DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawate (US 2017/0365839) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kawate discloses a secondary battery (title; [0001]) comprising: an electrode assembly (20) comprising a first electrode tab (28) protruding from one side thereof and a second electrode tab (29) protruding from another side thereof (see Fig. 2; [0033]; [0039]); a case (10) accommodating the electrode assembly (20) (see Fig. 1; [0033]); a first cap assembly (12) comprising a first cap plate (12a) coupled to one side of the case (10), a first electrode terminal (50A) extending through the first cap plate (12a), and a gasket (70A) between the first cap plate (12a) and the first electrode terminal (50A) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0033]; [0041]); a first current collector plate (60A) comprising a tab connecting part (61A) and a terminal connector part (62A) protruding from the tab connecting part (61A) (see Figs. 2 and 7; [0046]), the tab connecting part (61A) being electrically connected to the first electrode tab (28), the terminal connector part (62A) being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (50A) (see Figs. 1 and 7; [0046]); and a support member (90) between the first cap plate (12a) and the first current collector plate (60A) (see Figs. 1 and 8; [0033]; [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1 .Kawate further discloses that the support member (90) is inserted and coupled from a front surface or a rear surface of the first current collector plate (60A) (see Fig. 9; [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Kawate further discloses that the support member (90) comprises: an internal support part (97A) between the electrode assembly (20) and the terminal connector part (62A) (see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0060]); and external support part (92A) between the tab connecting part (61A) and the first cap plate (12a) (see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0061]-[0062]); and a connecting part connecting the internal support part (97A) and the external support part (92A) (see Figs. 13A and 13B).
Regarding claim 4, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Kawate further discloses that the internal support part (97A) has an internal bottom surface (97a) in contact with the electrode assembly (20) and a plurality of partition walls (97b) protruding from the internal bottom surface (97a) and in contact with the terminal connector part (62A) (see Figs. 5, 13A, and 13B; [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Kawate further discloses that the external support part (92A) has an external bottom surface (94A) that can contact the tab connecting part (61A) via the first electrode tab (28) (see Modified Figure 16 below; [0077]) and a sidewall protruding from an edge of the external bottom surface and contacting the first cap plate (12a) (see Modified Figure 1 below).
Modified Figure 16, Kawate
Modified Figure 1, Kawate
Regarding claim 6, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 5. Kawate further discloses that the external bottom surface (94A) has a plurality of holes (96A, 91a) therein (see Fig. 13A; [0063]; [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Kawate further discloses that the internal support part (97A) and the external support part (92A) are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 13A).
Regarding claim 11, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kawate further discloses that the support member (90) is between the electrode assembly (20) and the terminal connector part (62A) (see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0060]), and wherein the support member (90) has a bottom surface (97a) in contact with the electrode assembly (20) and a plurality of partition walls (97b) protruding from the bottom surface (97a) and in contact with the terminal connector part (62A) (see Figs. 5, 13A, and 13B; [0064]).
Regarding claim 15, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kawate further discloses that the secondary battery comprises a second cap assembly (12) comprising a second cap plate (12a) coupled to another side of the case (10), a second electrode terminal (50B) passing through the second cap plate (12a), and a gasket (70B) between the second cap plate (12a) and the second electrode terminal (50B) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0033]; [0041]); a second current collector plate (60B) comprising a tab connecting part (61B) and a terminal connector part (62B) protruding from the tab connecting part (61B) (see Figs. 2 and 7; [0046]), the tab connecting part (61B) being electrically connected to the second electrode tab (29), the terminal connector part (62B) being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal (50B) (see Figs. 1 and 7; [0046]); and a support member (90) between the second cap plate (12a) and the second current collector plate (60B) (see Figs. 1 and 6; [0033]; [0047]).
