DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (a first species in which a hydraulic expansion clamping chuck and the carrier unit and expansion clamping sleeve thereof are embodied as in Figures 1-2) in the reply filed on 8/21/2025 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 8, 9, and 12 were previously withdrawn (and still are) from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/21/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Steidle (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2024079235 A1).
Please be advised that the effective filing date of the claimed invention is 7/11/2023.
The effective filing date of the claimed invention is 7/11/2023 rather than 7/22/2022, because Applicant has not perfected priority. Applicant has not perfected priority, because Applicant has not provided a translation of the priority application. Please note that Applicant provided a certified copy of the priority application on 9/18/2025. Again though, Applicant did not provide a translation of the priority application.
With regards to Steidle, the effectively filed date of Steidle is 10/14/2022. 10/14/2022 is the filing date of the earliest application to which the published application is entitled to claim a right of foreign priority. Thus, the effectively filed date of 10/14/2022 of Steidle is prior to the effective filing date of 7/11/2023 of the claimed invention. Steidle therefore constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Please be advised that an EPO Machine Translation of Steidle is relied upon below.
Claim 1: Figure 1 of Steidle shows an expansion clamping sleeve (1) comprising a sleeve body (2, 3) having a tool receptacle (4) for a chipping tool. As Figure 1 shows, the sleeve body (2, 3) extends in a longitudinal direction as well as in a radial direction, which extends perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
The sleeve body (2, 3) comprises a pressure membrane, which Examiner has pointed to below in annotated Figure 1. Note that the pressure membrane delimits a hydraulic chamber (5) in the sleeve body (2, 3). Please be advised that the pressure membrane may be considered to comprise just the element pointed to below with a solid arrow or comprise both the element pointed to below with the solid arrow and the element pointed to below with the dashed arrow.
As can be seen above, the sleeve body (2, 3) further comprises a clearance (6) and a receptacle for a mechanical actuator (7) for activating the pressure membrane.
With respect to the pressure membrane, it separates the hydraulic chamber (5) and the clearance (6) from one another.
Regarding the clearance (6), it is disposed between the receptacle for the mechanical actuator and the hydraulic chamber (5) in the radial direction, such that, moving radially outward from a central longitudinal axis of the sleeve body (2, 3) toward an outer circumference of the sleeve body (2, 3), the hydraulic chamber (5) is encountered before the clearance (6), and the clearance (6) is encountered before the receptacle for the mechanical actuator (7).
Claim 2: The sleeve body (2, 3) is designed as a monolithic sleeve body (2, 3), and wherein the monolithic sleeve body (2, 3) forms the pressure membrane.
Claim 4: The receptacle for the mechanical actuator (7) is a tapped hole for an adjustment screw as the actuator (7) [EPO Machine Translation, paragraph 0016].
Claim 5: Please be advised that claim 5 is rejected with respect to the interpretation in which the pressure membrane is considered to comprise both the element pointed to below with the solid arrow and the element pointed to below with the dashed arrow.
As can be seen below, the pressure membrane comprises a reinforced wall region as an abutment for the actuator (7), e.g. as an abutment for the head of the actuator (7) and/or as a circumferential abutment for the shaft of the actuator (7).
Claim 6: Claim 6 is rejected with respect to the interpretation in which the pressure membrane is considered to comprise just the element pointed to below with the solid arrow.
As can be seen below in annotated Figure 2, the sleeve body (2, 3) forms an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein the inner wall forms the tool receptacle (4). As can also be seen below, the hydraulic chamber (5) is formed between the inner wall and the outer wall, and wherein the outer wall comprises the clearance (6).
Claim 7: As can be seen in Figure 2 or 3, the sleeve body (2+3) comprises at least one filling opening (8) for filling the hydraulic chamber (5).
Claim 16: Figure 1 of Steidle shows an expansion clamping sleeve (1) comprising a sleeve body (2, 3) having a tool receptacle (4) for a chipping tool. As Figure 1 shows, the sleeve body (2, 3) extends in a longitudinal direction as well as in a radial direction, which extends perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
The sleeve body (2, 3) comprises a pressure membrane, which Examiner has pointed to below in annotated Figure 1. Note that the pressure membrane delimits a hydraulic chamber (5) in the sleeve body (2, 3).
