DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 06/17/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1-20 have thereby been amended.
Claims 1-17 are being examined in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 07/12/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turney (US 3834372) in view of Doll (US 20200222683) in further view of Parham (US 4566480) in further view of Ingram (US 20130066260).
Regarding claim 1, Turney discloses an enteral connector having a syringe refill configuration and a feeding-flow configuration, the enteral connector comprising: a cylindrical body (Fig. 1: central body; col. 3, lines 2-4) that comprises a valve port (Fig. 2: 24 pressure port), a proximal port (Fig. 2: 22), a distal port (Fig. 2: 20), and a syringe port (Fig. 2: 18 syringe port), the proximal port is configured to interconnect with a bag tube or a line (Fig. 2: 22 interconnected with line 38 and bag 32), the distal port is configured to interconnect with a tube (Fig. 2: 20 interconnected with tube 40), the syringe port is configured to interconnect with a syringe (Fig. 2: 18 interconnected with syringe 26), an air valve (Fig. 1: 16) configured to allow ambient air to ingress into the cylindrical body through the one-way air valve, abating buildup of negative pressure within the cylindrical valve body (col. 2, lines 63-66); and a columnar plug interconnected with the cylindrical body and rotatable to a plurality of block positions (col. 2, lines 57-60; block positions depicted in Fig. 3), including at least a proximal port block position (Fig. 3: position 2 as depicted in the second row of table), a syringe port block position (Fig. 3: position 1 as depicted in the first row of table), and a distal port block position (Fig. 3: position 3 as depicted in the third row of table), the columnar plug having a plurality of flow holes (col. 3, lines 42-46), each of the plurality of flow holes being perpendicular to an outer circumference of the columnar plug and extending inward to interconnect with other of the plurality of flow holes proximate to a center of an interior of the columnar plug the plurality of flow holes being positioned on a circumference of the columnar plug (Fig. 3: all passageways through columnar plug perpendicular to circumference). However, Turney fails to explicitly disclose the air valve as being a one-way valve that is interconnected with the valve port, that the syringe plunger is removable from the syringe, and that in the proximal port block position, and that the plurality of flow holes are aligned with each of the syringe port, the distal port, and the valve port. Additionally, although Turney does not explicitly disclose the proximal port being interconnected with a feeding bag tube or the distal port being interconnected with an enteral tube, the recitations of these limitations are intended use limitations and as such are given no patentable weight, as the disclosed structures of the Turney connector ports have the structures required for connecting to standard medical tubing, and would be capable of being connected to enteral tubing and feeding bag tubing.
Doll teaches an analogous medical selectable connector that comprises a valve port (Fig. 6: valve port 24), and a one-way air valve (Fig. 12: 14 and 20; para. [0075], sentence 1) interconnected with the valve port and is configured to allow ambient air to ingress into the cylindrical body through the one-way air valve, abating buildup of negative pressure within the cylindrical body (para. [0075], sentence 1). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Turney connector by incorporating the singular valve port with the one-way air valve taught by Doll (Doll: port 24 comprising valve 14+20), such that port 24 and valve 16 of Turney are combined, and the Turney port 24 is replaced with the Doll port 24, in order to eliminate the need for a pressure generator, and simplify the device to have a singular valve port which allows for ambient air ingressing for pressure relief within the device (Doll: para. [0075], sentence 1). Upon this combination, it would have also been obvious to incorporate the “T”-shaped configuration of the channels through the columnar plug taught by Doll (Doll: “T”-shape formed by 15-17 seen in Fig. 19B), as the rearrangement and incorporation of the Doll one-way air valve into port 24 of Turney described above, instead of at the top of the device as Turney originally disclosed, would require a “T”-shaped columnar plug channel configuration in order to allow for the venting port to be accessed for pressure relief while two other ports are being connected. This aligns with the original disclosure of Turney in which the air vent of 16 was accessed while ports 20 and 24 are in communication (col. 4, lines 36-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also modified the Turney-Doll connector by incorporating the configuration of the channels through the columnar plug as taught by Doll (Fig. 19B) in order to allow for the venting and pressure relief to occur when any two of the fluid ports are in communication. It directly follows that upon this combination of features, in the proximal port block position, the enteral connector is in the