CTNF 18/221,441 CTNF 95608 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: See par. 74 “large amounts of heats” . Appropriate correction is required. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because f igures 19-23 are photographs and include a range that is unclear in greyscale as the same shade is utilized to reveal multiple temperatures, e.g. 132.4 and 79.4. Further, Figures 8, 19 and others utilize inappropriate black shading. (b) Photographs. — (1) Black and white. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For example, photographs or photomicrographs of: electrophoresis gels, blots ( e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), autoradiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, crystalline structures, and, in a design patent application, ornamental effects, are acceptable. If the subject matter of the application admits of illustration by a drawing, the examiner may require a drawing in place of the photograph. The photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent. (2) Color photographs. Color photographs will be accepted in utility and design patent applications if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See paragraphs (a)(2) and (b)(1) of this section. (m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections. See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 10-14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. CN112146138A Li in view of CN 109315025 A Vengerov does not teach a guide panel comprising a first through sixth panel in the geometry forming a channel as disclosed in the instant application, therefore, the claims in the application are deemed to be directed to a nonobvious improvement over the inventions of Li and Vengerov. The claims disclose first through sixth panels of specific geometry so as to create and optimize the disclosed channel to improve the airflow extraction process. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, the recitation of “ a third exhaust opening that allows air to be discharged is formed at both ends of the channel” is unclear how one single opening can be formed at both ends of the channel. The interpretation is that there is a third exhaust opening that is in fluid communication with the channel that allows air to be discharged. Claim 6 recites the limitation " the third exhaust openings ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-9 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN112146138A Li in view of CN 109315025 A Vengerov Regarding claim 1 , Li teaches, An electric range, comprising: a case (furnace body 1) ; a bracket (energy recovery cover 5 and plate 15) configured to be accommodated in the case (figs. 1-18 and 23) ; a fan (radiated fan 9) disposed in the bracket (figs. 1-18 and 23) ; at least one leg coupled to a lower portion of the case and configured to contact an upper surface of a countertop that supports the electric range (see annotated figs. 4 and 15 below) ; and a guide panel (bottom plate 3) disposed at a lower side of the bracket and configured to guide air that flows into a gap formed by the at least one leg (figs. 7 and 10 teach embodiments with an exhaust flow that exits in the space between bottom plate 3 and the legs) . The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Li does not expressly teach the heating element being an induction or electromagnetic heating element. Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Vengerov teaches an induction cooking device 10 mounted to a housing 200 comprising fans 470 to direct airflow from inlet 472 to outlet 474 and further teaches the use of an induction coil (induction coil 110) as the electric heating element (page 7 par. 4). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify a presumed but not disclosed heating element of Li with the induction coil 110 of Vengerov for the purpose to provide space savings and an air cooled induction heating element ( Li page 5 par. 12 and page 6 par. 1). PNG media_image1.png 641 936 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 534 909 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 1 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein at least one air communication hole (fan port 16, air inlet holes 12, communication port 17, and air outlet holes 20) is provided on a bottom plate of the bracket (figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11) , and wherein the guide panel is disposed at a lower side of the at least one air communication hole (figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11). Regarding claim 3 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 2 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein the at least one air communication hole (as discussed above) comprises: a first suction opening through which air flows to the fan ( fan port 16) ; and a first exhaust opening (communication port 17) through which air having passed through the fan is discharged (figs. 5-11 show the flow of air as arrows per page 10 par. 6, page 12 pars. 8 and 14, page 13 pars. 6, 13, and 19) , wherein the guide panel is provided with a channel that guides a flow of the air (figs. 5-11 show the flow of air as arrows per page 10 par. 6, page 12 pars. 8 and 14, page 13 pars. 6, 13, and 19, that is contained in air guide cavity 8 which functions as a channel) , and wherein the channel is disposed in a position at which at least a portion of the channel overlaps the first exhaust opening (figs. 5-11) . Regarding claim 4 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 3 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein the electric range further comprises an air guide (heat insulation cavity 7) provided with a second exhaust opening (air inlet holes 12 are exhaust holes from air guide cavity 8) that communicates with the fan (the path from the fan to outlet hole 20 is all in fluid communication per figs. 5-11) , forms a flow path of air (figs. 5-11 the path of air is denoted by arrows per page 10 par. 6, page 12 pars. 8 and 14, page 13 pars. 6, 13, and 19), and through which air is discharged (figs. 5-11 the path of air is denoted by arrows per page 10 par. 6, page 12 pars. 8 and 14, page 13 pars. 6, 13, and 19) , and wherein the channel is disposed at a position at which at least a portion of the channel overlaps the second exhaust opening (figs. 5-11, it is on top of air guide cavity 8) . Regarding claim 5 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 4 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein a lengthwise direction of the channel extends in both lateral directions of the case, and wherein a third exhaust opening (21) that allows air to be discharged is formed at both ends of the channel (see annotated fig. 7 below there are third exhaust opening ports on both sides of air guide cavity 8) . PNG media_image3.png 413 884 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 5 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein air having flown to the air guide flows from a rear of the case to a front of the case along the air guide, flows into the channel, flows in both lateral directions of the case along the channel, and is discharged outward through the third exhaust openings (see annotated fig. 7 below denoted by the green path) . PNG media_image4.png 413 884 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding claim 7 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 3 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein the fan is disposed at a rear portion of the case (see annotated fig. 7 below) , and wherein the channel