DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The drawings received on 06/19/2026 are acceptable, but the drawings submitted on 07/13/2023 are objected to in this Office action based on the amendment filed on 06/192026.
Applicant’s argument with respect to the amendments filed on 06/19/2026 being not new matter is partially persuasive. It appears the features of claims 6-11 are disclosed in the originally filed specification. However, the amended limitations of claim 1 are not sufficiently disclosed in the originally filed specification.
Drawings
The drawings received on 06/19/2026 are acceptable. However, the drawings are objected to in this Office action because of the amendment filed on 06/19/2026.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bottom insulation layer in a thickness direction to receive fasteners that secure the top insulation layer, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation layer together, wherein the top insulation layer, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation layer are substantially planar and arranged in a stacked sandwich configuration, and wherein the circular cutout is dimensioned to be smaller than the flange of the power transformer bushing such that the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer is mounted on the flange by interference fit” as amended claim 1, the “the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer is configured to be mounted on a turret on an oil side of the power transformer bushing” as claimed in claim 7, the “temperature-sensitive material or component comprises one of a thermistor and a resistance temperature detector (RTD) embedded within or in proximity to the PCB Rogowski coil to allow thermal coupling with windings of a power transformer” of claim 8, the “the adaptive noise cancellation circuit comprises: a reference input sensor configured to detect a noise component: an adaptive filter coupled to the reference input sensor and configured to model the noise component using adjustable parameters: and a subtractor coupled to the adaptive filter and to the PCB Rogowski coil. the subtractor configured to subtract the modeled noise component from an output signal of the PCB Rogowski coil” as recited in claim 9, and the “coil turns of the PCB Rogowski coil comprise rectilinear metal deposits on each of two opposing faces of the PCB Rogowski coil extending along radii whose geometrical projections intersect at a center of the circular cutout, the metal deposits on the opposing faces being electrically connected by plated through-holes passing through a thickness of the PCB Rogowski coil” as recited in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, it appears “andwherein” in line 12 should be --and wherein--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 9, it appears “comprises:a” in line 2 should be --comprises: a-- and “anda” in line 4 should be --and a--.
Claims 2-8, 10 and 11 are objected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the originally filed specification does not disclose “a plurality of fastener holes extending through the top insulation layer, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation laver in a thickness direction to receive fasteners that secure the top insulation laver, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation layer together, wherein the top insulation layer, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation layer are substantially planar and arranged in a stacked sandwich configuration, and wherein the circular cutout is dimensioned to be smaller than the flange of the power transformer bushing such that the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer is mounted on the flange by interference fit” as amended claim 1.
Claims 2-11 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it’s not clear what’s intended by “the PCB Rogowski coil having a circular cutout for accommodating a flange of a power transformer bushing…and wherein the circular cutout is dimensioned to be smaller than the flange of the power transformer bushing such that the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer is mounted on the flange by interference fit” as recited. If the circular cutout is dimensioned to be smaller than the flange of a power transformer bushing, how can it (the circular cut out) accommodate the flange? Does applicant mean the bushing conductor is accommodated in the circular cutout instead? The examiner is also not clear on how the Rogowski coil based current transformer is mounted on the flange by interference fit if the flange is accommodated in the circular cutout. It’s not clear what two elements are “interference fit” together. The originally filed specification does not have detailed explanation the limitations in question. These are mere examples of the claimed limitations that are not clear.
Claims 2-11 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as being dependent from claim 1 and therefore inheriting the indefiniteness thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poeltl et al. (WO 2022/214202 A1) in view of Baudart (U.S. Patent No. 5,442,280).
With respect to claim 1, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Poeltl teaches a Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer 100a (annotated FIGURE 3) comprising:
a top insulation layer 45a,
a bottom insulation layer 45b, and
a Rogowski coil 40 positioned between the top insulation layer and the bottom insulation layers, the Rogowski coil having a circular cutout (cutout, not expressly shown, for conductor 14, para. [0051]) for accommodating a flange 16a or 14 of a power transformer bushing 16; wherein the top insulation layer, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation layer are substantially planar and arranged in a stacked sandwich configuration, and wherein the circular cutout is dimensioned to be smaller than the flange of the power transformer bushing such that the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer is mounted on the flange by interference fit (paras. [0031], [0035], [0043], [0050] and [0051]).
Poeltl does not expressly teach
a printed circuit board (PCB) Rogowski coil 40; and a plurality of fastener holes extending through the top insulation layer, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation laver in a thickness direction to receive fasteners that secure the top insulation laver, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation layer together.
