DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to a Request for Continued Examination filed on March 16, 2026 regarding Application No. 18/220,680. Applicants amended claims 1, 11-12, 14, and 18-28 and canceled claim 10. Claims 16 and 18-32 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species and/or sub-species. Claims 1-9 and 11-33 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16 and 18-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species and/or sub-species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 30, 2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the KR 10-2022-0141019 application filed in Korea on October 28, 2022 has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 16, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Office. The Office notes that a copy of the February 5, 2026 Korean Office Action with English translation for Korean Application No. 10-2022-0141019 was provided with the IDS, as noted by Applicants in the March 16, 2026 transmittal letter, but is not listed on the IDS.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on March 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument regarding newly amended independent claim 1, the applied art of record, and “the above-emphasized features” (Remarks, p. 8), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that the relevant claimed features are taught and/or suggested by Park ‘881, Park ‘870, Jiang, and as discussed. More specifically, figures 2-3 and paragraphs [0043] and [0062]-[0064] of Park ‘881 teach: a first FA region overlapping the folding area FA and including a plurality of opening patterns 152H extending across an entire width of the supporting substrate 150 in the first FA region, and a second NFA region overlapping the non-folding area NFA. Also, figures 1-3 and 9-11 and paragraphs [0032], [0046], [0049], [0051], [0098], [0100], [0134]-[0135], [0142], and [0145] of Park ‘870 teach: a second 2A region including a plurality of hole patterns H2 passing through a supporting substrate 100 in the second 2A region. In addition, figures 1 and 12 and paragraphs [0077]-[0078] of Jiang teach: a restoration member 6, and wherein the restoration member 6 includes a polymer that includes shape memory materials. Thus, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang and as discussed teaches and/or suggests: a first region overlapping the folding area and including a plurality of opening patterns extending across an entire width of the supporting substrate in the first region (as taught by Park ‘881), and a second region overlapping the non-folding area and including a plurality of hole patterns passing through the supporting substrate in the second region and are filled with a restoration member (second region, non-folding area, and supporting substrate taught by Park ‘881 combined with the second region, non-folding area, plurality of hole patterns, and supporting substrate taught by Park ‘870 and the restoration member taught by Jiang), and wherein the restoration member includes a polymer in which shape memory materials are dispersed (restoration member taught by Jiang. Note: Jiang teaches the restoration member discussed above but does not teach the restoration member includes a polymer in which shape memory materials are dispersed but which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include for satisfactory deformability recovery).
In response to the argument regarding Park ‘881 and “a second region overlapping the non-folding area and including a plurality of hole patterns passing through the supporting substrate in the second region and are filled with a restoration member, wherein the restoration member includes a polymer in which shape memory materials are dispersed” (Remarks, pp. 8-9), the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that the argument is not commensurate with the rejections and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Also, the Office respectfully submits that Park ‘881 teaches the features discussed above and in the rejections and the recited claimed features are taught and/or suggested by the cited references and as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections.
In response to the argument regarding Park ‘870 and “a structural partition in which different pattern structures are selectively applied to distinct regions corresponding to folding and non-folding areas” (Remarks, p. 10), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that the argument is not commensurate with the rejections and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Also, the Office respectfully submits that the argument is not commensurate with the claim language as the claim recites hole and opening patterns but does not require “different pattern structures”, as argued. In addition, the Office respectfully notes that Park ‘870 discloses: “[0142]… [T]he second hole H2 may be… an elliptical shape, a hemispherical shape, a circular shape, or the like.”, “[0145] However, the embodiment is not limited thereto, and of course, the second hole H2 may be formed in… a triangle, a square, or the like [shape].”, “[0098]… [T]he first holes H1 [of a first 1A region overlapping folding area 1A] may be formed in… an elliptical shape, a hemispherical shape, a circular shape, or the like.”, and “[0100] However, the embodiment is not limited thereto, and the first holes H1 may be formed in… a triangle, a square, or the like [shape].” Thus, assuming for the sake of argument that the hole and opening patterns are required to be different pattern structures, Park ‘870 teaches, for example, triangle shape hole patterns and elliptical shape opening patterns.