syringe refill configuration, the syringe port, the distal port, and the valve port are open to the plurality of flow holes, the proximal port is not aligned with any of the plurality of flow holes and is blocked from fluid communication, and the plurality of flow holes physically define a liquid-delivery path extending from the syringe port to the distal port and a syringe-refill air-equalization path extending from the valve port to the syringe port (See annotated Fig. A below in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8); in the syringe port block position, the enteral connector is in the feeding-flow configuration, the proximal port, the distal port, and the valve port are open to the plurality of flow holes, the syringe port is not aligned with any of the plurality of flow holes and is blocked from fluid communication, and the plurality of flow holes physically define a feeding-flow path extending from the proximal port to the distal port (See annotated Fig. B below in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8); and in the distal port block position, the syringe port, the proximal port, and the valve port are open to the plurality of flow holes, the distal port is not aligned with any of the plurality of flow holes and is blocked from fluid communication, and the plurality of flow holes physically define a proximal-port refill path extending from the syringe port to the proximal port and a distal-port-block air-equalization path extending from the valve port to the syringe port (See annotated Fig. C below in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8). This combination of the four ports in a “+” configuration combined with the columnar plug whole connections in a “T” configuration is further supported as being an obvious combination in design structure, as Parham teaches an analogous medical selectable connector in a “+” shape having columnar selector passages in a “T” shape.
Doll also teaches that the proximal port is configured to interconnect with a suction line (Fig. 33: proximal port 8 connected to suction tube 9; para. [0071], sentence 3), and it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also incorporated this teaching by Doll into the Turney device in order to use a suction line in connection with the proximal port of Turney in order to more effectively generate fluid flow through the connector. However, the Turney-Doll connector fails still to teach that the syringe plunger is removable from the syringe.
Ingram teaches an analogous syringe used for medical, and specifically, enteral feeding uses, in which the syringe has a syringe plunger that is removable from the syringe (para. [0018], last sentence). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated this teaching by Ingram into the Turney-Doll device to ensure that the Turney-Doll syringe has a removable plunger, in order to allow for the plunger to be removed to allow for loading of the syringe while it is still connected, and allow for the vacuum to be eliminated at the syringe (para. [0018], last sentence).
The claimed limitation (italicized below) that wherein, in the syringe refill configuration, the distal port remains open to the liquid-delivery path, the proximal port is isolated from the liquid-delivery path and the syringe-refill air-equalization path (See annotated Fig. A below in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8), and the one-way air valve is oriented to admit ambient air through the valve port and into the syringe-refill air-equalization path responsive to negative pressure within the cylindrical body and the syringe caused by withdrawal of the syringe plunger while the syringe remains coupled to the syringe port, thereby allowing the syringe to remain connected to the syringe port while the syringe plunger is removed from the syringe for refilling the syringe is an intended use limitation. As such, it is given no patentable weight, as the Turney-Doll-Parham-Ingram combination described above possessed all the structures and configuration of those port and columnar passage structures required to perform as recited in this limitation when used in the manner claimed. Because claim 1 is an apparatus claim, Turney-Doll-Parham-Ingram must contain the same claimed structures, and therefore be capable of leaving the syringe attached, withdrawing the syringe plunger to create negative pressure in the valve port.
Annotated Turney Connector
Fig. A: Turney-Doll Combination: proximal port block position
Fig. B: Turney-Doll Combination: syringe port block position
Fig. C: Turney-Doll Combination: distal port block position
Regarding claim 4, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram teaches the enteral connector in accordance with claim 1, as described above, wherein, in the distal port block position (See annotated Fig. C above), the proximal-port refill path and the distal-port-block air-equalization path are simultaneously open to the syringe port while the distal port is isolated from each of the proximal-port refill path and the distal-port-block air-equalization path (See annotated Fig. C below in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8, all openings/paths being open in the “T” configuration).
