DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 11/25/2025, claims 1-6, and 8-19 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YANG (US 2024/0049342 A1).
Regarding claim 8; Yang teaches a terminal operation configuration method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal, a target time, wherein the target time (See Fig. 4: by selecting/determining the DRX configuration, it is possible to ensure that the time period (i.e., target time) for the second terminal to perform the sensing is in the active state, while a time period when the second terminal is in the sleep state indicated by the DRX does not or as little as possible overlap(s) with the time period for sensing, thereby improving the effectiveness of sensing, so as to sense more resources as far as possible, and improve the resource utilization. ¶ [0066]) is indicated by a higher layer of the terminal to a physical layer of the terminal (See Fig. 9: The central unit is provided with a protocol stack consisting of the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, the Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, and the Medium Access Control (MAC) layer. The distributed unit is provided with a protocol stack of the Physical (PHY) layer. ¶ [0032]); and
executing, by the terminal, a target mechanism at the target time (See Fig. 4: by selecting the DRX configuration from the pre-configuration to ensure that the time period for the second terminal (i.e., target time of the target mechanism) to perform the sensing is in the active state as far as possible, thereby improving the effectiveness of sensing. ¶ [0072]), wherein the target mechanism comprises: a first mechanism,
wherein the first mechanism comprises: a resource selection time (See Fig. 4: To avoid such collisions, a sensing mechanism has been introduced. UE needs to listen to SCI (Sidelink Control Information) sent by other UE continuously or for a period of time, to obtain resource selection information from other UE, so as to avoid selecting the same transmission resources when making resource selection. ¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 9; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method according to claim 8, wherein the target time comprises at least one of the following: a first time range (Yang: if there is a maximum overlapped duration between the active state period and the time period for the second terminal to perform the sensing, the DRX configuration can be selected. In some embodiments, within a predetermined duration, in multiple DRX cycles, if there is a maximum overlapped duration as a whole between the active state period and the time period for the second terminal to perform the sensing, the DRX configuration can be selected. ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 10; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method according to claim 9, wherein the first moment is a starting moment (See Fig. 4: sensing at a starting position of the sensing onfset in each sensing cycle based on the sensing parameter mentioned above, and stops sensing after the sensing duration, until a starting position of the sensing onfset in next sensing cycle. ¶ [0089]) of an active time in a second mechanism (See Fig. 4: if there is a maximum overlapped duration between the active state period and the time period for the second terminal to perform the sensing, the DRX configuration can be selected. In some embodiments, within a predetermined duration, in multiple DRX cycles, if there is a maximum overlapped duration as a whole between the active state period and the time period for the second terminal to perform the sensing, the DRX configuration can be selected. ¶ [0072]), and the second mechanism comprises the active time and an inactive time (See Fig. 4: the DRX configuration of the second terminal is determined according to time domain location information used by the second terminal on SL for sensing a transmission resource includes, in response to determination that the first terminal is in an idle state or an inactive state, the DRX configuration of the second terminal is determined, based on the time domain location information. ¶ [0060]).
Regarding claim 11; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method according to claim 8, wherein the first mechanism is associated with a periodic service (Yang: a time period indicated by the DRX configuration, during which the second terminal enters the active state, overlaps at least partially with a time location indicated by the time domain location information. ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 12; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method according to claim 8, wherein that the target time is indicated by a higher layer of the terminal to a physical layer of the terminal comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the higher layer of the terminal proactively determines an indication time of the target time, the target time is indicated by the higher layer of the terminal to the physical layer of the terminal (See Fig. 4: a time period indicated by the DRX configuration, during which the second terminal enters the active state, overlaps at least partially with a time location indicated by the time domain location information. See ¶ [0048-0052]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of the following…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG (US 2024/0049342 A1) in view of LUO et al. (US 2021/0022094 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Yang teaches a terminal operation configuration method, comprising:
performing, by a terminal, a target operation (See Fig. 4: determining, according to time domain location information (i.e., a target operation) used by a second terminal on Sidelink (SL) for sensing a transmission resource, a DRX configuration of the second terminal. ¶ [0075]) on at least one of the following time resources:
a second overlapping part between a sensing time in a first mechanism (See Fig. 4: the sensing duration is a duration during which the second terminal performs the sensing. ¶ [0087]) and an active time in a second mechanism (See Fig. 4: wherein a time period (i.e., second overlapping part) indicated by the DRX configuration, during which the second terminal enters an active state, at least partially overlaps with a time location indicated by the time domain location information. ¶ [0090]),