In response to the arguments regarding Jiang, “composite polymer including dispersed shape memory materials”, and “a non-folding region structurally distinguished from a folding region” (Remarks, p. 10), the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that the arguments are not commensurate with the rejections and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Also, the Office respectfully submits that Jiang teaches the features discussed above and in the rejections and the relevant claimed features are taught and/or suggested by the cited references and as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections.
In response to the arguments regarding Park ‘881, Park ‘870, and Jiang, the claimed structure, hindsight reconstruction, predictable combination, and structural redesign (Remarks, p. 10), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang, and as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections, teach and/or suggest the relevant claimed features and is not, as argued, hindsight reconstruction. As discussed above and in the rejections, the supporting substrate of Park ‘881 includes first and second regions respectively overlapping the folding and non-folding areas. The first region includes a plurality of opening patterns extending across an entire width of the supporting substrate in the first region and the opening patterns may have an ellipse shape. The supporting substrate of Park ‘870 includes a second region overlapping a non-folding area and including a plurality of hole patterns passing through the supporting substrate in the second region. The hole patterns may be an elliptical, hemispherical, circular, triangle, or square shape. Also, note that the substrate of Pak ‘870 also includes a first region overlapping a folding area and including a plurality of opening patterns extending across a width of the supporting substrate in the first region and the opening patterns may be an elliptical, hemispherical, circular, triangle, or square shape. The restoration member of Jiang includes a polymer that includes shape memory materials. Also, note that the restoration member of Jiang also covers a supporting substrate in a non-folding area and a folding area and fills opening patterns in the folding area. Jiang does not teach that the restoration member includes a polymer in which shape memory materials are dispersed but which would have been obvious to include for satisfactory deformability recovery. Thus, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang and as discussed teach and/or suggest the relevant claimed features and there is no hindsight reconstruction.
In response to the arguments regarding the remaining art of record and cure, and newly amended independent claim 1 and obvious (Remarks, p. 10), the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that the all features of newly amended independent claim 1 are taught and/or suggested by Park ‘881, Park ‘870, and Jiang and as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections. As such, there are no deficiencies, as argued, for which the remaining art of record is required to cure and newly amended independent claim 1 is obvious and not allowable.
In response to the argument regarding the additional rejections, dependent claims, and additionally applied references, and newly claimed combination of features (Remarks, p. 10), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that all features of newly amended independent claim 1 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references and as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections. As such, newly amended independent claim 1 is not allowable. In addition, the rejected claims depending from newly amended independent claim 1 are not allowable by virtue of their individual dependencies from newly amended independent claim 1, and as discussed in the rejections.
For the reasons discussed above and in the rejections, the pending claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 12, 17, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. in US 2020/0051881 A1 (hereinafter Park ‘881) in view of Park et al. in WO 2021/029568 A1 (an original copy is/was provided with the first Office action mailed in response to the September 30, 2025 Reply to Election of Species Requirement; US 2022/0293870 A1 (hereinafter Park ‘870) is being used as a translation thereof), in further view of Jiang in US 2023/0156934 A1 (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 1, Park ‘881 teaches:
A display apparatus (100 in FIGs. 1-2), comprising (Park ‘881: FIGs. 1-2 and “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100….”):
a display panel (130 in FIGs. 1-2) including a folding area (FA in FIGs. 1-2) and a non-folding area (NFA in FIGs. 1-2) adjacent to the folding area (Park ‘881: FIGs. 1-2 and “[0046]… [T]he display panel 130 includes a folding area FA and a non-folding area NFA…. ”, see also “[0054]… [T]he display panel 130 of the foldable display device 100….” ); and
a supporting substrate (150 in FIG. 2) disposed below the display panel (Park ‘881: FIG. 2, “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100… at least includes… a frame 150….”, and “[0057]… The frame 150 may… support… the display panel 130 which… [is] disposed on the frame 150….”),
wherein the supporting substrate includes:
a first region (FA region in FIG. 2) overlapping the folding area and including a plurality of opening patterns (152H in FIGs. 2-3) extending across an entire width of the supporting substrate in the first region (Park ‘881: see FIGs. 2-3, “[0043]… FIG. 3 is a plan view of a frame of a foldable display device….”, “[0063] The folding unit 152 is a flexible area to be included in the folding area FA…. [T]he plurality of openings 152H of the folding unit 152 may have ellipse shape in a plan view…. However, the embodiments of the present invention are not limited thereto.”, and “[0064] A plurality of openings 152H may be disposed in the folding unit 152….”), and
a second region (NFA region in FIG. 2) overlapping the non-folding area (Park ‘881: FIGs. 2-3 and “[0062]… The support unit 151 is an area where the flat state is maintained so that the support unit 151 is included in the non-folding area NFA.”).
