DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawrence (JP 039239; cited by Applicant) in view of Jung (US 2018/0257124).
In reference to claim 1, Lawrence discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a heat exchanger including a refrigerant tube, the apparatus comprising
a moving rod (16) configured to be linearly movable along a first direction [see figure 1],
a tube expansion body (22) connected to the moving rod (16) so as to be linearly movable along the first direction, the tube expansion body configured to be insertable into a tube base material of the refrigerant tube such that the tube base material is expanded outward by means of pressing and rotations of the tube expansion body when the tube expansion body is moved by the moving rod to be inserted into the tube base material of the refrigerant tube, [see figure 3]
wherein the tube expansion body includes:
a taper portion (32) which narrows in a direction of insertion into the tube base material [see pg. 2 paragraph 4],
a cylinder portion (35) extending along the first direction [see pg. 2 paragraph 4], and
a plurality of groove forming protrusions (41) formed on an outer surface of the cylinder portion (35) so as to extend along a direction inclined with respect to the first direction, the plurality of groove forming protrusions form a plurality of grooves (42) on the inner surface of the tube base material, when the tube expansion body is moved by the moving rod (16) to be inserted into the tube base material of the refrigerant tube while rotating about a longitudinal; axis of the moving rod [see figure 4].
Lawrence discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a plurality of groove forming protrusions are formed on both outer surfaces of the taper portion and the cylinder portion.
Jung discloses a tube expansion tool having a taper portion and a cylinder portion wherein groove forming protrusions are formed on the outer surfaces of both the taper portion and the cylinder portion for the purpose of gradually forming the grooves within the interior surface of the tube [see figure 7].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the outer surface of the taper portion of Lawrence to include the groove forming protrusions, as taught by Jung, in order to obtain the predictable results of gradually forming grooves within the interior of the tube while simultaneously expanding the tube.
In reference to claim 2, Lawrence further discloses the tube expansion body is configured to be rotatable about the longitudinal axis of the moving rod.
In reference to claim 3, Lawrence further discloses the tube expansion body is configured to rotate in a first rotational direction when inserted into the tube base material,
each groove (41) forming protrusion of the plurality of groove forming protrusions includes a first end oriented toward a direction of insertion in to the tube base material and a second end opposite to the first end, and
each groove (41) forming protrusion of the plurality of groove forming protrusions is extended to slope with respect to the first direction from the first end to the second end along the first rotational direction, as seen in figure 3.
In reference to claim 4, Lawrence further discloses the moving rod (16) is elongated along the first direction, and has at least a portion disposed instead the tube expansion body, and
the tube expansion body is configured to be rotatable around the rod, as seen in figure 2.
In reference to claim 5, Lawrence further discloses a bearing (26) configured between the tube expansion body and the moving rod (16) [see figure 2].
In reference to claim 6, Lawrence further discloses the bearing includes a plurality of rolling elements (balls 57, 68) disposed between an inner circumferential surface of the tube expansion body and an outer circumferential surface of the moving rod, and the plurality of rolling elements are arranged along a circumferential direction of the tube expansion body, as seen in figure 2.
In reference to claim 7, Lawrence further discloses the bearing includes a plurality of bearings (57, 68), and the plurality of bearings are arranged along a longitudinal direction of the tube expansion body, as seen in figure 2.
In reference to claim 8, Lawrence further discloses the taper portion (32) which narrows in a direction of insertion into the tube base material, and the combination of Lawrence and Jung further disclose the plurality of grooves forming protrusions are arranged on an outer surface of the taper portion.
In reference to claim 9, Lawrence further discloses the cylinder portion (35) has a hollow cylinder shape,
the taper portion (32) extends from a first end of the cylinder portion oriented toward the direction of insertion into the tube base material, and
at least some of the plurality of groove forming protrusions are arranged on an outer surface of the cylinder portion [see figure 3].
In reference to claim 10, Lawrence further discloses the tube expansion body (22) includes
a first end oriented toward a direction of insertion into the tube base material,
a second end opposite to the first end,
a first hole forming at the first end and
a second hole forming at the second end, and the moving rod (16) extends through the first hole and the second hole, as seen in figure 2.
In reference to claim 11, Lawrence further discloses the moving rod (16, 27) includes a head portion (28) that is in contact with an outside of the firs end of the tube expansion body, and a width of the head portion is in a direction perpendicular to the first direction, as seen in figure 2.
In reference to claim 12, Lawrence further discloses the head portion (28) includes a first portion adjacent to the tube expansion body, and a second portion located on an end of the first portion oriented toward a direction of insertion into the tube base material, and the first portion is formed such that a width in the direction perpendicular to the first direction increases in a direction from the tube expansion body toward the second portion, as seen in figure 2.
In reference to claim 13, Lawrence further discloses the moving rod (16, 27) includes a pressing portion contacting an outside of the second end of the tube expansion body, the pressing portion is configured to press the second end in the first direction when the moving rod is moving in the first direction, and the pressing portion has a width in a direction perpendicular to the first direction that is wider than a width of the second hole in the direction perpendicular to the first direction.
In reference to claim 14, Lawrence further discloses the plurality of groove forming protrusions (41) are arranged at equal intervals along an outer circumferential direction of the tube expansion body.
In reference to claim 15, Lawrence further discloses the tube expansion body includes a rotating portion configured to be rotatable around the moving rod (16, 27), and a fixed ball (57) fixed to the moving rod, the fixed ball is located at an end of rotating portion oriented toward a direction of insertion into the tube base material, and the plurality of forming protrusions are provided on an outer surface of the rotating portion, as seen in figure 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed September 29, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the amendment to further define the grooves forming protrusions being formed on outer surfaces of the taper portion and the cylinder portion overcomes the 102 rejection of Lawrence Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the combination of Lawrence and newly cited prior art to Jung.
It is noted that Applicant argues that Lawrence fails to disclose a tube expansion body having a taper portion and a cylinder portion. However the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in paragraph 4 on page 2 of the machine translation of Lawrence, surface portion 32 is designated as a taper portion and central outer surface portion 35 is disclosed as being a straight portion parallel to the axis of rotation thereby meeting the condition of being cylinder.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725