Claim Interpretation
The phrase of “for disengaging catalyst from a product gas”, “reactor”, and “disengagement” is understood as being directed to and further reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which does not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the claimed invention, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02 and § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Additionally, the term “riser” is interpreted as non-limiting nomenclature (mere name-calling) that does not impart any particular structural distinction. According, the “riser” is reasonably construed as a conduit or pipe. Similarly, the term “feed distributor” is construed as a flow-distribution conduit or structure, the term “disengagement chamber” as a chamber, and the term “reactor vessel” as a vessel.
Under this construction, the at least claim 8 has been interpreted as follows:
“An apparatus comprising: a first conduit comprising a first flow-distribution structure and a first centrifugal or inertial discharge opening, the first conduit terminating within a vessel; a second conduit comprising a second flow-distribution structure and a second tangential discharge opening; a first chamber located within the vessel and containing the first discharge opening; and a second chamber located within the same vessel and containing the second discharge opening.”
In dependent claim 21 is interpreted in the same manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites “a first centrifugal or inertial discharge opening” in line 5.
Examiner has consulted the Specification passages identified by Applicant ([0027] and [0028] as filed) and find no disclosure therein that evinces possession of “inertial discharge opening.” Those paragraphs disclose only an “inertial separation device,” which is distinct from the claimed “inertial discharge opening.”
Claim 21 is likewise rejected with similar reasons as set forth above in claim 8.
Claims 9-20 and 22-24 depend on claims 8, 21; and hence are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh (US 20070079582).
As regarding claim 8, Oh discloses the claimed invention for an apparatus comprising: a first conduit (riser) comprising a first discharge opening, the first conduit (riser) terminating within a vessel; a second conduit (riser) comprising a second discharge opening; a first chamber located within the vessel and containing the first discharge opening; and a second chamber located within the same vessel and containing the second discharge opening (annotated fig. 6).
As regarding claim 9, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first riser is centrally located in the first disengagement chamber and the second discharge opening is located in a wall of the second disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 6).
As regarding claim 10, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention for wherein the second disengagement chamber surrounds the first disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 6).
As regarding claim 11, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention for wherein the second disengagement chamber is annular to the first disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 6).
As regarding claim 12, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention for wherein the inner wall of the second disengagement chamber is the outer wall of the first disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 6).
As regarding claim 13, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention for a first upper outlet of the first disengagement chamber located proximate to a second upper outlet of the second disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 6).
As regarding claim 14, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first upper outlet and the second upper outlet are below a cyclone inlet (annotated fig. 6).
As regarding claim 15, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first disengagement chamber is supported by the second disengagement chamber which is supported by the reactor vessel or the second disengagement chamber is supported by the first disengagement chamber which is supported by the reactor vessel (annotated fig. 6).
As regarding claim 18, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention for wherein said second riser includes a transfer conduit for transferring catalyst and product gas to the second disengagement chamber, said transfer conduit comprising a riser outlet pipe and a disengagement inlet pipe that slide relative to each other (annotated fig. 6).
Claim(s) 8 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ni (US 20100132316).
As regarding claim 8, Oh discloses the claimed invention for an apparatus comprising: a first conduit (riser) comprising a first discharge opening, the first conduit (riser) terminating within a vessel; a second conduit (riser) comprising a second discharge opening; a first chamber located within the vessel and containing the first discharge opening; and a second chamber located within the same vessel and containing the second discharge opening (annotated fig. 7).
As regarding claim 19, Ni discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ni discloses the claimed invention for a first lower outlet of the first disengagement chamber located proximate to a second lower outlet of the second disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 7).
As regarding claim 20, Ni discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ni discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first lower outlet and the second lower outlet are above a catalyst stripper (annotated fig. 7).
Claim 21 is likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those set forth for claim 8 above.
As regarding claim 22, Ni discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ni discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first riser is centrally located in the first disengagement chamber and the second discharge opening is located in a side wall of the second disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 7).
As regarding claim 23, Ni discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ni discloses the claimed invention for wherein the second disengagement chamber is annular to the first disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 7).
As regarding claim 24, Ni discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ni discloses the claimed invention for wherein the inner wall of the second disengagement chamber is the outer wall of the first disengagement chamber (annotated fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US 20070079582), as applied supra, and further in view Palmas et al (US 20150005553; hereinafter Palmas).
As regarding claim 17, Oh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Oh discloses the claimed invention except for a third riser comprising a third discharge opening and said second disengagement chamber containing the third discharge opening.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a third riser comprising a third discharge opening and said second disengagement chamber containing the third discharge opening enhance cyclonic flowrate, since it was known in the cyclonic separator art as shown in Palmas (145 or 245 of fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 16 contains allowable subject matter because prior art does not teach fairly suggested a support lug extends between the first disengagement chamber and the second disengagement chamber in said second disengagement chamber; said lug is oriented radially so as to impede a mixture of catalyst and product gas from swirling in the second disengagement chamber.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks on page 7 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments rely primarily on the nomenclature or conventional characterization of the disclosed structures (e.g., “reactor riser” and “feed distributor”) rather than on any particular structural limitation imposed by those terms. As discussed above, the terms “riser” and “feed distributor” do not, by themselves, impart a particular structural distinction beyond the corresponding physical structures reasonably understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
As set forth in the foregoing claim interpretation above, the “riser” is reasonably construed as a conduit or pipe, the “feed distributor” as a flow-distribution structure or conduit, and the “reactor vessel” as a vessel. Under this interpretation, the teachings of Oh and Ni are not excluded by Applicant’s characterization of their respective structures as being associated with a reactor or vacuum cleaner.
In particular, as shown in the annotated fig. 1 of Oh and annotated fig. 2 of Ni (above), Oh and Ni references disclose structures corresponding to the claimed conduits, flow-distribution structures, discharge openings, and chambers, including the claimed spatial relationships among those structures. Applicant’s assertion that the disclosed structures cannot constitute the claimed “riser” or “feed distributor” merely because Oh and Ni concern dust separation rather than hydrocarbon catalytic cracking is unpersuasive, as the claim language does not structurally limit the “riser” or “feed distributor” to a hydrocarbon reactor beyond the limitations expressly recited in the claim.
Accordingly, Applicant has not identified a structural distinction between the claimed features and the structures disclosed in Oh and Ni. As demonstrated by the annotated figures, Oh and Ni disclose the limitations of claims 8 and 21 under the above claim interpretation. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments regarding the alleged absence of the first and second feed distributors and reactor risers are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773