is disposed at a front portion of the case (see annotated fig. 7 below) . PNG media_image5.png 413 886 media_image5.png Greyscale Regarding claim 8 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 1 (as discussed above) , Li teaches, wherein the guide panel comprises: a first panel elongated in a downward direction of the case (see annotated fig. 4 below) ; and a second panel bent from an end portion of the first panel (see annotated fig. 4 below) and coupled to a lower surface of the case (fig. 4, 3 is fastened into 1) . PNG media_image6.png 620 791 media_image6.png Greyscale Regarding claim 9 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 8 (as discussed above) , wherein the guide panel includes a channel that guides a flow of air, the guide panel comprising: a third panel bent from the first panel and forming a bottom surface of the channel (see annotated fig. 4 below) ; a fourth panel bent from an end portion of the third panel and spaced from the first panel (see annotated fig. 4 below) ; and a fifth panel spaced from the second panel with the channel therebetween, bent from an end portion of the fourth panel, and coupled to the lower surface of the case (see annotated fig. 4 below) . PNG media_image7.png 620 791 media_image7.png Greyscale Regarding claim 17 , Li teaches, An electric range, comprising: a case (furnace body 1) ; a bracket (energy recovery cover 5 and plate 15) configured to be accommodated in the case (figs. 1-18 and 23) ; a fan (radiated fan 9) disposed in the bracket (figs. 1-18 and 23) ; at least one leg coupled to a lower portion of the case and configured to contact an upper surface of a countertop that supports the electric range (see annotated figs. 4 and 15 below) ; and a guide panel (bottom plate 3) disposed at a lower side of the bracket and configured to guide air that flows into a gap formed by the at least one leg (figs. 7 and 10 teach embodiments with an exhaust flow that exits in the space between bottom plate 3 and the legs) , the guide panel including a channel that guides air from the electric range (figs. 5-11 show the flow of air as arrows per page 10 par. 6, page 12 pars. 8 and 14, page 13 pars. 6, 13, and 19, that is contained in air guide cavity 8 which functions as a channel) and discharges the air at lateral sides of the electric range (see annotated fig. 7 below there are third exhaust opening ports on both sides of air guide cavity 8) . Though the claims of the invention of the instant application do not positively recite a heating element in the electric range, the examiner is assuming one will be amended to be present in the claims of the instant application and a heating element is further examined as being present. For this reason, Li further teaches that the electric heating furnace can be widely applied to various electromagnetic furnace, electric ceramic furnace and other electric heating furnace product ( Li page 6 par. 10). The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Li does not expressly teach the heating element being an induction or electromagnetic heating element. Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Vengerov teaches an induction cooking device 10 mounted to a housing 200 comprising fans 470 to direct airflow from inlet 472 to outlet 474 and further teaches the use of an induction coil (induction coil 110) as the electric heating element (page 7 par. 4). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify a presumed but not disclosed heating element of Li with the induction coil 110 of Vengerov for the purpose to provide space savings and an air cooled induction heating element ( Li page 5 par. 12 and page 6 par. 1). PNG media_image1.png 641 936 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 534 909 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image8.png 413 884 media_image8.png Greyscale Regarding claim 18 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 17 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein at least one air communication hole (fan port 16, air inlet holes 12, communication port 17, and air outlet holes 20) is provided on a bottom plate of the bracket (figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11) , wherein the guide panel is disposed at a lower side of the at least one air communication hole (figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11) , wherein the at least one air communication hole comprises: a first suction opening ( fan port 16) through which air flows to the fan; and a first exhaust opening (communication port 17) through which air having passed through the fan is discharged (figs. 5-11 show the flow of air as arrows per page 10 par. 6, page 12 pars. 8 and 14, page 13 pars. 6, 13, and 19) , and wherein the channel is disposed in a position at which at least a portion of the channel overlaps the first exhaust opening (figs. 5-11) . Regarding claim 19 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 18 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein the electric range further comprises an air guide (heat insulation cavity 7) provided with a second exhaust opening (air inlet holes 12 are exhaust holes from air guide cavity 8) that communicates with the fan (the path from the fan to outlet hole 20 is all in fluid communication per figs. 5-11) , forms a flow path of air (figs. 5-11 the path of air is denoted by arrows per page 10 par. 6, page 12 pars. 8 and 14, page 13 pars. 6, 13, and 19) , and through which air is discharged (figs. 5-11 the path of air is denoted by arrows per page 10 par. 6, page 12 pars. 8 and 14, page 13 pars. 6, 13, and 19) , and wherein the channel is disposed at a position at which at least a portion of the channel overlaps the second exhaust opening (figs. 5-11, it is on top of air guide cavity 8) . Regarding claim 20 , The primary combination teaches The electric range of claim 18 (as discussed above) , Li further teaches, wherein a lengthwise direction of the channel extends in both lateral directions of the case. PNG media_image9.png 413 884 media_image9.png Greyscale Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ADAM M ECKARDT whose telephone number is (313)446-6609. The examiner can normally be reached 6 a.m to 2:00 p.m EST Monday to Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Edward Landrum can be reached at (571) 272-5567. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT Assistant Examiner Art Unit 3761 /ADAM M ECKARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 2 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 3 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 4 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 5 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 6 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 7 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 8 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 9 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 10 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 11 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 12 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 13 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 14 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 15 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 16 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 17 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 18 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 19 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 20 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/221,441 Page 21 Art Unit: 3761