DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cavity (claims 9 and 11), the functional layer (claims 10 and 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a plurality (I)” should read “a plurality (i)” as defined in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, 10-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuda et al. (US20200266796, hereinafter Matsuda).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda discloses a surface acoustic wave filter (Fig. 10) package comprising a tapered interdigital transducer structure (Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8).
Regarding claim 2, the tapered interdigital transducer structure is formed on a piezoelectric layer (10).
Regarding claim 3, the tapered interdigital transducer structure has a taper angle a with respect to a normal to a surface of the piezoelectric layer.
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda discloses a layer (14) covering the idt electrode (12) and having a thickness t3 of 10-20nm. (paragraph [0066])
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Matsuda discloses a substrate, the functional layer and the cavity in Fig. 9.
Regarding claims 11-13, Matsuda discloses method of manufacturing (paragraph [105]).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Matsuda discloses forming a cover layer and having a thickness of 10-20nm. (paragraph [0066])
Regarding claim 20, Matsuda discloses a mobile device comprising a multiplexer including a surface acoustic wave filter package, the surface acoustic wave filter package having a tapered interdigital transducer structure. (paragraph [0064, 118])
Claims 1-4, 7, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura et al. (US20090121584, hereinafter Nishimura).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura discloses a surface acoustic wave filter (12) package comprising a tapered interdigital transducer structure (Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 2, the tapered interdigital transducer structure is formed on a piezoelectric layer (10).
Regarding claim 3, the tapered interdigital transducer structure has a taper angle a with respect to a normal to a surface of the piezoelectric layer.
Regarding claim 4, b1 is about 58° (paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 7, the tapered interdigital transducer structure is formed from a plurality of layers (12, 13), one or more layers i of the plurality of layers having a taper angle ai with respect to a normal to the surface upon which said layer is formed, at least two taper angles ai of different layers being different. See Fig. 5 and 6.
Regarding claims 11-14 and 17, the method of manufacturing is inherent in the disclosure of Nishimura, as disclosed above for the device claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references disclose acoustic wave devices comprising idt having sloped side surfaces.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837