DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
There are two claim 10. Misnumbered claims 10-20 have been renumbered 11-21, respectively.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 13, line 3, “place” should be changed to plane. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of Figures 6A-6B in the reply filed on 28 January 2026 is acknowledged. The applicant stated that claims 1, 12-15, and 21 (as renumbered) read on the elected species, withdrew claims 2-9 and 16-20 (as renumbered), and cancelled claim 10. Claim 11 (as renumbered) has been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) since it depends from withdrawn claim 9 which is drawn to the nonelected species of Figure 4. Similarly, claim 13 (as renumbered) has been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) since it depends from withdrawn claim 9 which is drawn to the nonelected species of Figure 4. As such, claims 1, 12, 14-15, and 21 are being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the window passing through an entirety of the handle in the same place/plane as the plane of the paddle face must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Figure 6A shows the window [420] passing through an entirety of the handle [130e] in the same plane as a plane of the head, but not in the same plane as a plane of the paddle face [170e] which is slightly offset from the plane of the window [420]. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a ball dwell control mechanism in claims 1, 12, 14-15, and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, line 5, “a softer more flexible paddle” is indefinite. It is unclear what the paddle is softer and more flexible in comparison to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, 14-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 105617629 A using machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses composite molded sports paddle (Figure 1), comprising: a head [A] (see annotated Figures 1-2 below for all reference letters) with a paddle face [B or 2]; a handle [C]; and a transition area [D] between the head [A] and the handle [C], wherein the transition area [D] includes a ball dwell control mechanism [3] (pages 1-2 and annotated Figures 1-2 below). Regarding the recitation in the preamble that the paddle is “molded,” product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses the composite molded sports paddle of claim 1, wherein the paddle (Figure 1) includes opposite facing sides [E, F] and the ball dwell control mechanism [3] includes at least one of a slot and a window [3] on at least one of the opposite facing sides [E, F] of the paddle (Figure 1) (page 2 and annotated Figures 1-2 above; wherein the finger hole [3] extends from one side [E] of the paddle to the other [F]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the composite molded sports paddle of claim 1, wherein the paddle face [B] includes a plane [G] and the ball dwell control mechanism [3] includes a window [3] that passes through an entirety of the handle [C] in the same place as the plane [G] of the paddle face [B] (page 2 and annotated Figures 1-2 above).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses a method of using the composite molded sports paddle of claim 1, comprising hitting a ball with the paddle face [2] and using the ball dwell control mechanism [3] to manage dwell time upon ball and paddle impact (pages 1-2 and annotated Figures 1-2 above; wherein the finger hole [3] influences the type of swing and thus the dwell time, specifically see page 1: “the forehand is fast-attacking,” “the forehand can be short,” “a backhand fast-breaking shape,” “back-handed ball-cut”).
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the paddle (Figure 1) includes opposite facing sides [E, F] and the ball dwell control mechanism [3] includes at least one of a slot and a window [3] on at least one of the opposite facing sides [E, F] of the paddle (Figure 1), and using the ball dwell control mechanism [3] includes using at least one of the slot and the window [3] on at least one of the opposite facing sides [E, F] of the paddle to mechanically aid in creating a softer more flexible paddle (page 2: “more flexible”) on ball impact (page 2 and annotated Figures 1-2 above; wherein the finger hole [3] extends from one side [E] of the paddle to the other [F]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Timmermann (US 2,328,366), Schnur (US 2,205,578), Caines (US 2,230,177), Adams (US 2,082,772), Cottey et al. (US 2010/0048333 A1), Kueng (US 2014/0183821 A1), Brents et al. (US 2022/0032141 A1), Barnes et al. (US 2023/0191215 A1), Marshall (US 2022/0088449 A1), Bonfigli (US 2016/0339312 A1), Bird et al. (US D1,029,158 S), Bonfigli (US D952,780 S), Kowalke et al. (US D836,736 S), Zhang (CN 208541766 U), Shen (CN 2684889 Y), Zhong (CN 202497672 U), Scholid (CN 2693306 Y), and Zhao (WO 2019/210809 A1) which all disclose similar sports paddles having slots or windows in the paddle throat or handle.
/AUDREY B. WALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711