DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9-10, 16, and 19-20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and Claims have overcome a majority of objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 23, 2025, hereinafter “Non-Final Office Action”. However, additional objections and 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action, in view of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 23, 2026, are maintained and responses are addressed as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of "a first vertical groove" in combination with "a first cutting surface" as set forth in claim 6 and "a second vertical groove" in combination with "a first vertical groove" and "a first cutting surface" as set forth in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The Examiner notes the amended Specification filed January 23, 2026 does not appear to be provided with any markings to show all the changes relative to the previous versions of respective paragraphs. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner understands Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, however, the Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to provide a marked up copy of the amended Specification in future responses. See MPEP 714.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraph 0044, “bold” should read “bolt”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 3, “a shape and size” should read “the shape and size”
In claim 3, line 4, “the shape and size” should read “a shape and size”
In claim 3, line 4, “cross- sectional area” should read “cross-sectional area”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application {claim 19, a means for meshing together a first surface of the first nut with a first surface of the first washer} that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: The means in claim 20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, lines 1-2, a claim limitation of “wherein a second surface of the second washer is configured to contact a first surface of the second bolt” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 15 will be read as “wherein a second surface of the second washer is configured to contact a first surface of the second nut”.
Regarding claim 17, lines 2-3, a claim limitation of “the first surface of the second washer to mesh with the first surface of the second bolt” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 17 will be read as “the first surface of the second washer to mesh with the first surface of the second nut”.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, claim 19, lines 5-6, in which claim 20 depends from recites “a mean for meshing together a first surface of the first nut with a first surface of a first washer”, however, claim 20, lines 1-4, also recites “the means includes a first surface of the first nut including one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth, a first surface of the first washer including one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth, and a first cutting surface located on the screw tail of the bolt”; thus, claim 20 appears as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lyu (CN112855728A), hereinafter "Lyu".
Regarding claim 1, Lyu teaches an anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0001, Lyu indicates an anti-loosening bolt), comprising:
a bolt (Fig 1, slotted bolt body 1) including a head (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a head of slotted bolt body 1 as including a head) and a screw tail (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a screw tail of slotted bolt body 1 as a screw tail);
a first washer (Fig 1, washer 3) configured to fit (see Fig 1) around the screw tail (see Fig 1) of the bolt (1), wherein a first surface (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes a surface of washer 3 having a radially uniformly distributed spiral surface as a first surface) of the first washer (3) includes one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes a radially uniformly distributed spiral surface as includes one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth);
a first nut (Fig 1, nut 2) configured to screw (see Fig 1) onto the screw tail (see Fig 1) of the bolt (1), wherein a first surface (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes a surface of nut 2 having a radially uniformly distributed helical surface as a first surface) of the first nut (2) includes one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes a radially uniformly distributed helical surface as includes one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth);
a second nut (Fig 1, nut 4) configured to screw (see Fig 1) onto the screw tail (see Fig 1) of the bolt (1);
a first cutting surface (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes an inner surface of a spiral groove of slotted bolt body 1 as a first cutting surface) located on the screw tail (see Fig 1) of the bolt (1), wherein the bolt (1), the first washer (3), the first nut (2), the second nut (4), and the first cutting surface (see Fig 1) are capable of affixing (see Fig 1) a component (Fig 1, pieces 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 2, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 1 and further teaches comprising:
a second cutting surface (see Figs 1 and 3, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes the inner ring surface of the anti-loosening washer (3) is provided with a stopper, the cross section of the anti-loosening washer (3) is the same as the cross section of the spiral groove of the grooved bolt (1) and the stopper of the anti-loosening washer (3) matches the spiral groove of the grooved bolt (1) as a second cutting surface) located on the screw tail (see Fig 1) of the bolt (1).
Regarding claim 3, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first washer (3) has a hole (see Fig 3), and wherein the hole (see Fig 3) in the first washer (3) has a shape and size (see Fig 3), and wherein a shape and size (see Fig 3) of the hole (see Fig 3) of the first washer (3) is approximately equal (see Figs 1-3, Paragraph 0019) to the shape and size (see Figs 1-2) of a cross- sectional area (see Figs 1-2) of the screw tail (see Fig 1) of the bolt (1).