As can be seen above, the sleeve body (2, 3) further comprises a receptacle for a mechanical actuator (7) for activating the pressure membrane, and an inner wall.
With respect to the pressure membrane, it separates the hydraulic chamber (5) and the clearance (6) from one another. With respect to the inner wall, it defines the tool receptacle (4) and it continuously separates the tool receptacle from the hydraulic chamber (5).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danielsen (WIPO Publication No. WO 9526247 A1).
Please be advised that Danielsen was previously cited by Examiner on the PTO-892 that mailed on 9/22/2025.
Claim 16: Figure 1 of Danielsen show an expansion clamping sleeve (3). As can be seen within Figures 2 and 3, the expansion clamping sleeve (3) comprises a sleeve body (7, 8) having a tool receptacle (14) for a chipping tool (18). Regarding the sleeve body (7, 8), please be advised that it (7, 8) comprises a flange part (7) and a shaft (8) having external threading (9).
Figures 2 and 3 further show the clamping sleeve (3) as extending in a longitudinal direction by means of (at least) its shaft (8), as well as in a radial direction by means of (at least) its flange part (7). With regards to the longitudinal direction, please be advised that it extends parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the clamping sleeve (3). Regarding the radial direction, it extends perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Next, Figure 2 of Danielsen has been annotated and provided below. As can be seen therein, the expansion clamping sleeve (3) comprises a pressure membrane (10) delimiting a hydraulic chamber (11) that is formed in the sleeve body (7, 8), and further comprises a receptacle (12) for a mechanical actuator (13).
Lastly, the sleeve body (7, 8) further comprises an inner wall, which defines the tool receptacle (14). As can be seen below in annotated Figure 2, the pressure membrane (10) is a component of the inner wall. As can also be seen below, the inner wall continuously separates the tool receptacle (14) from the hydraulic chamber (11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handel (Germany Publication No. DE 102021116607 B3) in view of Danielsen (WIPO Publication No. WO 9526247 A1).
Claim 1: Figure 5 of Handel shows therein an expansion clamping sleeve (23) comprising a sleeve body (2) having a tool receptacle (25) for a chipping tool, wherein the sleeve body (2) extends in a longitudinal direction as well as in a radial direction that extends perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding the sleeve body (2), Figure 5 of Handel shows it (2) as comprising a pressure membrane (20) that delimits a hydraulic chamber (8) in the sleeve body (2). The sleeve body (2) further comprises a clearance (19).
With regards to the pressure membrane (20), it (20) separates the hydraulic chamber (8) and the clearance (19) from one another. Noting this, in moving radially outward from a central longitudinal axis (shown in dashed lines in Figure 5) of the sleeve body (2) in the radial direction toward an outer circumference of the sleeve body (2), the hydraulic chamber (8) is encountered before the clearance (19).
Handel though, does not disclose the expansion clamping sleeve (23) as further comprising “a receptacle for a mechanical actuator for activating the pressure membrane.” Please be advised that in Handel that should the temperature of the hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic chamber (8) increase enough in temperature, the hydraulic fluid can expand into the clearance (19) due to the deformation of pressure membrane (20) [EPO Machine Translation, paragraph 0049]. In this way, a pressure increase, which could at least locally lead to an exceedance of the strength of the sleeve body (2), is reliably prevented [EPO Machine Translation, paragraph 0055].
Figure 1 of Danielsen though, shows an expansion clamping sleeve (3). As can be seen within Figures 2 and 3, the expansion clamping sleeve (3) comprises a sleeve body (7, 8) having a tool receptacle (14) for a chipping tool (18). Regarding the sleeve body (7, 8), please be advised that it (7, 8) comprises a flange part (7) and a shaft (8).
