The amendment filed December 4, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “wherein the RF transparent material is:” renders claim 20 indefinite because it is unclear how the transparent material is being limited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Gupta (US 2017/0176835) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gupta (US 2017/0176835) in view of Elia (US 2010/0239801).
Claims 1 and 20: Gupta disclose an electronic device (100) including a monolithic body of an RF transparent material at least partially defining an internal volume, wherein the RF transparent material is continuous throughout the monolithic body (frame 1310; fig. 13; ¶ 110); a nanograin plating positioned on an outer surface of the monolithic body (¶ 110); a communication device positioned in the internal volume under the outer surface of the monolithic body, the communication device configured to wirelessly communicate via RF signals (wireless communication interface 1512; ¶ 116); an RF window of the monolithic body positioned adjacent the communication device, wherein the RF window is a portion of the monolithic body in which the nanograin coating is not present on the outer surface of the RF transparent material (fig. 13; ¶ 110). Gupta does not explicitly disclose that the nanograin plating is applied via electroplating. However, it has been held that even though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964. Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or only slightly different from that of the prior art, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art.
Alternatively, Elia discloses an electronic device (abstract). The device includes a monolithic body of an RF transparent material at least partially defining an internal volume, wherein the RF transparent material is continuous throughout the monolithic body (claim 1); a nanograin electroplated coating positioned on an outer surface of the body (claim 4; ¶ 32). As taught by Elia, electroplating a nanograin coating is the preferred method for coating materials (¶ 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have electroplated the nanograin metal plating of Gupta because electroplating these materials is the preferred method for coating materials, as taught by Elia.
Claim 2: Gupta discloses the RF transparent material of the monolithic body is continuous across the RF window (fig. 13).
Claim 3: Elia discloses the RF transparent material is a polymer (claim 1).
Claim 4: Gupta discloses the nanograin coating is a metallic coating (¶ 110).
Claim 5: Gupta discloses that metal plating 1312 on the plastic frame 1310 functions as an electrically conductive grounding layer to cover glass support structure 1110 (¶ 110).
Claim 6: Elia discloses a structural rigidity of the monolithic body and the nanograin coating is at least twice that of a structural rigidity of the monolithic body alone (claim 1).
Claim 7: Gupta discloses the RF transparent material is nonconductive (¶ 110).
Claim 8: Gupta discloses the device includes a body panel (front cover glass 105).
Claim 9: Gupta discloses the body panel partially defines an internal volume of the device (figs. 3, 13, 15).
Claim 10: Gupta discloses the internal volume of the device includes processor element 1504 (¶ 117).
Claims 11-12: Gupta discloses that metal plating 1312 on the plastic frame provides EM shielding (¶ 112).
Claims 13 and 15: Gupta discloses the communication device being a wireless antenna (¶ 43).
Claim 18: Elia discloses the material includes a thermoplastic (claim 1).
Claim 19: Elia discloses the nanograin coating is less than 1 micrometer (¶ 32).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754