Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP 9372425B2 see abstract and cols. 4-6 in view of USP 10221302 see abstract, col. 2 Summary and col. 3, col. 5 lines 33- col. 6 line 14.
USP 9372425B2 discloses a process for preparing filled polymeric solid surface materials comprising by dry-blending filler particles with functional particles in a high -energy mixing process and incorporating the modified filler into a resin composition which is molded into a cured solid article. See Abstract and cols. 4-6. The reference further shows that the filler is present in particle form and may have particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 500 microns in col. 5 lines 15-16.
USP 9372425B2 does not expressly disclose classifying ground particles by defined mesh size ranges.
USP 10221302 discloses solid surface compositions wherein inorganic filler particles having controlled particle size distributions defined by mesh screening including defined D50 and D90 ranges and major dimension limits. The reference further teaches that control of particle size distribution through screening improves uniformity and processing characteristics of solid surface materials. Note col. 2 Summary, col. 3, col. 5 lines 33 - col. 6 line 14.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of USP 9372425B2 to include controlling and classifying particles into defined size fractions as taught by USP 10221302 in order to obtain a composition having a controlled particle size distribution
improved properties and surface finish and mechanical performance since both references are directed to solid surface materials comprising resin and particulate filler.
With regard to claim 8, USP 10221302 discloses solid surface compositions wherein inorganic filler particles having controlled particle size distributions defined by mesh screening including defined D50 and D90 ranges and major dimension limits. The reference further teaches that control of particle size distribution through screening improves uniformity and processing characteristics of solid surface materials. Note col. 2 Summary, col. 3, col. 5 lines 33- col. 6 line 14. Adjusting the relative proportions of resin and filler within known workable ranges constitutes routine optimization.
With regard to claim 9, USP 9372425B2 discloses a process for preparing filled polymeric solid surface materials comprising by dry-blending filler particles with functional particles in a high-energy mixing process and incorporating the modified filler into a resin composition which is molded into a cured solid article. Abstract and cols. 4-6.the reference further shows that the filler is present in particle form and may have particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 500 microns in col. 5 lines 15 and 16.
USP 10221302 discloses solid surface compositions wherein inorganic filler particles having controlled particle size distributions defined by mesh screening including defined D50 and D90 ranges and major dimension limits. The reference further teaches that control of particle size distribution through screening improves uniformity and processing characteristics of solid surface materials. Note col. 2 Summary and col. 3, col. 5 lines 33- col. 6 line 14.
Selection of specific mesh sizes within disclosed particle size ranges represents routine selection of known size fractions for predictable results.
With regard to claim 10, USP 9372425B2 discloses a process for preparing filled polymeric solid surface materials comprising by dry-blending filler particles with functional particles in a high-energy mixing process and incorporating the modified filler into a resin composition which is molded into a cured solid article. Abstract and cols. 4-6.the reference further shows that the filler is present in particle form and may have particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 500 microns in col. 5 lines 15 and 16.
USP 10221302 discloses solid surface compositions wherein inorganic filler particles having controlled particle size distributions defined by mesh screening including defined D50 and D90 ranges and major dimension limits. The reference further teaches that control of particle size distribution through screening improves uniformity and processing characteristics of solid surface materials. Note col. 2 Summary and col. 3, col. 5 lines 33- col. 6 line 14.
Limiting the total particle content to an upper limit within the known range of highly filled solid surface compositions represents routine balancing of filler loading and moldability and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 11, selecting a resin content represents routine adjustment of the resin to filler ratio within known solid surface compositions to balance processability and cured properties which constitutes routine optimization.
With regard to claim 13, section of a particular scree size within known particle size ranges constitutes routine selection of known size fractions for predictable results.
With regard to claim 14, recites alumina trihydrate as the inorganic filler. Both references disclose alumina trihydrate as a suitable and preferred inorganic filler. USP 9372425B2 see col. 1 line 26 and USP 10221302 see col. 3 lines 60-61.
With regard to claim 15, the cited reference teach curing molded resin compositions and application of heat and pressure during molding is conventional in the process and manufacturing of solid surface materials. USP 9372425B2 see claim 1 and USP 10221302 see col. 6 lines 5-6.
With regard to claim 16, use of vibration and vacuum during molding to remove trapped air is well known in the art and is routine optimization.
Claim 17 recites a solid surface material or article made by the method of claim 7. Claim 17 is a product-by -process claim and thus the patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, not on the method of making it.
USP 10221302 discloses solid surface compositions wherein inorganic filler particles having controlled particle size distributions defined by mesh screening including defined D50 and D90 ranges and major dimension limits. The reference further teaches that control of particle size distribution through screening improves uniformity and processing characteristics. Note col. 2 Summary, and col. 3, col. 5 lines 33- col. 6 line 14. The reference further teaches cured solid surface articles formed from these compositions.
Claim 17 does not recite structural limitations that distinguish the claimed solid surface material from the solid surface material taught by USP 10221302.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Obviousness-type Double Patenting
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. USP 10221302.
USP 10221302 claims solid surface materials comprising unsaturated polyester resin and inorganic filler particles distributed through the materials.
As a future response to the rejection above, applicants are advised to not withhold a response, such as, a terminal disclaimer (TD), to the pending ODP rejection. It is noted that the filing of a TD cannot be held in abeyance since that filing “is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims” as set forth in MPEP 804 (I) (B) (1) quoted below:
“As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.”
Allowable Subject Matter over Prior Art
The following is an Examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant(s) claims 1-6 are directed to a composition for forming a solid surface article as disclosed in independent claim 1. Such has neither been anticipated by nor made obvious from the prior art. the prior art of record including USP 9371425B2 and USP 10221302B2, discloses solid source materials comprising polymer resin and inorganic filler particle s and teaches particle size distributions and compositional ranges. However, the references do not teach or suggest defining compositional limits using the claimed mathematical expressions that establish functional relationships between the recited variables. The cited art discloses fixed ranges and particle size parameters but does not disclose or suggest the specific equation-based conditions recited in claims 1 and 12. The disclosures do not show that the mathematical relationships were known or would have been obvious to derive from the teachings of the prior art.
than the payment of the Issue Fee and, to avoid processing delays, should
preferably accompany the Issue Fee. Such submissions should be clearly
labeled "Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance."
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765