This is in response to Application filed 08/20/25. Claims 1 – 24 has been examined and is pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by AMUNDSEN et al. US 20220342657 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 18, AMUNDSEN anticipates a bootloader system/method/ non-transitory computer-readable media comprising:
a volatile memory [0044. See volatile memory];
a first non-volatile memory configured to store a first bootloader [0044, see first stage bootloader];
a second non-volatile memory configured to store a second bootloader [0044, see second stage bootloader]; and
a microprocessor configured to: control, responsive to executing the first bootloader, the volatile memory to receive an updated second bootloader and provide the updated second bootloader to the second non-volatile memory, and control the second non-volatile memory to update the second bootloader with the updated second bootloader [0043 – 0045. See processor as well as memory and first and second stage bootloaders].
Regarding claim 2, the bootloader system of claim 1, wherein the volatile memory is random-access memory [0044, show RAM].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the bootloader system of claim 1, wherein the first non-volatile memory and the second non-volatile memory are each flash memory [0044, shows non-volatile and volatile memory].
Regarding claim 4, the bootloader system of claim 1, wherein the microprocessor includes the volatile memory and the first non-volatile memory [0044].
Regarding claim 5, the bootloader system of claim 1, wherein the second non-volatile memory is external to the microprocessor [0043 – 0045].
Regarding claim 6, the bootloader system of claim 1, wherein the microprocessor is further configured to copy, responsive to executing the first bootloader, the second bootloader from the second non-volatile memory to the volatile memory [0039, see copy replacement].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the bootloader system of claim 1, wherein the microprocessor is further configured to write, responsive to executing the second bootloader in the volatile memory, the updated second bootloader to the second non-volatile memory [0038 – 0044, see related text previous disclosed in previously recited sections].
Regarding claims 8 and 20, the bootloader system of claim 7, wherein the microprocessor is further configured to replace, responsive to executing the second bootloader in the volatile memory and responsive to writing the updated second bootloader to the second non-volatile memory, the second bootloader with the updated second bootloader [0038 – 0044, shows first and second bootloader as well as copying/replacing and updating].
Regarding claims 9,16 and 22, the bootloader system of claim 8, wherein the microprocessor is further configured to write, responsive to replacing the second bootloader with the updated second bootloader, a validity signature associated with the updated second bootloader to the second non- volatile memory [0031, see updating and also signature].
Regarding claims 10, 17 and 23, the bootloader system of claim 8, wherein the microprocessor is further configured to invalidate, prior to replacing the second bootloader with the updated second bootloader, a validity signature associated with the second bootloader [0031].
Regarding claims 11 and 24, the bootloader system of claim 1, wherein the second non-volatile memory is configured to store an application, and wherein the microprocessor is configured to execute the application while the second bootloader is being updated [0038 – 0044].
Regarding claim 15, the method of claim 14, further comprising replacing, responsive to executing the second bootloader in the volatile memory and responsive to writing the updated second bootloader to the second non-volatile memory, the second bootloader with the updated second bootloader [0038 – 0044, shows first and second bootloader as well as copying/replacing and updating].
Regarding claim 19, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 18, the computer-implemented method further comprising copying, responsive to executing the first bootloader, the second bootloader from the second non-volatile memory to the volatile memory [0043 – 0045].
Regarding claim 21, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 20, the computer-implemented method further comprising replacing, responsive to executing the second bootloader in the volatile memory and responsive to writing the updated second bootloader to the second non-volatile memory, the second bootloader with the updated second bootloader [0038 – 0044, shows first and second bootloader as well as copying/replacing and updating].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ziecik et al. 20230342476 A1 discloses a first and second boat loader system as well as updating and having volatile and non-volatile memory.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2 of Applicant’s argument, Applicant argues, Amundsen fails to disclose “..a microprocessor configured to control. . . volatile memory to receive an updated second bootloader and provide the updated second bootloader to the second non-volatile memory,”
Examiner disagrees. In paragraph [0034], prior art discloses that “… [0034] The memory may be non-volatile memory, such as flash. The microcontroller may also comprise volatile memory, such as RAM and/or one or more registers…”.
Prior art also discloses in the summary section [0008],
“…first-stage bootloader region, a first second-stage bootloader region, a second second-stage bootloader region, and an application region for storing an application;
[0010] a first-stage bootloader is stored in the first-stage bootloader region; [0011] an active second-stage bootloader is stored in an active one of the first and second second-stage bootloader regions…”
In pargagraph [ 0017], its disclosed that,
“…method of updating a bootloader on a microcontroller, wherein: [0018] the microcontroller comprises a processor and a memory; [0019] the memory comprises a first-stage bootloader region, a first second-stage bootloader region, …”
Again going back to [0034], Prior art states memory can be volatile or non-volatile memory.
Applicants plain language of claims calls for, “ a first non-volatile memory configured to store a first bootloader; a second non-volatile memory configured to store a second bootloader..” Applicants plain language of claims doesn’t preclude or exclude the teachings as presented by prior art regarding the bootloaders and use of the volatile and non-volatile memory as booth are utilizing by the prior art to teach the instant claimed invention.
Correspondence Information
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/CHUCK O KENDALL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192