Figures 2 and 3 further show the clamping sleeve (3) as extending in a longitudinal direction by means of (at least) its shaft (8), as well as in a radial direction by means of (at least) its flange part (7). With regards to the longitudinal direction, please be advised that it extends parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the clamping sleeve (3). Regarding the radial direction, it extends perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Next, as can be seen in Figure 2, the expansion clamping sleeve (3) comprises a pressure membrane (10) delimiting a hydraulic chamber (11) that is formed in the sleeve body (7, 8), and further comprises a receptacle for a mechanical actuator (13). Regarding the receptacle, it comprises a small diameter threaded portion (12) that leads into the hydraulic chamber (11) and a large diameter non-threaded portion in which a head of the mechanical actuator (13) is received. Please be advised that an angular movement of the mechanical actuator (13) build ups or releases the pressure required for clamping the tool (18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sleeve body (2) of Handel with the mechanical actuator (13) and the corresponding receptacle of Danielson wherein the threaded portion (12) of said receptacle leads into the hydraulic chamber (8) of Handel in accordance with the disclosure of Danielseon, so as to provide the advantage of being able to change the pressure during clamping of the chipping tool regardless of the temperature of the hydraulic fluid.
Please be advised that in making this modification that the modified sleeve body (2) of Handel has the configuration shown in the following page. Please be advised the receptacle for the mechanical actuator (13) is disposed at the distal end of the hydraulic chamber (8) of Handel in accordance with the disclosure of Danilsen. (Please see Figures 2 and 3 of Danielsen for the receptacle for the mechanical actuator (13) being disposed in such location).
As can be seen above, the modified expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel comprises the receptacle for the mechanical actuator (13) of Danielson. As can also be seen above, the pressure membrane (20) separates the hydraulic chamber (8) and the clearance (19) from one another, and the clearance is disposed between at least a portion of the receptacle (including the large diameter non-threaded portion of said receptacle) for the mechanical actuator (7) and the hydraulic chamber (8) in the radial direction.
Based on the foregoing, in moving radially outward from the central longitudinal axis (shown in dashed lines above in annotated Figure 5 of Handel) of the sleeve body (2) in the radial direction toward the outer circumference of the sleeve body (2), the hydraulic chamber (8) is encountered before the clearance (19), and the clearance is encountered before the receptacle, e.g. encountered before the aforesaid portion of the receptacle including but not limited to the large diameter non-threaded portion of said receptacle
Claim 2: Figure 5 of Handel shows the sleeve body (2) of the expansion clamping sleeve (23) being designed as a monolithic sleeve body (2), wherein the monolithic sleeve body (2) forms the pressure membrane.
Claim 4: The modified expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel comprises the receptacle for the mechanical actuator (13) of Danielson. Said receptacle comprises a threaded portion (12), which is a tapped hole for the mechanical actuator (13). Moreover, as Figures 2 and 3 of Daniels show, said mechanical actuator (13) is an adjustment screw.
Claim 5: As can be seen on the following page, in the modified expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel, the pressure membrane comprises a reinforced wall region as a circumferential abutment for the actuator (13).
Claim 7: As can be seen above, the threaded portion (12) of the receptacle leads directly into the hydraulic chamber (8), and the large diameter non-threaded portion of the receptacle leads directly into said threaded portion (12). Please be advised that the large diameter non-threaded portion is at least one filling opening for filling the hydraulic chamber (8).
Claim 10: Figure 5 of Handel shows the expansion clamping sleeve (23) as comprising an annular flange and a shaft/rear connection part. (Please be advised that the rear connection part is the small diameter portion of the sleeve body (2) of the expansion clamping sleeve (23)). Handel though, does not disclose the expansion clamping sleeve (23) as being part of “A hydraulic expansion clamping chuck” which comprises “a carrier unit with a receptacle for the expansion clamping sleeve, wherein the carrier unit is designed for a reversibly releasable connection to the expansion clamping sleeve.”
Figures 1-3 of Danielsen though, show a hydraulic expansion clamping chuck, wherein said hydraulic expansion clamping chuck comprises a carrier unit (1) and further comprises an expansion clamping sleeve (3). As to the carrier unit (1), it is provided with a receptacle (4) for the expansion clamping sleeve (3), wherein the carrier unit (1) is designed for a reversible releasable connection to the expansion clamping sleeve (3). Be advised that the receptacle (4) receives therein a shaft/connection part (8) of the sleeve body (7, 8) of the clamping sleeve (3). Please note that Figure 2 of Danielson shows the shaft/connection part (8) as having external threads (9) that interface with a threaded surface (5) provided in the receptacle (4) for the reversible releasable connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel with the carrier unit (1) of Danielson and to have provided the shaft/rear connection part of Handel with the external threads (9) of Danielson, so as to provide Handel with the advantage of being able to reversibly releasably connect the expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel to the
carrier unit (1) of Danielson, such that the expansion clamping sleeve (23) and corresponding chipping tool can be connected to the carrier unit (1) for workpiece processing and can also be released from said carrier unit (1) as is required.
