DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 18, and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Z.G CN-110783503-A and further in view of K.D. CN-113571848-A.
Regarding claims 1, Z.G teaches:
A battery cover structure, comprising: a first cover (Figure 2, 50), a second cover (61) and a third cover (22)
(The examiner notes that the second cover 61 is a component of the third cover 22; this is consistent with applicant’s instant Fig. 1 depicting second cover 11 as a component of the third cover 12);
wherein the first cover is provided with a first through hole (51+52), the second cover, and the third cover are connected and are arranged in the first through hole, the second cover is configured for being electrically connected to an outside (21), and the third cover is configured for being electrically connected to a first tab (Figure 6, 71; Note Figure 6 includes object 22 of figure 2);
the second cover and the third cover have a height difference in a first direction (Fig. 2), and each of the second cover and the third cover is provided with a welding region (21and (12 (on the second cover)));
and an insulator, provided between the first cover and the second cover (insulator 30) and between the first cover and the third cover (30), so as to insulate and isolate the first cover from the second cover, and insulate and isolate the first cover from the third cover (The examiner considers insulator 30 to act as an insulator between the first cover and both second and third covers, consistent with applicant’s instant Figure 4, depicting first insulator 31 and second insulator 32 as part of an insulating unit 3);
at least a part of the first cover (50) forms an annular shape (52), the annular shape is configured for being electrically connected to the outside (50 shows an annular shape 52 configured for being electrically connected to the outside through 21),
wherein a part of region outside the annular shape in the first cover is configured for being electrically connected to a second tab (71), and a polarity of the second tab is opposite to that of the first tab (71).
This Office notes that Z.G teaches two distinct covers (50) as shown in FIG. 2 and two distinct tabs (71) as shown in FIG. 6. This Office considers the separate distinct tabs to have opposite polarity. This office notes that the two separate upper plastic compartments (40) of GE in FIG. 2 that connect to the first and second tabs (71) are labeled “-“ on the left and “+” on the right for negative and positive polarity, respectively.
FIG. 2 of Z.G.
Z.G. is silent on wherein the battery cover structure has a central position and the annular shape surrounds the second cover and the third cover by taking the central position as the center.
K.D. teaches wherein the battery cover structure has a central position (Fig. 7, 120) and the first cover (110) surrounds the second cover (130) and third cover (120) at the center.
Modification of the disclosure of Z.G. by changing the structure of Z.G. from a rectangular design to a cylindrical design in which the first cover surrounds the second cover 11 and third cover 12 at the center, as shown by K.D., would benefit the disclosure of Z.G. by simplifying the structure, improving space utilization thereby benefiting the over-current, improving the assembly process, and improving charging and discharging rates (see abstract; (0007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the instant disclosure to modify the disclosure of Z.G, while maintaining the annular shape, by changing the structure of Z.G. from a rectangular design to a cylindrical design in which the first cover surrounds the second cover 11 and third cover 12 at the center, as shown by K.D..
Regarding claim 2, the battery cover structure according to claim 1, wherein the first through hole (51+52) comprises a first sub hole (52) and a second sub hole (51) in communication with the first sub hole.
Regarding claim 3, the battery cover structure according to claim 2, wherein the insulator comprises a first insulator (30), the first insulator is mounted in the first through hole (30), a mounting slotted hole (31 and/or 32) corresponding to the first through hole is formed on the first insulator; and the second cover (61) and the third cover (22) are mounted in the mounting slotted hole, the second cover is located in the first sub hole (52), and the third cover is located in the second sub hole (51).
Regarding claim 4, modified Z.G. teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 3, wherein the first sub hole (Z.G. 52) is located at the central position (after modification of the first cover to the center position by K.D. in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, the battery cover structure according to claim 2, wherein the first sub hole is a part of a circular sub hole cut along a chord, and the arc corresponding to the first sub hole is a major arc (52). While the Examiner has rejected claim 5 on the basis of the term “the arc” for indefiniteness, the Examiner has taken the assumption that “the arc” is defined as “a major arc” for the basis of this 102 rejection.
Regarding claim 18, a battery, comprising a housing provided with an opening at one end (20), the battery cover structure according to claim 1 for closing the opening, and a cell (Figure 6, 70) connected to the battery cover structure; wherein a positive tab (71) and a negative tab (71) of the cell are both provided on an end of the cell facing the battery cover structure.