Regarding claim 4, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first surface (see Fig 1) of the first nut (2) is configured to contact (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019) the first surface (see Fig 1) of the first washer (3).
Regarding claim 5, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 4 and further teaches wherein the first surface (see Fig 1) of the first nut (2) is configured to mesh together (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019) with the first surface (see Fig 1) of the first washer (3).
Regarding claim 6, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 1 and further teaches comprising: a first vertical groove (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes the spiral groove of slotted bolt body 1 extending along a longitudinal axis of slotted bolt body 1 as a first vertical groove; Examiner further notes recitation of direction without a frame of reference is relative terminology and can be given little to no patentable weight) located on the screw tail (see Fig 1) of the bolt (1).
Regarding claim 7, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 6 and further teaches wherein the first washer (3) includes a first buckle (see Fig 3, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes a buckle of a stopper as includes a first buckle) that is configured to fit (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019) into the first vertical groove (see Fig 1) when the bolt (1) is inserted (see Fig 1) into the first washer (3).
Regarding claim 8, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 6 and further teaches comprising: a second vertical groove (see Figs 1 and 3, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes the spiral groove of slotted bolt body 1 extending along the longitudinal axis of slotted bolt body 1 and the stopper of the anti-loosening washer (3) matches the spiral groove of the grooved bolt (1) as a second vertical groove; Examiner further notes recitation of direction without a frame of reference is relative terminology and can be given little to no patentable weight) located on the screw tail (see Fig 1) of the bolt (1).
Regarding claim 9, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 6 and further teaches wherein the first washer (3) includes a second buckle (see Fig 3, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes a buckle of a stopper as includes a second buckle) that is configured to fit (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0019) into a second vertical groove (see Figs 1 and 3, Paragraph 0019, Examiner notes the spiral groove of slotted bolt body 1 extending along the longitudinal axis of slotted bolt body 1 and the stopper of the anti-loosening washer (3) matches the spiral groove of the grooved bolt (1) as a second vertical groove; Examiner further notes recitation of direction without a frame of reference is relative terminology and can be given little to no patentable weight) when the bolt (1) is inserted (see Fig 1) into the first washer (3).
Regarding claim 10, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth (see Fig 1) of the first nut (2) are uniformly distributed (see Figs 1 and 6, Paragraph 0019) on the first surface (see Fig 1) of the first nut (2) and radiate outwards (see Fig 6) from a center (see Fig 6) of the first nut (2).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hess (US20120063864A1), hereinafter "Hess".
Regarding claim 19, Hess teaches an anti-loosening fastener (Fig 1, fastening device 10), comprising:
a bolt (Fig 1, threaded fastener 12) including a screw tail (Fig 1, body portion 14);
a first nut (Fig 1, locking nut 50);
a first washer (Fig 1, lock washer 30); and
a means (Figs 3-4, teeth pairs 56a/56b, teeth 38, and flat section 14a) for meshing together (see Fig 1) a first surface (Fig 3, upper surface portion 52a) of the first nut (50) with a first surface (Fig 3, lower surface 32b) of the first washer (30).
Regarding claim 20, Hess teaches the anti-loosening fastener (10) of Claim 19 and further teaches wherein the means (56a/56b, 38, 14a) includes the first surface (52a) of the first nut (50) including one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth (56a/56b), a first surface (32b) of the first washer (30) including one or more wedge-shaped helical teeth (38), and a first cutting surface (14a) located on the screw tail (14) of the bolt (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu, in view of Chen (CN209875676U), hereinafter "Chen".
Regarding claim 11, Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 1 but fails to teach further comprising:
a second washer, wherein the second washer is elastic and configured to fit around the screw tail of the bolt.
However, Chen teaches it is known in the art to provide a second washer (Fig 1, spring washer 4), wherein the second washer (4) is elastic (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes opening the spring washer 4 as is elastic) and configured to fit (see Fig 1) around the screw tail (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a screw tail of anti-loosening bolt 1 as a screw tail) of the bolt (Fig 1, anti-loosening bolt 1).
