Claim Status
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II: claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 05/19/2025 is acknowledged. In response, group 1: claims 12-20 have been withdrawn, claims 1-20 are pending, and claims 1-12 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the split section" in line 5. It is not clear if a “split section” was inadvertently omitted from prior language in the claim, or if this is intended to be a new limitation. The reader therefore cannot know which feature or features of the magnetic core are actually intended to be associated with the “split section” and therefore the scope or metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. For the same reason, all dependent claims 2-12 thereof are rejected as well by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundstrom et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110215891 A1) hereinafter Sundstrom, and further in view of Wang et al (C.N. Patent Application Publication 107342154 A) hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Sundstrom discloses a manufacturing method (Title: Inductor Assembly) of a magnetic element (toroidal inductor 12, ¶19) comprising steps of:
(a) obtaining a magnetic core (magnetic core 20, ¶19) having a hollow part (void 19, ¶19), wherein magnetic core has an inner surface and an outer surface relative to a center of the magnetic core (annotated FIG. 1 below depicts the inner and outer surface of the magnet relative to the center of the magnetic core [¶19, “magnetic core 20 has a torus shape, e.g., a doughnut-shape, and defines void 19 within its center”]);
(b) disposing a flexible material on each inner surface of the magnetic core , wherein the flexible material has deformable property (adhesive tape, ¶25, “an adhesive tape may be applied around the perimeter of magnetic core 20”);
(c) sleeving a coil on the magnetic core (¶19, “toroidal inductor 12 includes conductive winding 18 coiled around magnetic core 20”);
(e) potting the magnetic element with a thermal conduction glue (¶23, “potting material 16 substantially fills the space within potting cup 14 that is not occupied by toroidal inductor 12”; ¶34, “For example, potting material 16 may fill space between toroidal inductor 12 and potting cup 14 and may fill space within void 19 of toroidal inductor 12 that is not occupied by center portion 36”; ¶35, “Potting material 16 may be any material suitable for substantially encapsulating toroidal inductor 12 within potting cup 14”), wherein at least a part of the flexible material is located between the thermal conduction glue within the hollow (¶25, “an adhesive tape may be applied around the perimeter of magnetic core 20”; the adhesive tape is applied throughout the surface of the core, then the entire core is placed within potting cup 14 to be filled with potting material 16); and
(f) curing and forming the thermal conduction glue after a curing time (¶25, “ the resin may be a thermosetting material that can be cured and hardened to define a unitary structure that includes magnetic core 20 and conductive winding 18”).
However, Sundstrom fails to disclose:
(a) dividing a magnetic core into a first component and a second component, wherein each of the first component and second component has two connecting surfaces of a split section,
(b) dispose flexible material on each inner surface of the first component and the second component individually,
(d) connecting the two connecting surfaces of the first component to the two connecting surfaces of the second component respectively to assemble the first and second components, wherein the magnetic core and coil form the magnetic element, and
Wang discloses a manufacturing method (Title: An Amorphous Magnetic Core around Vertical Type Inductor) of a magnetic element (inductor 10, p. 5, ll. 9) comprising steps of:
(a) dividing a magnetic core (amorphous magnetic core 20, p. 5, ll. 9) having a hollow part (annotated FIG. 1 below depicts a hollow core of the magnetic core 20) into a first component and a second component (two magnetic core sections 24 & 25 respectively, p. 5, ll. 48),
wherein each of the first component and the second component has two connecting surfaces of the split section (annotated FIG. 6 above depicts the connecting surfaces of each magnetic core sections), and each of the first component and the second component has an inner surface and an outer surface relative to a center of the magnetic core (annotated FIG. 6 above depicts the inner and outer surface of the magnet relative to the axial center of the magnetic core);
(b) dispose material on each inner surface of the first component and the second component individually (metal steel belt, p. 6, ll. 1-4, “the split after each magnetic core section are fixed together through metal steel belt. Specifically, the metal steel through with each magnetic core section of the jointed binding forming annular magnetic core, through adjusting the tightness of metal steel with can adjust the size of air gap between each magnetic core section”; Furthermore, Wang does not explicitly recite that the “metal steel” is flexible; however, it is a well understood fact that steel is naturally flexible. The flexibility of steel is a material property which cannot be separated from the material itself);
(c) sleeving a coil (flat uniform vertical coil 30, p. 5, ll. 9) on the first component and the second component (p. 5, ll. 9-10, “wherein a flat uniform vertical coil 30 wound on the annular amorphous magnetic core 20”; FIG. 10 depicts sleeving of coil before connecting magnetic core halves);
