DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-33, in the reply filed on July 17, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200313227 A1 (Hu ‘227) in view of US 20150017429 A1 (Li ‘429).
Regarding claim 1, Hu ‘227 teaches an anode assembly (an anode assembly; [0005]) comprising:
an anode comprising a first porous ceramic matrix comprising a plurality of pores (an anode comprising a first porous ceramic matrix having pores; [0005]);
a ceramic separator layer coupled to the anode (a ceramic separator layer affixed directly or indirectly to the anode; [0005]).
Hu ‘227 discloses that the lithium-ion battery may further comprise an electrically conductive coating that is present on the surface of at least a portion of the pores of the anode ([0008]). The electrically conductive coating is a carbon material selected from graphite, carbon black, and carbon nanotubes ([0010]).
While the electrically conductive coating of Hu ‘227 is not expressly an amorphous carbon coating, the amorphous carbon coating of the present invention appears to be solely made up of a single carbon source, the carbon source being a graphite rod ([0147] of the present invention). Hu ‘227 discloses an electrically conductive coating having a graphite carbon source.
However, the graphite carbon source of Hu ‘227 is not expressly a graphite rod.
Li ‘429 discloses a carbon layer and/or a carbon coating comprising graphene or graphite ([0008]). A carbon layer and/or a carbon coating can have an average thickness of up to about 1000 nm ([0008]). Carbon layers and/or carbon coatings can provide high electrical conductivity to a substrate, including conductivity sufficient to transport currents or discharge charges such as electrostatic charges ([0008]). The carbon source may be a graphite rod ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the carbon source of the electrically conductive coating of the anode assembly, as taught by Hu ‘227, to be a graphite rod, as suggested by Li ‘429, because the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Thus, the limitation of an amorphous carbon coating disposed on at least a portion of a surface of the first porous ceramic matrix is rendered obvious by Hu ‘227 in view of Li ‘429.
Regarding claim 2, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein the anode assembly further comprises an anode-side current collector coupled to at least a portion of the first porous matrix (an anode-side current collector contacting the anode; [0005] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 3, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein the ceramic separator layer is substantially free of the amorphous carbon coating (no electrically conductive coating on the pores contacts the separator layer; [0005] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 4, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein the amorphous carbon coating is electron conductive (an anode framework having a mixed electron/ion conducting framework; [0051] of Hu ‘227; carbon layers and/or carbon coatings can provide high electrical conductivity to a substrate, including conductivity sufficient to transport currents or discharge charges such as electrostatic charges; [0008] of Li ‘429).
Regarding claim 5, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 4, wherein the amorphous carbon coating is ion conductive (an anode framework having a mixed electron/ion conducting framework; [0051] of Hu ‘227; carbon layers and/or carbon coatings can provide high electrical conductivity to a substrate, including conductivity sufficient to transport currents or discharge charges such as electrostatic charges; [0008] of Li ‘429).
Regarding claim 6, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein the amorphous carbon coating is disposed at least partially on the surface of the first porous ceramic matrix in one or more pores (the electrically conductive coating is present on the surface of at least a portion of the pores of the anode; [0008] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 7, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the amorphous carbon coating has a thickness of from about 1 nm to about 800 nm (the carbon coating layer may have an average thickness from about 1 nm to about 1000 nm; [0044] of Li ‘429).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 8, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 7, wherein at least a portion of the amorphous carbon coating has a thickness of from about 150 nm to about 650 nm (the carbon coating layer may have an average thickness from about 1 nm to about 1000 nm; [0044] of Li ‘429).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 9, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 8, wherein at least a portion of the amorphous carbon coating has a thickness of from about 250 nm to about 550 nm (the carbon coating layer may have an average thickness from about 1 nm to about 1000 nm; [0044] of Li ‘429).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 10, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein the amorphous carbon coating has an affinity for an anode active material (an anode framework having a mixed electron/ion conducting framework; [0051] of Hu ‘227; carbon layers and/or carbon coatings can provide high electrical conductivity to a substrate, including conductivity sufficient to transport currents or discharge charges such as electrostatic charges; [0008] of Li ‘429).