However, it is noted that Park ‘881 does not teach:
the second region including a plurality of hole patterns passing through the supporting substrate in the second region and are filled with a restoration member.
Park ‘870 teaches:
a second region (2A region in FIGs. 1 and 9-11) including a plurality of hole patterns (H2 in FIGs. 9-11) passing through a supporting substrate (100 in FIGs. 9-11) in the second region (Park ‘870: FIGs. 1, 9, and 11, “[0032] FIG. 11 is a cross-sectional view taken along line B-B′ in FIG. 9.”, “[0046] The substrate 100 [in FIG. 1] may support the display panel 200. That is, the substrate 100 may be a support substrate supporting the display panel 200.”, “[0049]… [T]he substrate 100 may include… a second area 2A.”, “[0051]… [T]he second area 2A may be defined as an area where the substrate 100 is not folded. That is, the second area 2A may be an unfolding area.”, “[0134]… Referring to FIGS. 9 and 10, the substrate for display… may further include the second hole H2 formed in the second area 2A. In detail, the second hole H2 may be formed in the second area 2A defined as an unfolding area. That is, holes may be formed in the entire area of the display substrate 100.”, “[0135] A plurality of second holes H2 spaced apart from each other may be formed in the second area 2A. The second hole H2 may be formed to pass through the display substrate 100. In detail, the second hole H2 may be formed to pass through the one surface 1S and the other surface 2S of the substrate 100.”, “[0142]… [T]he second hole H2 may be… an elliptical shape, a hemispherical shape, a circular shape, or the like.”, and “[0145] However, the embodiment is not limited thereto, and of course, the second hole H2 may be formed in… a triangle, a square, or the like [shape].”, see also FIGs. 2-3 and 10, “[0098]… [T]he first holes H1 [of a first 1A region overlapping folding area 1A] may be formed in… an elliptical shape, a hemispherical shape, a circular shape, or the like.”, and “[0100] However, the embodiment is not limited thereto, and the first holes H1 may be formed in… a triangle, a square, or the like [shape].”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Park ‘870, to control waviness. (Park ‘870: “[0001] Embodiments relate to a substrate for display capable of controlling waviness.”).
However, it is noted that Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 does not teach:
the plurality of hole patterns are filled with a restoration member, and
wherein the restoration member includes a polymer in which shape memory materials are dispersed.
Jiang teaches:
a restoration member (6 in FIG. 12) (Jiang: FIGs. 1 and 12 and “[0077]… [A]n elastic layer 6 is provided between the display panel 3 [(that includes 311-314)] and the support plate 4, and the elastic layer is provided between the support plate 4 and the foldable optical adhesive layer 5, and the entire surface of the elastic layer covers the support plate 4…. [T]he material of the elastic layer 6 is silicone resin…. When the silicone resin is screen-printed on the surface of the support plate 4, the silicone resin material can be filled into the holes 43, and after curing, can form an integrated grid structure with the holes 43 of the support plate. Silicone resin material has desirable elasticity and elongation performance. During the bending process of the support plate 4 and the display panel 3, the elastic layer 6 can move synchronously with the adjacent flexible foldable optical adhesive layer 5. The relative misalignment between the support plate 4 and the display panel 3 is reduced, which reduces the risk of film separation between the display panel 3 and adjacent film layers. Moreover, the elastic layer 6 is filled into the holes 43, which can further provide the holes 43 with satisfactory deformability recovery. The display panel 3 can be quickly restored to an unfolded state after being folded, thereby effectively eliminating creases and ripples caused by folding.”, see also “[0078] Optionally, in other embodiments, the elastic layer 6 can also be replaced by a foam rubber layer, which also has satisfactory extension performance and deformability recovery ability. It can achieve the same technical effect as the elastic layer 6.”), and
