DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B (Figs. 9-14) in the reply filed on June 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Janna et al. (US 2024/0261009; “Janna”).
Claim 21, Janna discloses an orthopedic screw (Fig. 2B) having a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2B; axis running lengthwise through the screw), comprising: a head portion (140) defining a proximal end (140) and having a first outer diameter (diameter of the head), a tip portion (110) defining a cutting edge (112) and a distal end (110), a body (120) extending between the proximal end and the distal end along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2B) and defining a shaft (120) having a second outer diameter (diameter of the shaft) that is less than the first outer diameter (Fig. 2B), and a neck portion (130) defining a taper (Fig. 2B; paragraph [0040]) extending between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter (Fig. 2B; paragraph [0040]) and having an outer surface (Fig. 2B; where 130 points) that defines first and second cutting flutes (Fig. 2B; 170; paragraph [0041]) that cooperatively define a cutting surface, a cutting relief, and a material removal channel (Fig. 2B; paragraph [0041]); wherein the proximal end defines a proximal opening (Fig. 2C; 142) creating a cavity (142), the head portion defining a cavity (Fig. 2C; where 142 points) bounded by a circumferential wall (wall that 142 points towards) and a transverse wall (Fig. 2C; the lower transverse shoulder and wall just below the circumferential wall and above what looks like internal threads).
Claim 22, Janna discloses the orthopedic screw of claim 21, wherein the head portion defines a continuous circumferential flange (Fig. 2A; flange just proximal where 146 and 148 point) that forms the proximal end (Fig. 2A).
Claim 23, Janna discloses the orthopedic screw of claim 21, wherein the proximal end has a third outer diameter (Fig. 2A; diameter measured near where 148 points) that is different from the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter (Fig. 2A); and wherein the third outer diameter is less than the first outer diameter and greater than the second outer diameter (Fig. 2A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janna et al. (US 2024/0261009; “Janna”), in view of Wapner et al. (US 2019/0321087; “Wapner”).
Claim 31, Janna discloses an orthopedic screw (Fig. 2B) having a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2B; axis running lengthwise through the screw), comprising: a head portion (140) defining a proximal end (140) and having a first outer diameter (diameter of the head), a tip portion (110) defining a cutting edge (112) and a distal end (110), a body (120) extending between the proximal end and the distal end along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2B) and defining a shaft (120) having a second outer diameter (diameter of the shaft) that is less than the first outer diameter (Fig. 2B), and a neck portion (130) defining a taper (Fig. 2B; paragraph [0040]) extending between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter (Fig. 2B; paragraph [0040]) and having an outer surface (Fig. 2B; where 130 points) that defines first and second cutting flutes (Fig. 2B; 170; paragraph [0041]) that cooperatively define a cutting surface, a cutting relief, and a material removal channel (Fig. 2B; paragraph [0041]); wherein the proximal end defines a proximal opening (Fig. 2C; 142) creating a cavity (142) the head portion defining a cavity (Fig. 2C; where 142 points) bounded by a circumferential wall (wall that 142 points towards) and a transverse wall (Fig. 2C; the lower transverse shoulder and wall just below the circumferential wall and above what looks like internal threads).
However, Janna does not disclose the screw having an inner core member and an outer body member as required by the claim.
Wapner teaches an orthopedic screw (Fig. 1) comprising a metal inner core member defining the tip portion and the circumferential wall; and a polymeric outer body member disposed circumferentially around the inner core member and comprising the body (paragraph [0053]; Applicant has directly copied this paragraph into their application, see paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the screw of Janna, to have the inner core and outer body, as taught by Wapner, because this combination of materials provides desirable characteristics and a favorable balance between manufacturability and strength considerations. In these embodiments, the outer body member can be made of any material suitable for use in medical devices intended for orthopedic use, including use as a long-term implant (paragraph [0053]).
Claim 32, Janna in view of Wapner disclose the orthopedic screw of claim 31, Janna discloses wherein the head portion defines a continuous circumferential flange (Fig. 2A; flange just proximal where 146 and 148 point) that forms the proximal end (Fig. 2A).
Claim 33, Janna in view of Wapner disclose the orthopedic screw of claim 32, Janna discloses wherein the proximal end has a third outer diameter (Fig. 2A; diameter measured near where 148 points) that is different from the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter (Fig. 2A); and wherein the third outer diameter is less than the first outer diameter and greater than the second outer diameter (Fig. 2A).
Claim 34, Janna in view of Wapner disclose the orthopedic screw of claim 33, Wapner teaches wherein the metal inner core member comprises a Titanium alloy (paragraph [0053]).
Claim 35, Janna in view of Wapner disclose the orthopedic screw of claim 34, Wapner teaches wherein the polymeric outer body member comprises a carbon fiber reinforced polymer (paragraph [0053]).
Claim 36, Janna in view of Wapner disclose the orthopedic screw of claim 35, Wapner teaches wherein the polymeric outer body member comprises carbon fiber reinforced polyether ether ketone (paragraph [0053]).
Claim 37, Janna discloses an orthopedic screw (Fig. 2A) having a proximal end (140), a distal end (110), and a longitudinal axis (axis of the screw) extending between the proximal end and the distal end (Fig. 2A), the orthopedic screw comprising: a head (140) portion having a first outer diameter (diameter measured near where 148 points); a body (120) extending between the proximal end and the distal end along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2A) and defining a shaft (120) having a second outer diameter (diameter measured near where 160 points) that is less than the first outer diameter (Fig. 2A); and a neck portion (130) defining a taper (Fig. 2A; paragraph [0040]) extending between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter (Fig. 2A; paragraph [0040]) and having an outer surface (Fig. 2B; surface that 130 points towards) that defines first and second cutting flutes (Fig. 2B; 170; paragraph [0041]) that cooperatively define a cutting surface, a cutting relief, and a material removal channel (Fig. 2B; paragraph [0041]).
However, Janna does not disclose the screw having an inner core member and an outer body member as required by the claim.
Wapner teaches an orthopedic screw (Fig. 1) comprising a metal inner core member extending along the longitudinal axis and defining the proximal end and the distal end and a polymeric outer body member disposed circumferentially around the inner core member (paragraph [0053]; Applicant has directly copied this paragraph into their application, see paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the screw of Janna, to have the inner core and outer body, as taught by Wapner, because this combination of materials provides desirable characteristics and a favorable balance between manufacturability and strength considerations. In these embodiments, the outer body member can be made of any material suitable for use in medical devices intended for orthopedic use, including use as a long-term implant (paragraph [0053]).
Claim 38, Janna in view of Wapner disclose the orthopedic screw of claim 37, Janna discloses wherein the proximal end has a third outer diameter (Fig. 2A; diameter measured near where 148 points) that is different from the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter (Fig. 2A); and wherein the third outer diameter is less than the first outer diameter and greater than the second outer diameter (Fig. 2A).
Claim 39, Janna in view of Wapner disclose the orthopedic screw of claim 38, Wapner teaches wherein the metal inner core member comprises a Titanium alloy (paragraph [0053]).
Claim 40, Janna in view of Wapner disclose the orthopedic screw of claim 39, Wapner teaches wherein the polymeric outer body member comprises a carbon fiber reinforced polymer (paragraph [0053]).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that Janna fails to disclose “the head portion having a neck portion with a taper…and a material removal channel, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As pointed out in the previous rejection and the current rejection above, the flute 170 in the tapered neck region 130 teaches all the limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775