Regarding claim 5, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram teaches the enteral connector in accordance with claim 1, as described above, wherein each of the valve port, the proximal port, the syringe port, and the distal port are positioned at 90-degree increments around the circumference of the cylindrical body (Turney: Figs. 1 and 2: ports 18, 20, 22 and 24 all 90-degrees apart from each other from the cylindrical body/center).
Claims 2, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turney (US 3834372) in view of Doll (US 20200222683) in further view of Parham (US 4566480) in further view of Ingram (US 20130066260) in further view of Ziv (US 7984730).
Regarding claim 2, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram teaches the enteral connector in accordance with claim 1, as described above, but fails to teach a removable valve port cover for sealing the port closed.
Ziv teaches an analogous medical selectable connector further comprising: a valve port cover that is removable (Fig. 1: cover 23 of port 16) and, when secured to the valve port in the feeding-flow configuration, externally seals the valve port closed, preventing air from ingressing into the cylindrical body (col. 6, lines 57-63) through the one-way air valve. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the removable cap taught by Ziv into the Turney-Doll-Ingram device in order to allow the venting air valve to be selectively sealed and thereby closed so that the user can control the pressure within the connector for different uses (Ziv: col. 6, lines 57-63). It directly follows that upon this combination, in the feeding-flow configuration taught by the Turney-Doll-Parham-Ingram combination (see annotated Fig. B above), the proximal port and distal port remain internally open to the feeding-flow path (See annotated Fig. B above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Ziv teaches the enteral connector in accordance with claim 2, as described above, wherein, in a suction configuration corresponding to the syringe port block position, at least one of the plurality of flow holes is aligned with each of the proximal port, the distal port, and the valve port, the syringe port is not aligned with any of the plurality of flow holes and is internally blocked from fluid communication, and the plurality of flow holes define the feeding-flow path extending between the proximal port and the distal port (See annotated Fig. B above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8); and wherein, in the suction configuration, the valve port cover externally seals the valve port to maintain negative pressure along the feeding-flow path when the proximal port is interconnected with the suction line (Ziv: col. 6, lines 57-63; Fig. 1: cover 23 of port 16).
Regarding claim 9, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram teaches the enteral connector in accordance with claim 1, as described above, but fails to teach a removable syringe port cover.
Ziv teaches an analogous medical selectable connector further comprising: a syringe port cover that is removable (Fig. 1: cover 23 of port 16) and, when secured to the syringe port, externally seals the syringe port closed (col. 6, lines 57-63). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the removable cap taught by Ziv into the Turney-Doll-Ingram device in order to allow the syringe port to be selectively sealed and thereby closed so that the port can be sealed from contaminants when the syringe is not attached, and the pressure within the connector can be further controlled when the syringe is not in use (Ziv: col. 6, lines 57-63). It directly follows that upon this combination, in the feeding-flow configuration taught by the Turney-Doll-Parham-Ingram combination (see annotated Fig. B above), the syringe port is internally blocked from the plurality of flow holes (See annotated Fig. B above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8).
Claims 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turney (US 3834372) in view of Doll (US 20200222683) in further view of Parham (US 4566480) in further view of Ingram (US 20130066260) in further view of Ziv (US 7984730) in further view of Gleason (US 6287265).
