DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The claim amendments have overcome the previously presented rejections under 35 USC § 112(b), and the respective rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed, see Page 5 of Remarks, filed 08/06/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC § 102 and § 103 have been considered and are persuasive, but they are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments to the claims (See USC § 102 Rejection Below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 83-86, 88, 89, and 103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Craighead et al. (US 20210189381 A1) (referenced in 892).
Regarding claim 83, Craighead et al. teaches a microfluidic device for extracting and isolating DNA from cells, the device comprising:
a channel (in flow channel – See annotated FIG. 1, element 44) having an inlet (input – element 22) at a first end and an outlet (output, element 24) at a second end, wherein the inlet and outlet are in fluid communication (Annotated FIG. 1 below);
a meshwork in the channel, the meshwork comprising a first meshwork and a second meshwork (Annotated FIG. 1 below),
wherein the first mesh is configured to retain extracellular vesicle complexes having a diameter of about 10,000 nanometers to about 25,000 nanometers (Claim 88 – fenestrations of about 25 μm – Craighead et al. teaches a microfluidic device featuring fenestrations (gaps between the micropillars) of about 25 μm (para. [0110]), as the smallest gap between pillars in the microfluidic device is about 1.5 μm (FIG. 1), and Craighead et al.’s mesh would be structurally capable of retaining extracellular vesicle complexes having a diameter of about 10,000 nanometers to about 25,000 nanometers),
wherein the second meshwork is configured to retain extracellular vesicle complexes having a diameter of about 1,000 nanometers to about 15,000 nanometers (Claim 89 – fenestrations of about 2-15 μm, Craighead et al. teaches a microfluidic device featuring fenestrations (gaps between the micropillars) of about 2-15 μm (para. [0110]), as the smallest gap between pillars in the microfluidic device is about 1.5 μm (FIG. 1), and Craighead et al.’s mesh would be structurally capable of retaining extracellular vesicle complexes having a diameter of about 1,000 nanometers to about 15,000 nanometers; and
a pressure source for applying pressure to a bodily fluid at the inlet and introducing the bodily fluid into the channel (“the nanofluidic device of the microfluidic-nanofluidic system can be configured to isolate the single DNA molecule under pressure driven flow and/or electrically driven flow. Suitable nanofluidic devices that operate under pressure driven flow and/or electrically driven flow are known in the art, and are contemplated by the present invention” (para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 84, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83, as Craighead et al. teaches that the channel is a microfluidic channel (abstract).
Regarding claim 85, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83, as Craighead et al. teaches that the channel is within a microfluidic chip (para. [0110] and FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 86, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83, as Craighead et al. teaches the usage of pillars within the channel (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 88, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83, as Craighead et al. teaches fenestrations of about 25 μm (See claim 83 rejection above).
Regarding claim 89, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83, as Craighead et al. teaches fenestrations of about 2-15 μm (See claim 83 rejection above).
Regarding claim 103, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83, as Craighead et al. teaches a third meshwork present in the microfluidic device (See annotated FIG. 1 above). Craighead et al. further teaches fenestrations of about 1 to about 4 μm, as the smallest gap between pillars in the microfluidic device is about 1.5 μm (FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 87 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craighead et al. (already referenced) in view of Chiu et al. (WO 2019199499 A1) (referenced and attached in prior office action).
Regarding claim 87, Craighead et al. teaches that device of claim 83. Craighead et al. fails to teach that the meshwork comprises of glass fibers, polymeric fibers, inorganic fibers or metal fibers. Chiu et al. teaches a microfluidic chip for capturing (abstract) nano particles (this includes extracellular vesicles (para. [0029])). Chiu et al. also teaches that “woven fibers (such as cloth or mesh) of wool, metal (e.g. stainless steel or Monel), glass, paper, or synthetic (e.g. nylon, polypropylene, polycarbonate, parylene, and polyester)” can be used as a filter element – allowing bio-nanoparticles to pass through, while larger matter is blocked (para. [0163]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Chiu et al.’s teaching of fibers in Craighead et al.’s microfluidic device because fibers can be used as a filter element to block larger matter. This method of improving Craighead et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Chiu et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 87.
Claim 91 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craighead et al. (already referenced) in view of Reategui et al. (WO 2018213847 A1) (referenced and attached in prior office action).
