DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species 1 (Claims 1-4 and 9-20) without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsushita (US 20110037540 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Matsushita teaches that an electronic component comprising:
a first insulator layer (22, Fig. 1; para 0044-0070) including thereon a first conductor
pattern (22a) to define an inductor (i.e. elements 22a, via 23a and 21a formed the inductor) and a first electrode pattern (22c, Fig. 1) to define a capacitor; and
a second insulator layer (21, Fig. 1; para 0044-0070 ) including thereon a second conductor pattern (21a) to define the inductor and a second electrode pattern (21c) to define the capacitor; wherein
the first electrode pattern and the second electrode patter face each other across the second insulator layer (construed from Fig. 1) to form the capacitor, and at least a portion of the second conductor pattern along the first conductor pattern is electrically connected (see para 0048-0049) to the first conductor pattern.
Regarding Claim 3, 11, 15 and 19:
As applied to claim 1, 9, and 19, Matsushita teaches that wherein at least a portion of the second insulator layer includes a cavity (not shown; i.e. the hole or via for the penetration electrodes 23a that connect 21a and 22a in Fig. 1; see para 0048) immediately above the first conductor pattern, and the second electrode pattern is located in the cavity.
Regarding Claim 9:
As applied to claim 1, Matsushita teaches that a filter module (11, Fig. 3; para 0052-0054) comprising: an inductor (L1)or {a capacitor} connected to the electronic component.
Regarding Claim 13:
As applied to claim 1, Matsushita teaches that an electronic device (2, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 17:
As applied to claim 9, Matsushita teaches that the filter module comprising an electronic device (2, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10, 14 and 18 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over by Matsushita.
Regarding Claim 2, 10, 14 and 18:
As applied to claim 1, 9, 13 and 17, Matsushita teaches the first conductor pattern and the first electrode pattern, and the second conductor pattern and the second electrode pattern except the first conductor pattern and the first electrode pattern are made of a same material, and the second conductor pattern and the second electrode pattern are made of a same material.
Although it is not explicitly stated that the first conductor pattern and the first electrode pattern are made of a same material, and the second conductor pattern and the second electrode pattern are made of a same material, this appears to be the case since it is not taught that the first conductor pattern and the first electrode pattern are made of a different material, and the second conductor pattern and the second electrode pattern are made of a different material.
Alternatively, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first conductor pattern and the first electrode pattern are made of a same material, and the second conductor pattern and the second electrode pattern are made of a same material to simplify design, reduce manufacturing costs and provide a desired magnetic property.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4, 12, 16 and 20 recites, wherein the first conductor pattern has a loop shape or includes a portion of a loop and the second conductor pattern has a loop
shape or includes a portion of a loop, and an inner edge of the loop of the first conductor pattern is aligned with an inner edge of the loop of the second conductor pattern in plan view in a lamination direction of the first conductor pattern and the
second conductor pattern.
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837