Regarding claim 11, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein the amorphous carbon coating has a flake-stacked structure (the structure shown in Figs. 4c, 5d, 5e, & 5f of Hu ‘227 appears to exhibit a flake-stacked structure similar to the flake-stacked structure shown in Figs. 2(f), 2(g), and 2(h) of the present invention).
Regarding claim 12, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein the anode has a thickness of from about 1 µm to about 100 µm (the anode has a thickness of 50 µm; Table S1 of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 13, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 1, wherein the anode has an apparent porosity of from about 20% to about 80% (the porosity is about 50% with other values for porosity as between 20 and 70%, thus providing appropriate room for hosting active materials of various capacities; [0073] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 14, Hu ‘227 teaches a lithium-ion battery (a lithium-ion battery; [0005]), comprising:
an anode assembly (an anode assembly; [0005]) comprising,
an anode comprising a first porous ceramic matrix comprising a plurality of pores (an anode comprising a first porous ceramic matrix having pores; [0005]),
a ceramic separator layer coupled to the anode (a ceramic separator layer affixed directly or indirectly to the anode; [0005]), and
an anode-side current collector coupled to at least a portion of the first porous ceramic matrix (an anode-side current collector contacting the anode; [0005]);
a cathode (a cathode; [0005]); and
at least one of:
an anode active material disposed in the pores of the anode (an anode active material located within the pores; [0005]), wherein the anode active material comprises lithium (the anode active material comprises lithium; [0005]), and
a cathode active material is disposed in the cathode (a cathode active material located within the cathode; [0005]).
Hu ‘227 discloses that the lithium-ion battery may further comprise an electrically conductive coating that is present on the surface of at least a portion of the pores of the anode ([0008]). The electrically conductive coating is a carbon material selected from graphite, carbon black, and carbon nanotubes ([0010]).
While the electrically conductive coating of Hu ‘227 is not expressly an amorphous carbon coating, the amorphous carbon coating of the present invention appears to be solely made up of a single carbon source, the carbon source being a graphite rod ([0147] of the present invention). Hu ‘227 discloses an electrically conductive coating having a graphite carbon source.
However, the graphite carbon source of Hu ‘227 is not expressly a graphite rod.
Li ‘429 discloses a carbon layer and/or a carbon coating comprising graphene or graphite ([0008]). A carbon layer and/or a carbon coating can have an average thickness of up to about 1000 nm ([0008]). Carbon layers and/or carbon coatings can provide high electrical conductivity to a substrate, including conductivity sufficient to transport currents or discharge charges such as electrostatic charges ([0008]). The carbon source may be a graphite rod ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the carbon source of the electrically conductive coating of the anode assembly, as taught by Hu ‘227, to be a graphite rod, as suggested by Li ‘429, because the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Thus, the limitation of an amorphous carbon coating disposed on at least a portion of a surface of the first porous ceramic matrix is rendered obvious by Hu ‘227 in view of Li ‘429.
Regarding claim 15, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the ceramic separator layer is substantially free of the amorphous carbon coating (no electrically conductive coating on the pores contacts the separator layer; [0005] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 16, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the amorphous carbon coating is electron conductive (an anode framework having a mixed electron/ion conducting framework; [0051] of Hu ‘227; carbon layers and/or carbon coatings can provide high electrical conductivity to a substrate, including conductivity sufficient to transport currents or discharge charges such as electrostatic charges; [0008] of Li ‘429).
Regarding claim 17, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 16, wherein the amorphous carbon coating is ion conductive (an anode framework having a mixed electron/ion conducting framework; [0051] of Hu ‘227; carbon layers and/or carbon coatings can provide high electrical conductivity to a substrate, including conductivity sufficient to transport currents or discharge charges such as electrostatic charges; [0008] of Li ‘429).