Regarding claim 10, Turney discloses an enteral connector comprising: a cylindrical body (Fig. 1: central body; col. 3, lines 2-4); a valve port interconnected on a circumference of the cylindrical body (Fig. 2: 24 pressure port); a proximal port is interconnected on the circumference of the cylindrical body (Fig. 2: 22), the proximal port configured to interconnect with a bag tube or a line (Fig. 2: 22 interconnected with line 38 and bag 32); a distal port is interconnected on the circumference of the cylindrical body (Fig. 2: 20), the distal port configured to interconnect with a tube (Fig. 2: 20 interconnected with tube 40); a syringe port is interconnected on the circumference of the cylindrical body (Fig. 2: 18), the syringe port configured to interconnect with a syringe (Fig. 2: 18 interconnected with syringe 26); and a columnar plug interconnected with the cylindrical body and is rotatable to a plurality of block positions (col. 2, lines 57-60; block positions depicted in Fig. 3), including a proximal port block position (Fig. 3: position 2 as depicted in the second row of table), a syringe port block position (Fig. 3: position 1 as depicted in the first row of table), and a distal port block position (Fig. 3: position 3 as depicted in the third row of table), the columnar plug having a plurality of flow holes (col. 3, lines 42-46), each of the plurality of flow holes being perpendicular to an outer circumference of the columnar plug and extending inward to interconnect with other of the plurality of flow holes proximate to a center of an interior of the columnar plug (Fig. 3: all passageways through columnar plug perpendicular to circumference), the plurality of flow holes being positioned on the circumference of the columnar plug such that when the columnar plug is rotated by a user, to each of the plurality of block positions, fluid communication of air or liquid is allowed to pass through at least one of the plurality of the flow holes between fewer than all of the following: the valve port, the proximal port, the distal port, and the syringe port (Fig. 3: no position interconnects all four of the ports). However, Turney fails to explicitly disclose the air valve as being a one-way valve that is interconnected with the valve port, that the syringe plunger is removable from the syringe, the removable valve port cover, and that in the proximal port block position, and that the plurality of flow holes are aligned with each of the syringe port, the distal port, and the valve port. Additionally, although Turney does not explicitly disclose the proximal port being interconnected with a feeding bag tube or the distal port being interconnected with an enteral tube, the recitations of these limitations are intended use limitations and as such are given no patentable weight, as the disclosed structures of the Turney connector ports have the structures required for connecting to standard medical tubing, and would be capable of being connected to enteral tubing and feeding bag tubing.
Doll teaches an analogous medical selectable connector that comprises a valve port (Fig. 6: valve port 24), and a one-way air valve (Fig. 12: 14 and 20; para. [0075], sentence 1) interconnects with the valve port and is configured to allow ambient air to ingress into the cylindrical body through the one-way air valve, abating buildup of negative pressure within the cylindrical valve body (para. [0075], sentence 1). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Turney connector by incorporating the singular valve port with the one-way air valve taught by Doll (Doll: port 24 comprising valve 14+20), such that port 24 and valve 16 of Turney are combined, and the Turney port 24 is replaced with the Doll port 24, in order to eliminate the need for a pressure generator, and simplify the device to have a singular valve port which allows for ambient air ingressing for pressure relief within the device (Doll: para. [0075], sentence 1). Upon this combination, it would have also been obvious to incorporate the “T”-shaped configuration of the channels through the columnar plug taught by Doll (Doll: “T”-shape formed by 15-17 seen in Fig. 19B), as the rearrangement and incorporation of the Doll one-way air valve into port 24 of Turney described above, instead of at the top of the device as Turney originally disclosed, would require a “T”-shaped columnar plug channel configuration in order to allow for the venting port to be accessed for pressure relief while two other ports are being connected. This aligns with the original disclosure of Turney in which the air vent of 16 was accessed while ports 20 and 24 are in communication (col. 4, lines 36-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also modified the Turney-Doll connector by incorporating the configuration of the channels through the columnar plug as taught by Doll (Fig. 19B) in order to allow for the venting and pressure relief to occur when any two of the fluid ports are in communication. It directly follows that upon this combination of features, in the proximal port block position, the enteral connector is in the syringe refill configuration, the syringe port, the distal port, and the valve port are open to the plurality of flow holes, the proximal port is not aligned with any of the plurality of flow holes and is blocked from fluid communication, and the plurality of flow holes physically define a liquid-delivery path extending from the syringe port to the distal port and a syringe-refill air-equalization path extending from the valve port to the syringe port (See annotated Fig. A above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8); in the syringe port block position, the enteral connector is in the feeding-flow configuration, the proximal port, the distal port, and the valve port are open to the plurality of flow holes, the syringe port is not aligned with any of the plurality of flow holes and is blocked from fluid communication, and the plurality of flow holes physically define a feeding-flow path extending from the proximal port to the distal port (See annotated Fig. B above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8); and in the distal port block position, the syringe port, the proximal port, and the valve port are open to the plurality of flow holes, the distal port is not aligned with any of the plurality of flow holes and is blocked from fluid communication, and the plurality of flow holes physically define a proximal-port refill path extending from the syringe port to the proximal port and a distal-port-block air-equalization path extending from the valve port to the syringe port (See annotated Fig. C above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8). This combination of the four ports in a “+” configuration combined with the columnar plug whole connections in a “T” configuration is further supported as being an obvious combination in design structure, as Parham teaches an analogous medical selectable connector in a “+” shape having columnar selector passages in a “T” shape.
