DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim amendment filed 10/10/2025 has been entered. All pending claims have been carefully reconsidered in view of the claim amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments set forth in the Remarks filed 10/10/2025 have been carefully considered by the examiner. However, the examiner respectfully submits that the arguments are not convincing and the pending claims are not in condition for allowance.
Specifically, the applicant argues that the cited prior art to Corning does not disclose “a body” being disposed on the exterior of the cover, as recited by the amended claims of the present application. See the last paragraph of page 7- first paragraph of page 8 of the Remarks filed 10/10/2025. Nevertheless, the examiner respectfully submits that having such a body that extends exterior to the portion of the cover, is known in the art and therefore does not distinguish the claimed fiber optic cable closure of the present application from those of the prior art.
In order to properly address the added claim limitations of the present application, the ground of rejection has been changed in this office action. See below. Since the new ground of rejection was necessitated by the claim amendment, this office action is final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0116958 to Corning Optical Communications LLC (hereinafter, "Corning") in view of US Patent No. 9,927,592 B2 to CommScope Technologies LLC (hereinafter, “CommScope”).
Regarding claim 1, Corning discloses a fiber optic cable closure (a multiport for providing an optical connection comprising a shell and a connection port insert; Abstract; Fig. 3) comprising: a housing having a base and a cover (multiport 200 has a shell 210 (base) and a connection port insert 230 (cover); Figs. 3, 8; Para. [0083]), the cover including multiple ports (connection port insert 230 includes a plurality of optical connector openings 238; Fig. 9; Para. [0083]) each dimensioned to receive an associated drop cable (connector openings 238 may receive the connector 10 of an associated cable assembly 100; Figs. 3, 9; Para. [0089]); and a bulkhead assembly (connector ports 236; Figs. 3, 10; Para. [0083]) for joining associated connectors to associated optical fibers (connection ports 236 extend through the connection port insert 230 to the connector mating plane 230MP where connectors 10 are joined with the rear connectors 252 of the optical fibers 250; Figs. 8, 10; Para. [0102]), the bulkhead assembly including a body formed as part of the cover (each connector port 236 has a connection port passageway 233 passing through and formed as part of the connection port insert 230; Fig. 11; Para. [0083]).
However, Corning does not explicitly disclose that a portion of the body is disposed on an exterior of the cover, as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, having a portion of the body being extended to the exterior of the fiber optic cable closure cover is known in the art. Specifically, CommScope discloses such a feature. CommScope discloses a cable enclosure wherein the enclosure cover comprises a body formed as a part of the cover, where a portion of the body (58 in Fig. 2) is extended to the exterior of the fiber optic cable enclosure cover. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the advantage of having such a body since it would allow for a more stable support for fiber optic plugs / connectors during coupling, and prevent any lateral forces or tensions from affecting the fiber optic plug/ connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Corning to have a portion of the body being disposed on the exterior of the cover, in the manner claimed the present application.
Regarding Claim 2, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the closure of claim 1. Corning discloses further wherein an outer perimeter of the body of the bulkhead assembly is formed as part of the housing cover (connector port passageways 233 pass through and are formed as part of the connection port insert 230 with the port insert 230 forming the perimeter of the passageway 233; Fig. 11). As such Corning in view of CommScope also renders obvious the closure of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 3, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the closure of claim 2. Corning discloses further wherein the body is integrally molded to the housing cover (connector port passageways 233 pass through and are integrally formed as part of the connection port insert 230; Fig. 11). As such Corning in view of CommScope also renders obvious the closure of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 6, Corning discloses a method of forming a fiber optic cable closure (a multiport for providing an optical connection comprising a shell and a connection port insert; Abstract; Fig. 3) comprising: forming a body of the bulkhead assembly formed as part of a housing cover (connection port passageways 233 pass through and are formed as part of the connection port insert 230; Fig. 11; Para. [0083]), the cover including multiple ports (connection port insert 230 includes a plurality of optical connector openings 238; Fig. 9; Para. [0083]) each dimensioned to receive an associated drop cable (connector openings 238 may receive the connector 10 of an associated cable assembly 100; Figs. 3, 9; Para. [0089]); the bulkhead assembly (connector ports 236; Figs. 3, 10; Para. [0083]) configured for joining associated connectors to associated optical fibers (connection ports 236 extend through the connection port-insert 230 to the connector mating plane 230MP where connectors 10 are joined with the rear connectors 252 of the optical fibers 250; Figs. 8, 10; Para. [0102]), the bulkhead assembly including a body (each connector port 236 has a connection port passageway 233; Para. [0083]).
