Claims 1,4-6,9,11-13,15, and 20-24 are pending.
Claims 2-3,7-8,10,14, and 16-19 are canceled.
112(b) issue is corrected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,4-6,9,11-13,15, and 20-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-6,11,12,15, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yue et al, US 20230284214 A1, in view of Wei et al, US 20220095359 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Yue teaches an uplink data sending method, performed by a terminal, comprising: a transport block with highest logical channel priority from the plurality of transport blocks as a first transport block for transmission, wherein the configuration information is specific to each Media Access Control (MAC') entity([0052] if the retransmission can be transmitted on the uplink grant and the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels multiplexed in the retransmission MACPDU is higher than the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in an initial transmission MACPDU to be transmitted on the uplink grant, the priority of the uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed in the retransmitted MAC PDU.):
wherein selecting the first transport block from the plurality of transport blocks to transmit on the time-frequency resource comprises: when there are a first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority among the plurality of transport blocks, selecting one transport block from the first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority as the first transport block according to the following rule([0040] [0061] The uplink grant may indicate some specific radio resources (e.g., time and/or frequency resources)for the UE 101 to perform uplink transmission. Then, if following the rule of NR-U and if the Transport Block Size (TBS) configured by the grant CG1 is the same as the TBS of the packet data unit PDU3, the configured grant CG1 is pre-empted by there transmission of the packet data unit PDU3 although the priority of the logical channelLCH3 is lower than that of the logical channelLCH1The logical channel enters the urgent state is determined as the highest priority among the logical channels with equal priority or logical channels that the difference value of the priorities is less than a threshold.):
selecting, from the first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority, a transport block to be retransmitted as the first transport blocks([0052] if the retransmission can be transmitted on the uplink grant and the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels multiplexed in the retransmission MACPDU is higher than the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in an initial transmission MACPDU to be transmitted on the uplink grant, the priority of the uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed in the retransmitted MAC PDU.).
Yue does not disclose receiving configuration information sent from a network side, wherein the configuration information is used for indicating the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant.
However, Wei does disclose receiving configuration information sent from a network side, wherein the configuration information is used for indicating the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant([0061][0066] A UE may be configured with a grant-free resource allocation for an uplink transmission (e.g., an uplink shared channel, such as a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and/or the like). The UE may receive configuration information. For example, the configuration information may be for a repeating transmission of the UE. The configuration information may identify resource allocations for a plurality of transport blocks. In some aspects, the configuration information may identify a resource allocation of the repeating transmission, such as a time and/or frequency resource assignment),
and when the plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on the same time-frequency resource of the same configured grant, selecting the first transport block from the plurality of transport blocks to transmit on the time-frequency resource([0061] [0066] In both of the above cases, the UE may be permitted not to transmit a transport block on the assigned resource if there is no data to transmit in connection with the assigned resource. The configuration information may identify resource allocations for a plurality of transport blocks. In some aspects, the configuration information may identify a resource allocation of the repeating transmission, such as a time and/or frequency resource assignment ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue with receiving configuration information sent from a network side, wherein the configuration information is used for indicating the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the communication link between the UE and the base station, and improve utilization of computing resources.. (Wei, [0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Yue discloses the uplink data sending method wherein when there are the first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority among the plurality of transport blocks, selecting one transport block from the first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority as the first transport block according to at least one of the following rules ([0052] if the retransmission can be transmitted on the uplink grant and the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels multiplexed in the retransmission MAC PDU is higher than the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in an initial transmission MAC PDU to be transmitted on the uplink grant, the priority of the uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed in the retransmitted MAC PDU.):
obtaining priorities corresponding to logical channels with second highest priorities among the plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority, selecting a first logical channel with a highest priority from the logical channels with the second highest priorities, and using a transport block corresponding to the first logical channel as the first transport block(limitation is optional not required.);
selecting, from the plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority, a transport block with a largest or smallest HARQ process identifier as the first transport block ([0055] the first option in the present application may include: for the MAC entity configured with Ich-based Prioritization and for configured uplink grants configured with cg-RetransmissionTimer, the UE implementation selects an HARQProcess ID among the HARQ process IDs available for the configured grant configuration. The UE shall prioritize retransmissions before initial transmissions if the LCHpriority of the retransmission is higher than the initial transmissions.);
or selecting, from the plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority, a transport block carrying a MAC CE as the first transport block (limitation is optional not required.).