wherein the first mechanism comprises at least one of the following: the sensing time (See Fig. 4: determining, according to time domain location information used by a second terminal on Sidelink (SL) for sensing a transmission resource, a DRX configuration of the second terminal. ¶ [0075], and see also Yang’s claims 1-3),
wherein when the time resource is the second overlapping part, the performing, by the terminal, a target operation on the time resource (See Fig. 4: wherein a time period (i.e., second overlapping part) indicated by the DRX configuration, during which the second terminal enters an active state, at least partially overlaps with a time location indicated by the time domain location information. ¶ [0087]- [0090]),
Even though, Yang teaches performing the target operation on the overlapping part (Yang: ¶ [0087]-[0090]), Yang doesn’t explicitly provide the operation comprising: skipping sending, by the terminal, an SL SSB on the second overlapping part;
However, Luo discloses the method of skipping sending, by the terminal, an SL SSB on the second overlapping part (See Fig. 3…the UE 115-c may determine to skip a subsequent transmission 360 of the synchronization signal over the sidelink channel 320. ¶ [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide skipping sending, by the terminal, an SL SSB on the second overlapping part as taught by Luo to have incorporated in the system of Yang, so that it would provide to support improvement in reliability and enhanced overaged through the signaling of synchronization configuration information via sidelink communications, among other advantages. Luo: ¶ [0056].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of the following…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 2; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method wherein the performing, by the terminal, a target operation on the time resource comprises at least one of the following…demodulating, by the terminal, level 1 Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the time resource (Yang: See Fig. 2, UE needs to continuously monitor PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) to obtain data sent by other UE. In order to save energy consumption of UE, a DRX function has been introduced on the Sidelink, and UE determines based on the DRX configuration whether itself is in an active state. In the active state, UE needs to listen to the PSCCH, while in a sleep state, UE does not need to listen to the PSCCH, which can reduce the time for listening to the PSCCH by UE and achieve the goal of saving power. ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 3; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method according to claim 2, wherein the target resource comprises at least one of the following: a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) (See Fig. 2: ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 6; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the time resource is the second overlapping part, an operation of the terminal on the second overlapping part is consistent with an operation of the terminal on the first overlapping part (Yang: the method wherein, within a DRX cycle corresponding to the DRX configuration, if there is a maximum overlapped duration between the active state period and the time period for the second terminal to perform the sensing, the DRX configuration can be selected. In some embodiments, within a predetermined duration, in multiple DRX cycles, if there is a maximum overlapped duration as a whole between the active state period and the time period for the second terminal to perform the sensing, the DRX configuration can be selected. ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 14; Yang teaches a terminal comprising a processor; a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon, wherein the computer program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a terminal operation configuration method, comprising:
performing, by a terminal, a target operation (See Fig. 4: determining, according to time domain location information used by a second terminal on Sidelink (SL) for sensing a transmission resource, a DRX configuration of the second terminal. ¶ [0075]) on at least one of the following time resources:
a first overlapping part between a sensing time in a first mechanism and an active time in a second mechanism (See Fig. 4: wherein a time period indicated by the DRX configuration, during which the second terminal enters an active state, at least partially overlaps with a time location indicated by the time domain location information. ¶ [0090]),
wherein the first mechanism comprises at least one of the following: the sensing time (See Fig. 4: determining, according to time domain location information used by a second terminal on Sidelink (SL) for sensing a transmission resource, a DRX configuration of the second terminal. ¶ [0075], and see also Yang’s claims 1-3),
wherein when the time resource is the second overlapping part, the performing, by the terminal, a target operation on the time resource (See Fig. 4: wherein a time period (i.e., second overlapping part) indicated by the DRX configuration, during which the second terminal enters an active state, at least partially overlaps with a time location indicated by the time domain location information. ¶ [0087]- [0090]),
Even though, Yang teaches performing the target operation on the overlapping part (Yang: ¶ [0087]-[0090]), Yang doesn’t explicitly provide the operation comprising: skipping sending, by the terminal, an SL SSB on the second overlapping part;
