DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, the reply filed on 12/10/2025
is acknowledged. However, the Applicant has amended the claims 12/10/25 and withdrawn claim 13-15.
Thus the status of the claims:
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn by Applicant.
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination on the merits.
Though moot at this point, since the claims have been withdrawn by Applicant, the traversal is on the ground(s) that searching for all the invention groups is not a burden. This is not found persuasive because as indicated in the previous office action, the inventions of Group I-II are two distinct inventions for the reason of the record. They have different electronic resources and search queries, and searing for one subject matter will not necessarily lead to another. Applicant is reminded of the extensive literature search in biotechnology which is not co-extensive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 1 (and claims dependent thereon) are directed to a composition comprising natural products. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Effective January 7, 2019, subject matter eligibility determinations under 35 U.S.C. § 101 follow the procedure explained in the Federal Register notice titled 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No.4, 50-57), which is found at: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01-07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf. Applicants are kindly asked to review this guidance as well as MPEP 2106.
The statutory categories of invention under 35 U.S.C. 101 are processes, machines, manufactures, and compositions of matter. However, certain members of these categories constitute judicial exceptions, i.e., the courts have determined that these entities are not patentable subject matter. These judicial exceptions include abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena. The Office released guidance on December 16, 2014 for the examination of claims reciting natural products under 35 U.S.C. 101 in light of the recent Supreme Court decisions in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc. (569 U.S. ___, 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972 (2013)) and Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories (566 U.S. ___, 132 S. Ct. 1289, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012)), Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303 (1980)) and Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co. - 333 U.S. 127 (1948)). (inter alia). See eg. MPEP 2106.04(b)
The Supreme Court has explained that the judicial exceptions reflect the Court’s view that abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena are "the basic tools of scientific and technological work", and are thus excluded from patentability because "monopolization of those tools through the grant of a patent might tend to impede innovation more than it would tend to promote it." Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980 (quoting Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2116, 106 USPQ2d at 1978 and Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012)). The Supreme Court’s concern that drives this "exclusionary principle" is pre-emption. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980. The Court has held that a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, laws of nature, or natural phenomena; i.e., one may not patent every "substantial practical application" of an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, even if the judicial exception is narrow.
While preemption is the concern underlying the judicial exceptions, it is not a standalone test for determining eligibility. Rapid Litig. Mgmt. v. CellzDirect, Inc., 827 F.3d 1042, 1052, 119 USPQ2d 1370, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Instead, questions of preemption are inherent in and resolved by the two-part framework from Alice Corp. and Mayo (the Alice/Mayo test referred to by the Office as Steps 2A and 2B). It is necessary to evaluate eligibility using the Alice/Mayo test, because while a preemptive claim may be ineligible, the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate that a claim is eligible.
Products of Nature: When a law of nature or natural phenomenon is claimed as a physical product, the courts have often referred to the exception as a "product of nature". Products of nature are considered to be an exception because they tie up the use of naturally occurring things, but they have been labeled as both laws of nature and natural phenomena. See Myriad 133 S. Ct. at 2116-17, 106 USPQ2d at 1979 (claims to isolated DNA held ineligible because they "claim naturally occurring phenomena" and are "squarely within the law of nature exception"); Funk Bros. Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 130, 76 USPQ 280, 281 (1948) (claims to bacterial mixtures held ineligible as "manifestations of laws of nature" and "phenomena of nature"). Step 2A of the Office’s eligibility analysis uses the terms "law of nature" and "natural phenomenon" as inclusive of "products of nature".
It is important to keep in mind that product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. Instead, the key to the eligibility of all non-naturally occurring products is whether they possess markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart.
When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A. Nature-based products, as used herein, include both eligible and ineligible products and merely refer to the types of products subject to the markedly different characteristics analysis used to identify product of nature exceptions.
The Markedly Different Characteristics Analysis
The markedly different characteristics analysis is part of Step 2A, because the courts use this analysis to identify product of nature exceptions. If the claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics, then the claim does not recite a product of nature exception and is eligible. If the claim includes a nature-based product that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, then the claim is directed to a "product of nature" exception (Step 2A: YES), and requires further analysis in Step 2B to determine whether any additional elements in the claim add significantly more to the exception.