Regarding claim 5, Yue discloses the uplink data sending method wherein selecting, from the first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority, the transport block to be retransmitted as the first transport block comprises ([0052] if the retransmission can be transmitted on the uplink grant and the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels multiplexed in the retransmission MAC PDU is higher than the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in an initial transmission MACPDU to be transmitted on the uplink grant, the priority of the uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed in the retransmitted MAC PDU.):
when there are a second plurality of transport blocks to be retransmitted among the plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority, selecting one transport block from the second plurality of transport blocks to be retransmitted as the first transport block according to at least one of the following rules ([0052] if the retransmission can be transmitted on the uplink grant and the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels multiplexed in the retransmission MACPDU is higher than the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in an initial transmission MACPDU to be transmitted on the uplink grant, the priority of the uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed in the retransmitted MAC PDU.):
obtaining priorities corresponding to logical channels with second highest priorities among the second plurality of transport blocks to be retransmitted, selecting a first logical channel with a highest priority from the logical channels with the second highest priorities, and using a transport block to be retransmitted corresponding to the first logical channel as the first transport block (limitation is optional not required.);
selecting, from the second plurality of transport blocks to be retransmitted, a transport block with a maximum number of retransmissions as the first transport block (limitation is optional not required.);
selecting, from the second plurality of transport blocks to be retransmitted, a transport block with a largest or smallest HARQ process identifier as the first transport block ([0055] the first option in the present application may include :for the MAC entity configured with Ich-based Prioritization and for configured uplink grants configured with cg-Retransmission Timer, the UE implementation selects an HARQ Process ID among the HARQ process IDs available for the configured grant configuration. The UE shall prioritize retransmissions before initial transmissions if the LCH priority of the retransmission is higher than the initial transmissions.);
selecting, from the second plurality of transport blocks to be retransmitted, a transport block with a latest or earliest transmission failure as the first transport block (limitation is optional not required.);
or selecting, from the second plurality of transport blocks to be retransmitted, a transport block carrying a MAC CE as the first transport block (limitation is optional not required.).
Regarding claim 6, Yue discloses the method wherein the rule is determined by the terminal, or configured by a network side, or specified by a protocol ([0038][0042] the wireless communication system 100is compatible with the 5G new radio of the 3GPP protocol, wherein BSs 102 transmit data using an OFDM modulation scheme on the DL and the UE 101 transmits data on the UL using a single-carrier frequency division multiple access (SC-FDMA) or OFDM scheme. The precondition for all the embodiments of the present application is that the NR-IIoTrelated feature (for example, the MAC entity of UE is configured with logical channel based prioritization rule, i.e. "Ich based Priornization") is configured to apply in the NR-U. ).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Yue discloses the uplink data sending method/the terminal (according to claim 20) wherein the time-frequency resource is an unlicensed band resource([0038 0040] the wireless communication system 100is compatible with the 5G new radio of the 3GPP protocol, wherein BSs 102 transmit data using an OFDM modulation scheme on the DL and the UE 101 transmits data on the UL using a single-carrier frequency division multiple access (SC-FDMA) or OFDM scheme. Further, in some embodiments of the present application, the BS 102 may communicate over licensed spectrums, whereas in other embodiments the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums. The uplink grant may indicate some specific radio resources (e.g., time and/or frequency resources)for the UE 101 to perform uplink transmission. One type of the uplink grant may comprise the dynamic grant. The dynamic grant may be configured based on the UE's request. For example, the UE may transmit a prior request to the BS 102. After receiving the request, the BS 102 may configure the dynamic grant according to UE's request for the UE 101 to perform uplink data transmission.).
Regarding claim 12, Yue does disclose an uplink data sending configuration method, performed by a network side device([0040] After receiving the request, the BS 102 may configure the dynamic grant according to UE's request for the UE 101 to perform uplink data transmission.), comprising:
a transport block with highest logical channel priority from the plurality of transport blocks as a first transport block for transmission, wherein the configuration information is specific to each Media Access Control (MAC) entity([0052] if the retransmission can be transmitted on the uplink grant and the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels multiplexed in the retransmission MAC PDU is higher than the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in an initial transmission MACPDU to be transmitted on the uplink grant, the priority of the uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed in the retransmitted MAC PDU.).
Yue does not disclose sending configuration information to a terminal indicate the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant.