Claims 1-7, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2018/0351153) (Nakamura) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a secondary battery (title; [0014]) comprising: an electrode assembly (12) comprising a first electrode tab (35) protruding from one side thereof and a second electrode tab (25) protruding from another side thereof (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0027]-[0029]); a case (14) accommodating the electrode assembly (12) (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0027]); a first cap assembly (15) comprising a first cap plate (15c) coupled to one side of the case (14) (see Fig. 1; [0027]; [0035]), a first electrode terminal (61) extending through the first cap plate (15c) (see Fig. 4; [0033]; [0037]), and a gasket (57) between the first cap plate (15c) and the first electrode terminal (61) (see Fig. 4; [0037]); a first current collector plate (52) comprising a tab connecting part (52a) and a terminal connector part (52b) protruding from the tab connecting part (52a), the tab connecting part (52a) being electrically connected to the first electrode tab (35), the terminal connector part (52b) being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (61) (see Fig. 4; [0033]); and a support member (90) between the first cap plate (15c) and the first current collector plate (52) (see Fig. 4; [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Nakamura further discloses that the support member (90) is inserted and coupled from a front surface or a rear surface of the first current collector plate (52) (see Fig. 7; [0093]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Nakamura further discloses that the support member (90) comprises: an internal support part (93) between the electrode assembly (12) and the terminal connector part (52b) (see Figs. 3 and 4; [0064]); an external support part (91) between the tab connecting part (52a) and the first cap plate (15c) (see Figs. 3 and 4; [0064]); and a connecting part (94) connecting the internal support part (93) and the external support part (91) (see Figs. 3 and 5; [0069]).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Nakamura further discloses that the internal support part (93) has an internal bottom surface (93b) in contact with the electrode assembly (see Figs. 5 and 9; [0096]) and a plurality of partition walls (93g) protruding from the internal bottom surface (93b) and in contact with the terminal connector part (52b) (see Figs. 4, 5, and 9; [0078]; [0080]; [0101]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Nakamura further discloses that the external support part (91) has an external bottom surface (91d) contacting the tab connecting part (52a) (see Figs. 4 and 5; [0070]) and a sidewall (94) protruding from an edge of the external bottom surface (91d) and contacting the first cap plate (15c) (see Figs. 5 and 6A; [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 5. Nakamura further discloses that the external bottom surface (91d) has a plurality of holes (91f) therein (see Fig. 5; [0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Nakamura further discloses that the internal support part (93) and the external support part (91) are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 5; [0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Nakamura further discloses that the support member (90) is between the electrode assembly (12) and the terminal connector part (52b) (see Fig. 4; [0064]), and wherein the support member (90) has a bottom surface (93b) in contact with the electrode assembly (12) (see Figs. 5 and 9; [0096]) and a plurality of partition walls (93g) protruding from the bottom surface (93b) and in contact with the terminal connector part (52b) (see Figs. 4, 5, and 9; [0078]; [0080]; [0101]).
Regarding claim 15, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Nakamura further discloses that the secondary battery comprises: a second cap assembly (15) comprising a second cap plate (15c) coupled to another side of the case (14) (see Fig. 1; [0027]; [0035]), a second electrode terminal (60) passing through the second cap plate (15c) (see Fig. 4; [0032]; [0037]), and a gasket () between the second cap plate (15c) and the second electrode terminal (60) (see Fig. 4; [0037]); a second current collector plate (51) comprising a tab connecting part (51a) and a terminal connector part (51b) protruding from the tab connecting part (51a), the tab connecting part (51a) being electrically connected to the second electrode tab (25), the terminal connector part (51b) being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal (60) (see Fig. 4; [0032]); and a support member (90) between the second cap plate (15c) and the second current collector plate (52) (see Fig. 4; [0063]-[0064]).