Therefore, as evidenced by Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped second washer, wherein the second washer is elastic and configured to fit around the screw tail of the bolt as taught by Chen to Lyu. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to increase friction and resistance to loosening of the anti-loosening bolt.
Regarding claim 12, modified Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 11 and further teaches wherein a first surface (Chen, see Fig 1, Examiner notes a surface of spring washer 4 adjacent ring 3 as a first surface) of the second washer (Chen, 4) is configured to contact (Chen, see Fig 1) a second surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a surface of washer 3 adjacent nut 4 as a second surface) of the first washer (3).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 11 and further teaches wherein the second washer (Chen, 4) is a circular ring gasket (Chen, see Figs 1 and 11).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 13 and further teaches wherein the second washer (Chen, 4) includes a notch (Chen, see Fig 1), and wherein a first surface (Chen, see Fig 1) of the notch (Chen, see Fig 1) and a second surface (Chen, see Fig 1) of the notch (Chen, see Fig 1) are misaligned (Chen, see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, modified Lyu teaches the anti-loosening fastener (see Fig 1) of Claim 13 and further teaches wherein a second surface (Chen, see Fig 1, Examiner notes a surface of spring washer 4 distal ring 3 as a second surface) of the second washer (Chen, 4) is configured to contact (see Fig 1; Chen, see Fig 1) a first surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a surface of nut 4 adjacent washer 3 as a first surface) of the second bolt (4).
Regarding claims 16-18, Examiner notes that the instant method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art.
Concerning claims 16-18, given the structure of an anti-loosening fastener, the structural elements of the combination of Lyu and Chen (as rejected in claims 1 and 11-15 above) would render the claimed method steps obvious since such would be a logical manner of using the combination.
Response to Arguments
With respect to “I. DRAWINGS” on Pg 9 of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 23, 2026, Applicant argues no drawing amendment is necessary because the existing drawings already depict the claimed features. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes, as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action and as set forth above, the features of "a first vertical groove" in combination with "a first cutting surface" as set forth in claim 6 and "a second vertical groove" in combination with "a first vertical groove" and "a first cutting surface" as set forth in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
With respect to “II. SPECIFICATION INFORMALITIES” on Pg 10 of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 23, 2026, Applicant indicates that Applicant has submitted the informal corrections with this amendment. The Examiner agrees with Applicant regarding Paragraphs 0022, 0035, 0040, and 0043, however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees regarding Paragraph 0044. Further, as set forth above, the Examiner notes the amended Specification filed January 23, 2026 does not appear to be provided with any markings to show all the changes relative to the previous versions of respective paragraphs and respectfully requests Applicant to provide a marked up copy of the amended Specification in future responses. See MPEP 714.
With respect to “IV. 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) – CLAIMS 15 and 17” on Pg 10 of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 23, 2026, Applicant indicates claims 15 and 17 have been amended. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth above.
With respect to “V. 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) – CLAIM 20” on Pg 10 of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 23, 2026, Applicant argues claim 20 is a proper dependent claim and the § 112(d) rejection should be withdrawn. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes, as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action and as set forth above, claim 19 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), i.e. Paragraph 0006 of Applicant’s originally filed Specification. Accordingly, claim 20 appears as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant's arguments filed January 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to independent claim 1 on Pgs 10-11 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues Lyu’s disclosure of a grooved bolt and components lacks the claimed structural interrelationships and cutting surface configuration as recited in claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and in response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., interrelationships) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, with respect to independent claim 19 on Pg 11 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues Hess does not disclose the claimed combination with the same structural arrangement and function as recited. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes, as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action and as set forth above, Hess teaches a means (Figs 3-4, teeth pairs 56a/56b, teeth 38, and flat section 14a) for meshing together (see Fig 1) a first surface (Fig 3, upper surface portion 52a) of the first nut (50) with a first surface (Fig 3, lower surface 32b) of the first washer (30).
With respect to method claims 16-18 on Pg 12 of Applicant’ Remarks, Applicant argues because the claimed apparatus is not taught or suggested by the cited references, the corresponding method steps are not rendered obvious. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675