DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 4 recites “the vicinity of an end of stroke” which should be changed to “a vicinity of an end of stroke”.
Claim 7, line 5 recites the limitation “the direction towards the worm wheel” which should be changed to “a direction towards the worm wheel”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject
matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, lines 2-3 recites the limitation “its fixed end and its free end”, however, the limitation “its” is unclear and indefinite as to what “its” refers to.
Claim 7 is further rejected as indefinite, as depending from a rejected parent claim (see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by a first embodiment of Oosawa et al. US 11965582 B2.
Regarding independent claim 1, a first embodiment of Oosawa et al. discloses [a speed reducer 12b comprising:
a case 14a,] (Fig. 15; Paragraph 0108-0110)
[a worm disposed in a housing 22a of the case and including a proximal portion coupled to an input shaft,] (Fig. 15 and 23; Paragraph 0110 and 0138)
[a worm wheel 15 coupled to an output shaft 13 and arranged so as to be driven in rotation by the worm,] (Fig. 15; Paragraph 0119)
[a proximal bearing 40 holding the proximal portion of the worm in the housing,] (Fig. 15; Paragraph 0113)
[a distal bearing 17 holding a distal portion of the worm, the distal bearing being disposed in a cylindrical distal portion of the housing,] (Fig. 15; Paragraph 0108)
[a spring 82a held fixed in the distal portion of the housing around the distal bearing,] (Fig. 17; Paragraph 0108) [the spring comprising at least one elastic blade 103a disposed and shaped to bear on the case and to exert forces on the distal bearing in a direction towards the worm wheel.] (Fig. 17-18; Paragraph 0108 and 0122)
Regarding claim 2, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. further discloses [wherein the spring comprises a protrusion 98 adapted to be engaged in a recess 84 formed in the distal portion of the housing, in order to block the spring in rotation in the housing.] (Fig. 18; Paragraph 0119)
Regarding claim 3, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. further discloses [wherein the protrusion 98 has a U-shape extending radially outwardly of the spring 82a.] (Fig. 18; Paragraph 0119; As shown in Fig. 18, Oosawa et al. illustrates wherein the protrusion 98 is formed in a U-shape that extends outwardly from the spring 82a.)
Regarding claim 4, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. further discloses [wherein the spring 82a comprises flat side portions 102 disposed and shaped to guide the distal bearing 17 in the direction towards the worm wheel and in an opposite direction, and eliminating a side gap between the spring and the distal bearing.] (Fig. 17-18; Paragraph 0122-0123)
Regarding claim 8, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. further discloses [wherein the spring 82a comprises an annular portion 103b extending over an angular sector comprised between 240° and 300°, each elastic blade 103a having a free end and a fixed end secured to the annular portion.] (Fig. 17-18; Paragraph 0122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. in view of Segawa JP 2010095006 A.
Regarding claim 5, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. does not discloses wherein the flat side portions are extended radially inwardly of the spring by tabs cooperating with the distal bearing to axially block the spring in a distal direction.
Segawa teaches [wherein the flat side portions are extended radially inwardly of the spring by tabs 26 cooperating with the distal bearing to axially block the spring in a distal direction.] (Fig. 2-3; Page 7, lines 6-22)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the tabs configuration of Segawa with the speed reducer of the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would advantageously allow for tabs to axially retain the spring which would prevent axial displacement, thus improving positional stability of the spring during use and ensuring reliable bearing support.
Claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. in view of Chauvrat et al. US 20160201786 A1.
Regarding claim 6, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. further discloses [wherein each elastic blade 103a has a curvature and is adjusted so as to follow a curve of variation of the force exerted by the blade on the distal bearing as a function of a position of the distal bearing in the spring.] (Fig. 17 Paragraph 0122 and 0129-0130; Oosawa discloses elastic blades having curved supported portions with a curvature different from mating holder surfaces such that, as the worm displaces and reaction force increases, contact positions shift and the effective spring constant increase, thus producing a force exerted by the blade that changes as a function of position.)
