DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 03/17/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes that claim 14 is amended with ‘one or more [[first]] location areas’ to remove ‘first’. Claim 7 recites the same limitation but was not amended in the same way. For purposes of examination the claims are examined as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2022139491 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Ko et al. (US 20230337318 A1, hereinafter “Ko”).
RE Claims 1, 8, and 15, Park discloses a method, a wireless device, or non-transitory computer-readable medium:
A wireless device (¶¶0276, 0294, 0307, 0308) comprising:
one or more processors (¶¶0276, 0294, 0307, 0308); and
memory storing instructions that (¶¶0276, 0294, 0307, 0308), when executed by the one or more processors (¶¶0276, 0294, 0307, 0308), cause the wireless device to: receive, from a second wireless device (Receiving terminal and transmitting terminal with sidelink DRX configuration applied by exchanging message such as source/destination IDs and service specific DRX settings, ¶¶0207-0208; SL DRX configuration messages between the UEs may be common or connection specific DRX settings. ¶0217), one or more sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters for one or more first SL DRX cycles (SL DRX configuration messages includes at least one DRX cycle or DRX on-duration timer. ¶0213; Default, common, and UE-pair specific DRX configurations. ¶0237);
monitoring, based on the activating, one or more sidelink signals during an active time of the one or more second SL DRX cycles (Monitor channels or signals of other UEs based on SL DRX settings. ¶0219; SL DRX on-duration timer used in a period, active time, where UE performs SL DRX operation for receiving, monitoring, PSCCH/PSSCH of a counterpart UE. ¶¶0231, 0238; Various embodiments of the present disclosure may be applied to a Default/Common SL DRX configuration, a Default/Common SL DRX pattern, a parameter included in the Default/Common SL DRX configuration, or a timer included in the Default/Common SL DRX configuration, as well as a UE-Pair Specific SL DRX configuration, a UE-Pair Specific SL DRX pattern, a parameter included in the UE-Pair Specific SL DRX configuration, or a timer included in the UE-Pair Specific SL DRX configuration. ¶0237; For example, “a certain period of time” may be a period of time during which the UE operates as an active time for receiving a sidelink signal or sidelink data from the counterpart UE, such as a timer (SL DRX retransmission timer, SL DRX inactivity timer, or a timer that ensures that the RX UE can operate as an active time in DRX operation). ¶0244; For example, the default DRX configuration may include information related to sidelink DRX cycles and information related to active time. ¶0247).
Park does not explicitly disclose:
activating one or more second SL DRX cycles among the one or more first SL DRX cycles, based on the wireless device being in one or more location areas; and
However, Ko discloses:
activating one or more second SL DRX cycles among the one or more first SL DRX cycles, based on the wireless device being in one or more location areas (First and second device exchange SL DRX configurations including DRX cycles and active time. ¶0009, Fig. 12; In this case, the group header UE may transmit the index/information related to the selected DRX cycle configuration through SCI indicating a destination ID as a group ID, by using a specific DRX resource pool.”, ¶0196; For example, a group member UE may determine/configure/select a DRX cycle configuration to be used by itself, based on the ID information (e.g., at least one of the member ID, the source ID, and/or the destination ID within the group) and a zone ID according to a region in which UEs in the group move.”, ¶0200; SL DRX configuration selected based on an ID of a zone, location, from among the at least one SL DRX configurations. ¶0257, Fig. 16); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, a first wireless device receiving SL DRX configuration parameters from a second wireless device, with the teachings of Ko, selecting SL DRX parameters based on location.
The motivation in doing so would be to support reducing overhead communications and improving power savings for the UE by the exchange of multiple SL DRX configurations at one time, such as default and specific parameters, and then selecting the SL DRX configuration based on location. (Park: ¶¶0002, 0004-0005, 0011, 0169-0170, 0183-0184, 0217; Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0004-0006, 0007-0010, 0113-0114, 0196, 0200, 0223, 0240)
RE Claims 2, 9, and 16, Park does not explicitly disclose a method, a wireless device, or non-transitory computer-readable medium:
The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the one or more sidelink DRX configuration parameters further indicates the one or more location areas .
However, Ko discloses:
The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the one or more sidelink DRX configuration parameters further indicates the one or more location areas (First and second device exchange SL DRX configurations including DRX cycles and active time. ¶0009, Fig. 12; Transmitting UE transmits information to receiving UE including location information of a transmitting UE or location (or distance region) information of a target receiving UE (for which SL HARQ feedback is requested). ¶0097; Device location or position modules. ¶¶0005, 0307-0308; SL DRX configuration selected based on an ID of a zone, location, from among the at least one SL DRX configurations. ¶0257, Fig. 16) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, a first wireless device receiving SL DRX configuration parameters from a second wireless device, with the teachings of Ko, selecting SL DRX parameters based on location.
