DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is responsive to the Reply filed on 28 January 2026 (“Reply”). As directed in the Reply:
no claims have been amended;
no claims have been and/or remain cancelled; and
no claims have been added.
Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application, with Claims 5-7, 9, and 13-15 being withdrawn from consideration (see below).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species and B and III in the Reply is acknowledged.
During a telephone conversation between the Examiner and Joseph Hetz, Msgr. Hetz corrected a typographical error in the Reply and confirmed that the election was, in part, of Species “B,” Claim 8.
Claims 5-7, 9, and 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the Reply. Claim 5 is withdrawn because the elected “cap” species has no motor, and Claims 13-15 are withdrawn because they relate to the non-elected valve species.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in Claim 3, at line 2, “distal” should be proximal; and
in Claim 20, line 1, “further comprising” should be “wherein the” for the claim to make sense grammatically.
While the foregoing issues with the claims do not, in the current view of the Examiner, rise to a level necessitating a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), if Applicant asserts that the accused terms and phrases of the claim(s) are entirely unobjectionable and the Examiner disagrees, the objection may be changed to a rejection under sec. 112(b) because Applicant’s and the Examiner’s interpretations of the claims may therefore be at issue, and the scope of the claim would thus be unclear. Appropriate correction is thus required.
Claim Interpretation
The pending claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. The words of the claims are given their plain the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the patent application, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The only exceptions to giving the words in a claim their ordinary and customary meaning in the art are: (1) when the applicant acts as their own lexicographer; and (2) when the applicant disavows or disclaims the full scope of a claim term in the specification. See M.P.E.P. § 2111.
Claim 1 recites, inter alia, “perform an air-purging operation” as a limitation on the program instructions executed by the one or more processors; however, the claim does not recite that there is air in the claimed tubing. Thus, the “air-purging operating by supply a fluid” has been treated as “supplying a fluid” which could purge air from the tubing, were air in the tubing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As discussed below concerning sec. 112(b), Claim 1 attributes to the processor alone the function of “supplying a fluid.” Based on the underlying disclosure, the disclosed processors do not, in fact, supply a fluid; instead, they create a signal which is interpreted by other hardware, such as a pump, which in turn supplies fluid downstream. The Examiner is otherwise unaware of any processors per se which are capable of “supplying a fluid,” and the disclosure is silent about such a processor. Accordingly, there is not sufficient evidence in the record that the inventors had possession of the entirety of the subject matter of Claim 1, particularly including a processor per se which ‘supplies a fluid.’
Claims 2-4, 8, and 10 depend from Claim 1, inherit but do not cure the foregoing deficiencies, and therefore are also rejected.
Claims 1-4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 5-9, require that one or more processors are caused, by the program instructions, to “perform an air-purging operation by supplying a fluid” (emphasis added), and therefore that the processor per se supplies fluid; however, the underlying specification, which informs the reader’s understanding of the claims, indicates that the processor instead communications with other hardware which, in turn, supplies fluid. Accordingly, the scope of the term “processor” is indefinite, because it is not clear if it covers only a traditional chip-based (or the like) processor, or extends to include additional hardware which actually are capable of “supplying a fluid,” such as a syringe. The later clause “causing pressure in the patient line” does not suffer from this lack of clarity, because processors are known to broadly “cause” physical manipulations to occur, inasmuch as a processor can generate an electronic signal which begins a process which ends in, e.g., pressure being changed in a patient line. The claim clause “perform an air-purging operation by supplying a fluid at a first pressure into a tubing connected to the injection system” has been interpreted to mean “perform an operation which, when the processor is in control communication with a fluid pump in fluid communication with a tubing connected to the injection system, causes air present in the tubing to be purged;” “the tubing” is considered to be within the scope of the claim because the original text of the claim positively states that the tubing is “connected” to the system and is not conditional.
In Claim 1, last two lines, “the patient line” lacks a positive antecedent basis, making it unclear if it is within the scope of the claim or not; it has been treated as not being within the scope of the claim.
Claims 2-4, 8, and 10 depend from Claim 1, inherit but do not cure the foregoing deficiencies, and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0054735, by Bakken (“Bakken”).
Bakken describes a system as claimed by Applicant, as follows.
Claim 1: An injection system comprising:
one or more processors (24);
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (248; see [0035]); and
program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to ([0035], memory stores instructions to operate the system):
perform an air-purging operation by supplying a fluid at a first pressure into a tubing (109, 126) connected to the injection system (see treatments above; 502, injection of fluid during lower diastolic phase); and
perform a pre-stressing operation on the tubing by causing pressure in the patient line to increase to a second pressure greater than the first pressure (512 injection of fluid during higher systolic phase; because the tubing is formed of a thermoelastic material, it will expand at least a de minimus amount and thus be pre-stressed before the next injection).
Claim 2: (The injection system of Claim 1,) wherein the tubing comprises a patient line (126) and/or a day set.