Nature-based Product Claim Analysis
Where the claim is to a nature-based product by itself, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the entire product.
Where the claim is to a nature-based product produced by combining multiple components, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the resultant nature-based combination, rather than its component parts. Where the claim is to a nature-based product in combination with non-nature based elements, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied only to the nature-based product limitation. For a product-by-process claims, the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart.
The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties, and are evaluated based on what is recited in the claim on a case-by-case basis. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does not exhibit markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is a product of nature exception. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does have markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is not a product of nature exception.
Because the markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, the first step in the analysis is to select the appropriate counterpart(s) to the nature-based product.
When there are multiple counterparts to the nature-based product, the comparison should be made to the closest naturally occurring counterpart. When the nature-based product is a combination produced from multiple components, the closest counterpart may be the individual nature-based components of the combination. Because there is no counterpart mixture in nature, the closest counterparts to the claimed mixture are the individual components of the mixture, i.e., each naturally occurring species by itself. See, e.g., Funk Bros., 333 U.S. at 130, 76 USPQ at 281 (comparing claimed mixture of bacterial species to each species as it occurs in nature).
Markedly changed characteristics can include structural, functional, chemical changes. In order to show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2111, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Thus, in order to be markedly different, applicant must have caused the claimed product to possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.
If there is no change in any characteristic, the claimed product lacks markedly different characteristics, and is a product of nature exception.
The claims are directed to a composition comprising nature-based components (i.e. an extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea ,Tilia and/or Cydonia), which is not markedly different from its closest naturally-occurring counterpart because there is no indication that their combination or preparation has caused the nature-based product to have any characteristics that are markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring product and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Step 1: Determine if the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. YES, the claims are directed to a composition of matter, which is a statutory category within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Step 2A: PRONG ONE: Evaluate whether the claim recites a Judicial Exception
(e.g., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). YES, the claims are product claims reciting something that appears to be a nature-based product (i.e. an extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea ,Tilia and/or Cydonia) which is not markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring counterpart (i.e., the individual nature-based products) because there is no indication that extraction has caused the components of an extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea that comprise the claimed compositions to have any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring components in plant of the gender Olea.
Note: with respect to extracts of natural products such as plants, the closest naturally-occurring counterpart is always the same compounds found in the extract, present in the non-isolated form in the source plant material. Extracts that are made simply by separating the extracted components from the non-extracted components, is a partitioning process that absent any specific chemical modification, merely separates the compounds leaving their activities unchanged.
Ingredients recited in the claims are natural products that would occur naturally; thus, the claims involve the use of judicial exceptions. There is no indication in the record of any markedly different characteristics (either structural or functional) of the composition as broadly claimed. For example, there is no evidence of record of a structural difference between the extract(s) in the claimed composition and that of their nature-based counterparts. Consequently, the claimed compositions are structurally the same as their closest naturally- occurring counterparts.
Nor is there any difference in functional characteristics. To show a marked difference, the characteristic(s) must be changed as compared it closest natural-occurring counterpart. For example, and assertion of changed functionality must be accompanied with evidence of a comparison of the claimed composition with its closest naturally-occurring counterpart and should apply to the full scope of the claim. Furthermore, inherent or innate characteristics of the naturally occurring counterpart cannot show a marked difference. Likewise, differences in the characteristics that came about or were produced independently of any effort or influence by Applicant cannot show a marked difference.
The recitation of specific amounts of the ingredients does not affect this analysis because it is well known and routine in the art to mix specific amounts of active ingredients with additional ingredients. Therefore, the claim is not meaningfully limited and does not amount to significantly more than each product of nature by itself. Finally, the claimed mixture is like the novel bacterial mixture of Funk Brothers, which was held ineligible because each species of bacteria in the mixture (like each component in the instantly claimed mixture) continued to have “the same effect it always had”, i.e., it lacked markedly different characteristics. Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 131 (1948), discussed in Myriad Genetics, 133 S. Ct. at 2117. While not discussed in the opinion, it is noted that several of the claims held ineligible in Funk Brothers recited specific amounts of the bacterial species in the mixture, e.g., claims 6, 7 and 13. Funk Brothers, 333 U.S. at 128 n.1.