The first embodiment of Oosawa et al. does not disclose wherein each elastic blade has a variable width between its fixed end and its free end.
Chauvrat et al. teaches [wherein each elastic blade has a variable width between its fixed end and its free end.] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Chauvrat et al. illustrates wherein each elastic blade 27 has a variable width between its fixed end and its free end.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the variable width elastic blades of Chauvrat et al. with the speed reducer of the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the ability to tailor the stiffness and force-displacement of the spring, thus enabling precise control of the force exerted on the distal bearing and achieving improved force variation behavior.
Regarding claim 7, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the curve of variation of the force exerted by each elastic blade 103a on the distal bearing 17 as a function of a position of the distal bearing in the spring 82a is linear with a relatively low slope, then more rapidly increasing in the vicinity of an end of stroke of the distal bearing in the direction towards the worm wheel.] (Paragraph 0129-0135 of the first embodiment of Oosawa et al.; Oosawa et al. discloses elastic blades whose effective spring constant increases as the engaging reaction force increases due to shifting contact positions along the blade. As the distal bearing 17 moves toward the worm wheel, progressively stiffer portions of the elastic blade are engaged, such that the force exerted by the blade initially increases at a lower rate and then increases more rapidly near the end of stroke. Thus, Oosawa et al., naturally discloses the force-position relationship as recited in the claim.)
Regarding claim 9, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. further discloses [wherein the spring 82a comprises two elastic blades 103a having a width lower than a height of the spring.] (Fig. 17; As shown in Fig. 17, Oosawa et al. illustrates wherein the spring 82a comprises two elastic blades 103a having a width lower than a height of the spring.)
The first embodiment of Oosawa et al. does not disclose wherein the elastic blades are arranged so as to intersect in an area diametrically opposite to a contact area between the worm and the worm wheel.
Chauvrat et al. teaches [wherein the elastic blades are arranged so as to intersect in an area diametrically opposite to a contact area between the worm and the worm wheel.] (Fig. 3 and 4; As shown in Fig. 4 Chauvrat et al. illustrates wherein the elastic blades 27 are arranged so as to intersect in an area diametrically opposite to a contact area between the worm 4 and the worm wheel 6.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the elastic blade arrangement of Chauvrat et al. with the speed reducer of the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the balancing of reaction forces and improvements in load distribution, thus enhancing structural stability and reducing deformation of the spring during torque transmission.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first embodiment Oosawa et al. in view of a second embodiment of Oosawa et al.
Regarding claim 10, the first embodiment of Oosawa et el. further discloses [a power steering 10 for a motor vehicle.] (Fig. 15; Paragraph 0108)
The first embodiment of Oosawa et al. does not disclose the speed reducer being coupled between an assistance motor and a rotary member of a steering system of a motor vehicle.
A second embodiment of Oosawa et al. teaches [the speed reducer being coupled between an assistance motor and a rotary member of a steering system of a motor vehicle.] (Fig. 23; As shown in Fig. 23, the second embodiment of Oosawa et al. illustrates the speed reducer 12 being coupled between an assistance motor 11 and a rotary member of a steering system of a motor vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the speed reducer arrangement of the second embodiment of Oosawa et al. with the speed reducer of the first embodiment of Oosawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for motor torque to be transmitted to a rotary steering component, thus achieving intended power steering functionality.
Regarding claim 11, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the worm wheel of the speed reducer is secured to a steering column 6 of the steering system.] (Fig. 23)
Regarding claim 12, the first embodiment of Oosawa et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the worm wheel of the speed reducer is secured to a pinion shaft coupled to a rack pinion of the steering system.] (Fig. 23; Paragraph 0138)
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first embodiment Oosawa et al. in view of a second embodiment of Oosawa et al. and further in view of Ahn et al. KR 20160111065 A.
Regarding claim 13, the first embodiment of Oosawa et el., as modified, does not disclose wherein the worm wheel of the speed reducer is secured to a pinion shaft coupled to an additional rack pinion of the steering system.