The motivation in doing so would be to support reducing overhead communications and improving power savings for the UE by the exchange of multiple SL DRX configurations at one time, such as default and specific parameters, and then selecting the SL DRX configuration based on location. (Park: ¶¶0002, 0004-0005, 0011, 0169-0170, 0183-0184, 0217; Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0004-0006, 0007-0010, 0113-0114, 0223)
RE Claims 3, 10, and 17, Park discloses a method, a wireless device, or non-transitory computer-readable medium:
The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to determine that the wireless device is located in the one or more location areas (Zone ID, a location area. ¶0142; If terminal changes zone area then SL DRX settings are updated. ¶0183; If terminal changes between In-Coverage and Out-of-Coverage states then SL DRX settings are updated. ¶0184; UE determine DRX resource pool based on at least one of a location or zone ID. ¶0239; Wireless device include memory, instructions, processors and transceivers and execute instructions for SL DRX operation. ¶0276).
RE Claims 4, 11, and 18, Park discloses a method, a wireless device, or non-transitory computer-readable medium:
The wireless device of claim 8, further comprising activating one or more third DRX cycles based on determining that the first wireless device is located in the one or more second location areas (Zone ID, a location area. ¶0142; If terminal changes zone area then SL DRX settings are updated. ¶0183; If terminal changes between In-Coverage and Out-of-Coverage states then SL DRX settings are updated. ¶0184; Monitor channels or signals of other UEs based on SL DRX settings. ¶0219; SL DRX on-duration timer used in a period, active time, where UE performs SL DRX operation for receiving, monitoring, PSCCH/PSSCH of a counterpart UE. ¶¶0231, 0238).
RE Claims 5, 12, and 19, Park does not explicitly disclose a method, a wireless device, or non-transitory computer-readable medium:
The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the one or more sidelink signals are from a third wireless device.
However, Ko discloses:
The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the one or more sidelink signals are from a third wireless device (Other UEs in the group for DRX cycle configuration. ¶0199; UE performing SL communication based on DRX may transmit, to the other UE(s), a third device, or the base station, (i) information related to a DRX cycle aggregation capability of the UE and (ii) information related to the number of individual DRX cycles currently being aggregated by the UE, sidelink signals. Through this, the other UE(s), third device, or the base station may determine, based on the information, the number of SL processes that can be additionally generated within the DRX cycle aggregation capability of the UE. ¶0224).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, a first wireless device receiving SL DRX configuration parameters from a second wireless device, with the teachings of Ko, SL communication to multiple UEs and monitoring of SL signals.
The motivation in doing so would be to support reducing overhead communications and improving power savings for the UE by the exchange of multiple SL DRX configurations at one time, such as default and specific parameters, in order to communicate by sidelink operation with other UE’s in the area. (Park: ¶¶0002, 0004-0005, 0011, 0159 Fig. 7, 0169-0170, 0183-0184, 0190, 0217; Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0004-0006, 0007-0010, 0092 Fig. 9, 0113-0114, 0190-0191, 0223)
RE Claims 6, 13, and 20 Park does not explicitly disclose a method, a wireless device, or non-transitory computer-readable medium:
The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the active time of the one or more DRX cycles comprises one or more second DRX cycles.
However, Ko discloses:
The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the active time of the one or more DRX cycles comprises one or more second DRX cycles (Aggregated DRX cycles derived by a logical OR operation of ON duration of each DRX cycle. ¶¶0220, 0199, 0223-0224, Fig. 14;).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, a first wireless device receiving SL DRX configuration parameters from a second wireless device, with the teachings of Ko, aggregation of DRX cycles into one overall DRX cycle to encompass the individual DRX cycles of the UEs.
The motivation in doing so would be to support reducing overhead communications and improving power savings for the UE by the exchange of multiple SL DRX configurations at one time, such as default and specific parameters, in order to communicate by sidelink operation with other UE’s by aggregation of DRX cycles into one overall DRX cycle. (Park: ¶¶0002, 0004-0005, 0011, 0159 Fig. 7, 0169-0170, 0183-0184, 0190, 0217; Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0004-0006, 0007-0010, 0092 Fig. 9, 0113-0114, 0190-0191, 0223)
RE Claim 7, Park does not explicitly disclose a method or a wireless device:
The wireless device of claim 13, wherein the one or more second DRX cycles are activated while the wireless device is located in the one or more first location areas.
However, Ko discloses:
The wireless device of claim 13, wherein the one or more second DRX cycles are activated while the wireless device is located in the one or more first location areas (First and second device exchange SL DRX configurations including DRX cycles and active time. ¶0009, Fig. 12; Transmitting UE transmits information to receiving UE including location information of a transmitting UE or location (or distance region) information of a target receiving UE (for which SL HARQ feedback is requested). ¶0097; Device location or position modules. ¶¶0005, 0307-0308; SL DRX configuration selected based on an ID of a zone, location, from among the at least one SL DRX configurations. ¶0257, Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, a first wireless device receiving SL DRX configuration parameters from a second wireless device, with the teachings of Ko, selecting SL DRX configuration based on location of SL UEs and aggregation of DRX cycles into one overall DRX cycle to encompass the individual DRX cycles of the UEs.