Thus, there is no evidence of record to indicate that the claimed product is markedly different, structurally, chemically, functionally, than its closest naturally occurring counterpart.
PRONG TWO: Evaluate whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. The claims are directed to a composition, not its practical use such as a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition.
Thus the cited claims are directed to a judicial exception to patentable subject matter.
Step 2b: Determine whether the claim directed to a judicial exception provides an inventive concept. For example, the claims may recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In the instant case, NO, the claims are directed to an extract composition without any other components that could add significantly more to the exception. No other specific limitations other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field at a high level of generality have been added to the claimed nature-based product (e.g., addition of well-known ingredients). No non-nature based components were recited in the claims. A surfactant such as phospholipid (lecithin for example) exists in egg yolk. Since there is no absolute amounts of the active ingredients are claimed as compared to the whole composition, the claimed composition encompasses embodiments where the active ingredients are in such small amounts that none of them impart any characteristic or markedly different characteristic.
Regarding claims that recited a certain amount of components being present in the composition, there is no indication that the amounts claimed in the compositions result in a markedly different characteristic for the composition as compared to the components that occur in the nature.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, a cosmetic or drug composition could be either taken orally or topically, oral consumption or administration does not result in a markedly different characteristic because Olea ad Cydonia already have the characteristic of being in a form suitable for oral consumption. In terms of topically application, the process of plant harvest and plant extraction already encompasses contact of human skin with plant materials.
For the reasons described above, the claimed compositions are not markedly different
from their closest naturally occurring counterparts and thus are product of nature judicial
exceptions.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not recite any additional elements beyond the claimed compositions themselves. Also, this is a product claim and since there are no claimed method steps, there are no additional elements that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception themselves. Therefore, the claims do not recite something significantly more than a judicial exception and are thus deemed patent ineligible subject matter.
Thus, the claimed product is not eligible subject matter under current 35 USC 101 standards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rossignol-Castera et al. (US2022/0218592).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Rossignol-Castera et al. disclose a plant derived active ingredient comprising: an extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea, and an extract from at least one plant of the gender Tilia and/or an extract from at least one plant of the gender Cydonia, 1 wherein the plant derived active ingredient is obtainable by means of an extraction method comprising the following steps: a) mixing and impregnating the extract from at least one plant of the gender Tilia and/or the extract from at least one plant of the gender Cydonia in a powder form with the extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea in an oily form at a temperature which is greater than the melting point of said extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea and under an atmosphere which is depleted or essentially depleted in oxygen, b) heating to a temperature between 80 to 200° C. during less than 10 minutes by means of microwaves and under an atmosphere which is depleted or essentially depleted in oxygen, and c) microdispersing the extract from at least one plant of the gender Tilia and/or the extract from at least one plant of the gender Cydonia into the extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea at a temperature which is greater than the melting point of the extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea and under an atmosphere which is depleted or essentially depleted in oxygen, by means of ultrasonic cavitation treatment, step c) being able to be implemented before, during or after step b (see entire document, including, e.g., claims 1-12).
Thus, the claims are deemed to be anticipated by the cited reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddiqui (US 2008/0241084 A1) further in view of Yoshioka et al (JP08104646A). [cited by Applicant in IDS filed 10/25/23]
Siddiqui teaches a cleaning foam (thus a cosmetic composition, thus claim 11 is met) comprising 0.0025% Tilila cordata flower extract and 0.5% Olea europaea (thus claim 2 is met) fruit oil (thus an extract), and glycol distearate (thus a surfactant, thus claim 6 is met), etc. [0111] (thus claims 1 and 2 are met). Siddiqui teaches compositions and methods for inhibiting melanogenesis (see Title) (thus a drug composition, thus claim 12 is met). Siddiqui teaches many such compositions are known in the art, and can take the form of creams, gels, ointments (thus in an oily form, thus claim 9 is met), hydrogels, pastes or plasters, and liquid dosage forms, such as solutions, emulsions, in particular oil-in-water emulsions, suspensions, for example lotions etc., or even solid sticks [0044]. Siddiqui teaches a topical composition is disclosed that is effective
in lightening the color of skin and/or inhibiting melanogenesis (see Abstract). Siddiqui teaches a cream comprising hydrogenated lecithin (thus a phospholipid surfactant), and Tilia cordate flower extract, etc. [0103].
