DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leeman et al. (US-20150355428-A1).
With respect to claim 19, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose a bracket for an optical network terminal, comprising a central wall (see the annotation in figure 12 below) comprising a front surface and a rear surface (figure 12); an outer wall (see the annotation in figure 12 below); the central wall and the outer wall defining a holding region configured to receive and hold an optical network terminal (40, 70, 90, figures 11, 13) (see [0103]-[0105]); the rear surface of the central wall comprising a fiber cable spool (207) configured to position a fiber cable (40, 90) ([0104]); and a port (224)passing through the central wall (figure 13), the port configured to pass the fiber cable (90) from the fiber cable spool (207) to the optical network terminal (see [0104] and [0105]).
[AltContent: arrow] Outer wall
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow] Rear surface Rounded positioner
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow] Central wall Front surface
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
9. Claims 1-7 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Leeman et al. (as cited above) in view of Coan et al. (US 2014/0219622 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose a bracket for an optical network terminal, comprising a central wall (see the annotation in figure 12 above); an outer wall (see the annotation in figure 12 above); the central wall and the outer wall defining a holding region configured to receive and hold an optical network terminal on a front side of the bracket (40, 70, 90, figures 11, 13) (see [0103]-[0105]) and a port (224), the port configured to pass the fiber cable (90) to the optical network terminal (see [0104] and [0105]).
Leeman et al. do not explicitly disclose a first fiber cable spool on a rear side of the bracket, the first fiber cable spool configured to position a fiber cable; a second fiber cable spool on the rear side of the bracket, the second fiber cable spool configured to position the fiber cable.
However, Coan et al. (figure 9) teach an optical device including a first fiber cable spool (354) on a rear side of the bracket (figure 9), the first fiber cable spool configured to position a fiber cable ([0067] and [0068]); a second fiber cable spool (354) on the rear side of the bracket (figure 9), the second fiber cable spool configured to position the fiber cable ([0067] and [0068]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Leeman et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Coan) for the purpose of providing cable management structures to align and optically couple together the connectorized ends of the subscriber cables with the connectorized ends of the service cables ([0067] and [0068]).
With respect to claim 2, Leeman et al. disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein the bracket provides cable management features that do not exceed bend tolerance of the fiber cable ([0094]).
With respect to claim 3, Leeman et al. disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein the bracket is configured to be mounted or fastened to a wall or other vertically orientated structure in a vertical orientation ([0087]).
With respect to claim 4, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose the bracket for an optical network, further comprising a cover (71), the cover configured to engage with the bracket (30, 102), the cover configured to cover ports (224) on the optical network terminal for power, ethernet, and the fiber cable (90).
With respect to claim 5, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose the bracket for an optical network, further comprising a protective cover (71), the protective cover configured to engage the front side of the bracket to cover the port (224) and a portion of the fiber cable (90).
With respect to claim 6, Leeman et al. (figures 2, 10-14) disclose the bracket for an optical network, further comprising a sliding cover (pivotally cover 104), the sliding cover configured to slidably engage with the bracket and to cover the protective cover (71) (figure 2 and [0092]).
With respect to claim 7, Leeman et al. disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein the outer wall includes a first fastening clip and a second fastening clip configured to hold the optical network terminal (the optical splitter body 71 also defines a connection interface 75 that mounts the splitter body 71 to the base 121 of the tray 120. For example, the connection interface 75 may couple to a mounting interface 126 (e.g., latches, snaps, dove tail, etc.) on the tray 120) ([0096]).
With respect to claims 9-11, Leeman et al. substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except the first and second fiber cable spools include walls with cylindrical outer surfaces, the fiber cable or a pigtail of the fiber cable wraps against or proximate one or both of the cylindrical outer surfaces and the cylindrical outer surfaces are shaped and sized such that a bend tolerance of the fiber cable is not exceeded.
However, Coan et al. teach an optical device including the first and second fiber cable spools (354) include walls with cylindrical outer surfaces (figures 1-3), the fiber cable or a pigtail of the fiber cable wraps against or proximate one or both of the cylindrical outer surfaces ([0046]) and the cylindrical outer surfaces are shaped and sized such that a bend tolerance of the fiber cable is not exceeded ([0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Leeman et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Coan) for the purpose of providing cable management structures to align and optically couple together the connectorized ends of the subscriber cables with the connectorized ends of the service cables ([0067] and [0068]).
With respect to claim 12, Leeman et al. (figures 34) disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein a mounting slot (131) is generally centered in the first fiber cable spool (134)
Leeman et al. do not explicitly disclose a second mounting slot is generally centered in the second fiber cable spool.