However, Luo discloses the method of skipping sending, by the terminal, an SL SSB on the second overlapping part (See Fig. 3:…the UE 115-c may determine to skip a subsequent transmission 360 of the synchronization signal over the sidelink channel 320. ¶ [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide skipping sending, by the terminal, an SL SSB on the second overlapping part as taught by Luo to have incorporated in the system of Yang, so that it would provide to support improvement in reliability and enhanced overaged through the signaling of synchronization configuration information via sidelink communications, among other advantages. Luo: ¶ [0056].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of the following…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 15; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method wherein the performing, by the terminal, a target operation on the time resource comprises at least one of the following:…demodulating, by the terminal, level 1 Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the time resource (Yang: See Fig. 2, UE needs to continuously monitor PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) to obtain data sent by other UE. In order to save energy consumption of UE, a DRX function has been introduced on the Sidelink, and UE determines based on the DRX configuration whether itself is in an active state. In the active state, UE needs to listen to the PSCCH, while in a sleep state, UE does not need to listen to the PSCCH, which can reduce the time for listening to the PSCCH by UE and achieve the goal of saving power. ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 16; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method according to claim 2, wherein the target resource comprises at least one of the following: a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) (See Fig. 2: ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 19; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the time resource is the second overlapping part, an operation of the terminal on the second overlapping part is consistent with an operation of the terminal on the first overlapping part (Yang: the method wherein, within a DRX cycle corresponding to the DRX configuration, if there is a maximum overlapped duration between the active state period and the time period for the second terminal to perform the sensing, the DRX configuration can be selected. In some embodiments, within a predetermined duration, in multiple DRX cycles, if there is a maximum overlapped duration as a whole between the active state period and the time period for the second terminal to perform the sensing, the DRX configuration can be selecte
Claims 4-5, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG (US 2024/0049342 A1) in view of LUO et al. (US 2021/0022094 A1), and further in view of NAM et al. (US 2020/0288402 A1).
Regarding claim 4; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method wherein demodulating, by the terminal, level 1 Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the time resource (Yang: See Fig. 2, UE needs to continuously monitor PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel to carry SCI information) to obtain data sent by other UE…In the active state, UE needs to listen to the PSCCH, while in a sleep state, UE does not need to listen to the PSCCH, which can reduce the time for listening to the PSCCH by UE and achieve the goal of saving power. ¶ [0039]).
Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the measurement comprises a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) measurement.
However, Nam discloses a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) measurement (Nam: See Fig. 4, The RS may include demodulation RS (DM-RS) (indicated as R.sub.x for one particular configuration, where 100× is the port number, but other DM-RS configurations are possible) and channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) for channel estimation at the UE. ¶ [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) measurement as taught by Nam to have incorporated in the system of Yang, so that it would provide to facilitate improved power efficiency during discontinuous reception operation. Nam: ¶ [0067].
Regarding claim 5; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method wherein the performing, by the terminal, a measurement on the time resource comprises: determining, by the terminal according to configuration information (Yang: See Fig. 4: determining, according to time domain location information used by a second terminal on Sidelink (SL) for sensing a transmission resource, a DRX configuration of the second terminal. ¶ [0075]). Nam further discloses whether to perform the measurement at the time (Nam: the UE 404 may attempt to process (or decode) the reference signal at the shifted location and provide measurement(s). ¶ [0083]).
Regarding claim 17; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method wherein demodulating, by the terminal, level 1 Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the time resource (Yang: See Fig. 2, UE needs to continuously monitor PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel to carry SCI information) to obtain data sent by other UE…In the active state, UE needs to listen to the PSCCH, while in a sleep state, UE does not need to listen to the PSCCH, which can reduce the time for listening to the PSCCH by UE and achieve the goal of saving power. ¶ [0039]).
Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the measurement comprises a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) measurement.
However, Nam discloses a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) measurement (Nam: See Fig. 4, The RS may include demodulation RS (DM-RS) (indicated as R.sub.x for one particular configuration, where 100× is the port number, but other DM-RS configurations are possible) and channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) for channel estimation at the UE. ¶ [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) measurement as taught by Nam to have incorporated in the system of Yang, so that it would provide to facilitate improved power efficiency during discontinuous reception operation. Nam: ¶ [0067].
Regarding claim 18; Yang teaches the terminal operation configuration method wherein the performing, by the terminal, a measurement on the time resource comprises: determining, by the terminal according to configuration information (Yang: See Fig. 4: determining, according to time domain location information used by a second terminal on Sidelink (SL) for sensing a transmission resource, a DRX configuration of the second terminal. ¶ [0075]). Nam further discloses whether to perform the measurement at the time (Nam: the UE 404 may attempt to process (or decode) the reference signal at the shifted location and provide measurement(s). ¶ [0083]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, and 8-19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416