Although Corning does not explicitly disclose that a portion of the body is disposed on an exterior of the cover, such a feature is obvious for the same reasons already discussed with reference to claim 1. As such, the claimed limitations of claim 6 are obvious for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the method of claim 6. Corning discloses further wherein body forming step includes forming an outer perimeter of the body of the bulkhead assembly as part of the housing cover (connector port passageways 233 are formed through and as a part of the connection port insert 230 with the port insert 230 forming the perimeter of the passageway 233; Fig. 11). As such, Corning in view of CommScope also renders obvious the method of claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the method of claim 7. Corning discloses further wherein the body forming step includes integrally molding the body to the housing cover (connector port passageways 233 pass through and are integrally formed as part of the connection port insert 230; Fig. 11). As such Corning in view of CommScope also renders obvious the closure of claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the closure of claim 3. In addition, CommScope discloses the body being integrally molded to the housing cover as one piece (Figs. 1-3). As such Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the closure of claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the method of claim 8. In addition, CommScope discloses the body being integrally molded to the housing cover as one piece (Figs. 1-3). As such Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the method of claim 18.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9 and 10, 12-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corning in view of CommScope as applied to claims above, and in further view of US 2011/0013875 to Bran de Leon et al. (hereinafter, "Bran de Leon").
Regarding Claim 4, Corning in view of CommScope render obvious the closure of claim 1. Corning fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bulkhead assembly includes a shroud subassembly that forms an interface between associated optical fibers received through opposite ends thereof, a flange that receives a first end of the shroud subassembly, the flange being received in one end of the body, and a seal received over the flange for sealing between the flange and the body.
Bran de Leon is in the field of a fiber optic enclosure (Abstract) and teaches wherein the bulkhead assembly includes a shroud subassembly (split sleeve housing 238; Figs. 5, 6; Para. [0035]) that forms an interface between associated optical fibers received through opposite ends thereof (split sleeve housing 238 has a standard split sleeve 242 includes a first end 246 facing toward the inner port 232 and a second end 248 facing toward the outer port 236 for receiving the associated optical cables from the opposite sides; Fig. 6; Para. [0035]), a flange that receives a first end of the shroud subassembly (second piece 234 receives the first end of the split sleeve housing 238; Figs. 5, 6), the flange being received in one end of the body (the second piece 234 is received in one side of the first piece 230; Figs. 5, 6), and a seal received over the flange for sealing between the flange and the body (a ring seal 1A is received between the first piece 230 and second piece 234; see Analyst Modified Figure 1, hereinafter "AMF 1"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the bulkhead assembly of Corning to include the shroud, flange, and body connections as taught by Bran de Leon. The motivation being to provide a sealed interface for connecting the two respective fiber optic cables.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Corning in view of CommScope render obvious the closure of claim 4 as discussed above. Corning discloses further wherein an outer perimeter of the body of the bulkhead assembly is integrally molded to the outer cover so that separate seal member are eliminated between the body and cover (connector port passageways 233 pass through and are integrally formed as part of the connection port insert 230 so there is no need for a seal member between the passageway 233 and port insert 230; Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 9, Corning in view of CommScope render obvious the method of claim 6 as discussed above. Corning fails to explicitly disclose further comprising including a shroud subassembly that forms an interface between associated optical fibers received through opposite ends thereof, including a flange that receives a first end of the shroud subassembly, the flange being received in. one end of the body, and receiving a seal over the flange for sealing between the flange and the body.