Regarding claim 19, the battery according to claim 18, further comprising an insulation sealing member ([36], "a top 10...sealing the piece of insulation 30") arranged between the battery cover structure and the housing and isolating the housing from the battery cover structure.
Regarding claim 20, an electric device, comprising the battery according to claim 18 ([0035], “the pole post 21 (of the battery) … facilitates connection with external electrical devices)”.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of JUNG WO-2023101107-A1.
Modified GE teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 4, but is silent on wherein a first protrusion is formed on the second cover, and/or a second protrusion is formed on the annular shape of the first cover, the height difference between the first protrusion and the second protrusion is 0.5mm - 5mm.
JUNG teaches wherein a first protrusion is formed on the second cover (130), and/or a second protrusion is formed on the annular shape of the first cover (251), the height difference between the first protrusion and the second protrusion is 0.5mm - 5mm (Figure 6; [89], "In the terminal pillar 252 , the first thickness X, which is the thickness of the region where the cavity 252a is formed ... Here, the first thickness (X) is preferably any one of 0.5mm to 2mm"). The Examiner notes that the first cover 251 is part of an annular structure “a cylindrical secondary battery 200”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified GE by inclusion of a first protrusion is formed on the second cover, and/or a second protrusion is formed on the annular shape of the first cover, the height difference between the first protrusion and the second protrusion is 0.5mm - 5mm, as shown by JUNG. This modification would benefit the system by JUNG [89] "when the first thickness X is thicker than 2 mm, it may not be easy to weld the terminal pillar 252 and the positive current collector plate 130 from the outside of the cylindrical can 110. Also, when the first thickness X is less than 0.5 mm, it may be difficult to maintain the rigidity of the terminal pillar 252".
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 6 above.
With respect to claim(s) 8, GE teaches wherein:
a first weak portion (23) for electrically connecting to the first tab is formed on the third cover (22), a second weak portion (second 23) for electrically connecting to the second tab is formed on the first cover (50), and the polarity of the second tab (71) is opposite to that of the first tab (second 71) the first weak portion and/or the second weak portion are recessed structures (Fig. 2), the first weak portion avoids the first protrusion (surface surrounding Fig. 2), and the second weak portion avoids the second protrusion (Fig. 2).
This office notes that the two separate upper plastic compartments (40) of GE in FIG. 2 that connect to the first and second tabs (71) are labeled “-“ on the left and “+” on the right for negative and positive polarity, respectively.
While this Office has further rejected claim 8 on the basis of the term “the first tab" and "the second tab” for indefiniteness in accordance with 35 U.S. Code § 112(b), this Office has taken the assumption that “the first tab” is defined as “a first tab” and that “the second tab” is defined as “a first tab” for the basis of this 35 U.S. Code § 103 rejection.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of additional aspects of GE.
Modified GE teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 8, GE further teaches wherein a first raised portion (62) and a first recessed portion (61) are respectively formed at the connection position at the first insulator (30) and the first cover (50), and the first insulator is clamped with the first cover by the first raised portion and the first recessed portion as shown in FIG. 2. The Examiner considers the term “clamped” to be defined as “hold (something) tightly against another thing”.
The applicant is advised that this Office has further rejected claim 9 for indefiniteness in accordance with 35 U.S. Code § 112(b).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 10, GE teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 9, wherein the second cover and the third cover are connected to form a cover body, a second raised portion (Fig. 2, 31) and a second recessed portion (32) are respectively formed at the connection position at the cover body and the first insulator, and the first insulator is clamped with the cover body by the second raised portion and the second recessed portion as shown in FIG. 2.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 11, modified GE teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 10, and Ge further teaches wherein the insulator further comprises a second insulator extending along the periphery of the bottom of the first insulator and covering a part of the bottom surface of the first cover ([14], "insulating pad is set between the bottom surface of the top surface and the top of the connecting plate"; Figure 4, 40, 30).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 12, modified GE teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 11, and Ge further teaches wherein the first insulator is provided with a first through port at a position corresponding to the first weak portion, and the second insulator is provided with a second through port at a position corresponding to the second weak portion (Ge, [36], "the top part of the insulating part has a first through hole 21 aligned with the pole part 41… the sealing member 30 are respectively provided with a welding hole aligned with the welding part 12 and the first hole 31"; Fig. 2, see insulator 40)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of KARL US-20230246317-A1.
