DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 06/05/2026. Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are currently pending for examination on the merits.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the external support part comprising a first portion and a second portion on opposite sides of the internal support part” in lines 17-18. However, there is lack of antecedent basis in the specification for the claimed “first portion” and “second portion.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawate (US 2017/0365839) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kawate discloses a secondary battery (title; [0001]) comprising: an electrode assembly (20) comprising a first electrode tab (28) protruding from one side thereof and a second electrode tab (29) protruding from another side thereof (see Fig. 2; [0033]; [0039]); a case (10) accommodating the electrode assembly (20) (see Fig. 1; [0033]); a first cap assembly (12) comprising a first cap plate (12a) coupled to one side of the case (10), a first electrode terminal (50A) extending through the first cap plate (12a), and a gasket (70A) between the first cap plate (12a) and the first electrode terminal (50A) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0033]; [0041]); a first current collector plate (60A) comprising a tab connecting part (61A) and a terminal connector part (62A) protruding from the tab connecting part (61A) (see Figs. 2 and 7; [0046]), the tab connecting part (61A) being electrically connected to the first electrode tab (28), the terminal connector part (62A) being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (50A) (see Figs. 1 and 7; [0046]); and a support member (90) between the first cap plate (12a) and the first current collector plate (60A) (see Figs. 1 and 8; [0033]; [0047]), wherein the support member (90) comprises: an internal support part (97A) between the electrode assembly (20) and the terminal connector part (62A) (see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0060]); an external support part (92A, 97c) between the tab connecting part (61A) and the first cap plate (12a) (see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0061]-[0062]; [0064]), the external support part (92A, 97c) comprising a first portion (92A) and a second portion (97c) on opposite sides of the internal support part (97A) (see Modified Figure 13A below); and a connecting part connecting the internal support part (97A) and the first (92A) and second (97c) portions of the external support part (92A, 97c) (see Modified Figure 13A below).
Modified Figure 13A, Kawate
Regarding claim 2, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1 .Kawate further discloses that the support member (90) is inserted and coupled from a front surface or a rear surface of the first current collector plate (60A) (see Fig. 9; [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kawate further discloses that the internal support part (97A) has an internal bottom surface (97a) in contact with the electrode assembly (20) and a plurality of partition walls (97b) protruding from the internal bottom surface (97a) and in contact with the terminal connector part (62A) (see Figs. 5, 13A, and 13B; [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kawate further discloses that the external support part (92A) has an external bottom surface (94A) that can contact the tab connecting part (61A) via the first electrode tab (28) (see Modified Figure 16 below; [0077]) and a sidewall protruding from an edge of the external bottom surface and contacting the first cap plate (12a) (see Modified Figure 1 below).
Modified Figure 16, Kawate
Modified Figure 1, Kawate
Regarding claim 6, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 5. Kawate further discloses that the external bottom surface (94A) has a plurality of holes (96A, 91a) therein (see Fig. 13A; [0063]; [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kawate further discloses that the internal support part (97A) and the external support part (92A) are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 13A).
Regarding claim 11, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kawate further discloses that the support member (90) is between the electrode assembly (20) and the terminal connector part (62A) (see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0060]), and wherein the support member (90) has a bottom surface (97a) in contact with the electrode assembly (20) and a plurality of partition walls (97b) protruding from the bottom surface (97a) and in contact with the terminal connector part (62A) (see Figs. 5, 13A, and 13B; [0064]).
Regarding claim 15, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kawate further discloses that the secondary battery comprises a second cap assembly (12) comprising a second cap plate (12a) coupled to another side of the case (10), a second electrode terminal (50B) passing through the second cap plate (12a), and a gasket (70B) between the second cap plate (12a) and the second electrode terminal (50B) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0033]; [0041]); a second current collector plate (60B) comprising a tab connecting part (61B) and a terminal connector part (62B) protruding from the tab connecting part (61B) (see Figs. 2 and 7; [0046]), the tab connecting part (61B) being electrically connected to the second electrode tab (29), the terminal connector part (62B) being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal (50B) (see Figs. 1 and 7; [0046]); and a support member (90) between the second cap plate (12a) and the second current collector plate (60B) (see Figs. 1 and 6; [0033]; [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawate (US 2017/0365839) (of record) in view of Kogure et al. (US 2012/0114987) (Kogure) (of record).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claims 1 and 11, respectively. Kawate fails to disclose, however, that the support member (90) comprises the claimed first and second support members.