Ahn et al. teaches [wherein the worm wheel of the speed reducer is secured to a pinion shaft coupled to an additional rack pinion of the steering system.] (Fig. 3; As shown in Fig. 3, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the worm wheel 212 of the speed reducer is secured to a pinion shaft 272 coupled to an additional rack pinion 252 of the steering system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the worm wheel and pinion rack configuration of Ahn et al. with the speed reducer of the first embodiment of Oosawa et el., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the distribution of steering forces, thus enhancing steering control.
Regarding claim 15, the first embodiment of Oosawa et el., as modified, does not disclose another speed reducer provided with worm and worm wheel, the worm wheels of the speed reducer and of the other speed reducer being coupled respectively to rack pinions of the steering system.
Ahn teaches [another speed reducer provided with worm and worm wheel, the worm wheels of the speed reducer and of the other speed reducer being coupled respectively to rack pinions of the steering system.] (Fig. 3; Page 3, lines 3-12; As shown in Fig. 3, Ahn et al. illustrates another speed reducer with a second set of a worm wheel 211 and a worm shaft 271. Both sets of worm wheels and worm shafts are respectively coupled to the rack pinions 251, 252 of the steering system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the second speed reducer of Ahn et al. with the speed reducer of the first embodiment of Oosawa et el., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for simultaneously driving multiple steering racks, thus improving steering responsiveness and extending the functionality of the steering system.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first embodiment Oosawa et al. in view of a second embodiment of Oosawa et al. and further in view of Rawlings et al. US 20190283796 A1.
Regarding claim 14, the first embodiment of Oosawa et el., as modified, does not disclose wherein the worm wheel of the speed reducer is secured to a force feedback steering column of a steering system without any mechanical link between a steering wheel and steered wheels of the motor vehicle.
Rawling et al. teaches [wherein the worm wheel of the speed reducer is secured to a force feedback steering column of a steering system without any mechanical link between a steering wheel and steered wheels of the motor vehicle.] (Abstract; Rawlings et al. discloses a steer-by-wire steering wheel system including a torque feedback actuator assembly having a housing, a helical gear rotatably disposed in the housing, and an electric motor with a worm wheel engaged with the helical gear. The steering wheel is coupled to the helical gear, such that rotation of the worm wheel by the motor drives the helical gear to apply torque feedback to the steering wheel. Since the system is expressly configured for use in a steer-by-wire vehicle, the steering wheel is not mechanically connected to the steered wheels, and the worm wheel is not operatively connected with a force-feedback steering column.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the worm wheel and force-feedback steering column arrangement of Rawling et al. with the speed reducer of the first embodiment of Oosawa et el., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for torque feedback to be provided to the steering wheel, thus achieving force-feedback steering functionality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Braun et al. US 11873036 B2 – comprises a helical gear transmission for an electromechanical servo steering mechanism may include a shaft that meshes with a helical gear. The shaft may be arranged in a transmission housing and, at its first end, may be mounted in a drive-side bearing arrangement so as to be rotatable about an axis of rotation. At its second end, the shaft may be mounted in a drive-remote bearing arrangement in the transmission housing. The drive-side bearing arrangement may have a rolling bearing, an outer ring of which is spherical. The rolling bearing may be enclosed by two bearing shells. The outer side of the outer ring may have two flat points that are opposite one another and form a pivot axis about which the shaft is pivotable in a direction of the helical gear.
Nakamura et al. US 10486734 B2 – comprises a steering assistance device, including: a motor configured to output a drive force in accordance with a steering force applied to a steering shaft; and a speed reducer including: a gear section configured to rotate and oscillate in accordance with the drive force; an outer cylinder having an internally toothed ring formed thereon, the internally toothed ring being configured to mesh with the gear section; and a carrier configured to rotate in accordance with rotation and oscillation of the gear section and output a steering assistance force to a steering mechanism, the steering mechanism being configured to steer vehicle wheels in accordance with rotational operation applied to a steering wheel.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611