DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 18 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Inventions I directed to claims 1-17 and II directed to claim 18 are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case, the process as claimed can be practiced by another materially different apparatus such as an apparatus including a temperature sensor for periodically obtaining a measurement that correlated to a temperature of the electrolyte which is required by the method as claimed but not the apparatus as claimed.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 18 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,855,085 in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1).
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,855,085 disclose a charger including inputs for applying AC current to terminals of an energy storage device to effectively short the internal surface capacitance, but does not disclose a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided.
Lee discloses a battery heating system and method comprising an inverter configured to convert direct current power stored in the battery into alternating current having a plurality of phases, wherein a pulse width modulation control of the switching elements in the inverter may be performed to provide a current (Title, Abstract, [0039], Fig. 2-3).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Thus, the combination teaches a pulse width modulation control for producing AC which, when coupled to an energy storage device, is capable of producing a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided (see, for example Fig. 2-3 of Lee).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,063,076 in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1).
Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,063,076 disclose inputting by applying an AC current to terminals of an energy storage device using a charger to effectively short the internal surface capacitance, but does not disclose a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided.
Lee discloses a battery heating system and method comprising an inverter configured to convert direct current power stored in the battery into alternating current having a plurality of phases, wherein a pulse width modulation control of the switching elements in the inverter may be performed to provide a current (Title, Abstract, [0039], Fig. 2-3).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Thus, the combination teaches a pulse width modulation control for producing AC which, when coupled to an energy storage device, is capable of producing a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided (see, for example Fig. 2-3 of Lee).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,211,809 in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1).
Claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,211,809 disclose switching between a positive input voltage and a negative input voltage to effectively short the internal surface capacitance of the energy storage device to generate heat, but does not disclose a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided.
Lee discloses a battery heating system and method comprising an inverter configured to convert direct current power stored in the battery into alternating current having a plurality of phases, wherein a pulse width modulation control of the switching elements in the inverter may be performed to provide a current (Title, Abstract, [0039], Fig. 2-3).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Thus, the combination teaches a pulse width modulation control for producing AC which, when coupled to an energy storage device, is capable of producing a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided (see, for example Fig. 2-3 of Lee).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,211,810 in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1).
Claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,211,810 disclose a heating circuit including a controller configured to switch between a positive input voltage and a negative input voltage to effectively short the internal surface capacitance of the energy storage device to generate heat, but does not disclose a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided.
Lee discloses a battery heating system and method comprising an inverter configured to convert direct current power stored in the battery into alternating current having a plurality of phases, wherein a pulse width modulation control of the switching elements in the inverter may be performed to provide a current (Title, Abstract, [0039], Fig. 2-3).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Thus, the combination teaches a pulse width modulation control for producing AC which, when coupled to an energy storage device, is capable of producing a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided (see, for example Fig. 2-3 of Lee).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,354,797B2 in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1).
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,354,797B2 disclose a heating circuit including a controller configured to switch between a positive input current and a negative input current to effectively short the internal surface capacitance of the energy storage to generate heat , but does not disclose a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided.
Lee discloses a battery heating system and method comprising an inverter configured to convert direct current power stored in the battery into alternating current having a plurality of phases, wherein a pulse width modulation control of the switching elements in the inverter may be performed to provide a current (Title, Abstract, [0039], Fig. 2-3).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Thus, the combination teaches a pulse width modulation control for producing AC which, when coupled to an energy storage device, is capable of producing a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided (see, for example Fig. 2-3 of Lee).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,381,044B2 in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1).
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,381,044B2 disclose a heating circuit including a controller configured to switch between a positive input current and a negative input current to effectively short the internal surface capacitance of the energy storage to generate heat , but does not disclose a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided.
Lee discloses a battery heating system and method comprising an inverter configured to convert direct current power stored in the battery into alternating current having a plurality of phases, wherein a pulse width modulation control of the switching elements in the inverter may be performed to provide a current (Title, Abstract, [0039], Fig. 2-3).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Thus, the combination teaches a pulse width modulation control for producing AC which, when coupled to an energy storage device, is capable of producing a step between the positive input current and the negative input current wherein no positive input current and negative input current is provided (see, for example Fig. 2-3 of Lee)..
Claim 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of US Patent No. 12,360,541B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-15 of US Patent No. 12,360,541B2 discloses subject matter that is substantially similar to the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to nonstatutory double patenting rejections (see Remarks filed 8/19/2026), these rejections have been maintained in this Office Action because the applicant has not specifically argued against the nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/19/2026, with respect to the following rejections:
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rastegar et al. (US 2020/0176835A1).
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar et al. (US 2020/0176835A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar et al. (US 2020/0176835A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1), as applied to claims 1-12 above, in view of TWI691142B, refer to English equivalent US 2020/0403416 A1.
have been fully considered and are persuasive. The following rejections have been withdrawn:
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rastegar et al. (US 2020/0176835A1).
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar et al. (US 2020/0176835A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar et al. (US 2020/0176835A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0014137A1), as applied to claims 1-12 above, in view of TWI691142B, refer to English equivalent US 2020/0403416 A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 11/7/2026