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kogure et al. (US 2012/0114987) (Kogure) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kogure discloses a secondary battery (title) comprising: an electrode assembly (40) comprising a first electrode tab (14) protruding from one side thereof and a second electrode tab (24) protruding from another side thereof (see Fig. 2; [0037]-[0038]); a case (61) accommodating the electrode assembly (40) (see Fig. 2; [0040]); a first cap assembly comprising a first cap plate (65) coupled to one side of the case (61) (see Fig. 2; [0040]), a first electrode terminal (70) extending through the first cap plate (65) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0042]), and a gasket (79) between the first cap plate (65) and the first electrode terminal (70) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0042]); a first current collector plate (50) comprising a tab connecting part (50a) and a terminal connector part (50b) protruding from the tab connecting part (50a), the tab connecting part (50a) being electrically connected to the first electrode tab (14), the terminal connector part being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (70) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0044]); and a support member (100) between the first cap plate (65) and the first current collector plate (50) (see Figs. 1-3; [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Kogure discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kogure further discloses that the support member (100) is inserted and coupled from a front surface and a rear surface of the first current collector plate (50) (see Fig. 1; [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Kogure discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Kogure further discloses that the support member (100) comprises: an internal support part (111, 151) between the electrode assembly (40) and the terminal connector part (50b) (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0047]-[0048]); an external support part (115, 155) between the tab connecting part (50a) and the first cap plate (65) (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0047]; [0049]); and a connecting part (112, 152) connecting the internal support part (111, 151) and the external support part (115, 155) (see Fig. 1; [0047]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Kogure discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kogure further discloses that the support member (100) comprises: a first support member (110) inserted from a rear surface of the first current collector plate (50) (see Fig. 1; [0046]); and a second support member (150) inserted from a front surface of the first current collector plate (50) and coupled to the first support member (110) (see Figs. 1 and 7-9; [0046]; [0098]).
Regarding claim 9, Kogure discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Kogure further discloses that the first support member (110) comprises: a first internal support part (111) between the electrode assembly (40) and the terminal connector part (50b) (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0047]-[0048]); a first external part (115) between the tab connecting part (50a) and the first cap plate (65) (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0047]; [0049]); and a first connecting part (112) connecting the first internal support part (111) and the first external support part (115) (see Fig. 1; [0047]-[0049]), and wherein the second support member (150) comprises: a second internal support part (151) between the electrode assembly (40) and the terminal connector part (50b) (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0047]-[0048]); a second external support part (155) between the tab connecting part (50a) and the first cap plate (65) (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0047]; [0049]); and a second connecting part (152) connecting the external internal support part (151) and the second external support part (155) (see Fig. 1; [0047]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Kogure discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 9. Kogure further discloses that the first internal support part (115) comprises a hook (124) (see Fig. 1; [0064]), and wherein the second internal support part (155) has a coupling groove (162) configured to receive the hook (124) (see Figs. 1, 4, and 7-9; [0090]-[0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawate (US 2017/0365839) (of record) in view of Kogure et al. (US 2012/0114987) (Kogure) (of record).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claims 1 and 11, respectively. Kawate fails to disclose, however, that the support member (90) comprises the claimed first and second support members.
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Kogure teaches a similar secondary battery (title) comprising: an electrode assembly (40), a case (61) accommodating the electrode assembly (40), a first cap assembly comprising a first cap plate (65) coupled to one side of the case (61) (see Fig. 2; [0040]); a first electrode terminal (70) extending through the first cap plate (65) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0042]), and a gasket (79) between the first cap plate (65) and the first electrode terminal (70) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0042]); a first current collector plate (50) comprising a tab connecting part (50a) and a terminal connector part (50b) protruding from the tab connecting part (50a), the tab connecting part (50a) being electrically connected to the first electrode tab (14), the terminal connector part being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (70) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0044]); and a support member (100) between the first cap plate (65) and the first current collector plate (50) (see Figs. 1-3; [0045]). Kogure further teaches that the support member (100) comprises: a first support member (110) inserted from a rear surface of the first current collector plate (50) (see Fig. 1; [0046]); and a second support member (150) inserted from a front surface of the first current collector plate (50) and coupled to the first support member (110) (see Figs. 1 and 7-9; [0046]; [0098]). Kogure further teaches that configuring the support member (100) to have the first (110) and second (150) support members leads to reduced time and effort of manufacturing work while ensuring an insulating property between the first current collector plate (50) and the battery case (61) and suppressing manufacturing costs ([0008]; [0104]-[0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support member disclosed by Kawate to comprise the claimed first and second support members, as taught by Kogure, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would so reduce the time, effort, and cost of manufacturing while ensuring an insulating property between the first current collector plate and the battery case.