(d) connecting the two connecting surfaces of the first component to the two connecting surfaces of the second component respectively to assemble the first and second components (p. 3, ll. 19-20, “each magnetic core section of the combined fixed together through metal steel belt”) , wherein the magnetic core and the coil form the magnetic element (p. 3, ll. 19-33, “firstly the flat coil is sleeved at the core space of the magnetic combined into annular magnetic core on the said magnetic core space, then using metal steel with each magnetic core section splicing and binding together, at last, using the flat coil spring itself automatically separately winded coil, the flat coil is uniformly vertical winding amorphous magnetic core is the ring, to obtain the amorphous magnetic core around vertical type inductor”);
Sundstrom discloses the method of manufacturing a magnetic element comprising of the steps of obtaining a magnetic core covered with an adhesive tape, sleeving a coil, placing the assembly within a potting cup, and then covering the assembly with thermosetting potting material. Wang discloses a method of obtaining a magnetic core that was split into two halves, sleeving a coil around the halves, then fixing the two halves together via metal steel. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the two half magnetic cores and assembly method of the two half magnetic cores from Wang’s disclosure and apply it to the method of Sundstrom before the potting of the magnetic assembly to allow for convenient assembling of a prefabricated and pre-shaped coil around each half magnetic core during manufacturing, avoiding the need for specialized machinery to wound the coil around a completed toroidal shaped body. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA as it would achieve parasitic capacitance of a single line contact or point contact of the winding, greatly improving EMC and inductance effects while also reducing resistance compared to conventional enameled wire winding (Wang p. 4, ll. 14-27).
Regarding claim 2, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Sundstrom further discloses wherein at least one third of the magnetic element (toroidal inductor 12) is in contact with the thermal conduction glue (¶34-35, Sundstrom discloses that the potting material 16 fills vacant space within the cavity not taken up by toroidal inductor 12, filling the space radially outside and radially inside of the toroidal inductor 12. FIG. 1 depicts that potting material 16 is in direct contact with the toroidal inductor 12).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 2 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 4, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Sundstrom further discloses wherein the flexible material is a non-woven tape (adhesive tape, ¶25).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 4 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 5, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Wang further discloses wherein the coil is an edgewise coil with prefabricated flat wire (flat uniform vertical coil 30, p. 5, ll. 9).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 5 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 6, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Sundstrom further discloses wherein a winding track of the coil matches an outer contour of a cross-section of the magnetic core (¶75, “the ends of the conductive winding 18 can also be positioned to bend in a different direction relative the first initial radially outward direction. Any suitable bend angle for wires 20 relative to a direction substantially perpendicular to a center axis (e.g., extending a substantially z-axis direction) of inductor 12 can be used, and may be selected based on the particular application for assembly”; FIG. 4 depicts the winding 18 matching the outer shape of the inductor 12).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 6 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 7, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Sundstrom further discloses wherein the thermal conduction glue is potted in a device (assembly 10, ¶19) accommodating the magnetic element (¶19, “Assembly 10 includes a toroidal inductor 12, a potting cup 14, and potting material 16”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 7 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 8, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and both further teach wherein a volume of each of the first component and the second component occupy 50% of a volume of the magnetic core (¶24, “potting material 16 substantially fills the space within potting cup 14 that is not occupied by toroidal inductor 12”; A POSITA would have recognized that the shape and size of potting cup 14 would alter the volume taken up by the magnetic core and potting material in relation to one another. It would have been obvious to alter the shape and size to, as Sundstrom discloses, help minimize the effects of shocks and vibrations on toroidal inductor 12 as well as prevent intrusion of environmental contaminants. Replacing the magnetic core 20 of Sundstrom with Wang’s magnetic core halves would allow for the first and second component’s volume to be accounted for).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 8 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 9, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Sundstrom further discloses wherein the material of the thermal conduction glue is a thermal conduction silicon (¶35, “Example thermosetting materials may include… silicone”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 9 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 10, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Sundstrom further discloses wherein the magnetic core is a toroidal magnetic core (¶24 Sundstrom describes the inductor 12, comprised of the winding 18 and magnetic core 20, to be toroidal; FIG. 1 depicts the magnetic core 20 to be toroidal).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 10 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 11, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and both further teach wherein in the step (d), an adhesive is adhered to the two connecting surfaces of each of the first component and the second component, the first component and the second component are connected to each other by the adhesive.