Regarding claim 18, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the amorphous carbon coating is disposed at least partially on the surface of the first porous ceramic matrix in one or more pores (the electrically conductive coating is present on the surface of at least a portion of the pores of the anode; [0008] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 19, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein at least a portion of the amorphous carbon coating has a thickness of from about 1 nm to about 800 nm (the carbon coating layer may have an average thickness from about 1 nm to about 1000 nm; [0044] of Li ‘429).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 20, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 19, wherein at least a portion of the amorphous carbon coating has a thickness of from about 150 nm to about 650 nm (the carbon coating layer may have an average thickness from about 1 nm to about 1000 nm; [0044] of Li ‘429).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 21, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 20, wherein at least a portion of the amorphous carbon coating has a thickness of from about 250 nm to about 550 nm (the carbon coating layer may have an average thickness from about 1 nm to about 1000 nm; [0044] of Li ‘429).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 22, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the amorphous carbon coating has an affinity for an anode active material (an anode framework having a mixed electron/ion conducting framework; [0051] of Hu ‘227; carbon layers and/or carbon coatings can provide high electrical conductivity to a substrate, including conductivity sufficient to transport currents or discharge charges such as electrostatic charges; [0008] of Li ‘429).
Regarding claim 23, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the amorphous carbon coating has a flake-stacked structure (the structure shown in Figs. 4c, 5d, 5e, & 5f of Hu ‘227 appears to exhibit a flake-stacked structure similar to the flake-stacked structure shown in Figs. 2(f), 2(g), and 2(h) of the present invention).
Regarding claim 24, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the anode has a thickness of from about 1 µm to about 100 µm (the anode has a thickness of 50 µm; Table S1 of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 25, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the anode has an apparent porosity of from about 20% to about 80% (the porosity is about 50% with other values for porosity as between 20 and 70%, thus providing appropriate room for hosting active materials of various capacities; [0073] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claims 26, 27, and 28, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, but does not expressly disclose wherein the anode active material has a nucleation overpotential from about 0.1 mV to about 5 mV at 0.5 mA/cm2, wherein the anode active material has a nucleation overpotential from about 0.25 mV to about 2.5 mV at 0.5 mA/cm2, wherein the anode active material has a nucleation overpotential from about 0.5 mV to about 1.5 mV at 0.5 mA/cm2.
Hu ‘227 teaches the recited structure of the anode active material in claim 14 above. Accordingly, the nucleation overpotential property of the anode active material in claims 26-28 is considered to be an inherent property of the recited structure in claim 14.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114 I.).
Regarding claim 29, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the anode active material has a morphology substantially free of sharp edges after infiltration (as shown in Fig. 5d, Li metal deposited in the porous garnet shows an extremely dense and smooth morphology, without any dendritic Li; [0077] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 30, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the cathode comprises a second porous ceramic matrix having pores (the cathode comprises a second porous ceramic matrix having pores; [0016] of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 31, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the cathode has a thickness of from about 1 µm to about 100 µm (the cathode has a thickness of 45 µm; Table S1 of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 32, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the ceramic separator layer has a thickness of from about 1 µm to about 100 µm (the ceramic separator layer is lithium garnet; the garnet solid-state electrolyte has a thickness of 20 µm; [0007], [0107], and Table S1 of Hu ‘227).
Regarding claim 33, Hu ‘227 teaches the anode assembly of claim 14, wherein the cathode active material comprises sulfur (the applicable cathode material may be a sulfur-based cathode material (e.g., S, LixS); [0016] of Hu ‘227).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160211511 A1 (Ren ‘511) discloses a nano-silicon composite negative electrode material including a graphite matrix and nano-silicon material homogenously deposited inside the graphite matrix ([0009]). Preferably, the nano-silicon composite negative electrode material further includes an amorphous carbon coating layer and nano-conductive material coating layer on the surface of the graphite matrix ([0010]). The composite negative electrode material has advantages of good electrical conductivity, high specific capacity, long cycle life, high initial-charge-discharge efficiency, and low cycle expansion ([0008]). Preferably, the amorphous carbon coating layer has a thickness of from 5.0 to 1000.0 nm ([0018]).
US 20180105421 A1 (Polcik ‘421) discloses amorphous carbon layers are generally deposited as thin layers having layer thicknesses of a few microns, usually by means of chemical or physical vapor deposition ([0004]).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725