The teachings of Siddiqui do not specifically teach Tilia platyphyllos or the ratio or a phospholipid surfactant, the claimed amount of polyphenols or the extraction method.
Yoshioka et al teach skin-lightening cosmetics contain exts. of Polygonum cuspidatum, Reynoutria japonica, Artemisia capillaris, Achillea millefolium, Eupatorium fortunei, Tilia platyphyllos, T. cordata and/or T. europaea as tyrosinase inhibitors. An ointment contained white petrolatum 25.0, stearyl alc. 25.0, propylene glycol 12.0, sodium lauryl sulfate 1.5, Me p-hydroxybenzoate 0.1, the tyrosinase inhibitor ext. 5.0, and purified water 31.4 wt.%. The preparations were effective and safe (see Abstract). Yoshioka et al teach there are also examples of using various medicinal plant extracts, plant-derived gallic acid (thus polyphenols), geraniin (thus polyphenols) and the like. Further, whitening ingredients such as kojic acid (thus polyphenols) and arbutin (thus polyphenols), which is a glucopyranoside derivative, have recently been used.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Tilia platyphyllos from Yoshioka et al into the composition of Siddiqui since as evidenced by Yoshioka et al, T. cordata and Tilia platyphyllos are used interchangeably in the art as tyrosinase inhibitors. Since both of the references teach composition for lightening the color of skin, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the references together.
It would also have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use hydrogenated lecithin (thus a phospholipid surfactant) as a surfactant since Siddiqui teaches a cream comprising hydrogenated lecithin (thus a phospholipid surfactant), and Tilia cordate flower extract, etc. Determining an appropriate surfactant within the composition is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
It would further have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed amount of polyphenols since Yoshioka et al. teach there are also examples of using various medicinal plant extracts, plant-derived gallic acid (thus polyphenols), geraniin (thus polyphenols) and the like.
Further, whitening ingredients such as kojic acid (thus polyphenols) and arbutin (thus polyphenols). Since polyphenols have the ability for whitening, which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art.
Although the prior art did not specifically disclose the amounts of Tilia extract, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants' invention was made to determine all operable and optimal concentrations of Tilia extract because concentrations of the claimed Tilia extract are art-recognized result effective variables because they have the ability to inhibit tyrosinase, which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art.
Regarding the extraction method by which the plants extracts are produced, the MPEP states the following: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in
both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product" (see MPEP 2113 [R-1]).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of the ordinary skills in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,684,563.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to a plant derived active ingredient comprising: an extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea, and an extract from at least one plant of the gender Tilia and/or an extract from at least one plant of the gender Cydonia, wherein the plant derived active ingredient is obtained by an extraction method comprising: a) mixing and impregnating the extract from at least one plant of the gender Tilia and/or the extract from at least one plant of the gender Cydonia in a powder form with the extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea in an oily form and polyglyceryl-4-oleate at a temperature greater than a melting point of the extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea and under an atmosphere which is depleted or essentially depleted in oxygen to obtain an oily impregnation, b) heating the oily impregnation to a temperature between 80 to 200° C. for less than 10 minutes by means of microwaves and under an atmosphere which is depleted or essentially depleted in oxygen, and c) forming a microdispersion from the heated oily impregnation at a temperature greater than the melting point of the extract from at least one plant of the gender Olea and under an atmosphere which is depleted or essentially depleted in oxygen, by means of ultrasonic cavitation treatment, step c) being conducted before, during or after step b), and d) separating oil from the microdispersion to obtain the plant derived active ingredient. In addition, please note that the instant claims encompass and/or are encompassed by the "563 claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RUSSELL G FIEBIG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1655