Regarding claim 91, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83. Craighead et al. fails to teach that the device further comprises one or more detectors for analyzing bodily fluid exiting the outlet of the channel. Reategui et al. teaches an analyzer device (element 140) that is located downstream, allowing target EV’s captured on the device to be characterized and investigated (p. 14, 3rd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Reategui et al.’s teaching of a downstream analyzer in Craighead et al. microfluidic device because the analyzer would allow target EV’s captured to be characterized and investigated. This method of improving modified Craighead et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Reategui et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Reategui et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 91.
Claim 92-94 and 97 are rejected as being unpatentable over Craighead et al. (already referenced) in view of Perkumas et al. (DOI: 10.1016/j.exer.2006.09.020) (referenced and attached in prior office action).
Regarding claim 92, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83. Craighead et al. also teaches a meshwork oriented between the inlet and the outlet of the channel (See annotated FIG. 1 above, Craighead et al). Craighead et al. fails to teach that the meshwork comprises an anterior half of an animal eye with lens. Perkumas et al. teaches of taking human ocular samples isolated from anterior eye segments (p. 210, 2nd paragraph). Perkumas et al. also teaches of isolating exosomes from the human ocular samples for analysis of myocilin (p. 210, 3rd paragraph), since mutations within myocilin are a cause of primary open angle glaucoma, understanding myocilin’s role is of clinical importance (Abstract, p. 209, 1st and 2nd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Perkumas et al.’s teaching taking human ocular samples isolated from anterior eye segments in Craighead et al.’s microfluidic device because the samples provide the exosomes then isolated for analysis of myocilin, as understanding myocilin’s role is of clinical importance. This method of improving Craighead et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Perkumas et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Perkumas et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 92.
Regarding claim 93, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 83. Craighead et al. fails to teach that the meshwork specifically comprises extracellular vesicle complexes isolated from glaucoma ocular humor. Perkumas et al. teaches that exosomes can be obtained from the aqueous body (ocular humor) of glaucoma patients (p. 210, 2nd pargraph-3rd paragraph). As these EVs are present in the native ocular humor, therefore they would inherently be extracellular vesicle aggregate complexes. Perkumas et al. also teaches that myocilin-associated exosomes are obtained from glaucoma aqueous humor samples, and mutations within myocilin are a cause of primary open angle glaucoma, understanding myocilin’s role is of clinical importance (Abstract, p. 209, 1st and 2nd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Perkumas et al.’s teaching of exosomes obtained from aqueous body of glaucoma patients in Craighead et al.’s microfluidic device and mesh because mutations within myocilin are a cause of primary open angle glaucoma, and understanding myocilin’s role is of clinical importance. This method of improving Craighead et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Perkumas et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Perkumas et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 93.
Regarding claim 94, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93. Craighead et al. fails to teach that the extracellular vesicles complexes are isolated from animal or clinical sources. Perkumas et al. teaches that exosomes (EV) can be obtained from the aqueous body of glaucoma patients – specifically from human samples isolated from anterior eye segments (p. 210, 2nd pargraph-3rd paragraph). Perkumas et al. also teaches that myocilin-associated exosomes are obtained from glaucoma aqueous humor samples, and mutations within myocilin are a cause of primary open angle glaucoma, understanding myocilin’s role is of clinical importance (Abstract, p. 209, 1st and 2nd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Perkumas et al.’s teaching of exosomes obtained from aqueous body of glaucoma patients in Craighead et al.’s microfluidic device and mesh because mutations within myocilin are a cause of primary open angle glaucoma, and understanding myocilin’s role is of clinical importance. This method of improving Craighead et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Perkumas et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Perkumas et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 94.
Regarding claim 97, Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93. Craighead et al. fails to teach wherein the extracellular vesicles specifically comprises exosomes. Perkumas et al. teaches that exosomes that are obtained from the aqueous body of glaucoma patients (p. 210, 2nd paragraph - 3rd paragraph). Mutations in Myocilin are a cause of primary open angle glaucoma, understanding myocilin’s role in the aqueous humor is of clinical importance (Abstract, p. 209, 1st and 2nd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Perkumas et al.’s teaching of exosomes obtained from aqueous body of glaucoma patients in Craighead et al.’s microfluidic device because mutations within myocilin are a cause of primary open angle glaucoma, and understanding myocilin’s role is of clinical importance. This method of improving Craighead et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Perkumas et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Perkumas et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 97.
Claims 95, 96, 98-102 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craighead et al. (already referenced), Perkumas et al. (already referenced) as applied to claim 93, and further in view of Linares et al. (DOI: 10.3402/jev.v4.29509) (referenced and attached in prior office action).