However, a second mounting slot being generally centered in the second fiber cable spool are considered to be obvious to provide higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Leeman et al. to include the second mounting slot generally centered in the second fiber cable spool for the purpose of obtaining higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. It is also noted that it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With respect to claim 13, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein a rear surface of the bracket includes a rounded positioner (figure 12) that directs the fiber cable to the port in the bracket (figures 12-13).
With respect to claim 14, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein the rounded positioner extends from the rear surface (figures 12-13), and the rounded positioner includes an inner rounded positioner (figures 12-13) that forms a curved channel to position the fiber cable (92) as the fiber cable approaches the port ([0103], [0105]).
With respect to claim 15, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein the bracket receives the fiber cable (40, 90), and a pigtail of the fiber cable comprising a SC/AOC connector is spliced to the fiber cable ([0105]).
With respect to claim 16, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein the bracket includes a holder (209), which holds a heat shrink glass tube for splicing the fiber cable and a pigtail of the fiber cable ([0104]).
With respect to claim 17, Leeman et al. substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except outer surfaces of the first fiber cable spool and the second fiber cable spool are sized and shaped to have a bend radius ratio of approximately 10% to approximately 35%.
However, outer surfaces of the first fiber cable spool and the second fiber cable spool being sized and shaped to have a bend radius ratio of approximately 10% to approximately 35% are considered to be obvious to obtaining higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Leeman et al. to include the above features for the purpose of obtaining higher efficiency of optical signal transmission, and it also has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and it is noted that the applicant does not disclose criticality in the ranges claimed. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP § 2144.05).
With respect to claim 18, Leeman et al. (figures 10-14) disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein the optical network terminal (40, 70, 90) is positioned in the holding region (figures 11 and 13 and [0103] and [0105]).
10. Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Leeman et al. (as cited above) in view of Marcouiller et al. (US-20190041597-A1).
With respect to claim 20, Leeman et al. (figures 2, 7 and 10-14) disclose a bracket for an optical network terminal, comprising a central wall (see the annotation in figure 12 above); an outer wall (see the annotation in figure 12 above); the central wall and the outer wall defining a holding region configured to receive and hold an optical network terminal (40, 70, 90, figures 11, 13) (see [0103]-[0105]); a port (224) passing through the central wall (figure 13), the port configured to pass the fiber cable (90) from the fiber cable spool (207) to a front side of the bracket (figures 10-11); a protective cover (71), the protective cover configured to engage the front side of the bracket to cover the port (224) and a portion of the fiber cable (90) (figure 11); and a sliding cover (pivotally cover 104), the sliding cover configured to slidably engage with the bracket and to cover the protective cover (see figure 2).
Leeman et al. do not explicitly disclose a fiber cable spool positioned on a rear side of the bracket, the fiber cable spool configured to position a fiber cable.
However, Marcouiller et al. (figure 19) teach an optical device including a fiber cable spool (410) positioned on a rear side of the bracket (56), the fiber cable spool (410) configured to position a fiber cable (30, figures 18-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Leeman et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Marcouiller) for the purpose of managing the slack length of cable at the storage bracket ([0138]).
With respect to claim 21, Leeman et al. (figures 2, 7 and 10-14) disclose a bracket for an optical network terminal, comprising a central wall (see the annotation in figure 12 above); an outer wall (see the annotation in figure 12 above); the central wall and the outer wall defining a holding region configured to receive and hold an optical network terminal (40, 70, 90, figures 11, 13) (see [0103]-[0105]); a port (224) passing through the bracket, the port configured to pass the pigtail of fiber cable (90) to a front side of the bracket; a protective cover (71), the protective cover configured to engage the front side of the bracket to cover the port (224) and a portion of the fiber cable (90) (figure 11); and a cover (104), the cover configured to engage with the bracket (30, 102) and to cover the protective cover (71).
Leeman et al. do not explicitly disclose a fiber cable spool positioned on a rear side of the bracket, the fiber cable spool configured to position a fiber cable and a pigtail of fiber cable.
However, Marcouiller et al. (figure 19) teach an optical device including a fiber cable spool (410) positioned on a rear side of the bracket (56), the fiber cable spool (410) configured to position a fiber cable and a pigtail of fiber cable (30, figures 18-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Leeman et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Marcouiller) for the purpose of managing the slack length of cable at the storage bracket ([0138]).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose the bracket for an optical network, wherein the first fastening clip extends from a left wall portion of the outer wall, and the second fastening clip extends from a right wall portion of the outer wall, the first fastening clip and the second fastening clip further include tabs configured to hold against a front surface of the optical network terminal as recited in claim 1.
Claims 2-20 depend from claim 1.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Geens et al. (US 11892696 B2) disclose a sealed closure having modular components. Smith et al. (US 9632273 B2) disclose a fiber optic drop terminal assembly. Kowalczyk et al. (US 8189984 B2) disclose a fiber optic enclosure assembly.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874