Claim 3: (The injection system of Claim 1,) wherein the tubing comprises a patient line (126), and the injector system further comprises a port (Fig. 1, cylindrical connector under ref. no. 109) configured to receive a distal [sic: proximal] end of the patient line (actually does receive that proximal end).
Claim 4: (The injection system of Claim 3, wherein the port is sized to receive a protective cap on the distal end of the patient line (cap per se not claimed; the disclosed port is fully capable of receiving a cap).
Claim 10: (The injection system of Claim 1,) wherein the program instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to:
perform the air-purging operation and/or the pre-stressing operation automatically, thereby allowing a user to attend to another task during the air-purging operation and/or the pre- stressing operation (Fig. 5, [0019]-[0020] no user intervention required as part of the algorithm).
Claim 19: An injection system comprising:
means for priming a tubing used with the injection system (peristaltic pump 112 operated during diastole); and
means for deforming the tubing by expanding its inner diameter before the tubing is used by the injection system to inject a fluid in a patient (peristaltic pump 112 operated during systole).
Claim 20: (The injection system of Claim 19,) further comprising:
means for deforming comprises means for restricting a flow out of the tubing (valve 124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakken as applied to Claim 1, above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0064036, by Eberhard (“Eberhard”).
Bakken describes a device substantially as claimed by Applicant; see above. It does not, however, describe that its injector system is syringe based.
Eberhard relates to medical fluid infusion injection systems and is therefore from an art which is the same as, or very closely analogous to, those of Applicant’s claims. Eberhard teaches that syringe pumps (10) can be used instead of peristaltic pumps (such as Bakken’s) to deliver fluids to a patient with “a high delivery accuracy even with large delivery volumes” ([0007]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to make Bakken’s injector system syringe based, because Eberhard teaches doing so in a closely related medical fluid infusion system, to deliver fluids to a patient with a high delivery accuracy even with large delivery volumes.
Claims 11, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakken in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0231363, by Uber et al. (“Uber ‘363”).
Bakken describes a device substantially as claimed by Applicant, as follows.
Claim 11: A method for pre-stressing a patient line, the method comprising:
performing in an injection system prior to injecting fluid in a patient:
applying fluid under pressure (502, injection of fluid during lower diastolic phase);
increasing pressure in a patient line to expand an inner diameter of the patient line (512, injection of fluid during higher systolic phase); and
after the inner diameter of the patient line has been expanded, injecting fluid through the patient line and into the patient (Fig. 5, looping back to step 504, and another infusion step 512).
Bakken does not, however, describe that its injector system applies fluid under pressure to purge air from a patient line.
Uber ‘363 relates to medical fluid infusion injection systems and is therefore from an art which is the same as, or very closely analogous to, those of Applicant’s claims. Uber ‘363 teaches that, before using an injector system (Fig. 2; a system for delivering fluid to a patient, Abstract), it is necessary to prime or purge the fluid lines, that is, to push fluid through the lines to remove air (para [0089]), in order to remove the air from the line so that it is not infused into the patient’s vasculature, which could form air emboli with catastrophic effects on the patient.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to make Bakken’s injector system so that it applies fluid under pressure to purge air from a patient line, because Uber ‘363 teaches doing so in a closely related medical fluid infusion system, to avoid infusing air into the patient vasculature.
Claim 12: (The method of Claim 11,) further comprising:
restricting flow out of a distal end of the patient line to increase the pressure in the patient line (restricting at valve 124; the valve restricts flow through the entire line, and thus out of its distal end, and also thus increases pressure in the line upstream of the valve).
Claim 16: (The method of Claim 12,) wherein a cap on the distal end of the patient line restricts flow out of the distal end of the patient line (valve 124, when closed, constitutes a cap).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakken in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2020/0121860, by Uber et al. (“Uber ‘860”).
Bakken describes a device substantially as claimed by Applicant; see above. It does not, however, disclose the pressures to which it raises the fluid in any part of its patient line, and thus does not disclose that those pressures are 300 psi or 400 psi.
Uber ‘860 relates to medical fluid infusion injection systems and is therefore from an art which is the same as, or very closely analogous to, those of Applicant’s claims. Uber ‘860 teaches that contrast agent injections pressures can be 1200 psi ([0112]), and thus on the way from zero to 1200 psi, pass through 300 psi and 400 psi, in the ordinary course of making a contrast agent injection.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to perform Bakken’s injection method so that the pressure in the patient line is at least 300 psi, or at least 400 psi, because Uber ‘860 teaches that contrast agent injections are performed at 1200 psi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2004/0093008 describes prestretching a portion of catheter prior to use.
The balance of the documents cited with this Office Action relate generally to infusion control systems and recognition in the prior art of the problem of infusion tubing expansion under pressure.
/ADAM J. CERMAK/
Assistant Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783