The motivation in doing so would be to support reducing overhead communications and improving power savings for the UE by the exchange of multiple SL DRX configurations at one time, such as default and specific parameters, in order to communicate by sidelink operation with other UE’s by location for aggregation of DRX cycles into one overall DRX cycle. (Park: ¶¶0002, 0004-0005, 0011, 0159 Fig. 7, 0169-0170, 0183-0184, 0190, 0217; Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0004-0006, 0007-0010, 0092 Fig. 9, 0113-0114, 0190-0191, 0223)
RE Claim 14, Park does not disclose, however Ko discloses:
The wireless device of claim 13, wherein the one or more second DRX cycles are activated while the wireless device is located in the one or more location areas. (First and second device exchange SL DRX configurations including DRX cycles and active time. ¶0009, Fig. 12; In this case, the group header UE may transmit the index/information related to the selected DRX cycle configuration through SCI indicating a destination ID as a group ID, by using a specific DRX resource pool.”, ¶0196; For example, a group member UE may determine/configure/select a DRX cycle configuration to be used by itself, based on the ID information (e.g., at least one of the member ID, the source ID, and/or the destination ID within the group) and a zone ID according to a region in which UEs in the group move.”, ¶0200; SL DRX configuration selected based on an ID of a zone, location, from among the at least one SL DRX configurations. ¶0257, Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, a first wireless device receiving SL DRX configuration parameters from a second wireless device, with the teachings of Ko, selecting SL DRX parameters based on location.
The motivation in doing so would be to support reducing overhead communications and improving power savings for the UE by the exchange of multiple SL DRX configurations at one time, such as default and specific parameters, and then selecting the SL DRX configuration based on location. (Park: ¶¶0002, 0004-0005, 0011, 0169-0170, 0183-0184, 0217; Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0004-0006, 0007-0010, 0113-0114, 0196, 0200, 0223, 0240)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is directed to amended claim 1 and 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection as cited to Ko. Applicant argues “However, Ko does not teach or suggest that "monitoring one or more sidelink signals during an active time of the one or more SL DRX cycles" is "based on the first wireless device being in one or more location areas," as previously recited in claim 1, nor does Ko disclose or suggest "activating one or more second SL DRX cycles among the one or more first SL DRX cycles, based on the first wireless device being in one or more location areas; and monitoring, based on the activating, one or more sidelink signals during an active time of the one or more second SL DRX cycles," as presently recited in claim 1.” Applicant references paragraph [0257] of Ko as ‘the only location-related disclosure tied to SL DRX’.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ko discloses “For example, if the group header UE in the group selects the index/information related to the DRX cycle configuration to be used by group member UE(s), the group header UE may transmit/share the index related to the selected DRX cycle configuration to group member UE(s). In this case, the group header UE may transmit the index/information related to the selected DRX cycle configuration through SCI indicating a destination ID as a group ID, by using a specific DRX resource pool.”, ¶0196. Also, “For example, a group member UE may determine/configure/select a DRX cycle configuration to be used by itself, based on the ID information (e.g., at least one of the member ID, the source ID, and/or the destination ID within the group) and a zone ID according to a region in which UEs in the group move.”, ¶0200. In addition, “For example, UEs that transmit and receive unicast-related information may configure/determine a DRX resource pool based on at least one of a source ID, a destination ID, a zone ID, and/or a UE ID. Through this, different DRX resource pools may be used between UE pairs performing different unicast communications. For example, if first unicast communication is performed between a first UE and a second UE and second unicast communication is performed between a third UE and a fourth UE, a DRX resource pool used for the first unicast communication may be different from a DRX resource pool used for the second unicast communication.”, ¶0240.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20220322486 A1 Park et al.
One embodiment relates to a method for operating a first transmitting user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: a step in which the first UE obtains sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX)-related information; and a step in which the first UE performs, on the basis of the sidelink DRX-related information, a sidelink DRX operation, wherein the sidelink DRX-related information includes mapping information of a sidelink DRX configuration for each zone, and the sidelink DRX operation is based on a sidelink DRX configuration corresponding to the zone ID of the first UE.
US 20230276359 A1 Xu et al.
An energy saving method and an energy saving apparatus, a parameter configuration method and a parameter configuration apparatus, a UE, a base station and a storage medium are provided. The energy saving method includes: acquiring a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter, where the sidelink DRX parameter is determined according to location information, a sidelink communication type and a related configuration parameter of a UE; and within a sidelink sleep time corresponding to the sidelink DRX parameter, not receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from a target equipment.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419