wherein the restoration member includes a polymer (silicone resin or foam rubber) that includes shape memory materials (Jiang: “[0077]… [T]he material of the elastic layer 6 is silicone resin…. Silicone resin material has desirable elasticity and elongation performance. During the bending process of the support plate 4 and the display panel 3, the elastic layer 6 can move synchronously with the adjacent flexible foldable optical adhesive layer 5. The relative misalignment between the support plate 4 and the display panel 3 is reduced, which reduces the risk of film separation between the display panel 3 and adjacent film layers. Moreover, the elastic layer 6 is filled into the holes 43, which can further provide the holes 43 with satisfactory deformability recovery. The display panel 3 can be quickly restored to an unfolded state after being folded, thereby effectively eliminating creases and ripples caused by folding.”, see also “[0078] Optionally, in other embodiments, the elastic layer 6 can also be replaced by a foam rubber layer, which also has satisfactory extension performance and deformability recovery ability. It can achieve the same technical effect as the elastic layer 6.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Jiang, such that Park ‘881 as modified teaches: a second region overlapping the non-folding area and including a plurality of hole patterns passing through the supporting substrate in the second region and are filled with a restoration member (second region, non-folding area, and supporting substrate taught by Park ‘881 combined with the second region, non-folding area, plurality of hole patterns, and supporting substrate taught by Park ‘870 and the restoration member taught by Jiang), and wherein the restoration member includes a polymer in which shape memory materials are dispersed (restoration member taught by Jiang. Note: Jiang teaches the restoration member discussed above but does not teach the restoration member includes a polymer in which shape memory materials are dispersed but which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include for satisfactory deformability recovery.), to reduce misalignment and separation between layers, provide satisfactory deformability recovery, and eliminate ripples caused by folding. (Jiang: “[0077]… The relative misalignment between the support plate 4 and the display panel 3 is reduced, which reduces the risk of film separation between the display panel 3 and adjacent film layers. Moreover, the elastic layer 6 is filled into the holes 43, which can further provide the holes 43 with satisfactory deformability recovery. The display panel 3 can be quickly restored to an unfolded state after being folded, thereby effectively eliminating… ripples caused by folding.”).
Regarding claim 2, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a first plate (141 in FIG. 2 of Park ‘881) disposed below the display panel (Park ‘881: FIG. 2, “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100… at least includes a back plate unit 140….”, and “[0056]… [T]he back plate unit 140 may include a first back plate 141…. The first back plate 141 is disposed below the display panel 130 ….”); and
a first adhesive layer (162 in FIG. 2 of Park ‘881) disposed between the display panel and the first plate (Park ‘881: FIG. 2, “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100… at least includes… an adhesive unit 160 which includes a second adhesive unit 162 ….”, and “[0066] Referring to FIG. 2,… the adhesive layers of the adhesive unit 160 may be disposed… between the display panel 130 and the first back plate 141….”, see also “[0069] The adhesive layers of the second adhesive unit 162 includes a first part 162a… and a second part 162b….”).
Regarding claim 3, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 2, further comprising:
a second plate (142 in FIG. 2 of Park ‘881) disposed below the first plate (Park ‘881: FIG. 2, “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100… at least includes a back plate unit 140….”, and “[0056]… [T]he back plate unit 140 may include a first back plate 141 and a second back plate 142…. The first back plate 141 is disposed below the display panel 130 and the second back plate 142 is disposed below the first back plate 141….”); and
a second adhesive layer (162 in FIG. 2 of Park ‘881) disposed between the first plate and the second plate (Park ‘881: FIG. 2, “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100… at least includes… an adhesive unit 160 which includes a second adhesive unit 162 ….”, and “[0066] Referring to FIG. 2,… the adhesive layers of the adhesive unit 160 may be disposed… between the first back plate 141 and the second back plate 142….”, see also “[0069] The adhesive layers of the second adhesive unit 162 includes a first part 162a… and a second part 162b….”).