Regarding claim 95, modified Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93, but fails to teach at EV complexes are aggregates of extracellular vesicles. Linares et al. teaches that the EV complexes are highly heterogenous, containing a variable number of various phenotypes and morphologies (p.3, 1st paragraph), as a non-vesicular, amorphous material forms a glue linking EVs together in aggregates (p.3, 1st paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Linares et al.’s teaching of EV complexes forming aggregates in Craighead et al.’s microfluidic device because EV complexes form various morphologies due to the amorphous material that links EVs like glue. This method of improving modified Craighead et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Linares et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Linares et al. and modified Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 95.
Regarding 96, modified Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93, but fails to teach at EV complexes are aggregates of at least 10 extracellular vesicles. Linares et al. teaches that the EV complexes are highly heterogenous, containing a variable number of various phenotypes and morphologies (p.3, 1st paragraph), as a non-vesicular, amorphous material forms a glue linking EVs together in aggregates (p.3, 1st paragraph). Linares et al. teaches further that aggregates have several tens of EVs (Figure 2), as aggregates gather more than 20 EVs of various morphologies together with the amorphous material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Linares et al.’s teaching of tens of EV complexes in Craighead et al.’s microfluidic device because EV aggregates gather more than 20 Evs of various morphologies due to the linking amorphous glue material. This method of improving modified Craighead et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Linares et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Linares et al. and modified Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 96.
Regarding claim 98, modified Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93. Linares et al. teaches further that the EV aggregates have an overall size ranging from about 500 nm to several micrometers in diameter, as EV aggregates are highly heterogenous, containing a variable number of EVs of various morphologies (p. 3, 2nd paragraph). It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05). The claimed range of 360 to 21,000 nm is obvious in view of Linares et al. because Linares et al. discloses a range of 500 nm to several micrometers, which overlaps the claimed range of 360 to 21,000 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect a range of 500 nm to several micrometers due to varying morphologies and number of EVs present in aggregates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Linares et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 98.
Regarding claim 99, modified Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93. Linares et al. teaches further that the EV aggregates have an overall size ranging from about 500 nm to several micrometers in diameter, as EV aggregates are highly heterogenous, containing a variable number of EVs of various morphologies (p. 3, 2nd paragraph). It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05). The claimed range of 360 to 10,000 nm is obvious in view of Linares et al. because Linares et al. discloses a range of 500 nm to several micrometers, which overlaps the claimed range of 360 to 10,000 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect a range of 500 nm to several micrometers due to varying morphologies and number of EVs present in aggregates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Linares et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 99.
Regarding claim 100, modified Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93. Linares et al. teaches further that the EV aggregates have an overall size ranging from about 500 nm to several micrometers in diameter, as EV aggregates are highly heterogenous, containing a variable number of EVs of various morphologies (p. 3, 2nd paragraph). It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05). The claimed range of 360 to 5,000 nm is obvious in view of Linares et al. because Linares et al. discloses a range of 500 nm to several micrometers, which overlaps the claimed range of 360 to 5,000 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect a range of 500 nm to several micrometers due to varying morphologies and number of EVs present in aggregates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Linares et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 100.
Regarding claim 101, modified Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93. Linares et al. teaches further that the EV aggregates have an overall size ranging from about 500 nm to several micrometers in diameter, as EV aggregates are highly heterogenous, containing a variable number of EVs of various morphologies (p. 3, 2nd paragraph). It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05). The claimed range of 360 to 3,000 nm is obvious in view of Linares et al. because Linares et al. discloses a range of 500 nm to several micrometers, which overlaps the claimed range of 360 to 3,000 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect a range of 500 nm to several micrometers due to varying morphologies and number of EVs present in aggregates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Linares et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 101.
Regarding claim 102, modified Craighead et al. teaches the device of claim 93. Linares et al. teaches further that the EV aggregates have an overall size ranging from about 500 nm to several micrometers in diameter, as EV aggregates are highly heterogenous, containing a variable number of EVs of various morphologies (p. 3, 2nd paragraph). It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05). The claimed range of 360 to 1,000 nm is obvious in view of Linares et al. because Linares et al. discloses a range of 500 nm to several micrometers, which overlaps the claimed range of 360 to 1,000 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect a range of 500 nm to several micrometers due to varying morphologies and number of EVs present in aggregates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Linares et al. and Craighead et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 102.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIUS FRANCIS YOH/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799