Doll also teaches that the proximal port is configured to interconnect with a suction line (Fig. 33: proximal port 8 connected to suction tube 9; para. [0071], sentence 3), and it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also incorporated this teaching by Doll into the Turney device in order to use a suction line in connection with the proximal port of Turney in order to more effectively generate fluid flow through the connector. However, the Turney-Doll connector fails still to teach that the syringe plunger is removable from the syringe and the removable valve port cover.
Ingram teaches an analogous syringe used for medical, and specifically, enteral feeding uses, in which the syringe has a syringe plunger that is removable from the syringe (para. [0018], last sentence). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated this teaching by Ingram into the Turney-Doll device to ensure that the Turney-Doll syringe has a removable plunger, in order to allow for the plunger to be removed to allow for loading of the syringe while it is still connected, and allow for the vacuum to be eliminated at the syringe (para. [0018], last sentence). However, the Turney-Doll-Ingram connector fails still to teach the removable valve port cover.
The claimed limitation (italicized below) that wherein, in the syringe refill configuration, the distal port remains open to the liquid-delivery path, the proximal port is isolated from the liquid-delivery path and the syringe-refill air-equalization path (See annotated Fig. A below in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8), and the one-way air valve is oriented to admit ambient air through the valve port and into the syringe-refill air-equalization path responsive to negative pressure within the cylindrical body and the syringe caused by withdrawal of the syringe plunger while the syringe remains coupled to the syringe port, thereby allowing the syringe to remain connected to the syringe port while the syringe plunger is removed from the syringe for refilling the syringe is an intended use limitation. As such, it is given no patentable weight, as the Turney-Doll-Parham-Ingram combination described above possessed all the structures and configuration of those port and columnar passage structures required to perform as recited in this limitation when used in the manner claimed. Because claim 1 is an apparatus claim, Turney-Doll-Parham-Ingram must contain the same claimed structures, and therefore be capable of leaving the syringe attached, withdrawing the syringe plunger to create negative pressure in the valve port.
Ziv teaches an analogous medical selectable connector further comprising: a valve port cover is removable (Fig. 1: cover 23 of port 16) and, when secured, seals the valve port closed, preventing air from ingressing into the cylindrical body (col. 6, lines 57-63) through the one-way air valve. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the removable cap taught by Ziv into the Turney-Doll-Ingram device in order to allow the venting air valve to be selectively sealed and thereby closed so that the user can control the pressure within the connector for different uses (Ziv: col. 6, lines 57-63). However, Ziv in the combination fails to also teach a separate syringe port cover.
Gleason teaches an analogous medical selectable connector, further comprising a syringe port cover that is removable and, when secured, seals the syringe port closed (Figs. 4 and 6: cap 58 over syringe port 42C; col. 6, lines 38-40). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the above combination by also incorporating the syringe port cover taught by Gleason, in order to keep contaminants out of the syringe port when it is not in use and connected to the syringe (Gleason: col. 6, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 11, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Gleason in further view of Ziv teaches the enteral connector in accordance with claim 10, as described above, wherein each of the valve port, the proximal port, the syringe port, and the distal port are positioned at 90-degree increments around the circumference of the cylindrical body (Turney: Figs. 1 and 2: ports 18, 20, 22 and 24 all 90-degrees apart from each other from the cylindrical body/center).