Regarding claim 4, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 3, further comprising:
a third adhesive layer (162 in FIG. 2 of Park ‘881) disposed between the second plate and the supporting substrate (Park ‘881: FIG. 2, “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100… at least includes… an adhesive unit 160 which includes a second adhesive unit 162 ….”, and “[0066] Referring to FIG. 2,… the adhesive layers of the adhesive unit 160 may be disposed… between the second back plate 142 and the frame 150….”, see also “[0069] The adhesive layers of the second adhesive unit 162 includes a first part 162a… and a second part 162b….”).
Regarding claim 5, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first, the second, and the third adhesive layers include a transparent adhesive layer (Park ‘881: “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100… at least includes… an adhesive unit 160 which includes a second adhesive unit 162 ….” and “[0066]… [T]he adhesive unit 160 may be formed of an optical clear adhesive (OCA)….”), and
wherein the transparent adhesive layer includes an optically cleared resin (OCR) or an optically cleared adhesive (OCA) (Park ‘881: “[0043]… Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, a foldable display device 100… at least includes… an adhesive unit 160 which includes a second adhesive unit 162 ….” and “[0066]… [T]he adhesive unit 160 may be formed of an optical clear adhesive (OCA)….”).
Regarding claim 8, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a touch panel disposed above the display panel (Park ‘881: “[0120]… [T]he touch panel may be further disposed on the display panel 130….”, see also FIG. 2, “[0058] The foldable display device 100… may further include a first adhesive unit 161, a cover window 110, and a polarizer 120 which are disposed on the display panel 130.” (Emphasis added)., and “[0126]… [T]he stress is applied to the display panel 130, the touch panel, the polarizer 120, the cover window 110, and the like disposed on the back plate unit 140 and the frame 150….”);
a polarization film (polarizer 120 in FIG. 2 of Park ‘881) disposed above the touch panel (Park ‘881: see FIG. 2, “[0058] The foldable display device 100… may further include a first adhesive unit 161, a cover window 110, and a polarizer 120 which are disposed on the display panel 130.”, “[0120]… [T]he touch panel may be further disposed on the display panel 130….”, and “[0126]… [T]he stress is applied to the display panel 130, the touch panel, the polarizer 120, the cover window 110, and the like disposed on the back plate unit 140 and the frame 150….” Note: Park ‘881 teaches a polarizer but does not teach a polarization film but which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include to filter light.); and
a cover window (110 in FIG. 2 of Park ‘881) disposed above the polarization film (Park ‘881: see FIG. 2 and “[0058] The foldable display device 100… may further include… a cover window 110… and a polarizer 120….”, see also “[0066] Referring to FIG. 2,…. [an] adhesive layer[] of the adhesive unit 160 may be disposed between the cover window 110 and the polarizer 120….” See also polarization film discussion above).
Regarding claim 9, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 8, further comprising:
a fourth adhesive layer disposed between the display panel and the touch panel (Park ‘881: i.e., a fourth adhesive layer as claimed; see FIG. 2, “[0066] Referring to FIG. 2, the adhesive unit 160 is disposed between the other components of the foldable display device 100 to bond each component to another component. Specifically, the adhesive layers of the adhesive unit 160 may be disposed between the cover window 110 and the polarizer 120, between the polarizer 120 and the display panel 130, between the display panel 130 and the first back plate 141, between the first back plate 141 and the second back plate 142, and between the second back plate 142 and the frame 150, respectively. The number of adhesive layers included in the adhesive unit 160… is not limited and the number of adhesive layers of the adhesive unit 160 may be determined depending on components required to be bonded….”, and “[0120]… [T]he touch panel may be further disposed on the display panel 130….”, see also “[0126]… [T]he stress is applied to the display panel 130, the touch panel, the polarizer 120, the cover window 110, and the like disposed on the back plate unit 140 and the frame 150….”);
a fifth adhesive layer disposed between the touch panel and the polarization film (Park ‘881: i.e., a fifth adhesive layer as claimed; see FIG. 2, “[0058] The foldable display device 100… may further include a first adhesive unit 161, a cover window 110, and a polarizer 120 which are disposed on the display panel 130.”, “[0066] Referring to FIG. 2, the adhesive unit 160 is disposed between the other components of the foldable display device 100 to bond each component to another component. Specifically, the adhesive layers of the adhesive unit 160 may be disposed between the cover window 110 and the polarizer 120, between the polarizer 120 and the display panel 130, between the display panel 130 and the first back plate 141, between the first back plate 141 and the second back plate 142, and between the second back plate 142 and the frame 150, respectively. The number of adhesive layers included in the adhesive unit 160… is not limited and the number of adhesive layers of the adhesive unit 160 may be determined depending on components required to be bonded….”, “[0120]… [T]he touch panel may be further disposed on the display panel 130….”, and “[0126]… [T]he stress is applied to the display panel 130, the touch panel, the polarizer 120, the cover window 110, and the like disposed on the back plate unit 140 and the frame 150….”; claim 8 above (polarization film discussion)); and
a sixth adhesive layer (161 in FIG. 2 of Park ‘881) disposed between the polarization film and the cover window (Park ‘881: FIG. 2 and “[0066] Referring to FIG. 2,… [an] adhesive layer[] of the adhesive unit 160 may be disposed between the cover window 110 and the polarizer 120….”; claim 8 above (polarization film discussion)).