However, Wei does disclose sending configuration information to a terminal indicate the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant([0061] [0066] In both of the above cases, the UE may be permitted not to transmit a transport block on the assigned resource if there is no data to transmit in connection with the assigned resource. The configuration information may identify resource allocations for a plurality of transport blocks. In some aspects, the configuration information may identify a resource allocation of the repeating transmission, such as a time and/or frequency resource assignment ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue with sending configuration information to a terminal indicate the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the communication link between the UE and the base station, and improve utilization of computing resources.. (Wei, [0064]).
Regarding claim 15, Yue does disclose a terminal, comprising: a memory storing a computer program([0077] It is contemplated that the apparatus 500 may include more computer-readable mediums, receiver, transmitter and processors in some other embodiments of the present application according to practical requirements. In certain embodiments, the apparatus 500 may further include an input device, a memory, and/or other components.);
and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising([0077] It is contemplated that the apparatus 500 may include more computer-readable mediums, receiver, transmitter and processors in some other embodiments of the present application according to practical requirements. In certain embodiments, the apparatus 500 may further include an input device, a memory, and/or other components):
a transport block with highest logical channel priority from the plurality of transport blocks as a first transport block for transmission, wherein the configuration information is specific to each Media Access Control (MAC) entity([0052] if the retransmission can be transmitted on the uplink grant and the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels multiplexed in the retransmission MACPDU is higher than the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in an initial transmission MACPDU to be transmitted on the uplink grant, the priority of the uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed in the retransmitted MAC PDU.):
wherein selecting the first transport block from the plurality of transport blocks to transmit on the time-frequency resource comprises:when there are a first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority among the plurality of transport blocks, selecting one transport block from the first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority as the first transport block according to the following rule([0040] [0061] The uplink grant may indicate some specific radio resources (e.g., time and/or frequency resources)for the UE 101 to perform uplink transmission. Then, if following the rule of NR-U and if the Transport Block Size (TBS) configured by the grant CG1 is the same as the TBS of the packet data unit PDU3, the configured grant CG1 is pre-empted by there transmission of the packet data unit PDU3 although the priority of the logical channelLCH3 is lower than that of the logical channelLCH1The logical channel enters the urgent state is determined as the highest priority among the logical channels with equal priority or logical channels that the difference value of the priorities is less than a threshold.):
selecting, from the first plurality of transport blocks with the highest logical channel priority, a transport block to be retransmitted as the first transport block([0052] if the retransmission can be transmitted on the uplink grant and the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels multiplexed in the retransmission MACPDU is higher than the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in an initial transmission MACPDU to be transmitted on the uplink grant, the priority of the uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed in the retransmitted MAC PDU.).
Yue does not disclose receiving configuration information sent from a network side, wherein the configuration information is used for indicating the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant, and when the plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on the same time-frequency resource of the same configured grant, selecting the first transport block from the plurality of transport blocks to transmit on the time-frequency resource,
However, Wei does disclose receiving configuration information sent from a network side, wherein the configuration information is used for indicating the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant([0061][0066] A UE may be configured with a grant-free resource allocation for an uplink transmission (e.g., an uplink shared channel, such as a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and/or the like). The UE may receive configuration information. For example, the configuration information may be for a repeating transmission of the UE. The configuration information may identify resource allocations for a plurality of transport blocks. In some aspects, the configuration information may identify a resource allocation of the repeating transmission, such as a time and/or frequency resource assignment),
and when the plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on the same time-frequency resource of the same configured grant, selecting the first transport block from the plurality of transport blocks to transmit on the time-frequency resource([0061] [0066] In both of the above cases, the UE may be permitted not to transmit a transport block on the assigned resource if there is no data to transmit in connection with the assigned resource. The configuration information may identify resource allocations for a plurality of transport blocks. In some aspects, the configuration information may identify a resource allocation of the repeating transmission, such as a time and/or frequency resource assignment ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue with receiving configuration information sent from a network side, wherein the configuration information is used for indicating the terminal to select, when a plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on a same time-frequency resource of a same configured grant, and when the plurality of transport blocks are to be transmitted on the same time-frequency resource of the same configured grant, selecting the first transport block from the plurality of transport blocks to transmit on the time-frequency resource as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the communication link between the UE and the base station, and improve utilization of computing resources.. (Wei, [0064]).
Regarding claim 21, Yue does not disclose the uplink data sending wherein the transport blocks comprises at least one of retransmission data or initial transmission data
However, Wei does disclose the uplink data sending wherein the transport blocks comprises at least one of retransmission data or initial transmission data([0057] [0062] A scheduler 246 may schedule UEs for data transmission on the downlink and/or uplink. However, when traffic other than that associated with the single transport block is to be transmitted by the UE, the UE may need to request additional resources for uplink transmission (e.g., using a scheduling request, a buffer status report, and/or the like).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue with the uplink data sending wherein the transport blocks comprises at least one of retransmission data or initial transmission data as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the communication link between the UE and the base station, and improve utilization of computing resources.. (Wei, [0064]).