Best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Baudart teaches a Rogowski coil (FIGs. 1-3) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) Rogowski coil 10 and or 20 positioned between the top insulation layer 31 and the bottom insulation layer 41, the PCB Rogowski coil having a circular cutout 2 for accommodating a flange (“cable” col. 3, lines 14-15) of a power transformer bushing (not expressly shown); and a plurality of fastener holes 7 extending through the top insulation layer, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation layer in a thickness direction to receive fasteners 60 that secure the top insulation laver, the PCB Rogowski coil, and the bottom insulation layer together (col. 3, lines 7-10, 14-15, 55-60).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the PCB Rogowski coil and the fastening as taught by Baudart to the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of Poeltl to provide a current transformer that is insensitive to temperature variation (col. 1, lines 29-34).
With respect to claim 2, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 1, wherein the top insulation layer and the bottom insulation layers are made of cellulose- based or polyester-based materials (Baudart, col. 3, lines 6-12). Fibers are made with cellulose.
With respect to claim 3, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 1, wherein coil turns on the PCB Rogowski coil are evenly spaced (Baudart, col. 3, lines 36-47).
With respect to claim 4, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 1, further comprising an adaptive noise cancellation circuit (Poeltl, circuits 33, 42, 43, 50, etc., paras. [0041], [0044]-[0046], etc., or Baudart, circuits 61, col. 3, line 65-68) integrated within the PCB Rogowski coil.
With respect to claim 5, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 1, wherein the PCB Rogowski coil includes a temperature-sensitive material or component that alters its electrical properties based on the temperature (Poeltl, paras. [0041] and [0056], Baudart, col. 4, lines 7-25).
With respect to claim 6, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 1,wherein the ton insulation layer has a thickness of approximately 1 mm, the bottom insulation layer has a thickness of approximately 1 mm (Baudart, col. 3, lines 7-13). Poeltl in view of Baudart does not expressly teach the PCB Rogowski coil has a thickness of approximately 5 mm. However, it would be within the still of a person with ordinary skill in the art to use a 5 mm PCB Rogowski coil change the electrical and or mechanical characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the PCB Rogowski coil as claimed to reduce current density and or to improve mechanical strength of the current transformer.
With respect to claim 7, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 1,wherein the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer is configured to be mounted on a turret 16b (annotated FIGURE 3) on an oil side (side of the housing) of the power transformer bushing (Poeltl, para. [0041]).
With respect to claim 9, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 4, wherein the adaptive noise cancellation circuit comprises: a reference input sensor configured to detect a noise component: an adaptive filter coupled to the reference input sensor and configured to model the noise component using adjustable parameters: and a subtractor coupled to the adaptive filter and to the PCB Rogowski coil, the subtractor configured to subtract the modeled noise component from an output signal of the PCB Rogowski coil (Poeltl, paras. [0041], [0044]-[0046], and [0051]).
With respect to claim 10, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 9,wherein the adaptive filter implements a Least Mean Squares (LMS) algorithm (Poeltl, para. [0041]).
With respect to claim 11, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 1,wherein coil turns of the PCB Rogowski coil comprise rectilinear metal deposits on each of two opposing faces of the PCB Rogowski coil extending along radii whose geometrical projections intersect at a center of the circular cutout, the metal deposits on the opposing faces being electrically connected by plated through-holes passing through a thickness of the PCB Rogowski coil (Baudart, col. 3, lines 35-51).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poeltl in view of Baudart, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Mara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,241,373, hereinafter “Mara”).
With respect to claim 8, Poeltl in view of Baudart teaches the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of claim 5. Poeltl in view of Baudart does not expressly teach the temperature-sensitive material or component comprises one of a thermistor and a resistance temperature detector (RTD) embedded within or in proximity to the PCB Rogowski coil to allow thermal coupling with windings of a power transformer.
Mara teaches a current transformer 68 (FIGs. 1-4), wherein the temperature-sensitive material 104 or component comprises one of a thermistor and a resistance temperature detector (RTD) embedded within or in proximity to the PCB Rogowski coil to allow thermal coupling with windings of a power transformer (col. 6, line 66 to col. 7, line 2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the thermistor as taught by Mara to the Rogowski coil based bushing current transformer of Poeltl in view of Baudart to provide the desired measuring characteristics of the temperature to meet design requirements. .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837