Regarding claim 13, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Gleason in further view of Ziv teaches the enteral connector in accordance with claim 10, as described above, wherein, in a suction configuration corresponding to the syringe port block position, at least one of the plurality of flow holes is aligned with each of the proximal port, the distal port, and the valve port, the syringe port is not aligned with any of the plurality of flow holes and is internally blocked from fluid communication, and the plurality off low holes define the feeding-flow path extending between the proximal port and the distal port (See annotated Fig. B above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8); and wherein, in the suction configuration, the syringe port is externally sealed by the syringe port cover (Gleason: Figs. 4 and 6: cap 58 over syringe port 42C; col. 6, lines 38-40), the valve port is externally sealed by the valve port cover (Ziv: Fig. 1: cover 23 of port 16; col. 6, lines 57-63), and the feeding-flow path is configured as a suction path extending from the distal port to the proximal port (See annotated Fig. B above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Ziv in further view of Gleason teaches the enteral connector in accordance claim 10, as described above, wherein, in the distal port block position, the proximal-port refill path and the distal-port-block air-equalization path are simultaneously open to the syringe port while the distal port is isolated from each of the proximal-port refill path and the distal-port-block air-equalization path (See annotated Fig. C above in combination with passages through columnar plug, shown in Doll, Fig. 8).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turney (US 3834372) in view of Doll (US 20200222683) in further view of Parham (US 4566480) in further view of Ingram (US 20130066260) in further view of Ziv (US 7984730) in further view of Gleason (US 6287265) in further view of Ishii (US 20040236311).
Regarding claim 17, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Ziv teaches the enteral connector in accordance with claim 10, but fails to explicitly disclose the syringe port cover being tethered to the syringe port.
Ishii teaches an analogous medical selectable connector with sealing, removable caps on the ports, wherein the syringe port cover (Fig. 3: 95) is tethered to the cylindrical body proximate to the syringe port by a flexible strap (Fig. 3: tethered to cylindrical body at 110, proximal to port 20). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination by incorporating the syringe cap being tethered to the connector body, as taught by Ishii, in order to ensure the syringe cover is not lost or not switched with another cap.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turney (US 3834372) in view of Doll (US 20200222683) in further view of Parham (US 4566480) in further view of Ingram (US 20130066260) in further view of Huttner (US 10258543).
Regarding claim 6, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram teaches the improved enteral connector in accordance with claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the ports having ENFIT compatibility.
Huttner teaches an analogous connector and fluid delivery system wherein the connectors are ENFIT compatible (col. 3, lines 16-28). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fittings of the distal, proximal and syringe ports of the Turney-Doll-Ingram connector by incorporating the ENFIT compatible connector ends as taught by Huttner, in order to provide secure connections to any tubes used for enteral feeding (col. 3, lines 25-28). Upon this combination, it directly follows that the proximal port and syringe port comprise male ENFIT-compatible connectors (Turney: annotated figure above, the syringe port being a male connector; Doll: the oppositely extending proximal port also being a male connector), and the distal port comprises a female ENFIT-compatible connector (Turney: annotated figure above, the distal port being a female connector).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turney (US 3834372) in view of Doll (US 20200222683) in further view of Parham (US 4566480) in further view of Ingram (US 20130066260) in further view of Ziv (US 7984730) in further view of Huttner (US 10258543).
Regarding claim 12, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Ziv teaches the improved enteral connector in accordance with claim 10, as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the ports having ENFIT compatibility.