Regarding claim 22, Yue does not disclose the uplink data sending wherein selecting the first transport block comprises selecting an HARQ process for transmission.
However, Wei does disclose the uplink data sending wherein selecting the first transport block comprises selecting an HARQ process for transmission([0066] The configuration information may identify resource allocations for a plurality of transport blocks. In some aspects, the configuration information may identify a resource allocation of the repeating transmission, such as a time and/or frequency resource assignment, an MCS, HARQ configuration information, a DMRS configuration, a periodicity and/or offset of a transmission period (e.g., shown as P) of the repeating transmission, and/or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue with the uplink data sending wherein selecting the first transport block comprises selecting an HARQ process for transmission as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the communication link between the UE and the base station, and improve utilization of computing resources.. (Wei, [0064]).
Regarding claim 23, Yue does not disclose the terminal wherein the transport blocks comprises at least one of retransmission data or initial transmission data.
However, Wei does disclose the terminal wherein the transport blocks comprises at least one of retransmission data or initial transmission data([0057] [0062] A scheduler 246 may schedule UEs for data transmission on the downlink and/or uplink. However, when traffic other than that associated with the single transport block is to be transmitted by the UE, the UE may need to request additional resources for uplink transmission (e.g., using a scheduling request, a buffer status report, and/or the like).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue with the uplink data sending wherein the transport blocks comprises at least one of retransmission data or initial transmission data as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the communication link between the UE and the base station, and improve utilization of computing resources.. (Wei, [0064]).
Regarding claim 24, Yue does not disclose the terminal wherein selecting the first transport block comprises selecting an HARQ process for transmission.
However, Wei does disclose the terminal wherein selecting the first transport block comprises selecting an HARQ process for transmission([0066] The configuration information may identify resource allocations for a plurality of transport blocks. In some aspects, the configuration information may identify a resource allocation of the repeating transmission, such as a time and/or frequency resource assignment, an MCS, HARQ configuration information, a DMRS configuration, a periodicity and/or offset of a transmission period (e.g., shown as P) of the repeating transmission, and/or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue with the terminal wherein selecting the first transport block comprises selecting an HARQ process for transmission as taught by Wei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve reliability of the communication link between the UE and the base station, and improve utilization of computing resources.. (Wei, [0064]).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yue et al, US 20230284214 A1, in view of Wei et al, US 20220095359 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ramkumar et al, US 20140086145 A1.
Regarding claims 9, Yue and Wei do not disclose the uplink data sending method wherein the configuration information is carried by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, Ramkumar does disclose the uplink data sending method wherein the configuration information is carried by radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0045] [0048] On the uplink, at the UE 120, a transmit processor 364mayreceive and process data (e.g., for the PUSCH) from a data source 362 and control information (e.g., for the PUCCH) from the controller/processor380. The radio resource control (RRC) layer performs UE management and control, including processing broadcast system information, paging, RRC connection management, integrity protection and ciphering, radio bearer control, mobility functions, UE measurement reporting and control of signal quality, and QoS management.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue and Wei with the uplink data sending method wherein the configuration information is carried by using radio resource control (RRC) signaling as taught by Ramkumar. The motivation for doing so would be to improve decoding in a similar manner as HARQ recombining for unicast transmission of user data. (Ramkumar, [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Yue and Wei do not disclose the uplink data sending configuration wherein the configuration information is carried by RRC signaling.
However, Ramkumar does disclose the uplink data sending configuration wherein the configuration information is carried by RRC signaling ([0045] [0048] On the uplink, at the UE 120, a transmit processor 364 may receive and process data (e.g., for the PUSCH) from a data source 362 and control information (e.g., for the PUCCH)from the controller/processor 380. The radio resource control (RRC) layer performs UE management and control, including processing broadcast system information, paging, RRC connection management, integrity protection and ciphering, radio bearer control, mobility functions, UE measurement reporting and control of signal quality, and QoS management.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yue and Wei with the uplink data sending method wherein the configuration information is carried by using radio resource control (RRC) signaling as taught by Ramkumar. The motivation for doing so would be to improve decoding in a similar manner as HARQ recombining for unicast transmission of user data. (Ramkumar, [0059]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419