Regarding claim 12, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the polymer is configured by an acrylic based material or silicone based material (silicone resin in Jiang) (Jiang: “[0077]… [T]he material of the elastic layer 6 is silicone resin….”).
Regarding claim 17, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of hole patterns is uniformly disposed in a corresponding non-folding area among non-folding areas (2As in FIG. 4 of Park ‘870) (Park ‘870: i.e., uniformly disposed with respect to a left and/or a right side of a groove and/or an edge of 100 corresponding to the non-folding area; see FIGs. 4-5 and 9-11, “[0074] Referring to FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, the substrate 100 may include the first area 1A that is an area where the substrate 100 is bent. The substrate 100 may include the second area 2A that is not bent and is disposed adjacent to the first area 1A.”, and “[0075]… [T]he second area 2A may be formed on the left side and the right side of the first area 1A based on the direction in which the substrate 100 is bent. That is, the second area 2A may be disposed at both ends of the first area 1A. That is, the first area 1A may be disposed between the second areas 2A.” Also, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features to reduce stress. See also Park ‘881: non-folding areas NFAs; FIG. 1 and “[0053]… The non-folding area NFA is an area extending to both sides of the folding area FA. That is, the non-folding areas NFA may be defined with the folding area FA therebetween….”), and
wherein the plurality of opening patterns pass through the supporting substrate (Park ‘881: see FIGs. 1-3 and “[0043]… FIG. 2 is a cross-sectional view taken along the line II-II′ of FIG. 1. FIG. 3 is a plan view of a frame of a foldable display device….”).
Regarding claim 33, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the folding area and the non-folding area comprises a display area (AA in FIG. 1 of Park ‘881) and a non-display area (NA in FIG. 1 of Park ‘881) (Park ‘881: FIG. 1, “[0047] The active area AA is an area where images are displayed….”, “[0049] In the non-active area NA, the images are not displayed….”, “[0052]… The folding area FA may include a part of the active area AA and a part of the non-active area NA….”, and “[0053]… The non-folding area NFA may include a part of the active area AA and a part of the non-active area NA….”).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘881 in view of Park ‘870, in further view of Jiang, and in further view of Lee et al. in US 2016/0155967 A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 6, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang, as particularly cited, does not teach:
further comprising:
a polarization film disposed above the display panel;
a touch panel disposed above the polarization film; and
a cover window disposed above the touch panel.