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Kogure teaches a similar secondary battery (title) comprising: an electrode assembly (40), a case (61) accommodating the electrode assembly (40), a first cap assembly comprising a first cap plate (65) coupled to one side of the case (61) (see Fig. 2; [0040]); a first electrode terminal (70) extending through the first cap plate (65) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0042]), and a gasket (79) between the first cap plate (65) and the first electrode terminal (70) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0042]); a first current collector plate (50) comprising a tab connecting part (50a) and a terminal connector part (50b) protruding from the tab connecting part (50a), the tab connecting part (50a) being electrically connected to the first electrode tab (14), the terminal connector part being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (70) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0044]); and a support member (100) between the first cap plate (65) and the first current collector plate (50) (see Figs. 1-3; [0045]). Kogure further teaches that the support member (100) comprises: a first support member (110) inserted from a rear surface of the first current collector plate (50) (see Fig. 1; [0046]); and a second support member (150) inserted from a front surface of the first current collector plate (50) and coupled to the first support member (110) (see Figs. 1 and 7-9; [0046]; [0098]). Kogure further teaches that configuring the support member (100) to have the first (110) and second (150) support members leads to reduced time and effort of manufacturing work while ensuring an insulating property between the first current collector plate (50) and the battery case (61) and suppressing manufacturing costs ([0008]; [0104]-[0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support member disclosed by Kawate to comprise the claimed first and second support members, as taught by Kogure, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would so reduce the time, effort, and cost of manufacturing while ensuring an insulating property between the first current collector plate and the battery case.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. As set forth above, modified Kawate discloses that the support member (Kawate: 90) comprises: an internal support part (Kawate: 97A) between the electrode assembly (Kawate: 20) and the terminal connector part (Kawate: 62A) (Kawate: see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0060]); and external support part (Kawate: 92A) between the tab connecting part (Kawate: 61A) and the first cap plate (Kawate: 12a) (Kawate: see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0061]-[0062]); and a connecting part connecting the internal support part (Kawate: 97A) and the external support part (Kawate: 92A) (Kawate: see Figs. 13A and 13B). Therefore, since Kogure discloses that the first (Kogure: 110) and second (Kogure: 150) support members are configured in the exact same way (Kogure: see Figs. 1 and 4; [0106]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first and second support members in modified Kawate to each include the internal support part, external support part, and connecting part disclosed by Kawate. Thus, modified Kawate satisfies all of the limitations in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 9. Kogure further teaches that a first internal support part (Kogure: 115) of the first support member (Kogure: 110) comprises a hook (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Fig. 1; [0064]), and wherein a second internal support part (Kogure: 155) of the second support member (Kogure: 150) has a coupling groove (Kogure: 162) configured to receive the hook (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Figs. 1, 4, and 7-9; [0090]-[0091]). Therefore, since modified Kawate includes the teachings from Kogure regarding the first and second support members, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Kawate to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, modified Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 12. Modified Kawate further discloses that the support member (Kawate: 90) has a bottom surface (Kawate: 97a) in contact with the electrode assembly (Kawate: 20) and a plurality of partition walls (Kawate: 97b) protruding from the bottom surface (Kawate: 97a) and in contact with the terminal connector part (Kawate: 62A) (Kawate: see Figs. 5, 13A, and 13B; [0064]). Therefore, since Kogure discloses that the first (Kogure: 110) and second (Kogure: 150) support members are configured in the exact same way (Kogure: see Figs. 1 and 4; [0106]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first and second support members in modified Kawate to each include the claimed bottom surface and partition walls. Thus, modified Kawate satisfies all of the limitations in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kawate discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Kogure further teaches that a first internal support part (Kogure: 115) of the first support member (Kogure: 110) comprises hooks (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Fig. 1; [0064]), and wherein a second internal support part (Kogure: 155) of the second support member (Kogure: 150) has coupling grooves (Kogure: 162, 168) configured to receive the hooks (Kogure: 124) (Kogure: see Figs. 1, 4, and 7-9; [0090]-[0091]). Therefore, since the partition walls (Kawate: 97b) disclosed by Kawate are located on an internal support part (Kawate: 97A) of the support member (Kawate: 90) (Kawate: see Figs. 5, 13A, and 13B; [0064]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least tried configuring the first and second support members in modified Kawate such that the partition walls on the first support part comprise hooks and the partition walls on the second support part comprise coupling grooves when combining the teachings of Kogure to Kawate. Thus, modified Kawate satisfies all of the limitations in claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections over Nakamura and Kogure. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims requiring that the external support part comprises a first and second portion on opposite sides of the internal support part overcomes the Kawate reference. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, examiner notes that under BRI, the external support part disclosed by Kawate can reasonably include not only the current collector housing portion (92A), but also the outer peripheral wall (97c) because both portions (92A, 97c) are located at vertical positions between the tab connecting part (61A) and the first cap plate (12a) (see Figs. 5 and 13A; [0061]-[0062]; [0064]). Indeed, the claims do not require that the first and second portions of the external support part be configured in the same way or have any similarities in structure. Furthermore, given this interpretation, it is clear that the external support part (92A, 97c) comprises a first portion (92A) and a second portion (97c) on opposite sides of the internal support part (97A), wherein a connecting part connects the internal support part (97A) and the first (92A) and second (97c) portions of the external support part (92A, 97c) (see Modified Figure 13A reproduced below). Thus, applicant’s arguments against the Kawate reference are not persuasive.
Modified Figure 13A, Kawate
As such, claims 1-2 and 4-15 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749