Bran de Leon teaches further comprising including a shroud subassembly (split sleeve housing 238; Figs. 5, 6; Para. [0035]) that forms an interface between associated optical fibers received through opposite ends thereof (split sleeve housing 238 has a standard split sleeve 242 includes a first end 246 facing toward the inner port 232 and a second end 248 facing toward the outer port 236 for receiving the associated optical cables from the opposite sides; Fig. 6; Para. [0035]), including a flange that receives a first end of the shroud subassembly (second piece 234 receives the first end of the split sleeve housing 238; Figs. 5, 6), the flange being received in one end of the body (the second piece 234 is received in one side of the first piece 230; Figs. 5, 6), and receiving a seal over the flange for sealing between the flange and the body (a ring seal 1A is received between the first piece 230 and second piece 234; AMF 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the bulkhead assembly of Corning to include the shroud, flange, arid body connections as taught by Bran de Leon. The motivation being to provide a sealed interface for connecting the two respective fiber optic cables.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Corning in view of CommScope render obvious the method of claim 9 as discussed above. Corning discloses further wherein the body forming step includes integrally molding an outer perimeter of the body of the bulkhead assembly to the housing cover (connector port passageways 233 pass through and are integrally formed as part of the connection port insert 230 so there is no need for a seal member between the passageway 233 and port insert 230; Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 12-14, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the closure of claim 3. In addition, the claimed subject matters of claims 12-14 are rendered obvious in further view of Bran de Leon as already discussed above regarding claim 4. As such, the claimed subject matters of claims 12-14 are also rendered obvious for the same reasons discussed above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, Corning in view of CommScope and Bran de Leon renders obvious the closure of claim 13 as already discussed above. However, Corning does not explicitly disclose the use of tether, dust cap, and a seal member as claimed. However, Brand de Leon discloses a tether (264 in Fig. 5) fit over the flange; a dust cap (258 in Fig. 5); a seal member (Fig. 5) disposed between the tether and the dust cap to provide a seal therebetween (Fig. 5). One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such features as advantageous and desirable since these features provide effective means for ruggedizing the fiber optic enclosure from environmental factors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Corning and CommScope to have a tether that fit over the flange; a dust cap fit within the flange, and a seal member, in the manner claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 16, Corning in view of CommScope render obvious the closure of claim 3. In addition, the claimed subject matters of claim 16 are rendered obvious in further view of Bran de Leon as already discussed above regarding claim 4. As such, the claimed subject matters of claim 16are also rendered obvious for the same reasons discussed above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, Corning in view of CommScope and Bran de Leon render obvious the closure of claim 16. In addition, CommScope discloses the body being integrally molded to the housing cover as one piece (Figs. 1-3). As such, Corning in view of CommScope and Bran de Leon also render obvious the closure of claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the method of claim 8. In addition, the claimed subject matters of claim 19 are rendered obvious in further view of Bran de Leon as already discussed above regarding claim 4. As such, the claimed subject matters of claims 19 are also rendered obvious for the same reasons discussed above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, Corning in view of CommScope renders obvious the method of claim 6. However, Corning does not explicitly disclose the use of tether, dust cap, and a seal member as claimed. However, Brand de Leon discloses a tether (264 in Fig. 5) fit over the flange; a dust cap (258 in Fig. 5); a seal member (Fig. 5) disposed between the tether and the dust cap to provide a seal therebetween (Fig. 5). As such, Brand de Leon also necessarily renders obvious using such elements, including a method step of inserting a shroud, placing a seal, inserting a flange, fitting a tether, and inserting a dust cap, in the manner claimed in the present application. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such features as advantageous and desirable since these features provide effective means for ruggedizing the fiber optic enclosure from environmental factors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Corning and CommScope to have a tether that fit over the flange; a dust cap fit within the flange, and a seal member, in the manner claimed in the present application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNG H PAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874