Be advised that the combination of the carrier unit (1) of Danielson and the expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel constitute “A hydraulic expansion clamping chuck.” Thus, Handel/Danielson disclose “A hydraulic expansion clamping chuck” in accordance with claim 10, the hydraulic expansion clamping chuck comprising the expansion clamping sleeve (23) of claim 1 and further comprising the carrier unit (1) with the receptacle (4) of Danielson, wherein the carrier unit (1) is designed for a reversibly releasable connection to the expansion clamping sleeve (23).
Claim 14: First, please note that the modified expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel comprises the opening/receptacle for the mechanical actuator (13) of Danielson. Next, it is noted that the hydraulic expansion clamping chuck of Handel/Danielson comprises the carrier unit (1) in which the expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel is receivable.
When the carrier unit (1) receives in the receptacle (4) thereof the expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel, for example, the carrier unit (1), via the received clamping sleeve (23), comprises “an opening” for the actuator (13) in the form of the receptacle for the actuator (13).
Please be advised that in claim 14, Applicant’s doesn’t limit as to how or in what particular way that the claimed carrier unit actually “comprises” the claimed opening for the actuator.
Claim 15: Figure 1 of Danielsen shows the carrier unit (1) as comprising a filling opening (6). This filling opening (6) can be used for the intended use of filling the hydraulic chamber (8) of the expansion clamping sleeve (23) by, for example, filling said hydraulic chamber (8) via the filling opening (6) prior to the reversible releasable connection of the expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel to the carrier unit (1) of Danielsen. It is reiterated that the receptacle for the mechanical actuator (13) in the modified expansion clamping sleeve (23) of Handel leads into the hydraulic chamber (8) of Handel in accordance with the disclosure of Danielseon,
Claims 10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steidle (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2024079235 A1) in view of Danielsen (WIPO Publication No. WO 9526247 A1).
Claim 10: Figure 1 of Steidle shows the expansion clamping sleeve (1) as comprising the connection part (3). According to Steidle, the connection part (3) is for fastening to a machine tool that is not shown [EPO Machine Translation, paragraph 0023]. Steidle though, does not disclose specifics of the machine tool and does not disclose said machine tool as comprising “a carrier unit with a receptacle for the expansion clamping sleeve, wherein the carrier unit is designed for a reversibly releasable connection to the expansion clamping sleeve.”
Figures 1-3 of Danielsen though, show a hydraulic expansion clamping chuck, wherein said hydraulic expansion clamping chuck comprises a carrier unit (1) and further comprises an expansion clamping sleeve (3). As to the carrier unit (1), it is provided with a receptacle (4) for the expansion clamping sleeve (3), wherein the carrier unit (1) is designed for a reversible releasable connection to the expansion clamping sleeve (3). Be advised that the receptacle (4) receives therein a shaft/connection part (8) of the sleeve body (7, 8) of the clamping sleeve (3). Please note that Figure 2 of Danielson shows the shaft/connection part (8) as having external threads (9) that interface with a threaded surface (5) provided in the receptacle (4) for the reversible releasable connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the machine tool of Steidle with the carrier unit (1) of Danielson and to have provided the connection part (3) of Steidle with the external threads (9) of Danielson, so as to provide Steidle with the advantage of being able to reversibly releasably connect the expansion clamping sleeve (1) of Steidle to the carrier unit (1) of Danielson, such that the expansion clamping sleeve (1) and corresponding chipping tool can be connected to the carrier unit (1) for workpiece processing and can also be released from said carrier unit (1) as is required.
