Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10 have been examined and claims 11-31 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant is reminded to cancel the nonelected claims 11-31 in the next response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi (U. S. Patent 5,150,062).
As for claim 1, Takeuchi discloses an apparatus (see the capacitance sensing circuit in Fig. 4(a) and 5) for measuring characteristics of a capacitor component (1 and 4), the apparatus comprising:
a measurement terminal (point A, or the terminal connected to capacitors 1 and 4) configured to be connected to a capacitor component (1 and 4);
an inductor (6) connected to the measurement terminal; and
a controller configured to generate characteristic information of the capacitor component (i.e., circuitry for sensing capacitance of capacitors 1 and 4) based on LC resonance of the capacitor component (1 and 4) and the inductor(6),
wherein and the inductor (coil 6 in Fig. 5 is variable) has variable inductance (see col. 5, lines 20-21) varying according to at least one of a change in a resonant frequency (f01) and a change in an amplitude of the LC resonance (see the capacitance sensing circuit described in col. 4, lines 20-48)
the controller is configured to generate capacitance information of the capacitor component (1 and 4) based on the variable inductance (L6) and the resonant frequency (f01 in col. 4, line 40-45) of the LC resonance.
As for claim 2, Takeuchi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a rate of change of the variable inductance (L6) according to a change in the resonant frequency (f01) of the LC resonance varies depending on the resonant frequency (see col. 4, lines 37—48).
As for claim 6, Takeuchi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a DC voltage provider providing a variable DC voltage to the measurement terminal (i.e., DC voltage provider for providing dc voltage of 3.2 V to capacitor 25 and almost zero dc voltage to point A, see col. 4, lines 51-68).
As for claim 7, Takeuchi discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the DC voltage provider includes a capacitor (25) having a capacitance of 0.1 mF or more and connected to the measurement terminal (A).
As for claim 8, Takeuchi discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the DC voltage provider includes: a boost DC-DC converter (14) boosting a voltage supplied from a battery or an external source (Vcc); and a variable resistor (resistors 10, 11, 12, 7, 8) connected to an output terminal of the boost DC-DC converter (14).
As for claim 9, Takeuchi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to generate only capacitance information among impedances of a component (1, 4) connectable to the measurement terminal (A).
As for claim 10, Takeuchi discloses the apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a jig (vessel 3 for containing the electrode of the capacitor 1) configured to be coupled to the capacitor component (1 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (U. S. Patent 5,150,062).
As for claims 3-5, Takeuchi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to generate the capacitance information based on the variable inductance (L6) according to an inductance determination method corresponding to a resonant frequency (f01).
Still referring to claims 3-5, Takeuchi does not specifically disclose a plurality of predetermined resonant frequency ranges, wherein sensitivity of the resonant frequency varies depending on the resonant frequency range to which the resonant frequency of the LC resonance belongs, among the plurality of resonant frequency ranges.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takeuchi to disclose generating the capacitance information based on the inductance, the resonant frequency and also predetermined frequency ranges, for the purpose of determining more accurate capacitance information with minimized parasitic effects and maximized measurement sensitivity when desired resonant frequency ranges are also taken into consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that “nowhere does Takeuchi disclose or suggests that the inductance L6 of coil 6 varies”, the examiner point to Takeuchi on Fig. 5 and col. 5, lines 20-21, in which Takeuchi clearly disclosed that “in a more practical circuit in which the coil 6 is a variable inductance coil”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858