DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 15-16, 18, 22-23, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0098717 A1 to Ji et al.
The patent document discloses an OLED wherein the EML comprises a host material and an organometallic emitter typified by
(p. 113). This compound is representative of the claimed compound wherein X5 = CH, Y = S, one of R2 = fluoroalkyl, one of R4 = alkyl, m = 2 and n = 1. Claim 1 is therefore anticipated. See MPEP § 2131.02(II). So are claims 2, 4, 8-9, 15-16, 18, 22-23, 25 and 29.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 15-18, 20, 22-23, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0402954 A1 to Shih et al.
The patent document discloses an OLED wherein the EML comprises a host material and an organometallic emitter having the following ligand LA
where ring B is
.
Some examples of LA are
,
,
, and
,
wherein an example of G is
(pp. 21, 41, 58). The organometallic compound may be Ir(LA)p(LB)q(LC)r where LB and LC may be
(p. 61). A particular example of the organometallic compound is the following on page 128:
which renders claim 1 unpatentable. Claims 2-4, 6, 8-9, 15-18, 20, 22-23, 25 and 29 are also anticipated (see pages 142+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0098717 A1 to Ji et al.
Ji et al. discloses a tandem OLED comprising a CGL between each pair of light-emitting units ([0248] on page 179), wherein the OLED comprises RGB pixels ([0214] on page 129). Thus, while Ji et al. fails to provide an example of said tandem OLED, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to make and use such device without expecting any difficulty or an unfavorable outcome. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0402954 A1 to Shih et al. for the same reasons (see paragraphs [0222] & [0256]).
Claims 5, 7, 10-12, 19, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0402954 A1 to Shih et al.
Regarding claim 11, the compound of claim 1 is disclosed by Shih et al. as explained above. The prior art compound has a scope that includes the compounds of claim 11. While Shih et al. does not explicitly list these compounds, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the listed components to arrive at the claimed compounds without any difficulty or expectation of criticality. Take the first compound in claim 11 for instance, Shih et al. teaches Ir(LA)2(LB) on page 61 where LB can be
(p. 123), and LA can be
,
as mentioned above, wherein RI and RH can be H (p. 55) and ring G can be
(p. 59). Therefore, the first compound in claim 11 can be obtained simply by combining the ligands that are explicitly disclosed by Shih et al. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claim 12 is unpatentable for the same reasons as Shih et al. does teach the ligand LA in the form of
(p. 5). In fact, the ligand LA can be
or
wherein R can be
or
(p. 14) wherein Y can be O or S and Q can be C or N (p. 15). Thus, the claimed compound wherein at least one of X1-X4 is N represents an obvious variant of the prior art compound. Consequently, claims 5, 7, 10, 19, 21 and 24 are unpatentable for being obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The compounds of claims 13-14 are not disclosed by Shih et al., which represents the closest prior art of record. While the scope of the prior art compound is so broad that it encompasses the claimed compounds, there is no guidance or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify it to arrive at the claimed compounds.
Contact Information
/VU A NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762