DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 & 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poltaretskyi et al. (U.S. Publication Number 2019/0380792) in view of CN113855231A.
Referring to claim 1, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses comprising: an apparatus for supporting at least one artificial model of the joint in at least one joint orientation position (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A), and at least one artificial model of the joint, releasably mounted to the apparatus, the apparatus configured for pivotal and rotatable movement of the artificial model within the at least one joint orientation position (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A). Poltarestskyi does not disclose a base, a manipulator arm mounted to the base; at least one artificial model of the joint releasably mounted to the apparatus manipulator arm, and the apparatus manipulator arm configured for pivotal and rotatable movement of the artificial model of the joint within the at least one joint orientation position and to provide loading conditions on the artificial model to mimic primary traction, secondary traction, flexion or extension, abduction or adduction, or internal or external rotation of the artificial model. However, CN113855231A teaches a base (1), a manipulator arm mounted to the base (Images 1, 2 & 4); at least one artificial model of the joint releasably mounted to the apparatus manipulator arm (images 2 and 4), and the apparatus manipulator arm configured for pivotal and rotatable movement of the artificial model of the joint within the at least one joint orientation position (abstract) and to provide loading conditions on the artificial model to mimic primary traction, secondary traction, flexion or extension, abduction or adduction, or internal or external rotation of the artificial model. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a base, a manipulator arm mounted to the base; at least one artificial model of the joint releasably mounted to the apparatus manipulator arm, and the apparatus manipulator arm configured for pivotal and rotatable movement of the artificial model of the joint within the at least one joint orientation position and to provide loading conditions on the artificial model to mimic primary traction, secondary traction, flexion or extension, abduction or adduction, or internal or external rotation of the artificial model, as disclosed by CN113855231A, incorporated into Poltarestskyi in order to have an orthopaedic hip arthroscopy surgery simulation device.
Referring to claim 3, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the base further comprises: a base plate, a pedestal, and at least one T-bar connector for receiving and securing the manipulator arm (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 4, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the T-bar connector comprises at least two attachment posts for receiving and securing the manipulator arm in the at least one joint orientation position (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 5, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the manipulator arm further comprises at least one telescoping boom assembly (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 6, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the artificial model is a human joint (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 7, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the human joint is a shoulder joint (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 8, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the at least one joint orientation position comprises at least a beach chair position or a lateral decubitus position (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 10, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses comprising: a base, and a manipulator arm mounted to the base, the manipulator arm configured to rotatably and pivotally receive the at least one artificial model of the joint (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 11, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the base further comprises: a base plate, a pedestal, and at least one T-bar connector for receiving and securing the manipulator arm (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 12, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the T-bar connector comprises at least two attachment posts for receiving and securing the manipulator arm (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 13, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the manipulator arm may comprise: a sleeve for releasably mounting the manipulator arm to the base, and a boom assembly (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 14, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the boom assembly comprises a spring-biased piston assembly (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 15, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses comprising: at least one connector for releasably connecting the model to the apparatus in at least one surgical position (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 16, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the joint is a human joint (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 17, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the human joint is a shoulder joint (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 18, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the artificial model comprises one or more layers of artificial skin, fat, bones, muscles, tendons, ligaments, cartilage, or connecting soft tissue (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 19, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the model comprises at least a scapula bone and a humerus bone, and one of the at least one connectors connect the scapula bone to the apparatus and another one of the at least one connectors connect the humerus bone to the apparatus (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Referring to claim 20, Poltaretskyi et al. discloses wherein the model further comprises at least one of a rotator interval, a joint capsule, a musculotendinous junction, a tight or loose joint, cartilage, a labrum, a biceps tendon, or bones of different hardnesses (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered. The applicant states that he has amended claim 1 in an attempt to further clarify the structural and functional relationship between the claimed apparatus and the artificial (physical model). As this is a system claim, the applicant has added some structural elements but has added the functional elements which are the intended use or functional relationship.
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715