DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 22, 29, 30, 32, 33, 37 and 38 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 22, 29, 30, 32 (two occurrences) and 33, misspell envelope as “envelop”.
Claims 37 and 38 both improperly depend from claim 38. For examination purposes, both claims will be interpreted as depending from claim 36, which provides antecedent basis for non-UWB signals.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of Carlson et al. US 10,778,363 (“Carlson ‘363”) in view of Carlson et al. US 2015/0060608 A1 (“Carlson ‘608”). Carlson ‘363 fails to claim the “protective envelope” of independent claim 21, but this aspect of the invention is rendered obvious by Carlson ‘608 which teaches a rail vehicle signal enforcement and separation control, wherein “[s]uch a decentralized approach may allow each vehicle to determine its safe operating envelope using only the necessary local inputs from signals and other vehicles” (Para. [0126]). It would have been obvious for Carlson ‘363 to incorporate the protective envelope of Carlson ‘608 in order to enhance safety using a decentralized approach with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 and 36-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carlson et al. (US 2015/0060608 A1) (“Carlson ‘608”).
Referring to Claim 21: Carlson ‘608 discloses a train-mounted device (10), configured for use within a train (5) to support a decentralized train control system, the train-mounted device comprising:
one or more antennas (120), configured for communication of wireless signals; and
one or more circuits (150) configured to:
process signals communicated via the one or more antenna (Para. [0065]) (Fig. 5); and
perform one or more functions relating to operations of the train-mounted device within the decentralized train control system (Para. [0068]);
wherein the train-mounted device is configured to, during operation of the train:
communicate with one or more wayside units that come within communication range of the train-mounted unit, wherein the communicating comprises transmission and/or reception of ultra-wideband (UWB) signals (Para. [0051] and [0067]);
process the ultra-wideband (UWB) signals (Para. [0068]); and
determine, based on the processing of the ultra-wideband (UWB) signals, a protective envelope configured for use in controlling operating of the train in conjunction with a train network (Para. [0126]).
Referring to Claim 36: Carlson ‘608 discloses the train-mounted device of claim 21, wherein the train-mounted device (1000) is configured for utilizing or supporting use of non-UWB signals (via 1003, 1005, 1008) for communication of at least some data (Fig. 9) (Para. [0127-0133] and [0136]).
Referring to Claim 37: Carlson ‘608 discloses the train-mounted device of claim 36, wherein the non-UWB signals (via 1008) comprise radio-frequency identification (RFID) signals (Fig. 9) (Para. [0136]).
Referring to Claim 38: Carlson ‘608 discloses the train-mounted device of claim 36, wherein the non-UWB signals (via 1003 and 1005) comprise signals (Fig. 9) (Para. [0127-0133]).
Referring to Claim 39: Carlson ‘608 discloses the train-mounted device of claim 21, wherein the train-mounted device is configured to generate, based on the processing of the ultra-wideband (UWB) signals, control information configured for use in controlling one or more functions of the train in conjunction with operation in the train network (Para. [0038]).
Referring to Claim 40: Carlson ‘608 discloses the train-mounted device of claim 39, wherein the train-mounted device is configured to generate at least part of the control information based on sources other than the processing of the ultra-wideband (UWB) signals (Para. [0038]).
Referring to Claim 41: Carlson ‘608 discloses the train-mounted device of claim 21, wherein the train-mounted device is configured to:
assess based on the processing of the processing of the ultra-wideband (UWB) signals, one or more conditions relating to operation of the train within the train network (Para. [0132]);
when at least one condition meets one or more triggering criteria, determine one or more responsive actions (Para. [0138-0139]); and
perform or cause performing each of the one or more responsive actions (Para. [0141]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and if all claim objections and double patenting rejections are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 22 and depending claims 23-35, the prior art, including Carlson ‘608, fails to teach the combination of limitations recited in claim 22. More specifically, Carlson ‘608 fails to teach that “the train-mounted device is configured to determine the protective envelop based on both of a perceived actual location and a worst-case forward location for the train,” as recited in claim 22. While Carlson ‘608 teaches determining a safe operating envelope using UWB signals (see Carlson ‘608, Para. [0126]), Carlson does not specifically teach that it is based on “a worst-case forward location for the train”. A secondary reference, Newman (US 5,437,422), teaches a railway signalling system, wherein “[o]nce a train's ATP has received from the MBP information defining that train's limit of movement authority it can, knowing the train's current location, the train's worst case guaranteed braking performance and the geography of the route ahead of it up to the LMA, calculate a safe running profile of location versus permitted speed. Should the train at any time exceed this profile then the brakes will be applied to slow the train. An example of a simple running profile is shown in FIG. 11.” (Col. 9, lines 44-53). However, Newman’s “worst case guaranteed braking performance” is different than the claimed “worst-case forward location for the train” because the claimed worst-case forward location “may be determined based on measurement and/or calculations that account for messaging related delays, movement of train, and other possible errors in the system (e.g., measurement errors).” (Para. [0126] of the printed publication (US 2024/0089022 A1) for the instant application). Thus, Newman’s “worst-case guaranteed braking performance” cannot be reasonably interpreted as the claimed “worst-case forward location for the train” because it is directed to braking performance rather than UWB measurement errors. Examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Carlson ‘608 in this manner that would not require an improper degree of hindsight reasoning. Thus, claims 22-35 are nonobvious.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY L KUHFUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617