Be advised that the combination of the carrier unit (1) of Danielson and the expansion clamping sleeve (1) of Steidle constitute “A hydraulic expansion clamping chuck.” Thus, Steidle/Danielson disclose “A hydraulic expansion clamping chuck” in accordance with claim 10, the hydraulic expansion clamping chuck comprising the expansion clamping sleeve (1) of claim 1 and further comprising the carrier unit (1) with the receptacle (4) of Danielson, wherein the carrier unit (1) is designed for a reversibly releasable connection to the expansion clamping sleeve (1).
Claim 13: The carrier unit (1) comprises on an internal end face of said receptacle (4) thereof the threaded surface (5) (see Figure 2 of Danielseon) for screwing on, via the external threading (9) of the modified connection part (3) of Steidle, the sleeve body (2, 3) for the purpose of fixing the expansion clamping sleeve (1) of Steidle in the receptacle (4) of the carrier unit (1) of Danielseon. Please note that as broadly claimed that the modified connection part (3) of Steidle is itself a “locking ring,” because it (3) is hollow cylindrical element that is used to lock the sleeve body (2, 3) to the corresponding carrier unit (1).
Claim 14: First, please note that Figure 1 of Steidle shows the expansion clamping sleeve (1) as having formed therein an opening/receptacle for the mechanical actuator (7). Next, it is noted that the hydraulic expansion clamping chuck of Steidle/Danielson comprises the carrier unit (1) in which the expansion clamping sleeve (1) of Steidle is receivable.
When the carrier unit (1) receives in the receptacle (4) thereof the expansion clamping sleeve (1) of Steidle, for example, the carrier unit (1), via the received clamping sleeve (1), comprises “an opening” for the actuator (7) in the form of the receptacle for the actuator (7).
Please be advised that in claim 14, Applicant’s doesn’t limit as to how or in what particular way that the claimed carrier unit actually “comprises” the claimed opening for the actuator.
Claim 15: Figure 1 of Danielsen shows the carrier unit (1) as comprising a filling opening (6). This filling opening (6) can be used for the intended use of filling the hydraulic chamber (5) of the expansion clamping sleeve (1) by, for example, filling said hydraulic chamber (5) via the filling opening (6) prior to the reversible releasable connection of the expansion clamping sleeve (1) of Steidle to the carrier unit (1) of Danielsen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 5/6/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danielsen (WIPO Publication No. WO 9526247 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection to claim 1 is made in view of Steidle (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2024079235 A1) under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Please be advised that Steidle is a newly applied reference, and as such, Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Additionally/Alternatively a new ground(s) of rejection to claim 1 is made with respect to Handel (Germany Publication No. DE 102021116607 B3) in view of Danielsen (WIPO Publication No. WO 9526247 A1) under 35 U.S.C. 103. Please be advised that Steidle is a newly applied base reference, and therefore Applicant’s arguments do not address Steidle.
Noting the above, please be advised that claim 1 in the Final Rejection mailed on 2/9/2026 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danielsen. Noting this, Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 5/6/2026, are directed toward Danielsen. Examiner agrees with Applicant that Danielson does not anticipate the features of claim 1. Having said that, as it applies to the current rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Examiner is again applying Danielsen, but this time as a modifying reference to teach, “a receptacle for a mechanical actuator for activating the pressure membrane.” As such, Applicant’s arguments concerning the newly set forth limitation of, “such that, moving radially outward from a central longitudinal axis of the sleeve body toward an outer circumference of the sleeve body, the hydraulic chamber is encountered before the clearance, and the clearance is encountered before the receptacle for the mechanical actuator” are not applicable to the current usage of Danielsen as a modifying reference for teaching, “a receptacle for a mechanical actuator for activating the pressure membrane.” Again, Examiner agrees with Applicant that Danielson does not anticipate the features of claim 1, and as such, the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danielsen (WIPO Publication No. WO 9526247 A1) were withdrawn.
For the sake of completeness, please be advised that Applicant added new independent claim 16 in the claim set filed on 5/6/2026. Claim 16 is a broader claim than claim 1 with a scope that was not previously examined. Having said that, as it pertains to claim 16, Examiner has applied Danielsen. That is to say that claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danielsen (WIPO Publication No. WO 9526247 A1). Noting this, Applicant has not provided any arguments for Examiner to address as it pertains to Danielsen and claim 16.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL VITALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722