DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen et al. (US 9), hereafter referred to as Jensen.
Consider claim 1. Jensen teaches an article assembly-lifting adapter configured to couple with a vehicle lift (60) in order to engage, raise, and lower an article assembly, the article assembly-lifting adapter comprising: an elongated article assembly-engaging portion (left and right 28 and 32 in fig. 4) terminating into a first end (left side of fig. 4) and a second end (right side of fig. 4); and a lift-engaging portion comprising a first member (54 and 78 proximate first end) extending from the first end of the article assembly-engaging portion, and a second member (54 and 78 proximate second end) extending from the second end of the article assembly-engaging portion, wherein the first member and the second member are configured to detachably engage a vehicle lift (60, see fig. 8) such that the article assembly-engaging portion may raise and lower the article assembly in response to movement of the vehicle lift. Jensen’s article assembly-lifting adapter is capable of lifting a fuel unit. Please see MPEP 2115 regarding article worked upon by an apparatus.
Consider claim 2. Jensen teaches that each of the first and second members include a respective strap (92) defining a loop (94), wherein the respective strap is configured to engage the vehicle lift.
Consider claim 3. Jensen teaches that the loop (94) is configured to loop around a portion (72, see fig. 8) of the vehicle lift to thereby couple with the vehicle lift to thus engage, raise, and lower the article assembly with motion of the portion of the vehicle lift.
Consider claim 4. Jensen teaches that the first member is configured to selectively engage the first end of the article assembly-engaging portion, wherein the second member is configured to selectively engage the second end of the article assembly-engaging portion (interface of 72, 54, and 28 in fig. 8).
Consider claim 5. Jensen’s elongated article assembly-engaging portion is capable of alternately engaging either a fuel unit or a pallet of the fuel unit assembly. Please see MPEP 2115 regarding article worked upon by an apparatus.
Consider claim 6. Jensen’s elongated article assembly-engaging portion is capable of engaging a battery. Please see MPEP 2115 regarding article worked upon by an apparatus.
Consider claim 7. Jensen teaches that each of the first member and the second member of the lift-engaging portion includes a lift engagement structure (54 and 94, see fig. 8), wherein each of the lift engagement structures is configured to engage with a respective arm adapter (72) of the vehicle lift.
Consider claim 8. Jensen teaches that each of the first member and the second member of the lift-engaging portion further include a sloped transition (80, see fig. 8), wherein the respective sloped transition is configured to elevate the respective lift engagement structure (94) relative to the elongated article assembly-engaging portion (28).
Consider claim 9. Jensen teaches that the article assembly-lifting adapter includes a strap (92) configured to span the article assembly.
Consider claim 10. Jensen teaches that the first member includes a hook (94) configured to couple with the first end (outer surface of 54, see fig. 8) of the article assembly-engaging portion.
Consider claim 17. Jensen teaches an article lifting adapter configured to vertically support an article, the article lifting adapter comprising: an elongated article engaging portion (left and right 28 and 32 in fig. 4) terminating into a first end (left side of fig. 4) and a second end (right side of fig. 4); and a lift-engaging portion comprising a first member (54 and 78 proximate first end) extending from the first end of the article engaging portion, and a second member (54 and 78 proximate second end) extending from the second end of the article engaging portion; wherein the first member and the second member are configured to engage a vehicle lift (60, see fig. 8) such that the article engaging portion may raise and lower the article in response to movement of the vehicle lift. Jensen’s article assembly-lifting adapter is capable of lifting an electric vehicle battery. Please see MPEP 2115 regarding article worked upon by an apparatus.
Consider claim 18. Jensen teaches that each of the first member and the second member are integral to the elongated article engaging portion (see fig. 8).
Consider claim 19. Jensen teaches that the elongated article engaging portion including a first elongated article engaging portion (right assembly 24 in fig. 2), the article lifting adapter further comprising a second elongated article engaging portion (left assembly 24 in fig. 2), wherein each of the first and second elongated article engaging portions are configured to support a respective end of the article (10, see fig. 2).
Consider claim 20. Jensen teaches that each of the first and second elongated article engaging portions are configured to be separated from the other by a gap (gap between left and right assemblies 24), wherein the gap is sized to fit a support table (a support table of corresponding size).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various article lifters having multiple supports.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652