Lee teaches:
a polarization film (202 of 200 in FIGs. 4 and 6) disposed above a display panel (100 in FIG. 4) (Lee: FIGs. 4 and 6, “[0076]… Referring to FIG. 4, the flexible display device 4 includes a plurality of panels that are stacked on one another. The plurality of panels include a display panel 100…. The plurality of panels may further include… a polarization panel 200…. The display panel 100… [and] the polarization panel 200… are sequentially attached to one another….”, and “[0081]… Referring to FIG. 6, the polarization panel 200 may include a linear polarizer 202…. The linear polarizer 202 may be, for example, a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) film….”);
a touch panel (300 in FIG. 4) disposed above the polarization film (Lee: FIGs. 4 and 6, “[0076]… Referring to FIG. 4, the flexible display device 4 includes a plurality of panels that are stacked on one another…. The plurality of panels may further include, for example, a polarization panel 200… [and] a touch panel 300…. The… polarization panel 200… [and] the touch panel 300… are sequentially attached to one another….”, and “[0081]… Referring to FIG. 6, the polarization panel 200 may include a linear polarizer 202…. The linear polarizer 202 may be, for example, a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) film….”); and
a cover window (400 in FIG. 4) disposed above the touch panel (Lee: FIGs. 4 and 8, “[0076]… Referring to FIG. 4, the flexible display device 4 includes a plurality of panels that are stacked on one another…. The plurality of panels may further include… a protective panel 400. The… the touch panel 300… and the protective panel 400 are sequentially attached to one another….”, “[0085] FIG. 8 is a cross-sectional view of the protective panel 400…. The protective panel 400 acts as an outermost layer of the flexible display device 4. Referring to FIG. 8, the protective panel 400 protects the flexible display device 4 from external impact, scratches, etc. The protective panel 400 includes a transparent substrate 401…. The protective panel 400 includes an outer hard coating layer 402 for protecting the flexible display device 4 from scratches….”, and “[0087]… [T]he protective panel 400 may further include an inner hard coating layer 403. That is, the outer hard coating layer 402 is formed on an outer surface of the transparent substrate 401 and the inner hard coating layer 403 is formed on an inner surface of the transparent substrate 401….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Lee, such that Park ‘881 as modified teaches: further comprising: a polarization film disposed above the display panel; a touch panel disposed above the polarization film; and a cover window disposed above the touch panel (as taught by Lee), to provide a touch display device.
Regarding claim 7, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870, Jiang, and Lee teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 6, further comprising:
a fourth adhesive layer (501 in FIG. 4 of Lee) disposed between the display panel and the polarization film (Lee: FIGs. 4 and 6, “[0076]… The display panel 100… [and] the polarization panel 200… are sequentially attached to one another by using, for example, an optically-clear adhesive (OCA) layer.”, “[0081]… Referring to FIG. 6, the polarization panel 200 may include a linear polarizer 202…. The linear polarizer 202 may be, for example, a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) film….”, and “[0086]… [A]dhesive layer[] 501….”);
a fifth adhesive layer (502 in FIG. 4 of Lee) disposed between the polarization film and the touch panel (Lee: FIGs. 4 and 6, “[0076]… [T]he polarization panel 200… [and] the touch panel 300… are sequentially attached to one another by using, for example, an optically-clear adhesive (OCA) layer.”, “[0081]… Referring to FIG. 6, the polarization panel 200 may include a linear polarizer 202…. The linear polarizer 202 may be, for example, a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) film….”, and “[0086]… [A]dhesive layer[]…. 502….”); and
a sixth adhesive layer (503 in FIG. 4 of Lee) disposed between the touch panel and the cover window (Lee: FIG. 4, “[0076]… [T]he touch panel 300… and the protective panel 400 are sequentially attached to one another by using, for example, an optically-clear adhesive (OCA) layer.”, and “[0086]… [A]dhesive layer[]…. 503….”).
The motivation to combine the references is to bond touch display layers to one another.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘881 in view of Park ‘870, in further view of Jiang, in further view of Uchida et al. in US 2012/0212442 A1 (hereinafter Uchida), and in further view of Pei et al. in US 2013/0251943 A1 (hereinafter Pei).
Regarding claim 11, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang, as particularly cited, does not teach:
wherein the shape memory materials are formed of silver nano wire.
Uchida teaches:
wherein shape memory materials (21 in FIG. 7(A)) are connected to silver wires (71 in FIG. 1) (Uchida: FIG. 7(A) and “[0072]… [In FIG. 7(A),] [t]he micro wire 71 is the metal wire such as… silver…. [C]onnecting the micro wire 71 with the shape-memory alloy 21…. The field of view of the display panel is more improved, because the diameter of the micro wire 71 is equal to or smaller than that of the shape-memory alloy 21.”, see also FIGs. 1(A)-(B)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Uchida, to provide shape memory materials.