Huttner teaches an analogous connector and fluid delivery system wherein the connectors are ENFIT compatible (col. 3, lines 16-28). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fittings of the distal, proximal and syringe ports of the Turney-Doll-Ingram-Ziv connector by incorporating the ENFIT compatible connector ends as taught by Huttner, in order to provide secure connections to any tubes used for enteral feeding (col. 3, lines 25-28). Upon this combination, it directly follows that the proximal port and syringe port comprise male ENFIT-compatible connectors (Turney: annotated figure above, the syringe port being a male connector; Doll: the oppositely extending proximal port also being a male connector), and the distal port comprises a female ENFIT-compatible connector (Turney: annotated figure above, the distal port being a female connector).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turney (US 3834372) in view of Doll (US 20200222683) in further view of Parham (US 4566480) in further view of Ingram (US 20130066260) in further view of Liu (US 10004890).
Regarding claim 7, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram teaches the improved enteral connector in accordance with claim 1, as described above, but fails to teach a T-shaped handle with protruding indica.
Liu teaches an analogous medical selectable connector further comprising: a T-shaped handle coupled to the columnar plug (Fig. 1: 30), the T-shaped handle comprising a protrusion angularly aligned with a side of the columnar plug that lacks one of the plurality of flow holes (Fig. 1: three protrusions of 30). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle of the Turney-Doll-Ingram connector by incorporating the T-shape and indica taught by Liu, in order to more clearly indicate the connections and blockages of ports occurring when the columnar plug is turned between different positions. It directly follows that upon this combination, the off protrusion points toward whichever one of the valve port, the proximal port, the distal port, or the syringe port is blocked by the columnar plug.
Regarding claim 8, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Liu teaches the improved enteral connector in accordance with claim 7, as described above, wherein the T-shaped handle is integrally formed on the columnar plug (Turney: col. 2, lines 57-60) such that rotation of the T-shaped handle rotates the columnar plug between the proximal port block position, the syringe port block position, and the distal port block position (see annotated Figs. A-C above).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turney (US 3834372) in view of Doll (US 20200222683) in further view of Parham (US 4566480) in further view of Ingram (US 20130066260) in further view of Ziv (US 7984730) in further view of Gleason (US 6287265) in further view of Liu (US 10004890).
Regarding claim 15, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Ziv teaches the improved enteral connector in accordance with claim 10, as described above, but fails to teach a T-shaped handle with protruding indica.
Liu teaches an analogous medical selectable connector further comprising: a T-shaped handle (Fig. 1: 30) comprising an off protrusion angularly aligned with a side of the columnar plug that lacks one of the plurality of flow holes (Fig. 1: three protrusions of 30). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle of the Turney-Doll-Ingram-Ziv connector by incorporating the T-shape and indica taught by Liu, in order to more clearly indicate the connections and blockages of ports occurring when the columnar plug is turned between different positions. It directly follows that upon this combination, the off protrusion points toward the syringe port in the feeding-flow configuration while the syringe port is internally blocked from the plurality of flow holes and externally sealed by the syringe port cover.
Regarding claim 16, Turney in view of Doll in further view of Ingram in further view of Ziv in further view of Liu teaches the improved enteral connector in accordance with claim 15, as described above, wherein the T-shaped handle is integrally formed on the columnar plug (Turney: col. 2, lines 57-60) such that the rotation of the T-shaped handle rotates the columnar plug between the syringe refill configuration and the feeding-flow configuration (see annotated Figs. A-C above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026, regarding the prior art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejections above have been updated to address all newly added amendments to the claims. However, Applicant argues that the combination of Turney and Doll fails to teach the port block positions described in the amended claim limitations. As described and also depicted in the exemplary figures above, Examiner maintains that Turney in view of Doll teaches all claimed port connections/relationships, as they are structurally currently claimed. Although Applicant asserts several advantages and outcomes of these configurations in the arguments, the claims merely claim structures and structural relationships of the apparatus. Therefore, as described in the rejections above, any claimed benefits, outcomes, or steps performed with those structures do not hold patentable weight over the cited prior art. As they are currently written, the claims of the instant application fail to provide specific structures or structural relationships that would suggest that the currently cited prior art in their combination would be incapable of performing the claimed steps, benefits and outcomes of the instant invention.
For these reasons, claims 1-17 remain rejected as recited above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783