabbai”, US 2017/0011136).
As per claim 22, the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian teaches the application management method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the first search result of each of the plurality of applications of the same type comprises a progress of search and evaluation of search results. Gabbai teaches a method of searching wherein a search result comprises a progress of search and evaluation of search results (Gabbai, para.51, Fig.2A, search progress tab 220). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Gabbai’s teaching with the method of Lin, Kim, Shuttleworth and Razallian in order to inform the user of the status of the search.
Claim 24 is similar in scope to claim 22, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shim et al. (US 9,436,753) teaches a method of creating channel categories for grouping applications.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174