However, it is noted that Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870, Jiang, and Uchida, as particularly cited, does not teach:
wherein the shape memory materials are formed of silver nano wire.
Pei teaches:
wherein shape memory materials are formed of silver nano wire (Pei: FIGs. 1-2, “[0027] Another aspect of the invention is to provide.. [an element] that has shape memory properties that can be bent or stretched when an external load is applied to the [element]….”, “[0053] The preferred formulation for the creation of the conductive layer at block 12 of FIG. 1 comprises a conductive nano-particulate material…. Suitable nano-materials include nanowires… of a metal such as silver….”, and “[0085]… [S]hape memory property to the AgNWs/polymethacrylate [element]….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Pei, such that Park ‘881 as modified teaches: wherein the shape memory materials are formed of silver nano wire (shape memory materials of Park ‘881 as modified combined with the shape memory materials and silver wire of Uchida and the shape memory materials and silver nano wire of Pei), to provide shape memory materials.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘881 in view of Park ‘870, in further view of Jiang, in further view of Kim et al. in US 2020/0319672 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 13, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the supporting substrate includes a metal material or a polymer (Park ‘881: “[0057]… [T]he frame 150 may be formed of a rigid material such as metal….” ).
However, it is noted Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang, as particularly cited, does not teach:
wherein the metal material includes at least one of iron (Fe), aluminum (Al), magnesium (Mg), a stainless steel, and a stainless steel including nickel (Ni).
Kim teaches:
wherein a supporting substrate (450 in FIGs. 4A-B) includes a metal material (aluminum (Al)) or a polymer (Kim: FIGs. 4A-B and “[0083]… [T]he conductive plate 450 may be formed in the form of a metal sheet, which may help reinforce rigidity of the electronic device…. [T]he conductive plate 450 may include… Al….”), and
wherein the metal material includes at least one of iron (Fe), aluminum (Al), magnesium (Mg), a stainless steel, and a stainless steel including nickel (Ni) (Kim: FIGs. 4A-B and “[0083]… [T]he conductive plate 450 may include… Al….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Kim, such that Park ‘881 as modified teaches: the claimed features including wherein the metal material includes at least one of iron (Fe), aluminum (Al), magnesium (Mg), a stainless steel, and a stainless steel including nickel (Ni) (supporting substrate and metal material of Park ‘881 as modified combined with the supporting substrate, metal material, and aluminum of Kim), to provide a supporting substrate.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘881 in view of Park ‘870, in further view of Jiang, and in further view of Pei.
Regarding claim 14, Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang teaches:
The display apparatus of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Park ‘881 as modified by Park ‘870 and Jiang, as particularly cited, does not teach:
wherein the shape memory materials are dispersed in the polymer with a content of about 20% to 35%.
Pei teaches:
shape memory materials and a polymer with a content of about 20% to 35% (Pei: i.e., content more than 10% such that the claim language is met; see FIGs. 1-2, “[0027] Another aspect of the invention is to provide.. [an element] that has shape memory properties that can be bent or stretched when an external load is applied to the [element]….”, “[0053] The preferred formulation for the creation of the conductive layer at block 12 of FIG. 1 comprises a conductive nano-particulate material…. Suitable nano-materials include nanowires… of a metal such as silver….”, “[0054]… [T]he mixture of nanomaterial contains at least 10% of sliver nanowire [is provided for dispersion at block 12 of FIG. 1]….”, “[0060] Turning now to block 14, a layer of at least one type of monomer is deposited on the porous surface of the conductive layer produced at block 12. The monomer that is applied at block 12 diffuses into the porous nanowire coating and is then polymerized in-situ to form a polymer film composite at block 16 of FIG. 1….”, and “[0085]… [S]hape memory property to the AgNWs/polymethacrylate [element]….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Pei, such that Park ‘881 as modified teaches: wherein the shape memory materials are dispersed in the polymer with a content of about 20% to 35% (shape memory materials and polymer of Park ‘881 as modified combined with the shape memory materials, polymer, and content of Pei. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features for deformability recovery.), to provide shape memory materials.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the objection to the claim discussed above is overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626
3/30/26