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Kawate further discloses that the support member (Kawate: 90) comprises: an internal support part (Kawate: 97A) between the electrode assembly (Kawate: 20) and the terminal connector part (Kawate: 62A) (Kawate: see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0060]); and external support part (Kawate: 92A) between the tab connecting part (Kawate: 61A) and the first cap plate (Kawate: 12a) (Kawate: see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0061]-[0062]); and a connecting part connecting the internal support part (Kawate: 97A) and the external support part (Kawate: 92A) (Kawate: see Figs. 13A and 13B). Therefore, since Kogure discloses that the first (Kogure: 110) and second (Kogure: 150) support members are configured in the exact same way (Kogure: see Figs. 1 and 4; [0106]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first and second support members in modified Kawate to each include the internal support part, external support part, and connecting part disclosed by Kawate. Thus, modified Kawate satisfies all of the limitations in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 9. Kogure further teaches that a first internal support part (Kogure: 115) of the first support member (Kogure: 110) comprises a hook (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Fig. 1; [0064]), and wherein a second internal support part (Kogure: 155) of the second support member (Kogure: 150) has a coupling groove (Kogure: 162) configured to receive the hook (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Figs. 1, 4, and 7-9; [0090]-[0091]). Therefore, since modified Kawate includes the teachings from Kogure regarding the first and second support members, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Kawate to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, modified Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 12. Modified Kawate further discloses that the support member (Kawate: 90) has a bottom surface (Kawate: 97a) in contact with the electrode assembly (Kawate: 20) and a plurality of partition walls (Kawate: 97b) protruding from the bottom surface (Kawate: 97a) and in contact with the terminal connector part (Kawate: 62A) (Kawate: see Figs. 5, 13A, and 13B; [0064]). Therefore, since Kogure discloses that the first (Kogure: 110) and second (Kogure: 150) support members are configured in the exact same way (Kogure: see Figs. 1 and 4; [0106]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first and second support members in modified Kawate to each include the claimed bottom surface and partition walls. Thus, modified Kawate satisfies all of the limitations in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Kogure further teaches that a first internal support part (Kogure: 115) of the first support member (Kogure: 110) comprises hooks (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Fig. 1; [0064]), and wherein a second internal support part (Kogure: 155) of the second support member (Kogure: 150) has coupling grooves (Kogure: 162, 168) configured to receive the hooks (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Figs. 1, 4, and 7-9; [0090]-[0091]). Therefore, since the partition walls (Kawate: 97b) disclosed by Kawate are located on an internal support part (Kawate: 97A) of the support member (Kawate: 90) (Kawate: see Figs. 5, 13A, and 13B; [0064]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least tried configuring the first and second support members in modified Kawate such that the partition walls on the first support part comprise hooks and the partition walls on the second support part comprise coupling grooves when combining the teachings of Kogure to Kawate. Thus, modified Kawate satisfies all of the limitations in claim 14.
Claims 8-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2018/0351153) (Nakamura) (of record) in view of Kogure et al. (US 2012/0114987) (Kogure) (of record).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claims 1 and 11, respectively. Nakamura fails to disclose, however, that the support member (90) comprises the claimed first and second support members.
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Kogure teaches a similar secondary battery (title) comprising: an electrode assembly (40), a case (61) accommodating the electrode assembly (40), a first cap assembly comprising a first cap plate (65) coupled to one side of the case (61) (see Fig. 2; [0040]); a first electrode terminal (70) extending through the first cap plate (65) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0042]), and a gasket (79) between the first cap plate (65) and the first electrode terminal (70) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0042]); a first current collector plate (50) comprising a tab connecting part (50a) and a terminal connector part (50b) protruding from the tab connecting part (50a), the tab connecting part (50a) being electrically connected to the first electrode tab (14), the terminal connector part being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (70) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0044]); and a support member (100) between the first cap plate (65) and the first current collector plate (50) (see Figs. 1-3; [0045]). Kogure further teaches that the support member (100) comprises: a first support member (110) inserted from a rear surface of the first current collector plate (50) (see Fig. 1; [0046]); and a second support member (150) inserted from a front surface of the first current collector plate (50) and coupled to the first support member (110) (see Figs. 1 and 7-9; [0046]; [0098]). Kogure further teaches that configuring the support member (100) to have the first (110) and second (150) support members leads to reduced time and effort of manufacturing work while ensuring an insulating property between the first current collector plate (50) and the battery case (61) and suppressing manufacturing costs ([0008]; [0104]-[0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support member disclosed by Nakamura to comprise the claimed first and second support members, as taught by Kogure, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would so reduce the time, effort, and cost of manufacturing while ensuring an insulating property between the first current collector plate and the battery case.