GE teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 12, but is silent on further comprising a current collector piece; wherein the current collector piece comprises a first current collector portion, an insulation connecting portion and a second current collector portion which are connected in sequence; the first current collector portion is arranged on the first through port and partially connected to the first weak portion, and the second current collector portion is arranged on the second through port and partially connected to the second weak portion.
KARL teaches on further comprising a current collector piece; wherein the current collector piece comprises a first current collector portion, an insulation connecting portion and a second current collector portion which are connected in sequence; the first current collector portion is arranged on the first through port and partially connected to the first weak portion, and the second current collector portion is arranged on the second through port and partially connected to the second weak portion. (KARL, [0075] “The current collector strap 48 may extend through an aperture of the insulator 18 adjacent a guide portion” [0087] "the tab current collectors 23 extends through the insulator 18.", "It is contemplated that any number of tab current collectors may form…extend through the insulator", Fig 14A, 14B.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified GE by adding the “current collector piece” of KARL as claimed (requires sequence of structures), and connections, as suggested by KARL. This modification would benefit the system by KARL, [0002], “ long-term reliability … for the electrochemical cell”.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 13 above.
KARL teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 13, wherein a part of the first current collector portion configured to connect with the third cover is a first raised portion, and a part of the second current collector portion configured to connect with the first cover is a second raised portion. (KARL [0075] "The current collector strap 48…includes the first bend 80 and the second bend 82”; Fig 14a, see current collector tab 23-1 and a second current collector tab (48 connected to 82)).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 13 above.
Modified GE teaches: the battery cover structure according to claim 13, wherein a third through port (GE, 32) is provided on a part of the first insulator (GE, 30) located in the first sub hole (GE, 52) , and the third through port and the insulation connecting portion are respectively provided with connecting structures matching each other.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of KIM US-20230327305-A1.
KIM teaches regarding claim 16, wherein the first cover (146), the second insulator (160), and the insulation connecting portion are correspondingly provided with functional holes, the functional holes are configured for liquid injection or pressure relief ([0040] "The gas discharge hole 146b is configured to discharge internal gas when excessive internal pressure is generated inside the…can"; [0045] "The first hole 160a allows the gas to quickly move upwardly through the center pin 130 when a large amount of gas is generated due to an abnormality in the secondary battery").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified GE by inclusion of an insulation connecting portion are correspondingly provided with functional holes, the functional holes are configured for liquid injection or pressure relief, as shown by KIM. This modification would benefit the system by allowing for pressure relief when excessive internal pressure is generated inside the can.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified GE as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of ZOU CN-114899558-A.
GE teaches the battery cover structure according to claim 11, but is silent on wherein a plurality of nanopores are formed on the first raised portion or the first recessed portion; and/or a plurality of nanopores are formed on the second raised portion or the second recessed portion; and/or a plurality of nanopores are provided at the connection position at the first cover and the second insulator, and at least a part of the second insulator is embedded into the nanopores..
ZOU teaches wherein a plurality of nanopores are formed on the first raised portion or the first recessed portion; and/or a plurality of nanopores are formed on the second raised portion or the second recessed portion; and/or a plurality of nanopores are provided at the connection position at the first cover and the second insulator, and at least a part of the second insulator is embedded into the nanopores ([34], "preferably, the connection part of the first cap and the second insulator is provided with a plurality of nano holes, at least a portion of the second insulator is embedded in the nano hole").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GE by wherein a plurality of nanopores are formed on the first raised portion or the first recessed portion; and/or a plurality of nanopores are formed on the second raised portion or the second recessed portion; and/or a plurality of nanopores are provided at the connection position at the first cover and the second insulator, and at least a part of the second insulator is embedded into the nanopores., as shown by ZOU. This modification would benefit the system by improving sealing strength as cited in ZOU, [99], “Preferably, as shown in FIG. 2, the first convex part or the first concave part is formed with a plurality of nano-holes … , so as to ensure the first insulator 31 respectively with the cover body and the first cap 2 is good in air tightness”.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on June 18, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-20 remain pending in the application. Claim 7 is cancelled in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on March 23, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 1 that the top cover plate 10 of Z.G. is not the same as the first cover of the instant disclosure, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
In the prior rejected of record, the Examiner had referred to the first cover of the present disclosure to the part 50 of Z.G (see claim 1);
The Examiner had not mapped the first cover of the instant disclosure to object 10 of Z.G..