(Sundstrom discloses in ¶25 that an adhesive tape may be applied around the perimeter of the magnetic core 20, used to hold the conductive windings 18 in place. Wang discloses the metal steel to bind together magnetic core halves. Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to utilize Sundstrom’s adhesive tape that was applied around the magnetic core used to hold the conductive windings in place to also be used to bind together Wang’s magnetic core halves, serving as an alternative material source. Changing the type of material that is used to bind together magnetic halves is known to affect properties such as magnetic performance, thermal conductivity, and rigidity of the assembly).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 11 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Regarding claim 12, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 11, as detailed above, and Sundstrom further discloses wherein the adhesive is an epoxy adhesive (Sundstrom discloses in ¶70 of another adhesive [adhesive 58 in FIG. 4], that is applied to mechanically couple together the assembly 10 and printed board 56, comprising of epoxy. A POSITA would have recognized to utilize the composition of adhesive 58 to the adhesive tape as it is known for its thermal conductivity and ability to distribute heat generated by the toroidal inductor over a relatively large surface area).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 12 in the manner of improving manufacturing and magnetic efficiency via the use of magnetic core halves).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundstrom, in view of Wang, and further in view of Shao et al (C.N. Patent Application Publication 213424795 U) hereinafter Shao.
Regarding claim 3, Sundstrom in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Wang further discloses wherein the flexible material covers each inner surface of the first component and the second component individually (metal steel belt, p. 6, ll. 1-4; refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding steel being understood to be as flexible material),
However, both fail to discloses wherein the surface area of the flexible material occupies at least one third of each inner surface of the first component and the second component.
Shao discloses (Title: a Magnetic Device for Avoiding Cracking of Magnetic Core) a manufacturing method wherein the flexible material covers each inner surface of a magnetic core (magnetic core comprising of elements: plate-shaped base 4, pair of magnetic core end column 5, and column 6, p. 4, ll. 17-18);
the magnetic core comprising of a first and second component (p. 4, ll. 18, “a pair of magnetic core end column 5”); and
a surface area of the flexible material (first elastic insulating layer 7, p. 4, ll. 30) occupies at least one third of each inner surface of the first component and the second component (FIG. 2 depicts the elastic insulating layer 7 cover the entire inner surface of magnetic core end columns 5).
Sundstrom, in view of Wang, discloses a manufacturing method of a toroidal magnetic element comprising of disposing a flexible material, namely metal steel, on the inner surface of a magnetic core, then potting magnetic core halves in a thermal flexible material. Shao discloses a manufacturing method of a colloidal magnetic element comprising of providing an elastic insulating layer on the inner surface of the magnetic core end columns. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the method of providing insulating material on an inner surface of a magnetic core, taught by Shao, and apply it to the method of Sundstrom, in view of Wang, to avoid the magnetic core from undergoing high temperature heat expansion, causing large stresses to transfer which would eventually lead to possible cracking in the core (Shao, p. 4, ll. 38-40). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to utilize the insulating material from Shao’s disclosure as it is known to provides benefits such as reduced current losses and improved electrical/magnetic efficiency.
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729