Regarding claim 9, modified Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Nakamura further discloses that the support member (Nakamura: 90) comprises: an internal support part (Nakamura: 93) between the electrode assembly (Nakamura: 12) and the terminal connector part (Nakamura: 52b) (Nakamura: see Figs. 3 and 4; [0064]); an external support part (Nakamura: 91) between the tab connecting part (Nakamura: 52a) and the first cap plate (Nakamura: 15c) (Nakamura: see Figs. 3 and 4; [0064]); and a connecting part (Nakamura: 94) connecting the internal support part (Nakamura: 93) and the external support part (Nakamura: 91) (Nakamura: see Figs. 3 and 5; [0069]). Therefore, since Kogure discloses that the first (Kogure: 110) and second (Kogure: 150) support members are configured in the exact same way (Kogure: see Figs. 1 and 4; [0106]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first and second support members in modified Nakamura to each include the internal support part, external support part, and connecting part disclosed by Kawate. Thus, modified Nakamura satisfies all of the limitations in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, modified Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 9. Kogure further teaches that a first internal support part (Kogure: 115) of the first support member (Kogure: 110) comprises a hook (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Fig. 1; [0064]), and wherein a second internal support part (Kogure: 155) of the second support member (Kogure: 150) has a coupling groove (Kogure: 162) configured to receive the hook (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Figs. 1, 4, and 7-9; [0090]-[0091]). Therefore, since modified Nakamura includes the teachings from Kogure regarding the first and second support members, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Nakamura to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, modified Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 12. Modified Nakamura further discloses that the support member (Nakamura: 90) has a bottom surface (Nakamura: 93b) in contact with the electrode assembly (Nakamura: see Figs. 5 and 9; [0096]) and a plurality of partition walls (Nakamura: 93g) protruding from the bottom surface (Nakamura: 93b) and in contact with the terminal connector part (Nakamura: 52b) (Nakamura: see Figs. 4, 5, and 9; [0078]; [0080]; [0101]). Therefore, since Kogure discloses that the first (Kogure: 110) and second (Kogure: 150) support members are configured in the exact same way (Kogure: see Figs. 1 and 4; [0106]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first and second support members in modified Nakamura to each include the claimed bottom surface and partition walls. Thus, modified Nakamura satisfies all of the limitations in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, modified Nakamura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Kogure further teaches that a first internal support part (Kogure: 115) of the first support member (Kogure: 110) comprises hooks (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Fig. 1; [0064]), and wherein a second internal support part (Kogure: 155) of the second support member (Kogure: 150) has coupling grooves (Kogure: 162, 168) configured to receive the hooks (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Figs. 1, 4, and 7-9; [0090]-[0091]). Therefore, since the partition walls (Nakamura: 93g) disclosed by Nakamura are located on an internal support part (Nakamura: 93) of the support member (Nakamura: 90) (Nakamura: see Figs. 4, 5, and 9; [0078]; [0080]; [0101]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least tried configuring the first and second support members in modified Nakamura such that the partition walls on the first support part comprise hooks and the partition walls on the second support part comprise coupling grooves when combining the teachings of Kogure to Nakamura. Thus, modified Nakamura satisfies all of the limitations in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kajimura (US 2006/0117701) discloses a battery comprising an insulating plate (12a) with a plurality of partition walls (14a) and a plurality of holes (15, 18) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0068]-[0071]).
Shimizu (JP 2011070918 with English Machine Translation) discloses a battery comprising first (30) and second (31) spaces that are inserted from a rear surface of the battery and from a front surface of the battery, respectively (see Figs. 7-9; [0029]-[0031]).
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749