The Examiner notes that FIG. 2 of Z.G. illustrates the second cover 61 and third cover 22, and the corresponding structure formed by the combination of the second and third cover, are insulated from the first cover 50 by an insulating member 30.
Regarding applicant’s arguments of claim 1 that Z.G. does not disclose the same first cover as the instant disclosure, specifically that the first cover is connected to the second tab, the polarity of the second tab is opposite that of the first tab, and the first cover surrounding the second and third cover are at the center, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
In the Examiner’s prior office action on March 23, 2026, the Examiner addressed in claim 7 that in the first cover (Z.G., 50) is configured for being connected to a second tab (71). Specifically, the Examiner notes that FIG. 6 of Z.G. illustrates the second tab connected to the first cover. Further support that the first cover is connected to the second tab may be found in (0036) of Z.G. (“the connecting plate 22 [, which is connected to the first cover 50 (see FIG. 4),] is provided with the welding part of the pole part 21 at a distance, a welding part for connected with the welding of the tab 71 the battery cell 70”)
FIG. 6 of Z.G.
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that Z.G. teaches a polarity of the second tab is opposite to that of the first tab.
Specifically, the Examiner notes that Z.G teaches two distinct covers (50) as shown in FIG. 2 and two distinct tabs (71) as shown in FIG. 6. The Examiner considers the separate distinct tabs to have opposite polarity corresponding to the opposite polarity respective covers of the associated distinct tabs. The Examiner notes that the two separate upper plastic compartments (40) of GE in FIG. 2 that connect to the first and second tabs (71) are labeled “-“ on the left and “+” on the right for negative and positive polarity, respectively.
FIG. 2 of Z.G.
Moreover, as noted in the aforementioned office action mailed on March 23, 2026, the Examiner notes that the rejection of claim 4 discloses that the first cover surrounding the second and third cover are at the center.
Specifically, K.D. teaches the first cover (110) surrounding the second (130) and third cover (120) at the center. Further support may be found in FIG. 5 of K.D..
FIG. 5 of K.D.
Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 1 that the hole 11 of Z.G. is not the same as the first through hole 20 of the instant disclosure, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
The Examiner mapped the first through hole of the instant disclosure to the combination of components (51+52) of Z.G.
The Examiner had not mapped the first through hole of the instant disclosure to hole 11 of Z.G..
Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 1 that the first through hole of Z.G. is not the located in the central region of the first cover, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
It is the Examiner’s position that modification on the first cover of Z.G., comprising the first through hole, by placement in the central position, as previously suggested by K.D., further entails moving the first through hole of Z.G. to the central position since the first through hole is an integral component of the first cover. In other words, if the first cover of Z.G. is modified to the central position, the placement of the first through hole of Z.G. is modified.
Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 1 that the first through hole must accommodate the insulating member, the second cover, and the third cover simultaneously, the Examiner notes that FIG. 2 of Z.G. illustrates that the first through hole (51+52), as mapped in claim 1 of the preceding prior office action, depicts the insulating member 30, second cover 61, and third cover 22 as connected and arranged in the first through hole, as required by the claim limitations of claim 1.
Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 1 that K.D. does not disclose the technical solution of the present application that 'both the second cover 11 and the third cover 12 can be exposed at the first through hole 20”, the applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the Examiner notes that the technical feature of the first through hole was not introduced by DING in the original office action. Rather, the technical feature of the first through hole and corresponding second and third covers was introduced by primary reference Z.G.
Specifically, the Examiner notes that FIG. 2 of Z.G. illustrates that the first through hole (51+52), as mapped in claim 1 of the preceding prior office action, wherein the second cover 61 and third cover 22 as connected and arranged in the first through hole, as required by the claim limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN M ABELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721